Dec 19, 2008
Middle Swan
Footy teams and players.
First round
1. Melbourne - Tom Scully, 182cm 74kg, will go to Dees. All Australian rover. There is no need to promote Scully, he will be selected top two.

2. Melbourne - Jack Trengove, 185cm 82kg, will go to Dees and play AFL in 2010. (these two picks could go either way). All Australian ruck rover.The finals series by Trengove not only ensured he will be taken by Melbourne but also has him challenging for the number one selection. He will be at the Dees.

3. Richmond - Dustin Martin, 187cm 86kg, draft camp results excellent, tigers are mad keen on this bloke. All Australian Centreman. Martin is a very confident young man and has shown he has the appetite for hard work. It is not inconceivable that the Tigers will select another player but with so many holes to fill - players with determination will take preference over talented erratic players, the Tigers need to learn from past mistakes. Will consider Butcher but may balk at the risk of him leaving to his beloved Saints after his initial contract is up.

4. Fremantle - Anthony Morabito, 190cm 90kg, Morabito is most likely to land at the Dockers unless fate has Trengove still available. All Australian wing. Morabito has been likened to Goodes and the Dockers are keen to pick a player capable of making an impact in their first year, a well developed player. Morabito has played senior footy in the WAFL and can push for selection early next year.

5. North Melbourne - Ben Cunnington, 186cm 84kg, tough midfielder Roos need. All Australian forward pocket. North are a tall side with a talented midfield of past years falling away. This is the key to this years draft, Kanga's must select genuine hard at the pill midfielders and allow Wells to provide the flair. This is no overnight fix but the process must continue in earnest in this draft.

6. Sydney Swans - Gary Rohan, 186cm 79kg, Raw but talented forward who can do amazing things in the football arena. All Australian half forward. Rohan represents some x-factor with good size, he also has been more committed to his footy in the last few years and it is reasonable to expect genuine improvement still left in the tank.

7. West Coast - Bradley Sheppard, 186cm 78kg, ball carrying defender that can develop into a midfielder, wins plenty of the football. Coach John Worsfold was impressed with Sheppard after the recruiters tabled their information. The long time favorite Lewis Jetta is back on the market so most phantom drafts need serious adjustment. All Australian BP.

8. Port Adelaide - John Butcher 197cm 84kg, Arguably the best player in the draft and definately the best key forward. Choco will have Butcher in his sights and back himself to convince Butcher to remain a Power player. The touted No1 draft pick sliding no further. Butcher has a great pair of hands and reads the play well, he has all the elements of a power forward in his tool set. Port fans can consider themselves lucky that Butcher slid this far. Others in the mix Talia and Vardy.

9. Port Adelaide - Jake Melksham, 182cm 69kg, classy midfielder is a priority for Power. Melksham is a ball magnet with silky disposal and boosted his ranking with a BOG effort in the finals. Essendon ready to pounce if Melksham is overlooked by Port.

10. Essendon - Kane Lucas, 188cm 79kg, midfielders will be aim for Bombers and Lucas is a very athletic player with good skills, taking the draft camp by storm. Others in the frame Lewis Jetta, Jake Melksham, Koby Stevens and Ryan Bastinac. All Australian HF.

11. Melbourne - Nathan Vardy, 198cm 89kg, ruckman needed for Dees and this bloke is the best available. Key Ruckmen are likely to be snapped up by GWS and GC17 in the next couple of drafts so good ruckmen may be hard to come by. Vardy has a good leap, has a very good one grab mark and is a good tap ruckman, dare I say a slightly smaller version of Dean Cox.
I think Vardy is mobile enough to play a KP forward role as well, he marks strongly and kicks well, this gives Vardy extra appeal. Expect this pick to take a tall with Butcher and Talia also in the mix.

12. Carlton - Aaron Black, 193cm 78kg, a talented forward with all round skills Black is agile, fast to react and reads the play superbly. A feature of his play is his marking, contested or on the lead. Tall forwards are a priority for Blues and Black will be the equal of any available (barring Butcher) and is a smokey to be taken at 7. Others in the mix Talia, Griffiths and Carlisle.

13. Adelaide - Jasper McMillan-Pittard 185cm 70kg, an agile defender with good spring in his legs Jasper has firmed in the draft late in the season. Lucas was the target but the Crows will take Jasper with this pick and the mail is strong out of SA.

14. Sydney - Daniel Talia, 194cm 89kg, All Australian centre half back. Talia looks to be a ready made AFL prospect, 194cms, 89kgs and agile. Talia plays most of his footy in the back half but when he has gone forward he has proven very useful. I thought Talia would be taken earlier than 14 but circumstances have changed.

15. Western Bulldogs - Lewis Jetta, 178cm 72kg, Doggies will jump at Jetta taking best available. Dangerous goal sneak required and should get the nod ahead of his hometown rivals Lucas and Black. Vying for BOG state game. Lewis has come from the clouds in the past twelve months although his ability was recognized at the start of this year by the Eagles. Producing a serviceable game in January in the WCE scratch match, Jetta was quick to establish his position in Swan Districts WAFL team.
It would take several games in the back half before Jetta was released to the wing and then an onball role. Again a player who was well behind (experience wise) than your average draftee twelve months ago, Jetta has now become a serious first round selection.

16. Port Adelaide - Koby Stevens, 187cm 83kg, a medium inside midfielder that hunts the football with aggression. Stevens has good size at 187cms and Choco will find him hard to pass. I had Port needing a ruckman but now that Vardy is likely to be taken by the Dees and the Port club are in talks with Cameron Cloke, Stevens looks suited just ahead of Tapscott and Bastinac.

17. Geelong - Andrew Moore, 188cm 81kg, The younger brother of Tiger Kel looks set to be a first-rounder and the Cats will take him should he be available. The versatile Moore, has been likened to Ryan O'Keefe and Andy Otten. Vardy, Gawn and Fitzpatrick in the mix but Geelongs second pick at 28 could still see a ruckman available .

Second Round

18. Melbourne - Luke Ball unlikely to be taken earlier and Melbourne are going to take him against his wishes. The Dees see Ball as a leader for their young players and believe he will come to the party if they pick him.

19. Richmond - Benjamin Griffiths, 198cm 99kg, big forward strong overhead. Griffiths has had an injury plagued season but there is no denying his talent. Some punters have him as rivaling Butcher as the best power forward in this draft. Swans gained two young midfield options from Hawks in Kennedy and McGlynn so expect a power forward to be added with this pick. A look at Sydney's list reveals the need for forwards as a priority especially if Morabito is taken with pick 6. Carlisle, Sheppard and Moore also in the mix.

20. Fremantle - Troy Taylor, 188cm 75kg, A clever and talented forward, Taylor would add an exciting, high leaping player with one touch hands. Troy is a work in progress though and it is unlikely he will play AFL in 2010. Troy is however one of the most untapped talents in this years draft, and the risk is well worth the price. Sheppard was expected here but Freo has a number of HB options already and McPhee is also on his way to the Dockers so the forward line needs attention. Mathew Panos also in the mix.

21. North Melbourne - Ryan Bastinac, 183cm 74kg, will take best available mid. While Bastinac has lived in the shadow of his illustrious team mate in Scully he has not slid under the radar. Ryan is highly thought of by his coach and represents a solid midfield selection for the Kangaroos here. Stevens, Colyer and Bartett are other options.

22. West Coast - Luke Tapscott, 180cm 86kg, SA player should land here. Eagles will find it hard to pass him up. All Australian interchange. Tapscott has quality disposal by foot (best in this draft), can find the goals, wins plenty of the footy and is powerfully built. Tapscott will likely play AFL in 2010.

23. West Coast - Callum Bartlett 179cm 75kg, fast and attacking mid/forward that has overcome a serious knee injury. Bartlett was touted as a first round selection at the start of 2009 before his knee reco. The Eagles buoyed by the progress of Swift will have some confidence with Bartlett's knee. Christensen, Colyer and Duncan will also be in the mix.

24. Essendon - Daniel Menzel 185cm 77kg, Menzel is a rebounding defender with a good grab that shows poise under pressure. He uses the ball intelligently and runs to help his team mates out. Menzel will be a welcome addition to the half back line in the absence of McPhee.

25. North Melbourne - Jake Carlisle, 196cms 87kgs and growing, a late maturing type and has potential to improve further. Jake has a good accurate kick and a one grab mark and moves quite well for his size, he also is surprisingly good below his knees and moves the ball on quickly by hand. Griffiths and Tom Hill also in the mix.

26. Essendon - Allen Christensen 176cm 75kg, touted as a top ten pick mid year Christensen is likely to be the slider. Christensen gets plenty of contested footy and knows where the goals are, Bombers are keen to land more midfielders.

27. Brisbane - Jordan Gysberts 188cm 83kg, Gysberts has good disposal by hand and foot and gets plenty of the footy, a good midfield option for the Lions. Sam Reid considered here.

28. Geelong - Max Gawn, 206cm 97kg, ruckman needed for Cats after Mumford was lost to Sydney. Gawn is 206cms and 97kgs, has a very good mark and is a very good tap ruckman. Gawn has no real leap but he has size with a capitol S. A project ruck is the most likely scenario, there are few good choices (4) so to pass a ruckman here could be a setback for the Cats knowing salary cap issues won't allow them to buy one any time soon.

29. Adelaide - Mathew Panos, 192cm 85kg, Panos is a strong leading player and his kicking for goal is excellent earning him AA selection in the champs. All Australian full forward..

30. Collingwood - Sam Reid 192cm 84kg, An attacking defender with good pace and skills.

31. Western Bulldogs - Tom Hill 199cm 82kg, very good contested mark who gets to position and uses his body well. Hill has a good long and accurate kick.

32. St Kilda -James Craig 195cm 91kg, hard working ruckman earning All Australian selection. Another player that could be taken higher in the draft but his height (or lack of it) could be a stumbling block. A talented player that should be welcomed at St Kilda with their aging rucks in need of replacing.

33. Essendon - Dylan Robertson 190cm 78kg, a no frills defender with good poise, a strong grab and good disposal, Robertson has good awareness and reads the play well, a solid selection for the Eagles and a player I rate very highly, will become a good quality AFL player.

Third Round.

34. Melbourne - Jesse Critchton 183cms 66kgs, Critchton is a talented medium midfielder from Tassie, has been touted as a possible first round pick but more likely here as at 66kgs he needs time to develop, a long term mid. Taking Luke Ball at 18 will give the Dee's flexibility to draft Critchton and he is likely to repay them handsomely down the track. Arguably the midfield option with the most up-side in this draft.

35. Richmond - Dylan Grimes 192cm 81kg, younger brother of Jack, Grimes has good pace and agility making the top ten in the repeat sprints, agility test and the 20m sprint at the draft camp, his delivery by foot is largely good but can be erratic.Ryan Harwood 184cm 79kg, Tasmanian midfielder that finds the football regularly, hard inside midfielder that excels at the clearances. Harwood was sixth overall in champion data's statistical rankings. All Australian interchange.

36. Fremantle - Mitchell Duncan, 188cm 81kg, Half forward with league experience in the WAFL, Duncan is a player that presents well and gets plenty of the football. Averaging 20 disposals per game at the championships, Duncan could be taken earlier in the draft (pick 23 WCE). All Australian wing.

37. North Melbourne - Nathan Fyfe 186cm 73kg, Fyfe is a clever forward with an accurate kick on goal courtesy of an excellent kicking action. He has good all round skills, is inconspicuously evasive and a strong mark over head.

38. Sydney Swans - Josh Thomas 178cm 70kg, in and under type, a natural rover who reads the ruck taps well and gets in the right positions at the ball-up. Thomas has good skills on both sides and delivers the footy accurately to the teams advantage. Josh appears suited to the Sydney game plan on the SCG.

39. Hawthorn - Jack Fitzpatrick 201cm 85kg, agile ruckman surprisingly quick over the ground Fitzpatrick has been a long time sufferer of chronic fatigue syndrome. Could easily be taken earlier in the draft without question and the Hawks would consider themselves lucky to snare Fitzpartick with this pick.

40. Geelong - Joshua Cowan 183cm 71kg, outside midfielder that is suited playing on a wing, Josh has good skills, a feature is his disposal by foot primarily on the right boot is excellent and he likes to run with the ball.

41. North Melbourne - Travis Colyer 175cm 73kg, speedy type with good goal sense and an appetite for the contest, Colyer could be seen as a replacement for Brent Harvey when that time comes. All Australian interchange.

42. Geelong - Ayden Kennedy 191cm 79kg, Kennedy is a good decision maker with a very good kick and sure hands, a feature of his play is eyes for the ball only and courage standing under the high ball or backing into packs, can play at either end of the ground.

43. Carlton - Joe Dare 188cm 81kg, a versatile defender that can play either end of the ground, the sort of swing man that the Blues need on their list. Dare has risen into prominence in 2009 improving as the season unfolded and is now a good AFL prospect.

44. Richmond - Marcus Davies 187cm 81kg, Tasmanian defender that attacks the football and the man, Davies has good all round skills, he likes to run the ball out of defense given the opportunity and he delivers the ball well.

45. Adelaide - Andrew Hooper 172cm 78kg, this small defender/mid made the All Australian team in the back pocket and will repay the Crows handsomely for selecting him. Hooper plays beyond his height and weight with a solid contested mark and he gets the pill with relentless monotony. A short player but coach Neil Craig is an astute judge and will snap him up.

46. Hawthorn - Ryan Harwood 184cm 79kg, Tasmanian midfielder that finds the football regularly, hard inside midfielder that excels at the clearances. Harwood was sixth overall in champion data's statistical rankings. All Australian interchange.

47. Brisbane Lions - Mark Hutchings 180cm 82kg, tough as nails and hard at the ball inside midfielder who captained WA at the championships, Hutchings will be exactly the type of player Vossy wants at the Lions.

48. Fremantle - Gerrick Weedon 186cm 80kg, Weedon is a stylish mover across the park and reads the play well, he seems to find his way through heavy traffic and although his kicking action is a little awkward at times he is accurate on most occasions.

49. Fremantle - Serhat Temel 195cm 95kg, Temel has come right into draft calculations after proving a big occasion player after his dominant performance in the TAC Cup finals, booting 22 goals in four matches, including five in the grand final win. McPhee will be taken in the PSD.

This is where I stop, it is too hard to pick from here with the obvious talent taken and the draftee's left start to have some question marks in their skill set or application. The delisted players get their chance from this point on with only Ball taken so far. After much research I think the draft is quite strong to this point.

nice work & i like the AA positions, but i reckon you have been a bit kind 2 your own team with 2nd & 3rd picks. Sheppard & Taylor, come on.
Sheppard would be lucky 2 drop so low &
Taylor has stated he doesn't want 2 go 2 the chardonnays so why would they draft him?
sorry 2 criticise at all, i believe u have done a good job & alot better than i can at this stage.

nice work & i like the AA positions, but i reckon you have been a bit kind 2 your own team with 2nd & 3rd picks. Sheppard & Taylor, come on.
Sheppard would be lucky 2 drop so low &
Taylor has stated he doesn't want 2 go 2 the chardonnays so why would they draft him?
sorry 2 criticise at all, i believe u have done a good job & alot better than i can at this stage.
I was not aware that Taylor was anti WCE. :confused:

And yes it seems to have a touch of hope in regard to WCE picks but I firmly believe that I have placed the draftee's in the most likely scenarios. You will note that Sheppard is quoted as an option in many selections, but the needs of a club and the status of a backman lends me to have this A grade player sliding.

Take Hooper as an axample, he won All Australian selection in the BP but most Ph drafts have him 3rd round at best. Backmen don't have the profile of mids and forwards.

Surely we'll take Lucas if available. I have my doubts as to wther he'll be available. Port supporters will kill you for taking 2 KPP's in their first round selections. At most they will take 1 KPP!
I was touch and go with Lucas to Port but I thought Tapscott would be the selection.

Tapscott is not KPP, he is a Midfielder.

Lucas to Bombers was also ants dick but Vic over WA risk factor, I chose the safe option and I think Bombers will too.

good stuff. Tend to agree with that order.

That would be Melbourne's dream outcome. I can see Port taking Talia...though they are the best chance for Butcher. If I were Essendon, I'd be taking Butcher if available. They simply need another forward option.

I think Melbourne would be mad to take Ball at 18...but if they get Scully, Trengone and Butcher...then they can probably afford to add some experience because they have competed their forward and midfields.

I was touch and go with Lucas to Port but I thought Tapscott would be the selection.

Tapscott is not KPP, he is a Midfielder.

Lucas to Bombers was also ants dick but Vic over WA risk factor, I chose the safe option and I think Bombers will too.

We a number of WA players- Reimers, Hooker, Myers, Gumbleton, etc on our list. We'll pick best available and that in my view is Lucas IF AVAILABLE. However, I doubt he'll slide past Ports 2 picks. I do feel they will take Lucas and Butcher with picks 8 and 9, and whatever midfielder. Port will tell you they don't need another KPP and you have given them a ruckman. No chance they will take 2 KPP's in a midfielders draft when their midfield needs attention as much as their forwardline.

If I were Essendon, I'd be taking Butcher if available. They simply need another forward option.

No we don't. We have enough forwards and we drafted Michael Still would would go top 15 this year as a KPP forward last year. Plus we have Gumbleton, Neagle, Hurley, Williams, etc. We have enough forwards. We'll take best available and possibly a ruckman at 33 or a small crumbing forward. No more tall forwards.

Seriously doubt we will pick up Troy Taylor, my mail is we are not interested.

But we have strong interest in Travis Colyer and Callum Bartlett who the club has both spoken to this week.

No chance they will take 2 KPP's in a midfielders draft when their midfield needs attention as much as their forwardline.

Cassisi, Cornes X2, Boak, Pearce, Rodan, Hartlett, plus Gray seems likely to make a move as opposed to an Tredrea, Ebert, Westoff, Motlop and Salter. With Tredrea getting on in years and Westoff not coming on as quickly as first anticipated their forward line is in much more dire state than their midfield, which is actually quite good. Plus Lade retiring, and Brogan not far behind, a ruck would be a good option.

Surely we'll take Lucas if available. I have my doubts as to wther he'll be available. Port supporters will kill you for taking 2 KPP's in their first round selections. At most they will take 1 KPP!
Agreed. It's a good draft though and it could well be around the mark, though I think if port pass on Butcher it will be to get Lucas no-one else. I don't see them going for a ruckman either. Enjoyed the read.

Cassisi, Cornes X2, Boak, Pearce, Rodan, Hartlett, plus Gray seems likely to make a move as opposed to an Tredrea, Ebert, Westoff, Motlop and Salter. With Tredrea getting on in years and Westoff not coming on as quickly as first anticipated their forward line is in much more dire state than their midfield, which is actually quite good. Plus Lade retiring, and Brogan not far behind, a ruck would be a good option.

Do you realise how many ruckmen Port have on their list? Yes the might take one, but it will not be picks 8,9 or 16. All of them are way too early for the ruckment this year. Butcher, plus a midfielder, plus Brad Shephard or Moore would be their ideal draft for the first 3 picks.

Brogan and Redden (think he has heaps of potential) + a bunch of part timers in Westoff, Stewart (who have played a combined total of 6 games in 3 years), Lobbe and Trengove. After Brogan goes they are relying on a bunch of unproven beanpole pinch hitters. Really surprised they didn't play more of these guys though.

Would not be surprised at all if they went two KP players, if Talia and Butcher were still around and shoot for a sliding mid at 16. Their forward line is the most needed area.

Another "Port needs a ruckman" Phantom Draft

Do you guys bother to to do any research, or just go with the superficial flow?

Have a read of another post I did

Doing a phantom draft is something I couldn't do, however if I did one, I'd be sure to know who and what is already on a club list.

Now take Port for example, people are saying we should draft a ruckman, specifically a junior ruckman.

I'd like to know of what use a junior ruckman would be to Port in 2010 & 2011?

It's common for ruckmen to take 2 to 3 years to mature into a body that could cope with AFL play.

Plus on Port's list are the following players --

Dean Brogan 200cm 30 years old
Matthew Lobbe 199cm 20 year old
Jarrad Redden 202cm 18 year old
Daniel Stewart 199cm 21 year old
Jackson Trengove 197cm 19 year old (more a KP backman I believe)

plus Rookie listed --

Daniel Bass 198cm 22 year old

So I ask, of what possible use or good would it be for Port to add a 17 or 18 year old ruckman?

Now if you were to say Port were recruiting Darren Jolly, then sure.

Drafting in a 17 or 18 year old ruckman, saying we desperately need him is absolute garbage.

Now I'm not having a go at just you, but at all the phantom drafters thinking Port need to, or are sure to, draft another rucking kid.

It wont happen in the National Draft, now the Rookie Draft is another matter altogether.

Matt Lobbe had a terrific 2nd half of the SANFL season once he transferred to West Adelaide and played as their number 1 ruckman.

Brogan has another good 2 to 3 seasons in him, remember he came into footy at around 23 years old.

Jarrad Redden at 18 years old, 202cm and 95kg is no pinch hitter beanpole.

Daniel Stewart is probably more a forward that can ruck & Jackson Trengove is a key position player.

Having 22 year old Melbourne born & raised Daniel Bass, at 198cm & 100kg, is some more insurance, plus I believe we will rookie list another junior ruckman.

So, do you still reckon we'll use any of picks 8, 9 or 16 on another "unproven beanpole kid"?

Probably not, apparently you're after Cloke, which I think is a good idea in the mean time while these kids put on some size.

Brogan and Redden (think he has heaps of potential) + a bunch of part timers in Westoff, Stewart (who have played a combined total of 6 games in 3 years), Lobbe and Trengove. After Brogan goes they are relying on a bunch of unproven beanpole pinch hitters. Really surprised they didn't play more of these guys though.

Would not be surprised at all if they went two KP players, if Talia and Butcher were still around and shoot for a sliding mid at 16. Their forward line is the most needed area.

At least your 2nd idea has some merit. Forget about ruckman, Port are the last team to need a ruckman as they took Matthew Lobbe early a few years back and is developng well from all reports. Talia and Butcher are opinions at 8 and 9, providing they think they can can get a Sheppard or Moore at 16 for instance.

agreed, i'd be taking lucas before talia if available tho. If WC end up drafting Lucas then this option becomes one of my favs. Theres talk of Tapscott falling to the 2nd round, i'd be happy to take my chances on him at 16, elsewise we'll get either Melksham, Stevens or Sheppard which is a great outcome also.

I honestly think Port will take Butcher at 8, one of Melksham or Lucas at 9, Essendon will take the other one at 10- probably Melksham as I rate Lucas higher and suits Port really well. As for 16, I see Tapscott as a big chance, I rate him in the top 6 players in this draft so if you get him at 16 will be an absolute steal. If he is not there I would not be totally surprised to see you punt on Bartlett.

Regarding Port Adelaides ruck situation, Port are in a
river in Egypt. They are in de fuc**** Nile. I don't
care how many blokes on Port's list that they call
ruckmen. They have one old, broken down , often
injured and frequently suspended ruckman. Other
than that, they have Trengove who is not a ruck,
has injury concerns and has not played a game.
Then they have 4 or 5 physcially underdeveloped
SANFL reserves ruckmen. Get real Port. you need
a ruckman, in fact you need 2 ruckmen.