Southern FL Div One 2012

mordi v heath - tight one could go either mordi by 1goal just cause its at mordi

chelt v eb - chelt disappointing against ch from all reports eb by 5 goals

stp v city - st pauls by 3 goals just to good across the board

clay v high - clays to notch a victory at home by 6 goals long year for the dogs

ding v ch -prob match of the round for mine ding at home by 3 goals if fitch and walsh dont play if they do its a kick either way

good luck to all teams this week

Round 4 tips
Clayton at home to inflict some more pain on a pretty competitive Highett 25 points
St.Pauls too good for the City boys 30 points
Heatherton to break it's duck over Mordialloc 12 points
East Brighton too good for an improving Cheltenham 24 points
The Heighters too strong for an improved Dingley 20 points

Round 4 tips
Mordialloc vs Heatherton x 2G Ben Kavanagh Reserve*
Cheltenham vs East Brighton X4G Jack Barker Oval*
St Pauls X2G vs St Kilda City McKinnon Reserve*
Clayton X4G vs Highett Meade Reserve*
Dingley vs Chelsea Heights X5G Souter Oval*

Great round of football coming up:

Mordialloc by 1pt
East Brighton by 5 goals
St. Pauls by 10 pts
Clayton by 5 goals
Chelsea Heights by 15 pts

Looking forward to Saturday night to see how it all unfolds.

Mordialloc vs Heatherton 4pts
Cheltenham vs East Brighton 5 Goals
St Pauls vs St Kilda City 3 Goals
Clayton vs Highett 1 goal
Dingley vs Chelsea Heights 4 Goals

mordi v heath - tight one could go either mordi by 1goal just cause its at mordi

chelt v eb - chelt disappointing against ch from all reports eb by 5 goals

stp v city - st pauls by 3 goals just to good across the board

clay v high - clays to notch a victory at home by 6 goals long year for the dogs

ding v ch -prob match of the round for mine ding at home by 3 goals if fitch and walsh dont play if they do its a kick either way

good luck to all teams this week

The hardest round so far

Mordialloc vs Heatherton 5 goals - spirited effort by Tunners against StP last week
Cheltenham vs East Brighton 10pts - Vampires too strong down the spine
St Pauls vs St Kilda City 1 Goal - Tough one
Clayton vs Highett 3 goals - Clayton tall forwards will be the difference

Dingley vs Chelsea Heights 8 pts - should be a ripper.

Tough round of football and for the tipsters.....at least 3 or 4 games that could go either way. Will go for the favourites but the rain and wet conditions may play a part.
Tips:
Heatherton
East Brighton
St Pauls
Clayton
Chelsea Heights

Be interesting to see the ladder tonight if we happen to get a few upsets??

Some very close games in difficult conditions on the weekend but results went pretty much as expected. Although Mordi beating heatherton was a bit of a surprise. Anything interesting come out of the matches? Injuries? Reports? Performances?

Shocking injury on weekend to Mick Stinear who went head first into the fence/concrete guttering.

Thought he was in big strife but from sounds of it he received 10 odd stitches to the head and a dislocated shoulder which i guess is a much better result than any serious neck/spinal damage.

Hopefully he has a speedy recovery and gets on the field again soon as he is a very important player for them.

Yeah Brad Gilda ran head/shoulder into Phil Smith.... Dislocated shoulder, concussion.

Musta been a big hit as The Big Show was down for quite a while himself...With no help. There were 5 trainers around Gilly, mainly checking that his face was ok :D

Going early this week

Highett V St. Pauls Shown some fight the boys from Turner Road but the battle of the Dogs will go to the McKinnon Road version comfortably

StKilda City V Mordialloc Great chance for the Bloods, Johnston and Stinear out and an upset last week against Heatherton. Gonna stick my neck out and tip Mordi even though it's at the farm

Heatherton V East Brighton The Tonners let one slip last week and will bounce back hard but could not possibly win against the Vampires

Chelsea Heights V Clayton The Clays form has been hard to judge but regardless the Heighters will win comfortably down at Beazley Reserve

Cheltenham V Dingley Match of the round and a good sighter for finals action. Chelt have stumbled against the powerhouses, likewise Dingley yet to play, St.Pauls and EB. At home Cheltenham to squeak in.

Bad news about Mick Stinear, speedy recovery mate. Gary Johnston a huge loss also, trust he recovers quickly as with Brad Gilder

Chelsea Heights x2G vs Clayton Beazley Reserve*
Cheltenham vs Dingleyx2G Jack Barker Oval*
Heatherton vs East Brighton x12G Ross Street *
Highett vs St Pauls x10G Turner Road
St Kilda City x8G vs Mordialloc Peanut Farm

Shocking injury on weekend to Mick Stinear who went head first into the fence/concrete guttering.

Thought he was in big strife but from sounds of it he received 10 odd stitches to the head and a dislocated shoulder which i guess is a much better result than any serious neck/spinal damage.

Hopefully he has a speedy recovery and gets on the field again soon as he is a very important player for them.

I would be looking into legal action against afl, sfl, club, council, the people who inspect the ground on game day and say it is safe to play on.
we as players do not expect to be hurt bye a fence and concrete when we go out to play our game of football. just my 2 cents worth.good luck to mick and gilda hopefully they are back asap.

I don't think we want to become like the good ol US of A and start suing everyone for what is a freak accident.

I've played on some shit heaps in my day, but at the end of the day, I made the choice to play on that shit heap, so it's MY responsibility.

Maybe instead of attacking whoever, try and work with them, and change things that you deem unsafe?

My cent and a half.

I would be looking into legal action against afl, sfl, club, council, the people who inspect the ground on game day and say it is safe to play on.
we as players do not expect to be hurt bye a fence and concrete when we go out to play our game of football. just my 2 cents worth.good luck to mick and gilda hopefully they are back asap.

It was just one of those freak accidents, no need to go down that path.

For what its worth, Heath Barnes & the ball were already out of bounds but Stinear still tried to tackle Barnes into the ground.

Heath was able to shug the tackle which catipulted Stinear into the fence.....

The people who inspect the ground and the local club wouldn't be at fault anyway as this wasn't a foreseeable incident that they could have prevented. The council are the ones that provide the facilities and as such the duty of care largely rests on them. We have been told previously that our guttering & fence is as per their regulations.

If we could forsee freak accidents then football wouldn't be played at all.

I don't think we want to become like the good ol US of A and start suing everyone for what is a freak accident.

I've played on some shit heaps in my day, but at the end of the day, I made the choice to play on that shit heap, so it's MY responsibility.

Maybe instead of attacking whoever, try and work with them, and change things that you deem unsafe?

It was just one of those freak accidents, no need to go down that path.

The people who inspect the ground and the local club wouldn't be at fault anyway as this wasn't a foreseeable incident that they could have prevented. The council are the ones that provide the facilities and as such the duty of care largely rests on them. We have been told previously that our guttering & fence is as per their regulations.

If we could forsee freak accidents then football wouldn't be played at all.

Agree with you both wholeheartedly.

Maybe one option is to bring the boundary line in another metre. When I first started playing the boundary line was only approx 1.5 metres from the fence.

Due to a concrete drain going in some years ago, the boundary line was brought in to approx 3 metres plus. Some will say that it shortens the ground by too much, but its the same for both sides. The extra meterage is a bonus for those running full pace towards the fence, giving them extra time to slow down

I explored this issue many years ago when a series of similar events happened to some mates (fence related injuries). Seemingly, the nominated 3m buffer (requirement of the bylaws/AFL Vic etc.) is based on some statistical evidence around the relationship beween proximity of the boundary and relative risk of injury/contact with the fence in general play.

Apparently the benefits 'flatten out' at 3m (ie increasing 2m to 3m has a much greater benefit than increasing 3m to 4m - which is almost negligible). Hence the 3m stipulation. The issue of concrete guttering is an interesting one though, because occasionally this will be inside the fence, and is more likley to be struck/cause injury than the fence. Maybe it should be more in this case?

Either way, agree with those above, of all the things that might hurt you on a footy field, if you aren't prepared for unexpected injuries, maybe don't play.

I explored this issue many years ago when a series of similar events happened to some mates (fence related injuries). Seemingly, the nominated 3m buffer (requirement of the bylaws/AFL Vic etc.) is based on some statistical evidence around the relationship beween proximity of the boundary and relative risk of injury/contact with the fence in general play.

Apparently the benefits 'flatten out' at 3m (ie increasing 2m to 3m has a much greater benefit than increasing 3m to 4m - which is almost negligible). Hence the 3m stipulation. The issue of concrete guttering is an interesting one though, because occasionally this will be inside the fence, and is more likley to be struck/cause injury than the fence. Maybe it should be more in this case?

Either way, agree with those above, of all the things that might hurt you on a footy field, if you aren't prepared for unexpected injuries, maybe don't play.

Concrete would be quite unexpected, but from now on ill watch out for it.

Bad news about Mick, trust he recovers quickly, but realistically you cannot blame councils or associations for these type of injuries. Not having seen it but from all reports rather than slide in Adam Goodes style, he's tried to jump over Barnesy and lost control and ended up on the fence. Being a very fair player, I'm not surprised. But settle everyone if you want to sue everyone for whatever might happen we wouldn't leave the house.

Barnes already had the football and was pretty much out of bounds, Stinear tried to dump him in a tackle. Fair player or not, being only 3m away from the incident that's what happened.

Hopefully he's back on track in no time.

Barnes already had the football and was pretty much out of bounds, Stinear tried to dump him in a tackle. Fair player or not, being only 3m away from the incident that's what happened.

Hopefully he's back on track in no time.

Lets get the facts right mate, using the word dump and insinuating it was over the boundary, the actual tackle was made 1 metre inside the field of play and the momentum of the tackle sent both players over the boundary, Mick let heath go about a metre from the fence as fair players would unfortunately he went over heath and unluckilly hit the fence pole dead centre causing a severe gash above his eye and a popped shoulder, most times youll hit the webbing on the fence, both injuries are ok and we look forward to seeing him 2nd half of the year, enough said.

Thanks for St Kilda citys point of view......Went to clean him up and missed, enough said.

Ch v clay - heights to do this pretty easy just to many class players across the board - ch 6 goals

chelt v ding - i think the dingoes will knock off chelt at weatherall road to make it 3 loses in a row for chelt - ding 4 goals

heath v eb - eb will win this easily - eb 10 goals in the wet

high v stp - highett to scrap and fight at home but just come up short - stp 4 goals

city v mordi - i think this will be tighter than people expect due to a few injuries down at the farm - city by 2-3 goals

best of luck for the weekend to all sides!!

Ch v clay - heights at home. Always tough against Clayton though.

chelt v ding - Chelt at home by a few goals.

heath v eb - EB by plenty

high v stp - St. Pauls by 10

city v mordi - City by 7