Draft Watcher SMYTHES 2025 Draft Thread

I had notes on Robey from his games against gippy, oakleigh and gwv early in the year as someone who could rip games apart, uses hips to shrug tackles, raises arms in tackles to dispose ball, great vision and size, can he play another position, down back maybe, running capacity?? one to watch. I know melbourne, collingwood and richmond liked him, maybe more clubs.
Then he disappeared, but came back with a bang. Playing a different position, showing his running capacity and the afl level traits that had him toying with his peers through the middle. His talent and position on my boards was now undeniable, and his rank, in my eyes, is justified, I was the first to rank him this high and I am pretty sure others will follow suit, he earned it.

I remember watching that power game for Duursma and noticed Robey matching Wills athleticism. Looked him up on the Coates app and they had no info on him.

Been watching him since. Had been hoping Ranges would give him more midfield time, especially when they chucked him in there for last 10 or so minutes vs chargers when oakleigh was coming for nowhere. He won the next 2 centre clearances.

I hope Tigers draft him.

I remember watching that power game for Duursma and noticed Robey matching Wills athleticism. Looked him up on the Coates app and they had no info on him.

Been watching him since. Had been hoping Ranges would give him more midfield time, especially when they chucked him in there for last 10 or so minutes vs chargers when oakleigh was coming for nowhere. He won the next 2 centre clearances.

I hope Tigers draft him.
Fair shout to you Milk boi, you were on Robey before his name was mentioned anywhere.

Hello Smythes, quickly dropping in to say fair assessment by you on Sully from your initial observations.
I can tell you Sully's story is a beauty and someone at the Stingrays will end up looking foolish. They cut him back in his u16's tryouts and never gave him another opportunity, even after having a big growth spurt.
After being rejected by the Stingrays, Sully went back to Rowville playing regular senior premier footy where he matched it against men in the Premier league. All the while dominating school footy at Mazenod and finally having Eastern threw him a late lifeline this season, where he managed to snag one of the final 2 list spots on offer at Eastern. (Hence no.55)
He was told he would hopefully get a run at Eastern towards the halfway mark of the season. So he returned back to Rowville. Once Eastern were ready to play him, he has grabbed his opportunity with both hands and is now obviously getting the recognition the kid deserves. He only went missing after those initial Coates games due to injury but has returned and finally been giving midfield minutes.
Natural onballer and whoever drafts him can be assured they have an absolute ripper. His story typifies what resilience is all about. Imagine what he will do once he is finally afforded the opportunity to partake in a full preseason.
Back luck Stingrays, well done Rangers.
Take care all.

Hello Smythes, quickly dropping in to say fair assessment by you on Sully from your initial observations.
I can tell you Sully's story is a beauty and someone at the Stingrays will end up looking foolish. They cut him back in his u16's tryouts and never gave him another opportunity, even after having a big growth spurt.
After being rejected by the Stingrays, Sully went back to Rowville playing regular senior premier footy where he matched it against men in the Premier league. All the while dominating school footy at Mazenod and finally having Eastern threw him a late lifeline this season, where he managed to snag one of the final 2 list spots on offer at Eastern. (Hence no.55)
He was told he would hopefully get a run at Eastern towards the halfway mark of the season. So he returned back to Rowville. Once Eastern were ready to play him, he has grabbed his opportunity with both hands and is now obviously getting the recognition the kid deserves. He only went missing after those initial Coates games due to injury but has returned and finally been giving midfield minutes.
Natural onballer and whoever drafts him can be assured they have an absolute ripper. His story typifies what resilience is all about. Imagine what he will do once he is finally afforded the opportunity to partake in a full preseason.
Back luck Stingrays, well done Rangers.
Take care all.
Oh I’m well aware of his story, even watched him in a game for Rowville.
The worry I was told was his running capacity, kicking and position. He has definitely improved both and showed his class in the midfield and down forward.

Oh I’m well aware of his story, even watched him in a game for Rowville.
The worry I was told was his running capacity, kicking and position. He has definitely improved both and showed his class in the midfield and down forward.

Im not worried by his kicking/ball use/decision making, just think he’s so far behind everyone else in that regard due to his lack of exposure to elite pathways, which means he has a plenty of scope to improve.

I am curious about his tank. He’s run out the games really well the last month, but am curious to see his 2km/yo-yo results at combine.

Hey Smythe
Anything on Avery Thomas?
Tested well at the combine
Hey there,
Avery is very gifted athletically and shows it in games. It is clear to see that he has tools to work with however ball use in my opinion needs a lot of work, not only in technique but the thought process. Clubs are high on him because of his hands, body shape and athleticism but for me it's his footy iq that is a worry. Running to the wrong spots, making quick silly decisions on where to kick or handball, not finding his opponent quick enough after disposing the ball. He doesn't do these things I have just mentioned all the time, but I do witness it happen a few times each game that I watch of his.
I'm sure it will get much better in a full-time professional environment and if it does, he could be anything with the natural talents he already has. I personally think he is a late draft, rookie area but I hear that clubs are thinking anywhere from around the 30/35 mark onwards on draft night.

October Rankings - FINAL RANKINGS New
October Rankings - Final Rankings
  1. W.DUURSMA
  2. Z.UWLAND
  3. D.PATTERSON
  4. D.ANNABLE
  5. C.DUFF-TYTLER
  6. S.ROBEY
  7. D.SHARP
  8. X.TAYLOR
  9. H.DEAN
  10. S.GRJL
  11. A.SCHUBERT
  12. S.CUMMING
  13. H.BARKER
  14. J.FARROW
  15. O.GREEVES
  16. J.PHILLIPOU
  17. J.LINDSAY
  18. L.DOVASTON
  19. A.LUDOWYKE
  20. B.THREDGOLD
  21. M.MARSH
  22. M.KING
  23. O.TAYLOR
  24. J.MURRAY
  25. N.HIBBINS-HARGREAVES
  26. B.OODSHORN-BENNIER
  27. L.SUMNER-PICKETT
  28. L.HETHERTON
  29. L.EMMETT
  30. K.FINCHER

NEXT GROUPING (consists of 30)
M.KONDOGIANNIS, Z.MCCARTHY, M.LERAY, L.CARMICHAEL, B.ADDINSALL, J.ISON, A.SWEID, H.MIKUNDA, T.BURTON, J.MELLOR, L.KELLAWAY, A.THOMAS, K.COULSON, H.KYLE, J.DAHLITZ, H.HOLMES, K.EVANS, T.BYRNE, F.RODRIGUEZ, C.CURTIN, C.BANFIELD, N.ROBERTS-THOMPSON, R.ONLEY, S.AINSWORTH, S.SWADLING, J.HOUSTON, H.SCOTT, T.BLAMIRES, H.EL ACHKAR, L.KICKETT

FINAL GROUPING (consists of 40) kids I believe are late national draft / rookie chances
J.DALTON, J.COOK, T.WHAN, O.AINSWORTH, F.DAVIS, C.NAIRN, T.MCGUANE, T.AH-MU, R.WRIGHT, T.MURRAY, B.ATKINS, N.CHAMBERLAIN, H.BRIDGE, T.PRINDABLE, C.SMITH, W.WALLEY, X.BAMERT, B.KELLY, F.KNIEPP, J.MILLER, Z.PEUCKER, Z.HARDING, K.WHITE, W.DARCY, A.SHARKIE, H.WRIGHT, R.CORRIGAN, T.WILLIAMS, D.SUTHERLAND, L.CARPENTER, R.HAMILTON, J.SAXENA, T.SINNEMA, B.RONGDIT, C.COLLINS, I.WALLER, C.MCKINNON, M.STEVENS, T.GRESHAM, Z.O'KEEFE

1. W.DUURSMA
  2. Z.UWLAND
  3. D.PATTERSON
  4. D.ANNABLE
  5. C.DUFF-TYTLER
  6. S.ROBEY
  7. D.SHARP
  8. X.TAYLOR
  9. H.DEAN
  10. S.GRJL
  11. A.SCHUBERT
  12. S.CUMMING
  13. H.BARKER
  14. J.FARROW
  15. O.GREEVES
  16. J.PHILLIPOU
  17. J.LINDSAY
  18. L.DOVASTON
  19. A.LUDOWYKE
  20. B.THREDGOLD
  21. M.MARSH
  22. M.KING
  23. O.TAYLOR
  24. J.MURRAY
  25. N.HIBBINS-HARGEAVES
  26. B.OODSHORN-BENNIER
  27. L.SUMNER-PICKETT
  28. L.HETHERTON
  29. L.EMMETT
  30. K.FINCHER
Any particular reason to having the likes of Lindsay, Dov, and Marsh a bit lower than the general consensus? First time I’ve also seen Murray in a top 25 let alone top 50. Take it the NHH concerns are to do with inconsistency?

I don't mean to sound harsh with this comment, but they are lower because I would take every player above them first, it's just that simple. But this is just a rankings and not a phantom draft, remember that. When i do one, it will be very different from my rankings board.

Jai is a great size, not afraid of anything and will bury himself in and come out with the ball. His football IQ and ball use is very, very good. He played across the half back line which is a great spot for him, but also excels in the midfield, he is criminally under rated maybe because his in-game speed is not shown very often, but he does have quickness. Also probably because of the more fancied and talked about Uwland and Patterson.
He looks like he is not overly quick because he will win the ball and give it off to the right spot and has not needed to use his legs. His next step will be learning to do that when it is needed and would provide any team with a player who has a very high IQ, great ball winning ability, excellent ball use by hand and foot, great size, poise, class and multi positionality to work with. Plenty of AFL level traits.

Noah, inconsistency is one thing, if he realizes his full potential and really bulks up a bit (that could mean strengthening his body for mens football), then he could be anything. But to me screams more bust potential. Having said that, he never went up against bigger bodies this year and only played (from memory) 1 or two games against the best and showed a little bit.

I think he is not good enough below his knees for the position he played most at and on that, what position is he, also I see a lot of selfish football and less team football coming from him. I don't think he showed that he can play a certain role and is still learning roles which makes an early pick riskier. I just think he has a lot to work on but has that potential there.

Having said all that, i still have him inside the late first round calculations.

I don't mean to sound harsh with this comment, but they are lower because I would take every player above them first, it's just that simple. But this is just a rankings and not a phantom draft, remember that. When i do one, it will be very different from my rankings board.
That’s really funny because doing my monthly mock just for fun in a book I have, I found that I had Lindsay and Marsh falling all the way to the end of first round for the exact reason that every team had a reason to take someone else over them.
Noah, inconsistency is one thing, if he realizes his full potential and really bulks up a bit (that could mean strengthening his body for mens football), then he could be anything. But to me screams more bust potential. Having said that, he never went up against bigger bodies this year and only played (from memory) 1 or two games against the best and showed a little bit.

I think he is not good enough below his knees for the position he played most at and on that, what position is he, also I see a lot of selfish football and less team football coming from him. I don't think he showed that he can play a certain role and is still learning roles which makes an early pick riskier. I just think he has a lot to work on but has that potential there.

Having said all that, i still have him inside the late first round calculations.
Well said, I agree with a lot of this

1. W.DUURSMA
  2. Z.UWLAND
  3. D.PATTERSON
  4. D.ANNABLE
  5. C.DUFF-TYTLER
  6. S.ROBEY
  7. D.SHARP
  8. X.TAYLOR
  9. H.DEAN
  10. S.GRJL
  11. A.SCHUBERT
  12. S.CUMMING
  13. H.BARKER
  14. J.FARROW
  15. O.GREEVES
  16. J.PHILLIPOU
  17. J.LINDSAY
  18. L.DOVASTON
  19. A.LUDOWYKE
  20. B.THREDGOLD
  21. M.MARSH
  22. M.KING
  23. O.TAYLOR
  24. J.MURRAY
  25. N.HIBBINS-HARGREAVES
  26. B.OODSHORN-BENNIER
  27. L.SUMNER-PICKETT
  28. L.HETHERTON
  29. L.EMMETT
  30. K.FINCHER

NEXT GROUPING (consists of 30)
M.KONDOGIANNIS, Z.MCCARTHY, M.LERAY, L.CARMICHAEL, B.ADDINSALL, J.ISON, A.SWEID, H.MIKUNDA, T.BURTON, J.MELLOR, L.KELLAWAY, A.THOMAS, K.COULSON, H.KYLE, J.DAHLITZ, H.HOLMES, K.EVANS, T.BYRNE, F.RODRIGUEZ, C.CURTIN, C.BANFIELD, N.ROBERTS-THOMPSON, R.ONLEY, S.AINSWORTH, S.SWADLING, J.HOUSTON, H.SCOTT, T.BLAMIRES, H.EL ACHKAR, L.KICKETT

FINAL GROUPING (consists of 40) kids I believe are late national draft / rookie chances
J.DALTON, J.COOK, T.WHAN, O.AINSWORTH, F.DAVIS, C.NAIRN, T.MCGUANE, T.AH-MU, R.WRIGHT, T.MURRAY, B.ATKINS, N.CHAMBERLAIN, H.BRIDGE, T.PRINDABLE, C.SMITH, W.WALLEY, X.BAMERT, B.KELLY, F.KNIEPP, J.MILLER, Z.PEUCKER, Z.HARDING, K.WHITE, W.DARCY, A.SHARKIE, H.WRIGHT, R.CORRIGAN, T.WILLIAMS, D.SUTHERLAND, L.CARPENTER, R.HAMILTON, J.SAXENA, T.SINNEMA, B.RONGDIT, C.COLLINS, I.WALLER, C.MCKINNON, M.STEVENS, T.GRESHAM, Z.O'KEEFE
Talk amongst Freo-ites is we would take Rodriguez with our first pick.

How a big a 'reach' do you think that is?

Any similar players with his disposal skills you see in the early/mid 20s?

Talk amongst Freo-ites is we would take Rodriguez with our first pick.

How a big a 'reach' do you think that is?

Any similar players with his disposal skills you see in the early/mid 20s?
I have him rated in the 31-60 group, and given that the freo pick might end up being around 20-24 range it wouldn't be too much of a reach. I really rated Fred over the last 2 years, but for me, I haven't seen much of an improvement on his game. That alone is not a bad thing, he does everything well, is clean, and a solid midfielder. I have just seen others excell in areas that Fred hasn't, others have also shown abilities in new positions and others have also grown in body and height.
Other mids around that mark with that sort of disposal, Jai Murray (suns nga), Lachie Carmichael (swans academy) can play that role. I personally think it may be a touch too early for Fred but if Freo want him that may be the chance unless they do pick swaps on the night if the inter club information is that he may slip back a bit.

I have him rated in the 31-60 group, and given that the freo pick might end up being around 20-24 range it wouldn't be too much of a reach. I really rated Fred over the last 2 years, but for me, I haven't seen much of an improvement on his game. That alone is not a bad thing, he does everything well, is clean, and a solid midfielder. I have just seen others excell in areas that Fred hasn't, others have also shown abilities in new positions and others have also grown in body and height.
Other mids around that mark with that sort of disposal, Jai Murray (suns nga), Lachie Carmichael (swans academy) can play that role. I personally think it may be a touch too early for Fred but if Freo want him that may be the chance unless they do pick swaps on the night if the inter club information is that he may slip back a bit.
I think his type will appeal, and perhaps the strong friendship with Whan would be a positive.

Personally I'd be keen on the SA wingmen or similar.

What's the earliest we all think Curtin could go? I think someone takes a punt on him late first/early second. In a draft with so many question marks there's worse things you can do then take a punt on a 200cm bloke that kicks goals for fun.

Probably looking at second round. A long way off being afl ready if he ever does, but yes, in the draft, this year, a pick in the mid to late second round is a likely spot.

Jai is a great size, not afraid of anything and will bury himself in and come out with the ball. His football IQ and ball use is very, very good. He played across the half back line which is a great spot for him, but also excels in the midfield, he is criminally under rated maybe because his in-game speed is not shown very often, but he does have quickness. Also probably because of the more fancied and talked about Uwland and Patterson.
He looks like he is not overly quick because he will win the ball and give it off to the right spot and has not needed to use his legs. His next step will be learning to do that when it is needed and would provide any team with a player who has a very high IQ, great ball winning ability, excellent ball use by hand and foot, great size, poise, class and multi positionality to work with. Plenty of AFL level traits.
I remember watching a Suns v Lions academy game at U16 level, and Murray just killed us with his best Harley Reid impersonation, playing as a high half forward, rotating through the middle.

Every touch just killed us. Precession kicks into the forward 30, fend offs, kicking goals, runs down the wing and through the middle of the ground.

Swore he was going to be a top 3 pick.

Now that the Demons have seven and eight in the draft, who do you think that they are likely to take but who do you think they should take?

Hey Smythe again

Anything on Felix Kniepp

Saints in need of a small back-pocket l reckon

Fincher may do in that role, but after seeing his 1 game for Sandy zebs, see him more as a midfielder.

Also Jackson Voss may suffice, if they decide to pick him up.

Now that the Demons have seven and eight in the draft, who do you think that they are likely to take but who do you think they should take?
From my knowledge: they like, and have been seen with my own two eyes throughout the year watching, Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves, Josh Lindsay, Sullivan Robey, X.Taylor, and Greeves. I know they have interest in Cumming, Schubert, Dovaston and Ludowyke.

Who would i take: With little to no faith in Melbournes future forward line and the position they are in the draft order i would 100% grab Aidan Schubert and then team him up with fellow SA rep Sam Cumming. Gives you that forward who can actually mark and play well around the ground as well with stints in the ruck if needed or just ruck when the ball is in the F50, and Sam Cumming gives you that power mid/half forward who doesnt take a backward step, can win his own ball but can also be a threat down forward.

I think from now up untill draft night Melbourne may try to pick swap up with Richmond so they can get up to take Robey, Richmond will probably take the same road as Essendon did with the Merrett trade offer and want too much and Melbourne wont do the deal therefore taking Robey out of their grasp, if that happens, i would take those above mentioned.
They would both immediately fit into the demons side and grow with, whilst also complimenting, the recent draftee strategy the dees have had with getting runners and users and plugging youth across most lines since 2021.

Hey Smythe again

Anything on Felix Kniepp

Saints in need of a small back-pocket l reckon

Fincher may do in that role, but after seeing his 1 game for Sandy zebs, see him more as a midfielder.

Also Jackson Voss may suffice, if they decide to pick him up.
with the saints picks being around 50, 65, 86 etc at the moment, expect those to come in about 13 spots each.
I would have Felix as a late draft / rookie selction candidate and he would be a pretty good prospect if you are looking towards selecting a back pocket from the draft at that mark. Can he make the grade? Has a few traits, is nippy, can evade and be the distibuter with generally good foot skills, but one of my gripes is i see him losing his opponent too much whilst trying to run up the ground and continue the link up play with the mids, hence why late in the year he was given some midfield time and he did quite well.

with the saints picks being around 50, 65, 86 etc at the moment, expect those to come in about 13 spots each.
I would have Felix as a late draft / rookie selction candidate and he would be a pretty good prospect if you are looking towards selecting a back pocket from the draft at that mark. Can he make the grade? Has a few traits, is nippy, can evade and be the distibuter with generally good foot skills, but one of my gripes is i see him losing his opponent too much whilst trying to run up the ground and continue the link up play with the mids, hence why late in the year he was given some midfield time and he did quite well.
How many spots do you see Richmonds #38 coming in ?
Also do you believe we will keep the pick or trade it into future picks

How many spots do you see Richmonds #38 coming in ?
Also do you believe we will keep the pick or trade it into future picks
Possibly 8 or 9 spots, I think they may trade it back (if they want to match kellaway) and grab a future. They (Rich) have an understanding with Louis, whether or not that is 'we will match a bid only after a certain point' or just 'we will only rookie you if you get through the ND' i don't know.
WIth 6 players already gone, only 1 has come in therefore 5 spots with 3 picks. They are very likely to leave a spot open for 2026's MSD, leaving 4 spots, 3 picks. Two early picks then trade the other back for two later ones to get your third player and then wait to see if you need to match kellaway is a safe way to go. Using the first pick, then trading the second back a little, grabbing a future first and grabbing an extra late pick this year would be a great win and make kellaway a sure thing if they definitely want him.
Eg. trade 4 to melbourne for 8, 66 and the 2026 first tied to g.c, if melbourne really want to get ahead of essendon for someone they like.

Possibly 8 or 9 spots, I think they may trade it back (if they want to match kellaway) and grab a future. They (Rich) have an understanding with Louis, whether or not that is 'we will match a bid only after a certain point' or just 'we will only rookie you if you get through the ND' i don't know.
WIth 6 players already gone, only 1 has come in therefore 5 spots with 3 picks. They are very likely to leave a spot open for 2026's MSD, leaving 4 spots, 3 picks. Two early picks then trade the other back for two later ones to get your third player and then wait to see if you need to match kellaway is a safe way to go. Using the first pick, then trading the second back a little, grabbing a future first and grabbing an extra late pick this year would be a great win and make kellaway a sure thing if they definitely want him.
Eg. trade 4 to melbourne for 8, 66 and the 2026 first tied to g.c, if melbourne really want to get ahead of essendon for someone they like.
Don't forget Seth gets upgraded from the rookie list this year