Analysis Should Melbourne rebuild like Richmond if they struggle in 2025?

Dee’s don’t have a choice now, full rebuild required

Problem they now have is Trac and Oliver don’t have the currency they used to
Petracca is an absolute jet. He has plenty of good football left. Oliver probably the same with a bit less upside. Petracca in the right environment would win you a flag.

Agreed, Trac is a gun.

However trading him to a contending side that'll pay heaps to grab a flag would help Melb with their rebuild.
Trac could also have a shot at a 2nd flag

No mans land is being stuck in purgatory.. Think the real no mans land.. Essendon

Stuck between 7th - 15th for the best part of two decades

St.Kilda even look like they have there shit sorted.. Melbourne just look like legging it to the bottom handful
Dees have at least 3 years of lower mid table finishes ahead of them.

Haven’t bottomed out, but hard to see a lot of upside

You’d think it’s last chance saloon for both Melbourne and Collingwood this year if they don’t make finals.

For Melbourne, they would probably offload Pickett, Petracca and Oliver for a raft of draft picks this year and next and change the coach. They might even look to offload troublemaker May for the right price if they decide to go full scorched earth.
Seems they will do everything except offload Pickett.

Melbourne are starting to prep for a rebuild.

Losing Trac and Oliver will get them some picks which they can use on the rebuild

The issue with Trac and Oliver and their age is only teams near the pointy end would bother drafting them as times running out for both players. Unlikely to be able to get fair value in a trade.

Oliver's issue isn't his age. He plays most of next year as a 28 year old. He would bring down the average age of Collingwood's best 22.

His issue is he's a fat slug.

3 nothing acquisitions while losing petracca, Oliver, mcvee and spargo.

Genuine spoon contenders
OUT: Petracca runs around high balls and won't put his body in danger since the injury. He's also a sook.

Oliver is a fat slug. And as dumb as you.

McVee = disappointing. But hardly earth shattering.

Spargo LOL Hasn't played for 2 years and is a very average player.

IN: 3 first round draft picks. I couldn't care about the rest, although if they're solid servants it's enough.

Melbourne look like they are at the crossroad. Have a good year and they could compete again. But with a poor year and many of their stars starting to age. They may want to sell the farm and get what they can to fast tract their rebuild before future drafts get compromised.

They also have some good talent that looks like they want out.
Pickett is reportedly looking to go west. Petracca looked disgruntled about his injuries from last year and Oliver looks like he wants a sea change to get away from the party/pokie life of inner Melbourne.

So should Melbourne rebuild, maybe with a new coach if things go poorly this year? Should they look to trade players like Pickett, Petracca, Oliver and possibly some of their older players like Lever and May? What sort of picks would they get or should they look for if they trade out these players?
Yes. Just yes.

They are in big trouble. And what's with chasing Mihocek? Only 5 years too late.

Bottom 4 next year and will only get worse. Right when Tassie is coming in. Disaster.

I expect us to be crap but don't think it is a disaster at all. By the end of next year's draft we will have had 5 years in a row with at least two first round picks taken in each draft, we've got the bones of a good side long term at the club already.

They are in big trouble. And what's with chasing Mihocek? Only 5 years too late.

Bottom 4 next year and will only get worse. Right when Tassie is coming in. Disaster.
Everyone: Melbourne should start rebuilding before Tassie comes in

Melbourne: *gets 8 first round picks in the 4 drafts right before Tassie dilutes the draft

Everyone: no not like that

Not really sure what more we could do that but anyway.
Not expecting to set the world on fire next year but in terms of draft capital this is the best result we could do before Tassie comes in.

I expect us to be crap but don't think it is a disaster at all. By the end of next year's draft we will have had 5 years in a row with at least two first round picks taken in each draft, we've got the bones of a good side long term at the club already.
It will be 4 years. Jefferson was the only 1st round pick taken in 2022 wasn't he?

Everyone: Melbourne should start rebuilding before Tassie comes in

Melbourne: *gets 8 first round picks in the 4 drafts right before Tassie dilutes the draft

Everyone: no not like that

Not really sure what more we could do that but anyway.
Not expecting to set the world on fire next year but in terms of draft capital this is the best result we could do before Tassie comes in.
You could have got 6 just last year if you took the 4 on offer for Petracca and Oliver like you should have. Then there's the 2 you could have got for Petty a year or two earlier.

They held on too long, that's all. So did we. It happens.

You could have got 6 just last year if you took the 4 on offer for Petracca and Oliver like you should have. Then there's the 2 you could have got for Petty a year or two earlier.

Oh we know, most Melbourne fans hated the administration and coaching last year (and ever since the flag). I've been saying for years that Petracca, Oliver and Viney can't play in the same midfield and finally we're getting some change.

But you're post that I was replying too was implying that it's a disaster and will only get worse when Tassie comes in. This new administration has done everything they could to make sure it isn't a disaster.

It will be 4 years. Jefferson was the only 1st round pick taken in 2022 wasn't he?

Not sure there were any serious bidders for Petracca last year. He only wanted to go to other Victorian sides who had barely anything to trade with and couldn't fit in his contract so holding him ended up being the correct move.

Oliver yes. Should have been traded two years ago, last year. Whatever. The club has finally bit the bullet and pissed him off along with Goodwin who was clinging onto the post-21 era.

We've got some good young players and picks to work with now. I'm more excited by the direction of the club than I have been for three years.

Oh we know, most Melbourne fans hated the administration and coaching last year (and ever since the flag). I've been saying for years that Petracca, Oliver and Viney can't play in the same midfield and finally we're getting some change.

But you're post that I was replying too was implying that it's a disaster and will only get worse when Tassie comes in. This new administration has done everything they could to make sure it isn't a disaster.
I think it will. I agree it's the right call, but it's going to be a rough ride.

May is cooked, Lever was horrible (these two things probably go hand in hand), Petracca is gone, Gawn is nearly 34, Viney is the prototypical slow, one dimensional inside mid that the game is moving away from rapidly (Jack Steele WTF?), Melksham was your most dangerous forward in the 2nd half of the year and he is 34, Salem has dropped off big time, Oliver had a terrible season and still finished top 10 in the bnf, Pickett will likely request a trade within 3 years, McVee gone, JVR looks a bust etc etc.

Langford looks like a future star and Lindsay looks promising. Jury is out on Windsor and Tholstrup but neither scream A grader. The cupboard is pretty bare after that isn't it? You'd want to nail picks 7 and 8 this year in a poor draft. Fair chance you try trade up using one of them and a future pick IMO.

Analysis Should Melbourne rebuild like Richmond if they struggle in 2025?