Some interesting and disturbing team stats

Cassius_Clay

NFL Mock Draft Participant NFL Fantasy Comp Champion Armchair Endzone Major Comp Champion Armchair Endzone Participant
Jul 6, 2004
These are all season based averages:

Ranked 15th in Hard (Contested) Ball Gets (For a side thats slow this stat is :thumbsdown: )
Ranked 16th in Hit Outs
Ranked 15th in CB Hitouts
Ranked 12th in Clearences
Ranked 13th in Centre Bounce Clearences
Ranked 15th in Ball-Up Clearences
Ranked 14th in Tackles
Ranked 15th in 1%ers

Looking at those stats its hard to find a reason why we finished 5th. Most of the physical stats we sucked in yet we are a slow side. You'd expect those type of stats from a running side like a WBD or Freo :confused:

MM get a bloody ruckman. A dcent tap ruckman like an Everitt would get our clearences up and we'd automatically improve from this year. Fraser is a great player but isnt a solid tap ruckman.

Note: Didnt MM say we are a hard ball get side after todays game? LOL

Cassius_Clay said:

Ranked 15th in Hard (Contested) Ball Gets (For a side thats slow this stat is :thumbsdown: )
Ranked 16th in Hit Outs
Ranked 14th in Tackles
Ranked 15th in 1%ers

Looking at those stats its hard to find a reason why we finished 5th. Most of the physical stats we sucked in yet we are a slow side. You'd expect those type of stats from a running side like a WBD or Freo :confused:

MM get a bloody ruckman. A dcent tap ruckman like an Everitt would get our clearences up and we'd automatically improve from this year. Fraser is a great player but isnt a solid tap ruckman.

I had heard a lot about us having a real go at Spider Everitt. Just one problem he was on the virgin plane with me today. And that was Sydney to Melbourne. He was with his girlfriend and Glen wheatly. I would say that tells me he is set up in Sydney allready to play with the swans next year.

Cassius_Clay said:

Ranked 16th in Hit Outs
Ranked 14th in Tackles
Ranked 15th in 1%ers

Instead of looking at stats to form your opinion how about analysing the game.You will find that your forward line players which only function well about 5-6 times a year are the main problem.Collingwood will never win a flag with the likes of the overated Rocca and Tarrant in the forward line.Its time to trade these 2 useless hacks whilst their still worth something and try to build a forward setup thats going to work consistantly

shiva25 said:
Instead of looking at stats to form your opinion how about analysing the game.You will find that your forward line players which only function well about 5-6 times a year are the main problem.Collingwood will never win a flag with the likes of the overated Rocca and Tarrant in the forward line.Its time to trade these 2 useless hacks whilst their still worth something and try to build a forward setup thats going to work consistantly
Tarrant is far from a hack. If you were at the ground you'd see why. Stop being a sheep and see for what it really is. A player every single side would want in their team.

Cassius_Clay said:
Tarrant is far from a hack. If you were at the ground you'd see why. Stop being a sheep and see for what it really is. A player every single side would want in their team.

Speak for yourself! Tarrant wouldn't get a game with most other teams.

Hack.

Of the highest order.

hoss said:

Hack.

Of the highest order.
I disagree.

Shizen midfield delivery makes him look ordinary. Stick him in a decent team with good midfielders (and good Forward Support) and allow him to be a floater around HFF and he'd be a game-breaker.

What has plumetted his value, is his off-field antics.

TheReason said:
I disagree.

Shizen midfield delivery makes him look ordinary. Stick him in a decent team with good midfielders (and good Forward Support) and allow him to be a floater around HFF and he'd be a game-breaker.

Do you reckon thats abit like Q.Llynch, i seriously think he would be a dud without the deleivery of the West Coast midfield?

hoss said:

Hack.

Of the highest order.
He'd easily be your 2nd best forward.

Firstly, Collingwood is my second team - this will no doubt cause mass histeria on other boards, but when i was a kid my old man took me to the dogs home games one week and the Pies games the next. So I have a soft spot.

To be constructive, I really think that your midfiled is just too slow.

OBree whilst he gets possesions he does so under pressure because he is slow.

Holland is just a tagger now.

Bucks - legend - but old and slow and doesn't finish like he used to - should be palying 80/20 in the forward line. He would force every coach to send the best mid size defender to him and would free up Taz.

Fraser - sorry but he is a terrible ruckman. Reminds me so much of peter Moore - good mark and that is about it.

Ryce Shaw - played his heart out - just kept trying - but his disposal is poor. Puts teamamtes under pressue with kicks not quite to advantage.

Clement - is a gun - but why did MM squib and not paly him on our best forward. Got dragged too far back by Robbins and you missed his drive.

The other Shaw - just makes too many unforced errors.

Johnson - sorry guys - gets it, runs hard, but when he kicks - well Joffa may as well have it in the Cheer squad.

Presti - is too slow - limited mach ups for him against any team.

Rocca is unfit and too immobile - a 35 year old cripple looked like a greyhound next to him.

Taz - was OK. Presented all day, but his kicking let him down.

Burns - should be forced to retire - slow and his decision making was poor all day.

Dale Thomas - is going to be very good. Foot skills need some work - but finds space, is a great mark and runs like the wind. Get him in the midfield and set it up around him.

The rest of the guys were just making up numbers yesterday. Also MM has had his time. Look at his record at every club he has had. Dogs - good for 2 years - left it in disarray on field. Eagles - good for 3 years - left it in a shambles when he left. You guys - good for 2 years - but now the nulceous of the side is old and too often found out. He is a classic job - jumper. Come - take the kudos for some good work - leave before the sh*t hits the fan.

Good luck for next year guys.

Cassius_Clay said:

Ranked 16th in Hit Outs
Ranked 14th in Tackles
Ranked 15th in 1%ers

If we aren't getting the hard ball gets, and we are probably the slowest team in the comp, how are we actullay getting the ball...?

linkman said:
Firstly, Collingwood is my second team - this will no doubt cause mass histeria on other boards, but when i was a kid my old man took me to the dogs home games one week and the Pies games the next. So I have a soft spot.

To be constructive, I really think that your midfiled is just too slow.

OBree whilst he gets possesions he does so under pressure because he is slow.

Holland is just a tagger now.

Bucks - legend - but old and slow and doesn't finish like he used to - should be palying 80/20 in the forward line. He would force every coach to send the best mid size defender to him and would free up Taz.

Fraser - sorry but he is a terrible ruckman. Reminds me so much of peter Moore - good mark and that is about it.

Ryce Shaw - played his heart out - just kept trying - but his disposal is poor. Puts teamamtes under pressue with kicks not quite to advantage.

Clement - is a gun - but why did MM squib and not paly him on our best forward. Got dragged too far back by Robbins and you missed his drive.

The other Shaw - just makes too many unforced errors.

Johnson - sorry guys - gets it, runs hard, but when he kicks - well Joffa may as well have it in the Cheer squad.

Presti - is too slow - limited mach ups for him against any team.

Rocca is unfit and too immobile - a 35 year old cripple looked like a greyhound next to him.

Taz - was OK. Presented all day, but his kicking let him down.

Burns - should be forced to retire - slow and his decision making was poor all day.

Dale Thomas - is going to be very good. Foot skills need some work - but finds space, is a great mark and runs like the wind. Get him in the midfield and set it up around him.

The rest of the guys were just making up numbers yesterday. Also MM has had his time. Look at his record at every club he has had. Dogs - good for 2 years - left it in disarray on field. Eagles - good for 3 years - left it in a shambles when he left. You guys - good for 2 years - but now the nulceous of the side is old and too often found out. He is a classic job - jumper. Come - take the kudos for some good work - leave before the sh*t hits the fan.

Good luck for next year guys.

Thanks linkman, and good luck to your Bulldogs in the finals.:thumbsu:

Cassius_Clay said:
I was at the ground yesterday and he is nothing but a hack.He is soft at the ball,cant kick and generally looks disinterested most of the time and if you think every team would want him in their side your dreaming mate.Open your eyes and see him for what he really is.You need to get rid of him and Rocca if you seriously want to challenge for a flag because these 2 forwards will never win you a flag.

any team would take him in a second. Pies midfield was pantsed and they gave terrible delivery for most of the day - execution under pressure was lacking.

kicking accuracy is obviously a problem for tarrant, but the dogs would absolutely love a player like him working between the arcs for us... taking a grab around centre half forward and dishing off to midfielders running past, that would be sweet.

shiva25 said:
I was at the ground yesterday and he is nothing but a hack.He is soft at the ball,cant kick and generally looks disinterested most of the time and if you think every team would want him in their side your dreaming mate.Open your eyes and see him for what he really is.You need to get rid of him and Rocca if you seriously want to challenge for a flag because these 2 forwards will never win you a flag.

Send him to the Doggies - we'll have him.

Cassius_Clay said:

Ranked 16th in Hit Outs
Ranked 14th in Tackles
Ranked 15th in 1%ers

I will summarise that. Fraser is an average ruckman at best and without backup while our midfield without Buckley and Burns in the middle is weak, slow and poorly skilled. I will summarise that even further. Malthouse CANNOT build a list, never has and never will.

shiva25 said:

Who do u go for?

At 3 quarter time on Triple M they mentioned that Rocca and Tarrant have kicked 18 goals in the past 14 games. Rocca kicked 6 of those against the bottom side though.

They are not young anymore and I believe that they are at their peak and will not get any better.

I think that the best our forward line has looked this year was against Port Adelaide when we had Rusling leading from the square and Rocca on the bench. We should focus on Rusling now as he has plenty of room for improvement.

footy_rulz said:
If we aren't getting the hard ball gets, and we are probably the slowest team in the comp, how are we actullay getting the ball...?
Defence. A marking contest from our defenders, spills free and we work it out of defence cleanly. Lots of possessions earned by hard running into space.

Earlier on in the year, our hard running and fitness base gave the illusion that we could out run just about any other team, including the quicker ones like the Dogs. Made us look quick at times.

We have a variety of needs. At times during the year, people expressed concerns over KP possies, at either end, but I reckon it's clear most concern is in the middle.

We need a serious ruckman and some inside midfielders with pace and an ability to kick. A hardcore extractor of the pill is also essential (I'm not sure Stanley will develop into anything other than an Archer type defender to be honest).

Priority has to be midfield. I am more comfortable relying on an ageing Presti and Jimmy, coupled with Max and Anthony; plus relying upon Tarrant and Rocca, with improvement from Rusling and Travis, than I am relying upon Josh as a one and only ruckman and the Plod Squad as our midfield.

1. Tarrant would be a walk in starter at any club... The Bulldogs footskills & pace would highlight what a superstar he could be (minus his kicking ability)... I can't for the life of me work out why MM never plays him in spurts in the midfield. Rusling is very capable of filling that void...

2. I am not asking for his head, however MM has become very predictable & if the players aren't making it count on the scoreboard, seldom does he create the genius move to keep us in a game...

3. Pies must chase Aker & Everitt... Shoot me down, I don't care. These guys are pivotal if we want a crack at the big one next year... Short term investment could reap the rewards. I fully agree with a youth policy mentality, but sometimes you need to put things into perspective. Would I prefer to bring in 2 players that are a little old who have the capacity to transform 2007 into a successful one, as opposed to missing the oppurtunity all together, yes I would...

4. I realize this is stating the obvious, however trade week requires some magic & maybe some luck to fall our way...

A very dissapointing finish to what was a potentially exciting September... Nonetheless, a significant improvement on the last 2 years... We must not forget that...:cool:

TheReason said:
I disagree.

Lynch is much improved player but it shows how an ordinary forward player can look great with a good midfield. Kent Kingsley showed this when Geelong were a good side. Lynch has learnt how to mark the ball and because of the midfield's precise delivery he looks like a world beater. In the first half of the year our midfield gave good delivery to our forwards.

FIGJAM said:
We need a serious ruckman and some inside midfielders with pace and an ability to kick. A hardcore extractor of the pill is also essential (I'm not sure Stanley will develop into anything other than an Archer type defender to be honest).

Priority has to be midfield. I am more comfortable relying on an ageing Presti and Jimmy, coupled with Max and Anthony; plus relying upon Tarrant and Rocca, with improvement from Rusling and Travis, than I am relying upon Josh as a one and only ruckman and the Plod Squad as our midfield.
What we need is a big bodied ruckman. Richards is ok but he has the same weaknesses as Fraser in the ruck.

We need midfielders, probably insiders more than outsiders but we need quality midfielders.

We need small defenders who can do a reliable job. Lonie and Lockyer are too fragile when playing deep 1 on 1. I'd keep Lonie because of the improvement he has made this year but I'd move him out of the defensive 50 unless he is used as an attacking player against a HFF who pushes up the ground.

We need a key defender in the next 3+ years but like Figgy said the current crop should hold up well.

jabso said:
What we need is a big bodied ruckman. Richards is ok but he has the same weaknesses as Fraser in the ruck.

We need midfielders, probably insiders more than outsiders but we need quality midfielders.

We need small defenders who can do a reliable job. Lonie and Lockyer are too fragile when playing deep 1 on 1. I'd keep Lonie because of the improvement he has made this year but I'd move him out of the defensive 50 unless he is used as an attacking player against a HFF who pushes up the ground.

We need a key defender in the next 3+ years but like Figgy said the current crop should hold up well.

I agree. IMO we need a giant ruckman who can give us first use of the ball. We are slow enough as it is withought chasing the ball from the opposition.

Some interesting and disturbing team stats