morgues

Jul 13, 2003
under the stars
Tennessee Titans
Saw this on twitter before, apologies if it has been covered somewhere else.

http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2012/05/29/sidebottom-close-to-collingwood-deal/

COLLINGWOOD’S newest sensation Steele Sidebottom is in closing stages of contract negotiations as he continues to rise as a budding AFL superstar.

Sidebottom and his management are understood to be on the verge of agreeing to terms on a new deal, expected to be at least two more seasons with the famous club.

:):thumbsu:

Great news, and surely this puts even more pressure on Cloke to just sign up and be a part of an amazing team. The short term future for us is looking abso-****ing-lutely amazing!

Great to have Steele SIDE BY SIDE with us...cannot wait for confirmation of the deal...CARN THE PIES:)

Beams and Wellingham are also well down the track in negotiations.

These 3 are an important trio going forward.

Great to see all of them are on the verge of staying.

YESSSSSSSSSSSS

20048442yu.gif

awesome news. If I were an opposition club looking to poach a mid Sidebottom would be about number 1 on my list in terms of realistically being able to snap him up. Has to be one of the most stressful jobs being the Collingwood salary cap accountant atm

That is good to hear but SportNewsFirst is not the best source but I don't doubt at much as other people do

Haha I was a little tongue in cheek. However I view that site at about the same level as Wayne Carey as a source of information. Ie most of it is absolute crap, but because some influential people own it you can't completely ignore it.

The part that made me laugh;

The Pies are also understood to be considering new deals for injured premiership stars Luke Ball and Ben Johnson.

Ah, Sports News First, what a joke of a site, we won't be offering a new contract (at least not yet) because it's very likely that he will retire at the end of the year, and that comes out of his own mouth.

That article is a real joke though, not one comment or quote from anyone, it's simply an opinion piece written on the worst so called AFL news site in existence.

Having said that, let's hope it's true and Steele is about to sign.:)

The part that made me laugh;

Ah, Sports News First, what a joke of a site, we won't be offering a new contract (at least not yet) because it's very likely that he will retire at the end of the year, and that comes out of his own mouth.

That article is a real joke though, not one comment or quote from anyone, it's simply an opinion piece written on the worst so called AFL news site in existence.

Having said that, let's hope it's true and Steele is about to sign.:)

I say it was Whispers they here and they never really have Quotes from the People unless they come from another source

I didnt know the website was so poorly regarded? :(
sorry fellas I just read it, liked what I read and thought the place was fair dinkum :(
It's still a sports news website so it must be up there. Sometimes they're on the ball. Don't worry about it mate, regardless, he'll sign up :) :thumbsu:

SNF churn out news from other, more credible sources and re-jig an article to make it look like their own. "it is understood" is a frequent line in their "exclusives" almost admitting that they really are just speculating.

This probably helps speed up the Cloke deal. No doubt they need to see how much is available to give Clokey the best deal they can. With Clokey they're probably still looking at different 3rd party options to compensate him, stuff like footy show appearances, etc.

Plus they need to sign up Steele before he and scotty share this years brownlow

Surely it will be announced tonight on the club

Don't stress y'all - it's all planned, they've all signed or effectively agreed to terms, they are just lollling at everyone making such a mountain while piling up the wins.

Toast Sidebottom close to deal