So why did England win?

• Thread starter Thread starter PHX

England finally got their lineup right

But of course Aussies always use the excuses and no team ever beats them fairly

Cant blame Symonds when we missed a bloke with a far superior batting average

How could it not be fair. Injuries are injuries.

It doesnt mean they dont influence, but they cant be used as excuses.

Well done England. WOnt be down with Zimbabwe and Bangas anymore. :p

It is a mix of both. I feel good fielding can almost be worth 100 runs so we missed Symonds in that regard but England finally started making inroads into the lineup, prior to Australia Day Ponting and Hussey never looked like they could go out but suddenly Hussey is mortal.

England won the right games. I reckon Australia's team is better, but they don't seem to perform too well under real pressure, especially when batting last. If New Zealand had to get 85 off 60 or whatever it was, I reckon they would've at least given it a fair crack, whereas the Australian batsmen cracked under the pressure. We really need to get back the old cool heads like Steve Waugh and the great Boof.

Sooking losers thread.

Accept the fact that Australia aren't good enough to win, it's that simple.

How is this sooking???

Its a simple question. EVen I voted the England line-up changes.

But I want to see how many people think it could be Symonds and his motivation, fielding confidence and aggressive batting he gives to Australia.

If I was sooking it wouldve been "So why did Australia lose?"

England clearly won. End of.

I think it was because of some pretty special efforts from Paul Collingwood and a good contribution from the rest of the team. Flintoff and Bell in particular.

The Australian media, supporters (including me) and team were cocky and now have egg on their face.

Sure they missed Symonds, but England had about 7 players out. England were the better team and it goes to show the Australians aren't unbeatable. Especially if the opposition can limit the influence of Ponting and to a lesser extent Hussey and Gilchrist with the bat.

The cricket world needs to take note of the way Flintoff handles himself after winning and losing. Has restored his status as one of the game's best on the field and truly is a great sport and deserving of any accolades that come his way.

lol at Australia 'missing Symonds'.

What about England missing Vaughn and Peiterson? You cant use injuries as an excuse here.

England won because Australias batting line-up fails to perform. Gilly needs to go (or start scoring some meaningful runs rather than just swinging his bat). Hayden should not have been brought back into the side. Ponting is usually a nervous starter, and if an opener is out cheaply, hes soon to follow. We are missing Martyn as that sensible influence in the middle order. Clarke is still being selected on performances 2 years ago. :rolleyes: Hodge, I dont think should be there. Watson should not have been brought back into a final after missing so much cricket.

And Tait should be in the side.

lol at Australia 'missing Symonds'.

What about England missing Vaughn and Peiterson? You cant use injuries as an excuse here.

England won because Australias batting line-up fails to perform. Gilly needs to go (or start scoring some meaningful runs rather than just swinging his bat). Hayden should not have been brought back into the side. Ponting is usually a nervous starter, and if an opener is out cheaply, hes soon to follow. We are missing Martyn as that sensible influence in the middle order. Clarke is still being selected on performances 2 years ago. :rolleyes: Hodge, I dont think should be there. Watson should not have been brought back into a final after missing so much cricket.

And Tait should be in the side.

omg, here comes the panic :rolleyes:

there're myriad reasons for the loss, inlcuding:

1) the main one - england have found some form and confidence...they have stood up as one after being on the bottom of the barrel and proven that you've got to grit you're teeth through the bad times and take your chances when your luck turns

2) we have not been stretched this summer - without competition, you lose your edge...you can talk about complacency all you want but sometimes it takes a loss to refocus efforts

3) we have made a couple of bold selections that were more about getting games into key players before the WC rather than winning this series...we have had the luxury of rotating players at will and still winning - while that has helped us in our WC preparations, it hasn't made for a settled team

4) symonds' injury was definitely a factor - in the ODI arena, he is our gamebreaker and there's no doubt we missed him...we've plenty of other matchwinners though so that's not a copout

5) we have been 'loading' all through the series, we've upped the amount of training in preparation for WC...don't get me wrong, the Aussies will be flithy that we let the Poms salvage something from the tour but the Aussies know their peak fitness and form is still to come

we asked for more competition and we got it - i am sure we'll bounce back when it matters :thumbsu:

Australia from the coach down just thought it would be a turn up and win mission - and they took their eye off the ball - and paid for it.
Starts with claiming they'll hit 400, as soon as they did that the cracks started appearing, then the Coach comes out claiming playing the opposition are a waste of time and hampering their world cup preparations.
Collingwood played very very well, Flintoff led the charge in my opinion with a hostile spell after the drinks break in the match where England beat Australia, it set the pattern, they got their tails up and away they went.
Their fielding improved markedly as did the way they structured their innings', continually keeping the board ticking over rather than getting bogged down like they did earlier in the series.
Several key Australian players did not perform when it counted, yes, losing Symonds was a blow but that happens and England had injury trouble as well.

It was about attitude mainly, England started to get their confidence going again, the 5-0 Ashes whitewash was a mental/confidence defeat rather than being a poor/talentless side, Australia got too over confident with their form and lost the plot.

England deserved the win for simply playing it out to the end and not giving up.
It'll do Australia good that loss.

Like everyone else, the Aussies went into footy season mode too early. They couldn't concentrate on the game, therefore we lost.

Whether the Aussies want to admit it or not, it's no coincidence that with the exception of Lee all the certainties for the World Cup XI were pretty ordinary after we qualified for the finals.

England just wanted it more, whether that's because they wanted a win before they went home or they wanted a trip to the Carribean knowing there's 4 to come back into that side.

Whether the Aussies want to admit it or not, it's no coincidence that with the exception of Lee all the certainties for the World Cup XI were pretty ordinary after we qualified for the finals.

England just wanted it more, whether that's because they wanted a win before they went home or they wanted a trip to the Carribean knowing there's 4 to come back into that side.
With the exception of Lee? :eek: