Sorry hawks

The bombers have won 14 premierships with 12 teams or less in the league.. (6 of them with 10 teams or less..)
In fact they have only won 2 with more than 12 teams in the league..
On the other hand;
Hawthorn have won;
6 flags with 12 teams in the league
2 flags with 14 teams in the league
1 flag with 15 teams in the league

Its good to see alot of Essendons success came when it was a 9-12 team league..

What are you on about? You've picked an arbitrary time frame too mate, just because you attach a ridiculous reason to it doesn't make it the be all and end all. :rolleyes:

How many teams were in the comp 16 years ago? It wasn't 16...

Besides the only teams who talk about ridiculous time frames are the ones who can't bear to look at the right now, I'll stick to 2008 mate cheers.
Change it to 15, 14, 13. The results are identical. Suck it up, you might make a prelim this year.:):thumbsu:

Hawthorn have won;

Essendon have won;
8 flags with 12 teams in the league
1 flag with 16 teams in the league

You just owned yourself.:o

The bombers have won 14 premierships with 12 teams or less in the league.. (6 of them with 10 teams or less..)
In fact they have only won 2 with more than 12 teams in the league..
On the other hand;
Hawthorn have won;

Please don't forget the blatant salary cap cheating to keep the list together which resulted in 2 premierships 93 and 2000. If it was'nt for this blatant cheating, we would be looking at 23 years since Essendon's last premiership, They are a fraud, second only to Carlton as a the disgrace of this wonderful National competition. :thumbsd: :) Its very un australian like.

Essendon have won;
8 flags with 12 teams in the league

You just owned yourself.:o

Shouldnt that be 7 flags with 12 teams in league?
Get your facts right before you post..

7 flags with 12 teams in the league

Not much comparison with Hawthorn.. In actual fact we have won more flags when there is MORE competition in the league..
We also are closer than you hacks to securing another..

Your new logo sucks,it looks cheap and nasty.:thumbsd:

image.php
Is this the best you could come up with? No wonder the tigers are shit.

Your new logo sucks,it looks cheap and nasty.:thumbsd:

image.php
nfl_logos.gif

those there are the NFL logos. The most successful of all Football codes in the world (Soccer hardly counts, with all the teams folding etc...)

Just like those clubs, the HFC have taken a very simple design to make a very simple, but very effective logo.

Hawthorn: Less preliminary final appearances in the last 16 years than Richmond.

Unfortunately you picked an arbitrary timeframe and shot yourself in the foot.
yes, cos you're 16 years is not arbitrary at all. That explains why we are forever hearing footy analysts comparing success using a 16-year timeframe.:thumbsu:

Buddy has probably shagged your sister and all of her hot friends while you play World of Warcraft at home. What a homo!

even i know world of warcraft is for people with no lives hence i stay away from it..........

So what if he's shagged my sister and her hot friends, doesn't mean he doesn't like the sausage, maybe hes using it as a cover up?!?

yes, cos you're 16 years is not arbitrary at all. That explains why we are forever hearing footy analysts comparing success using a 16-year timeframe.:thumbsu:
I gave my reasons for the 16 year period and stand by them. Fact remains, choosing the arbitrary time frame of 16 or 15 or 14 or 13 years yields the result that Hawthorn have achieved the least success. It's quite sad really. You can find 2-3 year periods where more clubs have been amongst the worst, but the current 13-16 year timeframe we are in says that Hawthorn are the worst.

I know it's a bitter pill to swallow, but cheer up and try to look forward to the positives.:):thumbsu:

even i know world of warcraft is for people with no lives hence i stay away from it..........

So what if he's shagged my sister and her hot friends, doesn't mean he doesn't like the sausage, maybe hes using it as a cover up?!?

Then he certainly enjoys covering it up. More than most men

I gave my reasons for the 16 year period and stand by them. Fact remains, choosing the arbitrary time frame of 16 or 15 or 14 or 13 years yields the result that Hawthorn have achieved the least success. It's quite sad really. You can find 2-3 year periods where more clubs have been amongst the worst, but the current 13-16 year timeframe we are in says that Hawthorn are the worst.

I know it's a bitter pill to swallow, but cheer up and try to look forward to the positives.:):thumbsu:

Having a shit team now <<<<<<<<<< Having a shit team over the last 16 years

And that's all that counts

Wrong.

The way the AFL is structured, teams are expected to perform in cycles. Having a good team now just means you're at a pointier end of the cycle. This has nothing to do with how good your club is, it's just the footballing macroeconomy.

We are less high up on this cycle due to years of being up high. We managed to stay up there longer than what this cycle regularly allows. Hawthorn managed to perform poorly even though the cycle suggests they should have been better.

You'd better hope something happens over the next 3 seasons because after that, your club will begin sliding down this cycle. My club is already going up and am looking forward to being at the top of the cycle, as we generally dominate the entire competition when this happens.:thumbsu:

you just need to realise that the amount of stuff u dish out now, you've gotta be prepared to cop it when the hawks are back down the bottom of the food chain and not whinge that your hard done by

If we do head back down the bottom, hopefully the tigers will roll out the welcome mat.

The whole cycle theory is crap. Football is such a changing game, that anything can happen. Brisbane had a crap period of a few years after their dominance, but already look to be on the way back up. Hawthorn was run terribly (firstly off, then on the field) for a long time, and now that we've finally got our shit together, hired a decent coach, got a proper training ground and the chief running the football department, we'll be looking to stay up for a long time.

If we do head back down the bottom, hopefully the tigers will roll out the welcome mat.

The whole cycle theory is crap. Football is such a changing game, that anything can happen. Brisbane had a crap period of a few years after their dominance, but already look to be on the way back up. Hawthorn was run terribly (firstly off, then on the field) for a long time, and now that we've finally got our shit together, hired a decent coach, got a proper training ground and the chief running the football department, we'll be looking to stay up for a long time.
Yep, the cycle isn't reality. But it underlies what goes on. The decisions the clubs make and other factors cause deviations from this cycle.

That being said, it's not all about NOW. You have to consider the fact that Essendon had 8 straight years in the finals before their recent poor form and that Hawthorn had 5 straight years without finals before they came into good form.

I'm happy with how Essendon is progressing, you can't be the best side every year.

Wrong.

The way the AFL is structured, teams are expected to perform in cycles. Having a good team now just means you're at a pointier end of the cycle. This has nothing to do with how good your club is, it's just the footballing macroeconomy.

We are less high up on this cycle due to years of being up high. We managed to stay up there longer than what this cycle regularly allows. Hawthorn managed to perform poorly even though the cycle suggests they should have been better.

You'd better hope something happens over the next 3 seasons because after that, your club will begin sliding down this cycle. My club is already going up and am looking forward to being at the top of the cycle, as we generally dominate the entire competition when this happens.:thumbsu:

Do you reckon Richmonds cycle goes between 9 and 16?

Maybe the afl have implemented a "special" cycle for them!

New logo? It is nearly 4 months old. Here's a run down of what else has happened in those last 4 months;

• Hawthorn has won more games than the tiges,
  • Hawthorn has signed more members than the tiges,
  • Not one hawthorn supporter has called for our coach to be sacked,
  • Buddy has had only 4 less disposals than Bling, but has also kicked 21 goals.

WOW, $%# for brains are you just as amazing at forecasting the next 4 months as recounting the last 4 :eek:

Yep, the cycle isn't reality. But it underlies what goes on. The decisions the clubs make and other factors cause deviations from this cycle.

That being said, it's not all about NOW. You have to consider the fact that Essendon had 8 straight years in the finals before their recent poor form and that Hawthorn had 5 straight years without finals before they came into good form.

I'm happy with how Essendon is progressing, you can't be the best side every year.

You know I've been reading this subplot with interest and I am staggered. You have actually used statistics to prove that Richmond is more successful than Hawthorn over the last 16 years or whichever arbitrary period you chose. Kudos to you good sir/madam!

But then I used statistics to determine that on average, everyone has approximately one testicle.

Based on your theory, Richmond should be rising on the cycle, having been down with Hawthorn for so long. Yet I cannot see them anywhere. Perhaps you could help us out with an explanation.