collingwood
For all the doom and gloom this week, the good news is that our depth has improved and we are getting something resembling our best side on the park.

In terms of the North game, it was pretty much an even contest apart from the 2nd quarter. When we were able to lock the game up, North's scoring dropped off dramatically. I would still back our boys in on a windy MCG day in the finals. North's field kicking was better than ours, but they are used to dry conditions under a roof. Finals will be a different matter.

Now in terms of the topic of this thread:

The following players are all available for selection or facing fitness tests. (With 2 weeks before finals, those players trying to recover from injury realistically need to break into the side this week. )

Swan
Toovey
Johnson
Goldsack
Krakouer
Macaffer
Buckley

There are 5 premiership players on that list and Krakouer who was good in last years GF. Macaffer will not make it back in so realistically you could drop him off the list.

There is some young talent in our starting 22 at the moment, but a few of the younger guys are beginning to look tired and are not having influence in big games.

Mooney
Elliot
Seedsman
Marty Clarke

Swan, Toovey and Johnson easily come in to replace those guys. Goldsack will probably find his way back in too.

The question now revolves around Krakouer. Realistically he needs to be selected this week. However, can you afford to bring into a crunch game 2 guys who have barely played in season 2012. (Johnson and Krakouer)

Many will say put the sub vest on Krakouer, but I think he needs a full games match fitness to prove himself. Perhaps even 3 quarters and then subbed in the last.

I think its a risk worth taking because our forward line is struggling in the big men department, and most of our goals are coming from smalls. But our small forwards aren't kicking goals either in Elliot, Sinclair and Fasolo. So Krakouer's goal sense will be vital I think.

I'd use Didak as the sub. He has had 2 really solid weeks, and should be nursed to peak form before finals. An easier week may be the way to go.

Good post, so many people are saying "best 22 for the year" on Saturday, etc. That may be the case, but realistically it is only going to get better. I think if we can get over the line this week we will give it a massive shake in September.

The problem is that the team 'on paper' and the squad in general always looks strong and capable of beating anyone. It is the form that is the issue. Let's hope we can flick the switch ON as fast as it was turned it OFF last season. Leaving it VERY late.

Form is a real concern.

However, in general our front-line players have been ok this year. All our frontline mids are getting their hands on it, and in general our defence has been quite tight. Our defence has shown some vulnerability, but in general is still holding teams to low enough scores.

I mean we were run off our feet on Saturday, yet still conceeded less than 100 points.

I think the depth in our 22 has been an issue. Even when all our A graders have dominated, we still haven't been able to blow teams away.

Over the past 2 years, our small forwards have been Krakouer, Macaffer, Davis, Didak, Beams, Sidebottom and Blair. None of those players have been in our forward line this year for various reasons. The last 3 now play as pure midfielders.

In its place, guys like Elliot, Sinclair, Fasolo and Goldsack have stepped in. All show lots of promise, but they aren't hitting the scoreboard with any regularity. Leigh Brown's retirement has also come at a cost for Dawes who is struggling for form, but has the added burden of having to ruck 20% of games and also fill holes down back.

I think if we at least got Krakouer back, and now with Didak slowly regaining some touch, we at least have 2 genuine goal-scoring smalls up forward. Sinclair has been out of form but will benefit as well. I think Wellingham is another that needs to lift. Or he could go back into the midfield and a goal sneak like Blair or Sidebottom could be used up forward for their goal sense.

Having Johnson back also allows a guy like Heath Shaw to move to a wing if need be to generate a bit of run and carry which has been lacking over the last month. Our wins against Sydney and St.Kilda were scrappy, whilst our movement against Hawthorn and North was non-existant.

There are major concerns, but the side plays at its best when all 22 give an even contribution. We haven't had that all year. If we get our best 22 on the park, then I think we may start seeing that even spread.

Only concern is we are running out of time. We need at least 2 weeks of match fitness into Krak and Johnson.

I think we can expect possibly 5 or 6 changes this week, subject to the fitness of Maxwell. Under normal circumstances this would be a bad sign for a premiership contender at this late stage, however the quality of the ins and the inexperience of the outs should give us the best chance of success in September. I agree that Krak should come in this week but would like to see Dids start. Maybe Sinclair as the sub.

Also remember, that even at their peak, Dawes and Cloke have never been massive goal-scorers. We are missing their contribution no doubt...but Plan A has always been to get the ball forward, lock it in and scrounge a goal through our elite contested work.

Dawes and Cloke's number 1 priority has been to make a contest and bring the ball to ground...or at least have a presence for our defenders to kick to.

The problem is that they are not even doing that the moment. They are either over-running the ball, getting out marked or dropping sitters. It will only take one big game to change the tide, but again they are running out of time.

But the focus needs to be less on them scoring goals, and more on them getting to more contests and competing. The goals will flow if they do that.

And of course our ball movement needs to be better. Again we don't need to rely on precision kicking, but we at least need to put our talls in a position to compete. Dawes in particular needs to stay closer to goal and just bring the ball to ground, whilst Cloke needs to force the contests on the wing. Tarrant has been the most impressive lead up player over the last few weeks.

I think Johnson and Didak will be important to our structure as Dave86 described above. Didak is a natural fwd and goal kicker unlike all the guys we have tried to fill the position this season. Johno will help free up Shaw who is being targeted every week. Krak I have doubts about, but needs to be given a chance. My main concerns other than the obvious key forwards is Jolly being able to stand up for 6 weeks and Brown being able to hold down a key defensive post. Keefe is who we really need back.

At least we have the talent and experience to beat any other side in the finals on any given day, but I think it's clear right now there are at least a couple of sides ahead of us.

Really, I would just be happy if I saw the INTENSITY back. With manic pressure applied as we did in 2010 and half of 2011 who knows how the opposition will hold up. It is so frustrating because it does not require talent or even form, just attitude.

Maybe I'm missing something. Maybe the coaching and tactical experts in the AFL have seen this is no longer a successful strategy the way football is being played now.

Seems obvious to me.

It is clear we are struggling with sides who have good foot speed and quick ball movement...or a side like Hawthorn who has precision passing.

Sydney, Adelaide and West Coast are still contested sides and our depth through the middle wins out.

But against Carlton, North and Hawthorn, they seem to totally run through our zone and forward press with ease. I think over pre-season we need to get back to some man on man defence, or look at potentially flooding at times during a game.

It is clear we are struggling with sides who have good foot speed and quick ball movement...or a side like Hawthorn who has precision passing.

Sydney, Adelaide and West Coast are still contested sides and our depth through the middle wins out.

But against Carlton, North and Hawthorn, they seem to totally run through our zone and forward press with ease. I think over pre-season we need to get back to some man on man defence, or look at potentially flooding at times during a game.

That sums it nicely.

Every side in the league has figured us out, but some are able to outplay us through their speed and precision. It was painfully obvious last week. I think our "heavy legs" from the week before might have amplified the problem...

You make a very good point relating to the reduced effectiveness of out forward line. Last year we had the luxury of Beams and Sidey doing a lot of their work in the forward line. Elliot and Sinclair have stepped up but not enough to fill the void... Add the that the form of Dawes and Cloke, and there you have it.

I'd be inclined to introduce BJ & Krak into the seniors and then pray that the risk pays off.

we probably undersell the impact of LeigH Brown as well. He was a good buffer for Cloke and Dawes...and he at least knew how to throw his body around.

Dawes is trying to play the 2nd tall and second ruck...and the problem is that his body work for a big man is not up to scratch at the moment.

Still, as I said above, get the final 4 or 5 players back and we still have a really strong team, a solid structure and we will be a threat in the finals.

There has not been any team throughout the year that has dominated from start to finish unlike in prevoius years. So it will be a big ask for any side to win 3 or 4 games in a row. We are as good a shot as anyone provided we have a full list to pick from.

bring em in (if fit), at the expense of the young ones. I can't see what we have to lose. Its not like the young ones are the reason why we win matches.

Leg speed might be an issue but experience will hopefully counter that. Match fitness surely a problem but now is the chance, waiting another week or two may be too late.

I really wanna see a FOUR QUARTER EFFORT, not too much of an ask is it!

Clearly it is.

I have one concern though. Both the players and Bucks have repeatedly said that the Adelaide game was our best for the year.

I actually don't see that as a good thing.

Dave you are 100% right. I didn't see all the game but what I did see and after justing watching Bucks press conference we didn't seem to have a winner all night. Yet we only went down by 30 points so we must of been doing something right through out the night.

This week I think both Johnson and Krakouer have to come in to give them two AFL matches before the finals. Its a big risk bring 2 under done players in the same week and going over to WA but in the end we don't really have to win this match. As long as we win in the last round and the Hawks beat the Eagles we stay fourth.I do want to win on Saturday night and think we can win but I think we should go there with the big picture in mind.

Jolly looks like he needs a rest and missing the long flight over and back wouldn't hurt him. Maxwell could do with the weekend off if his groin is not right and if pendles has a back problem then this is the one to miss. I don't want to rest players just for the sake of resting them but these three look like they could use it.

Johnson will slip straight back into the side like he hasn't been out at all so i'm not worried about him. Krakouer will give us that spark in the forward line we have been missing this year and make it more dangerous for defenders to leave him and go third man in because he knows where the goals are. Elliott and Sinclair have been good this year but don't seem to get many if any crumbing goals. Last week MAttner left Elliott a lot and jumped in front of Cloke and Dawes to help out his team mate. If it hit the ground I dont remember Elliott or Sinclair getting on the lose ball , Krakouer will and all it takes is for him to snap a goal and all of a sudden Mattner starts to think should I leave my man or play it safe.

If we can get some form into our big guys we can get back to being a real chance for the flag.

good post robtt35.

Sinclair and Elliot have been very good as small forwards. Their tackling pressure and intensity is always high. They both present and Elliot at times has made better marking contests than Dawes. One game Elliot took 14 odd tackles. ANother he took 7 great grabs.

Yet, for all the effort, they are lacking in the most fundamental area for a small forward...and that is scoring impact. Sinclair has a bigger impact, but Elliot's presence as a scoring forward is non-existant. He will be a gun, but at the moment he is not contributing on the scoreboard. His opponent can peel off his with ease.

Krakouer's opponent won't have this luxury. Krakouer is also a genuine midfield rotation during bursts if need be because he wins contested footy.

I know we can't expect Krakouer to come back and be a star. But he will have more impact than Elliot is having right now...or at least equivalent. He has had 3 weeks at VFL, and trained strongly for a lot longer than that.

Unfortunately if Krak does not play this week, I think its season over for him unless we cop a stack of injuries.

The way I see it, our best 22 from now on will be:

In: Swan, Krakouer, Johnson, Toovey
Out: Seedsman, Elliot, Mooney, Clark

Then Goldsack will fight with Nathan Brown I reckon if we elect to swing Tarrant back into defence. Sinclair holds his spot.

I believe one of the reasons why we don't seem to have the same pressure is that we haven't been able to clear the ball from our backline like last year which allowed us to set up our zone behind the ball. Leon Davis and Ben Johnson are obviously run and carry type players who were able to turn defence into a forward 50 entry fairly regularly and this year we have obviously missed both. Even against North we also had Alan Toovey missing who plays a similar run and carry style. Ben Johnson will hopefully be back this week and we should be trying to get the ball into his hands as much as possible. Add Alan Toovey to the side along with hopefully Nick Maxwell who went off in the 3rd quarter on Saturday night plus put Taz back in place of Brown and our backline will be much stronger. This will allow our forwards more opportunity.

good post robtt35.
The way I see it, our best 22 from now on will be:

In: Swan, Krakouer, Johnson, Toovey
Out: Seedsman, Elliot, Mooney, Clark

Not bad.

In: Swan, Goldy, Johnson, Toovey & Krakouer
Out: Seedsman, Elliot, Mooney, Clarke & Maxwell (Inj)