Toast Simon Hogan

• Thread starter Thread starter JUBJUB

Can't help but echo the sentiments, Jub.

Plenty of life left ahead of the young man beyond the game.

Thanks, Simon, for the effort and THAT goal against the Dawks back in 2009. Well played today - hard and fearless from go to woah.

Good on him always kept an eye out for Hogan shares the same birth date as myself aside from the birth year. Hope it all turns out well for his life after football.

I was hoping he'd find his way back in the seniors. He looked promising in the 09 season and remember a couple of solid plays he made in the 09 QF vs Bulldogs. I hope he is successful in his life after football.

Big fan of this boy, it's sad to see him retire. Hoping he has a great life from here on, in whatever he chooses to pursue!

Think he may be able to focus on his medical career, if still relevant.

Fantastic to see him fight his way through what can be a debilitating condition and to finish on such a high note. Continued good health for the future Hoges.

Kudos to our great club for the way he was supported through the difficult times.:thumbsu:

Sorry I'm in the dark, what happened to him?

good on him and i hope he finds his way in life. it's almost a no-brainer that he'll be delisted, but i hope the club can perhaps keep finding a spot for him at VFL level as i'm sure it would be good for him

Great way for him to finish up with the club.

Super clubman (as I understand) and was just at the wrong club at the wrong time for him professionally.

Today showed he can play a bit, shame he just didn't quite make it.

While its a shame he didn't play more senior games, Simon has left a positive legacy in his raising of awareness of mental health issues, especially with regard to young men. I hear he will continue to work with headspace and the AFLPA in this space which is fantastic. As someone who has endured similar problems personally, its a great weight lifted when you hear of others' stories and how they overcome hurdles.

Unfortunately, a promising football career has been derailed by this awful condition. Obviously, returning to full health and finding ones way through the next chapter of life is of primary importance and it's great to see that Simon has some options and other things he's passionate about.

All the very best to him.

As a poster above mentioned, I remember that clutch goal he kicked against Hawthorn at the 'G in 2009

Played a great final game, was crucial in the 3rd quarter and last. Got 2 VFL premierships in his time, and was a well loved guy about the club.

I think he has a good head on his shoulders and some smarts so I reckon he will be fine out of the AFL. All the best Hoges.

good on him and i hope he finds his way in life. it's almost a no-brainer that he'll be delisted, but i hope the club can perhaps keep finding a spot for him at VFL level as i'm sure it would be good for him
He had already retired pregame today,which would seem from looking at today's game, early for such a young gun. He will obviously have thought about this long and hard, but I'll remember him fondly. Always hoped this was going to be his "break-in" year

Really glad he played so well today and went out on the best possible note. Was always such a ripper player at vfl level.

Kudos to him for everything he's done and been through, has fought a long battle with depression with real class, and the way he's told his story over the last 12 months has no doubt helped a lot of other people in the same position. He seems like a very smart and mature young guy so whatever he does with his life from here on in I'm sure he'll make a real difference to people.

Thanks for everything Hoges, we've loved having you as part of the Geelong family.

I guess he was faced with a choice because I am not sure he would have stayed on our list much longer. We have other young midfielder's who are better than him. He was a solid player without being spectacular and I think he made the most of the opportunities that had been given to him. I was happy to read his mental health is fine at the moment as the black dog can be a persistent beast and bite you when you least expect it.

I wish him all the best for the future and thank him for his contribution to the Geelong Football Club. Wouldn't mind seeing him on our VFL roster if he was so inclined but sounds like he wants to get away from Footy for a while.

Simon - you did very good today in the VFL Grand Final! :thumbsu:

While your senior AFL playing career has been less than what you (and many others) would have hoped for, know that you are an inspiration to all. Those who have experienced or lived with a family member with a mental health condition truly understand the courage and strength it takes to soldier on in the situation. Keep your nose into the wind and best wishes for your future journey! Enjoy! :)