collingwood
Ben Johnson- Won the ball alot, which is a worry because he just cant kick!

Caracella- was decent and will play next week.

Ryan Lonie - Awesome! He is finally playing the style of game that suits him most, receiving the ball and running. He won the ball a couple of times in close as well.

Swan- very good.

Nathan Buckley- did some very poor things today, did some good things too.

OBree- was ok won the ball as usual will never get used to his round the corner kicking into the forward line

Thomas- Simply outstanding! seem to be everywhere. got the ball heaps.

Tarrant- ******** poor.

Fraser- Moving Fraser into the ruck is what won us the game. He was everywhere, was dominant! great use of a number 1 pick

Lica- Getting on!

Didak- floated in and out of the game, was a big part of our comeback

Rocca- Outstanding, they say he played on Dawson. who cares the guy has been out for a year and manages to pick the ball off the deck whilst running and then kick it over his head, twice! you cant stop that. CLarkson lost the game for them by not puttin Croad on him!

Holland - Alaways scores when within range

Shaw - Very impressed!!Will be an above average player

Maxwell - Will be something

Tarks - Is coming back to his pre-injury form

Cloke - Will be a star.

Clement- Dominant, hasnt hit his all-australian form yet

Davis- Dangerous in stints, should be used off the bench, pinch hitting in the forward line or midfield.

Obrien - Will be something great am sure of it. Has tidy skills, isnt scared of the man and has creativity and run. A little loose marking dixon today, taht can be expected from a rookie

Presti- Presti like, has no dominant forwards to content with today.

Richards - ******** poor, but will develop with game time. i hope!

There were two different teams today, first half was the Collingwood of old. Some delporable decison making, dreadful turnovers and the skill level could've been at an all time low.

Second half, the Collingwood we want to see every week! Quick ball movement, good decision making and a marked improvement in our disposal around the ground and into the forward fifty.

Ryan Lonie was superb today, I think we have finally realised to give him the footy at every opportunity, Anthony Rocca was great, Jimmy Clement outstanding (f***ked how Sheahan had him 47 in his top 50) and Johnno provided the dash and run through the middle we sorely missed last week.

Thomas has the smarts, the little things he does are quite remarkable for a second gamer. Richards did ok today when in the ruck, a 100% improvement on last week. Shaw provided pace and some grunt (laid some tough, relenting tackles). Tarrant was a great focal point up forward, just couldn't bloody kick straight and Presti, did what he does every week.

A great second half, considering that we probably didn't look like winning the match half way through the third quarter.

O'Bree has to go. Supporters have been calling for his head for 5 years, it's time to give someone else a go. Interesting to see Pendlebury in the best for Williamstown on Saturday. Licuria's form is also very patchy.

GO PIES

Bit harsh on Richards, still finding a bit of touch and had some important tap outs.
Tarrant was great today, don't let the kicking put you off. 20-ish possies about 6 shots on goals for 1 goal is a bad return but 15 marks and about 4 goal assists is great.

I had no problem with Johnsons kicking today. Was the leading effective kicker on the ground. 21 of his 27 kicks were effective. That doesn't mean the other 6 were absoloute shockers. He kicked long and direct, aside from Rocca he was best on ground.
Interesting note:
Our leading contested possesion winners were Rocca 10, O'Bree 10 and............................LONIE 10!

O'Bree was alright, he is improving and was our best player last week.
He played better than Lica and Holland.

bomber5 said:
There were two different teams today, first half was the Collingwood of old. Some delporable decison making, dreadful turnovers and the skill level could've been at an all time low.

Second half, the Collingwood we want to see every week! Quick ball movement, good decision making and a marked improvement in our disposal around the ground and into the forward fifty.

Ryan Lonie was superb today, I think we have finally realised to give him the footy at every opportunity, Anthony Rocca was great, Jimmy Clement outstanding (f***ked how Sheahan had him 47 in his top 50) and Johnno provided the dash and run through the middle we sorely missed last week.

Thomas has the smarts, the little things he does are quite remarkable for a second gamer. Richards did ok today when in the ruck, a 100% improvement on last week. Shaw provided pace and some grunt (laid some tough, relenting tackles). Tarrant was a great focal point up forward, just couldn't bloody kick straight and Presti, did what he does every week.

A great second half, considering that we probably didn't look like winning the match half way through the third quarter.

O'Bree has to go. Supporters have been calling for his head for 5 years, it's time to give someone else a go. Interesting to see Pendlebury in the best for Williamstown on Saturday. Licuria's form is also very patchy.

GO PIES
Umm, which club do you go for? Kangaroos, Essendon or Collingwood? :confused:

Pie 4 Life said:
Umm, which club do you go for? Kangaroos, Essendon or Collingwood? :confused:

Collingwood mate, don't let the teams put you off!

Johnson was very good today as was his disposal.
Tarrant's kicking for goal may have been ******** poor but his work rate was great , 15 marks is a fair days work as a leading option up the ground.

Yeah Licca isnt crash hot atm but he will improve just a tad out of form after doing his ankle, he will get back in form

not sure about obree he can find the ball but yeah maybe let someone else come it davies??

Nesian said:
Yeah Licca isnt crash hot atm but he will improve just a tad out of form after doing his ankle, he will get back in form

not sure about obree he can find the ball but yeah maybe let someone else come it davies??
oh yeah forgot about lica's injury, perhaps we should rest him, there is no point taking injured or out of form players into the game when we have players that can fill the breach! In Lica's case, Morrison, Burns, Davies, booch

magpies42 said:

Tarrant- ******** poor.

which game were you watching exactly??

johnno's delivery was fantastic today. caracella was simply superb, and was BOG in my opinion. i dont recall bucks stuffing anything up. tarkyn is terrible.

magpies42 said:

Ryan Lonie - Awesome! He is finally playing the style of game that suits him most, receiving the ball and running. He won the ball a couple of times in close as well.

Swan- very good.

OBree- was ok won the ball as usual will never get used to his round the corner kicking into the forward line

Thomas- Simply outstanding! seem to be everywhere. got the ball heaps.

Tarrant- ******** poor.

Fraser- Moving Fraser into the ruck is what won us the game. He was everywhere, was dominant! great use of a number 1 pick

Lica- Getting on!

Didak- floated in and out of the game, was a big part of our comeback

Rocca- Outstanding, they say he played on Dawson. who cares the guy has been out for a year and manages to pick the ball off the deck whilst running and then kick it over his head, twice! you cant stop that. CLarkson lost the game for them by not puttin Croad on him!

Holland - Alaways scores when within range

Shaw - Very impressed!!Will be an above average player

Maxwell - Will be something

Cloke - Will be a star.

Clement- Dominant, hasnt hit his all-australian form yet

Davis- Dangerous in stints, should be used off the bench, pinch hitting in the forward line or midfield.

Obrien - Will be something great am sure of it. Has tidy skills, isnt scared of the man and has creativity and run. A little loose marking dixon today, taht can be expected from a rookie

Presti- Presti like, has no dominant forwards to content with today.

Richards - ******** poor, but will develop with game time. i hope!

Have to say, this is a pretty average review...got some things just utterly wrong.

Johnson...never a worry when he wins the ball and kicks like he did today! Massive penetration into the forward line

Caracella...seems to find space and is a very smart player. Better than decent, an excellent linking backflanker today.

Bucks...Played like Clement normally does due to him having a totally negating role. The backline general

Tarrant...started very shakily but was excellent after that. Ran, ran and ran, presented, tackled shepherded, 1% ers all day. You were clearly not looking.

Fraser...Simply played like a captain.

Tarks...no effect, no influence, nothing. Our most disappointing player this season so far.

Cloke...Will not be a star until he develops an engine! Plyed 2 quarters out of 8 so far

Davis... was inconsistency at it worst today. Is not dangerous enough for his skills.

O'Brien...Was flogged today, the only player who clearly lost his position. But he tried, chased, tackled and never gave up. Will be better for the experience.

Richards...Look a bit closer, won a lot of ruck contests and regularly jumped over Everitt and Campbell. Just needs to develop some effectiveness around the ground.

did heath shaw play 2 matches this weekend ? Apparently he got 29 stats for Willi - read it in the willi report..... Or was it Rhys that played ?

ouu 5 said:
did heath shaw play 2 matches this weekend ? Apparently he got 29 stats for Willi - read it in the willi report..... Or was it Rhys that played ?
It was Heath, had to play two games and I was very impressed with his game especially since he would have been sore and fatigued, impressive second half from Collingwood.

I must say your review isn't that great, just watching the game, you got a number of things wrong there, good try though.

We all saw tazza miss his shots at goal, but how good was it to see that he didn't drop his head!! He kept presenting all day & if you think getting 20 odd disposals & 15marks is a ******** days work then you have ridiculous expectations of what taz can do!!

If taz can play like he did today every game this year the pies will make the eight easily!!

Fraser is looking awesome, two great games to start the year, against a couple of the better ruck teams ie biglands & clarke, and spida.........now he gets a couple of younger blokes at the kangas who he will destroy, get on Fraser for dreamteam captain next week against the big dud Hale & McIntosch!!!

Lockyer doesn't contribute anything, little chip kicks that aren't dangerous

Lonie has been great, he is becoming a vital member of the side, he was actually physically bowling over some hawthorn players which gave me a big laugh, Lonie was bullying Hawthorn....who would have thought that???

Rocca, was screaming my guts out during the second quarter for the pies to simply bomb it in long to him, in the third they did & look at the results!!!

Good win, roos struggle for key backs too.......Watt on Rocca i like the looks of that!

magpies42 [B said:
Rocca- [/B]Outstanding, they say he played on Dawson. who cares the guy has been out for a year and manages to pick the ball off the deck whilst running and then kick it over his head, twice! you cant stop that. CLarkson lost the game for them by not puttin Croad on him!

They had Dawson who cost them 7 we had Obrien who cost us 5. We still won by 38. I dont think Clarkeson therefore cost them the game.

OBrien has only played 3 more games than Dawson. And whens the last times Dixon has kicked 5? And when will be the next time?

Both teams have to blood youngsters to progress, and at times that will cost goals. The trick is to win anyway by others doing more. We did they didnt. Thats it.

yeah-nah said:
They had Dawson who cost them 7 we had Obrien who cost us 5. We still won by 38. I dont think Clarkeson therefore cost them the game.

OBrien has only played 3 more games than Dawson. And whens the last times Dixon has kicked 5? And when will be the next time?

Both teams have to blood youngsters to progress, and at times that will cost goals. The trick is to win anyway by others doing more. We did they didnt. Thats it.
That would be Round 21 2005 vs Richmond, and he hasn't done it since (he kicked 4.2 yesterday! :p )

I'm still reeling from a "player" gathering 14 kicks, 5 handballs, 15 marks, probably four goal assists and being ranked as "****"! You've got rocks in your head magpies42. :eek:

Davis - Didn't find too much of it, but he was there in the comeback. Kicked 2 goals.
Lonie - What a star, he was in our best again, and shut up all critics. Racked up 28 touches, a career best, and kicked another goal from outside 50.
Didak - Presented very well at half-forward and through the midfield. 10 marks showed he was an option upfield.
Buckley - Played half-back and even though his skills weren't Buckley, they went into the right places. 24 touches still.
Holland - Didn't see him until the second half at the ground, but soon started playing footy. Polished skills.
Clement - At his best. He won the one on one's and at ground level applied pressure. Held Williams to two goals.
Caracella - He was a loose man across half-back and was a go-to man. 30 touches a career best, and took 11 marks.
O'Bree - Not at his best, but he still looked great. 24 touches aswell.
Thomas - Showed more promise again, and was as good as last week. 20 touches and 10 marks.
Licuria - Nothing to write home about, but he is allowing more room for other second tier players in the midfield. 19 touches.
Tarrant - Still can't kick, but soon moved more into the game where the fans want him...on the fifty. Still took 15 marks.
Richards - Don't think his career will last long. He isn't playing as good as he could be round the ground. Did win 13 hitouts, but was beaten.
Rocca - ROOCCCAAA!!! 8 goals, terrific 3rd quarter where he kicked 5 in. Inexperienced opponent, but this was his best effort in AFL Football. Put it to Rocca, either at ground level or on his head, he will get 6 points.
Lockyer - Not the greatest of matches from Tarkyn. Didn't apply as much pressure as last week. Only 12 touches.
Fraser - If the All-Australian team was picked now, he'd be fighting Charman for that second ruck spot. superb mobility, and found the ball as usual. When in the ruck, he won it. Proving critics wrong.
Johnson - No.1 in the league for kicks, and that is because he is determined for the ball. Improved quality yesterday and was close to best on ground. Had 31 touches, memory says he is another player to have a career best.
Maxwell - Very good as a front-runner yesterday. He fought hard, and he provided what I thought was the highlight of the day. He almost knocked out williams with a huge hip and shoulder then turned around and showed why he is in the team, loves to tackle in defence.
T.Cloke - Great first quarter, he was best on ground at quarter time. The ball just landed in his dukes and he once again put the ball high and long inside 50. Went missing in the second half.
Prestigiacomo - Played off his opponent at times, but he showed he is valuable to the team. A good start to the season.
Swan - No.1 in the AFL for marks. He took 11 marks yesterday as an option who just had no respect from the Hawks. Found the ball another 28 times. Great midfield option.
H.Shaw - Late replacement, coming off 30 touches less than 24 hours earlier in Willy, he stamped his spot in the side with 16 touches and the best field kick in season 2006 of any game this year...finding Tarrant's chest 50m away surrounded by 4 hawks.
O'Brien - Why are people praising him??? He was close to worst on ground, but his determination got him some points. Goes about his football in a passionate way, but the kid who was a WA leader in U18's or whatever has no direction in defence, he can't jump, and he had 5 goals kicked on him! I am not picking him out, I am just asking...why is he god to every Collingwood supporter. He is just an X-Factor which is not plugged in at the moment.

A thing with Tarrant...he did two things wrong yesterday. 1 was the obvious...he missed 3 shots he should have kicked straight through the middle, as even I could have kicked them (yes, me!)...He kept his head yes and played a great game, but the 2nd was, when he got the ball inside 50 again, a couple of times, he didn't go back and have a shot. He gave one of to Davis...yes, resulted in a goal, but Taz should've gone back and kicked the goal. He was lacking belief, and he needs to be having those shots at goal, or he won't get any better.

Johnno - great. has to play like that every game, running off half back, rather then the negating, man on man, role he had last week on roo.

Lonie - another good game. great long kicking skills!

Bucks - missed the odd target. But otherwise good.

Richards - Improved in the rucks. But still poor around the ground.

Taz - Good around the ground, poor (as usual) in front of goal. Should play every game from now on leading up the ground from half forward, no possessions inside 40m from goal. Too willing to give the ball off in front of goal.

Leon - inconsistant. would be battling to hold his spot this week i would say. but we have to persist with him in the middle.

Dids - inconsistant. Did some good things but went missing for far to long during the game. has to learn that just because he is within 65m of goal, doesn't mean he can't look for options. has the blinkers on every time.

T Clo - Did well for half the game. always presenting and creating a contest. i think we all have to remember he is only a teenager taking on one of the hardest (if not the hardest) position on the ground. one that usually takes till early 20's to hold down.

rogan - awesome.

maxwell - good. consistant as always.

clement - the general.

presti - was presti. solid as a rock.

swan - looks set for a good year. is leading the afl in marks! hope he has the tank to play midfield for the rest of the year.

o'bree - consistantly finds the ball. though disposal can be poor.

tarks - did nothing really.

thomas - impressive. found the footy. some disposal issues though. last 2 games some of his kicks have been poor helicopters. will be a gun though.

carra - played well. found the footy but got a lot of easy, nothing possessions too. (watch him and didak on the half back flank late in the game).

rocca - awesome game. played on a lesser opponent, and realistically should have had a good game on dawson. seeing him pick the ball up off his toes and snap truely twice was great!

shaw - super impressive to back up after a great game at willi and impress so much on sunday. kid has guts. as mentioned by others, loved watching that big hit he took in the middle and watching him bounce back to give off the handball and then seeing him in the background just go on like nothing had happened. collingwood personified.

harry - did some ok things. was well beaten by dixon though. should be a learning curve for him. not sure if we will see him next week, but should keep his chin up.

holland - played solidly without being a stand out. Is at a good time in his career. a little behind his form of last year, but a solid contributer.

Lica - barely seen in the midfield. still carrying an injury? didn't do much.

Overall we played well for the last half, with plenty of positives. some things to work on still. disposal still needs improving on top of the improvement made between round 1 & 2. Tarrant needs to stay away from goals or learn to kick straight. other than that. Would like to see pendles put in the 1's in the near future, if his willi form continues.

Lonie_from_50 said:
A thing with Tarrant...he did two things wrong yesterday. 1 was the obvious...he missed 3 shots he should have kicked straight through the middle, as even I could have kicked them (yes, me!)...He kept his head yes and played a great game, but the 2nd was, when he got the ball inside 50 again, a couple of times, he didn't go back and have a shot. He gave one of to Davis...yes, resulted in a goal, but Taz should've gone back and kicked the goal. He was lacking belief, and he needs to be having those shots at goal, or he won't get any better.

Thought it was smart from taz, made the goal a certainty and having leon dash thru to the goal square rubbed it in even more!!

By the way i think the big chief Cox would be streets ahead in AA ruck position