Milky

Stanhope
I really am praying to god he doesntplay on next year, what a waste of money and a new player on our list he is. he is arguably one of our legends but his time is UP.

he should no himself that he should be making way for new young players because it would benifeit the club,

I propose macca to be fairwelled...

I really am praying to god he doesntplay on next year, what a waste of money and a new player on our list he is. he is arguably one of our legends but his time is UP.

he should no himself that he should be making way for new young players because it would benifeit the club,

I propose macca to be fairwelled...

I agree you must know when to go and he she retire gracefully at the end of this season. He did quite well yesterday, although alot of the "pigheads" around here refused to give him credit.

I haven't seen one player play a worse quarter of football this season, than McManus's first quarter his errors resulted in goals. He puts in a quarter like that every single game that I have watched.... he then goes on and plays an 'average' 3 quarters of football. No one in our team plays worse than McManus can........ and 25 of them can play better at their best.

It's been that way his whole career, no one could ever ever ever ever ever tell me I am wrong.

I would wait and not sign him until after the trade and draft period has finished because he could still be a better option than others.

Nah, I think a kid at pick 70 would be a better option than a 1 year McManus.

And he deserves a real send off, not a tap on the shoulder in December and a 'thanks for coming'.

I'd prefer Macca to retire, but won't be too disappointed if he goes on aslong as he is selected on merit. I'd play Drum, Duffield, Foster, Dunn and Ibbo ahead of him if they have a good pre-season. Dunn was very good yesterday.

I just did.

Macca doesn't pick himself, the match committee do so he must be doing something right.

Having faith in heirachy at any level, in any industry works 90% of the time.... but actually believing they are above making mistakes presently or in hindsight is foolish. Look back a month, when everyone was free to criticise CC..... how come the selection panel are free from the same?

My criticisms of McManus are essentially a criticism of his selection, I can only judge what I see. What I see is that he is a bunk ass player that should no be played week in week out.

I could not agree more. His best is AVERAGE and he has been that way his whole career. He should have been delisted years ago. Why the f*ck people defend him I will never know. I have two good mates who seem to be blind to his poor disposal and bad decision making and yet when we lose they say that our delivery to our forwards was not good enough and we caused too many turnovers. Well guess who is at least partially responsible for that? McManus. (not that he is the only one)

He must be a very likable guy because I have seen Fremantle trade away players with greater talent than him like Clement, Bell (in '95), Leigh Brown, McFee, Sinclair, and probably a lot of others I can't think of right now. He doesn't pick himself, so in a way I feel like it is not entirely his fault for being in the team, but what really shits me is that he seems to get a game based on popularity. Fremantle will never be successful when they 'reward' mediocre players by continually picking them.

This season he seems to have added a new 'talent' to his repertoire. As well as his usual hand balling to guys that are flat footed, kicking the ball 'on the bounce' to team mates, and usual reckless tackles, he has added dropping easy chest marks. He dropped 2 of them yesterday and I have seen him drop several over the season.

If Fremantle offer this guy a new contract for next year you can bet they will not go anywhere in 2008. I don't mind him being on the list as a depth player, the trouble is that he gets played in the middle and as a result he will be in the top few for highest possession winners. These stats don't really tell the truth as they don't take into account how many of his disposals are to the advantage of the team. Even a so called 'effective disposal' can be kicked/handballed directly to a guy, but if that guy is flat footed it may not, and usually isn't, to the advantage of the team. McManus puts his team mates under the pump like that all too often.

And the reason I would like him most to be gone, is because I don't want the younger guys coming through to be picking up his bad habits.

I could not agree more. His best is AVERAGE and he has been that way his whole career. He should have been delisted years ago. Why the f*ck people defend him I will never know. I have two good mates who seem to be blind to his poor disposal and bad decision making and yet when we lose they say that our delivery to our forwards was not good enough and we caused too many turnovers. Well guess who is at least partially responsible for that? McManus. (not that he is the only one)

He must be a very likable guy because I have seen Fremantle trade away players with greater talent than him like Clement, Bell (in '95), Leigh Brown, McFee, Sinclair, and probably a lot of others I can't think of right now. He doesn't pick himself, so in a way I feel like it is not entirely his fault for being in the team, but what really shits me is that he seems to get a game based on popularity. Fremantle will never be successful when they 'reward' mediocre players by continually picking them.

This season he seems to have added a new 'talent' to his repertoire. As well as his usual hand balling to guys that are flat footed, kicking the ball 'on the bounce' to team mates, and usual reckless tackles, he has added dropping easy chest marks. He dropped 2 of them yesterday and I have seen him drop several over the season.

If Fremantle offer this guy a new contract for next year you can bet they will not go anywhere in 2008. I don't mind him being on the list as a depth player, the trouble is that he gets played in the middle and as a result he will be in the top few for highest possession winners. These stats don't really tell the truth as they don't take into account how many of his disposals are to the advantage of the team. Even a so called 'effective disposal' can be kicked/handballed directly to a guy, but if that guy is flat footed it may not, and usually isn't, to the advantage of the team. McManus puts his team mates under the pump like that all too often.

And the reason I would like him most to be gone, is because I don't want the younger guys coming through to be picking up his bad habits.

It's posts like these that convince me I am not wrong, because you have highlighted everything I see that is wrong with his game, so it's not me being 'overly' critical. I think that way, because it happens and countless of other football fans can see it.

There is obvious reasons to his immunity of being dropped that are hidden from what we can see, but I honestly can not see us playing worse without him..... in the side or in the club.

It's posts like these that convince me I am not wrong, because you have highlighted everything I see that is wrong with his game, so it's not me being 'overly' critical. I think that way, because it happens and countless of other football fans can see it.

There is obvious reasons to his immunity of being dropped that are hidden from what we can see, but I honestly can not see us playing worse without him..... in the side or in the club.

What do you think are the reasons he doesn't get dropped summer?

I think he tends to look good on the stats sheet so when the match committee select the team they find it hard to drop a guy who has got a lot of the ball, or several tackles. Also he is very popular amongst some supporters. Dropping him could lead to a supporter backlash - not that i think that is a good reason to NOT drop someone. Possibly also freo with no real history want to get some names on the 200 games+ board. None of these reasons I think are good reasons mind you.

I think back in the dark old days of the '90s he was amongst our better players. We were crap back then though. Even though we haven't and almost certainly wont make the finals now, we are consistently aiming to get in the top 8 - as opposed to the old 'building a team who will one day make the top 8' attitude of pre 2000. In the old days McManus could cut it, nowadays with our level of expectation raised, and rightly so, he has been shown to be lacking at the highest level. I don't think he has changed. He hasn't gotten much better or worse than 10 years ago, but we as a club have changed. We now demand to be in finals, to take on the best teams and win. Okay so that hasn't really happened this year but that is beside the point.

McManus is now and always has been a very average player. We are now looking for better than average

He cannot win the ball in contested situations. He goes to ground ALL the time. He runs over the ball, he fumbles. He knows he cannot win the ball so is extra defensive minded and focuses on tackling. This is already hurting and a reason why we suck at clearances as a whole. We need to be proactive in there.

His disposal to me was fine until the last few weeks. Lately, he has been missing targets left, right and center.

So effectively, his role in the side is basically as a wingman getting uncontested possesions and delivering to the forward line... which there is nothing wrong with... but surely we must have someone more skilled by foot and quicker than McManus for this role?

I honestly think he is playing for himself. There are several times I've seen him sneak off for a cheap possesion when our team hasn't even won the ball yet.

I just want the FFC to do well and I also believe that McManus is hindering us moving forward. We need new blood. McManus to me symolises our first 13 years in the AFL all too well. Yes, he gives it his all but there are plenty of kids who would give their left nut to play in the AFL.

Worst player being selected = No

He is, and by some distance imo.

Stats can lie but before this week I think he had the lowest champion data ranking in 5 of our last 7 games... or something like that. He has been woeful in the last couple of months.

He was reasonable on the weekend though after the first quarter. A couple of good forward 50 entries. But surely we have someone more skilled and quick for his role within the side?

He is, and by some distance imo.

Stats can lie but before this week I think he had the lowest champion data ranking in 5 of our last 7 games... or something like that. He has been woeful in the last couple of months.

He was reasonable on the weekend though after the first quarter. A couple of good forward 50 entries. But surely we have someone more skilled and quick for his role within the side?
webster could play his role and more

Webster is the most under rated player on our list I feel. Good disposal, ok speed, good footy smarts (eg he runs to the right spots and looks to shepherd after giving the ball off).
I'm hoping he gets a bit more opportunity next year, but who goes out for him other than McManus?

Webster is the most under rated player on our list I feel. Good disposal, ok speed, good footy smarts (eg he runs to the right spots and looks to shepherd after giving the ball off).
I'm hoping he gets a bit more opportunity next year, but who goes out for him other than McManus?

Good spot up. You have hit the nail on the head why Macca should retire, If He plays on next year He will more than likely be playing in the first's and holding the Fosters /Ibbo's /Webster's etc back.

If He is playing at Easts , He will more than likely get bitter and twisted and exibit shunk like behavior.

Macca was one of few players (along with Warnock which was abit of a surprise) that flew the flag for Wizard after the Baker incident on Saturday.

It is true that Macca makes the occasional skill error, but he is all heart.

When a team mate gets king hit behind play you expect team mates to step in with some tough justice.

Well done Macca.

hit him with a limp lettuce leaf more like. When Macca picked up Baker We reckoned He could make a hero of himself for life by sacrificing himself and taking him out , but all he succeeded in doing was giving away a couple of soft frees in front of goal.

Sounds like you've gone off the Shark's favourite son Ripper? :D

It's time, that is all.

There is no doubt he can play a bit as can everyone who plays at this level but He is going slowly backwards.

It is just that the hard decision has to made to give the young'uns with far better disposal skills a chance and that won't happen (or it will be comprimised) if Macca is occupying a spot most weeks.

I have been one of his greatest fans in the past , but He is annoying me more and more each game.

As Kenny said He is IMO playing for himself now.