Bulls
watto.jpg

That is all.

Destined to be a shining light of Australian cricket in the future, particularly when half of the team retire in one hit.

It's a shame he won't be playing for Tassie any more, although I suspect his state appearances will become fewer and fewer in any case as his potential is realized.

If being a star means getting belted, taking sweet fa wickets and making f##k all runs, well then yeah he will be a star.

fitzmantle said:
If being a star means getting belted, taking sweet fa wickets and making f##k all runs, well then yeah he will be a star.

yeah i see that point -
i realise he has been injured lately but are there better all rounders coming out that may leap frog him ??

i think symonds is cemented in the one day side at the moment - doesnt katich bowl offies ?

fitzmantle said:
Didn't do any research did ya mate... Watson had a stellar year in 2003-04 with the bat.

983 runs at nearly 55 (4 tons and 3 50's), plus score a triple century in grade cricket.

Is still young and improving too...

i didn't like watson when he was challenging harvey (vic's ony representative) for that 2003 WC spot, but now that harvey is getting on a bit i'm all for watson and have been for most of last summer through his recovery.

finding another victorian for the aus ODI team is going to be hard work though...:(

Watson is a tool. Have seen him out and well all i can say is what a tosser. And i tell you what, he might be able to bat but he is nowhere near Ian Harvey when it comes to bowling.

I don't understand the obession with finding an all rounder. Australia has won plenty of games in recent years without one so far. And I can't say I'm impressed enough by Watson to say he warrants a regular game at this point.

His injury really hit his career at its early stage so I hope he recovers this year.

I am so happy we have him in QLD colours this year. :)

Shane Watson is awesome, he bowled really well to the English last time they were over here. Others all-rounders that will be pusing for selection i reckon in a few years time will be Andy Blignaut and Sean Ervine, I know Sean Ervine wants to play for Australia, not sure bout Blignaut

Squizza said:
Shane Watson is awesome, he bowled really well to the English last time they were over here. Others all-rounders that will be pusing for selection i reckon in a few years time will be Andy Blignaut and Sean Ervine, I know Sean Ervine wants to play for Australia, not sure bout Blignaut
I think they have to wait a couple ofyears before than can play for Australia.

I think Watson can bat but not sure his bowling is in Flintoff's league. It will be good if does get there though!

Squizza said:

Sean Ervine is playing with Fremantle in the district competion over here in the West and has been very impressive in his training. Being only 21 it wouldn't really hurt him waiting 4 or so years before coming into contention for a spot. Will be very interesting to see how he shapes up for WA in the coming season.

He is good, but all this hype come on. he will fade away soon enough and everyone in a couple of years will be like shane who????