Home & Garden Spiders can get ****ed

One of our sheds is seriously redback infested. It is empty and I'm keeping it that way cause builders are gonna be around in a few weeks to you know, build, and can leave the material and equipment there. I should do the courteous thing and bug bomb it, but... Screw that.

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Tapatalk

When I was 7 or 8 mum came into my room to wake me up, turned on the light, froze and then screamed.scared the shit out of me.
This ****ing shits me so much about women, instead of saying "quickly move towards me, there's a spider" they just scream like a ****ing idiot and send everyone else into a panic because they don't know what the **** they're screaming at.

This ******* shits me so much about women, instead of saying "quickly move towards me, there's a spider" they just scream like a ******* idiot and send everyone else into a panic because they don't know what the **** they're screaming at.

Absolutely, I wasn't even that worried about the spider, the scream got me more than anything

You must have titanium balls. I'd be booked into therapy myself... ._.

It probably crawled all over me in the middle of the night. Im pretty much terrified of sharks though and I've never encountered one. Everyone has different fears. Although as i stated before, if its a red back its a bit different.

One of our sheds is seriously redback infested. It is empty and I'm keeping it that way cause builders are gonna be around in a few weeks to you know, build, and can leave the material and equipment there. I should do the courteous thing and bug bomb it, but... Screw that.

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Tapatalk
I'd sincerely hope you'll be alerting them to the fact that it's full of redbacks.

I would also hope you'd pay for their medical bills if they're bitten.

It's even worse when you become a dad, because you've got to act all tough and shit in front of your kid when there's one in his room and you have to get rid of it..........

my 2 year old got bitten by a white tail a couple months back. His foot blew up double the size.

I reckon we've killed about 20 black spiders inside the house over the last 6 weeks. Very frustrating. All coming inside with the heat.

I've just moved onto property at the foot of the Blue Mountains. Let me tell you, EVERYTHING f**king lives there. Already encountered a red belly black snake about 1.5m long come charging across the front yard. They take care of the brown snakes according to local lore. Goodo, I say.

However, I was gardening around an old apricot tree that formed part of the original orchard on the weekend, lots of little spiders bobbing up and scurrying around. Went into the shed, put some boots and pants on, grabbed some gloves. Went back to work, got down towards the roots.....

Now this tree would be roughly 30 years old....well established.

Pretty sure I stumbled upon a colony of funnel webs. Who were none too pleased at being disturbed. One, about the size of my hand, stood on its back legs and wanted a go. BEGONE WITH YOU! Dispatched with a spade.

Needless to say, I know live on the roof.

I've just moved onto property at the foot of the Blue Mountains. Let me tell you, EVERYTHING f**king lives there. Already encountered a red belly black snake about 1.5m long come charging across the front yard. They take care of the brown snakes according to local lore. Goodo, I say.

However, I was gardening around an old apricot tree that formed part of the original orchard on the weekend, lots of little spiders bobbing up and scurrying around. Went into the shed, put some boots and pants on, grabbed some gloves. Went back to work, got down towards the roots.....

Now this tree would be roughly 30 years old....well established.

Pretty sure I stumbled upon a colony of funnel webs. Who were none too pleased at being disturbed. One, about the size of my hand, stood on its back legs and wanted a go. BEGONE WITH YOU! Dispatched with a spade.

Needless to say, I know live on the roof.

Red Belly black are good to have around, as you said they kill browns and wont attack you unless they're threatened in a corner.

Can't remember what it was but I think it was a show (I always thought it was Round The Twist) and someone went to go to the toilet and there was a massive Tarantula in the toilet bowl, like the size of a dinner plate. I spent about next 8 years being paranoid whenever I was taking a crap that a spider might be right underneath me.

I've lived in old houses, and I've lived in outer suburban (almost country) areas, and I can honestly say I've never seen anything other than a daddy long legs or those tiny "money spiders" in person my entire life. People always talking about dangerous spiders (particularly in primary school) like they're so common has always had me puzzled.

Have never seen a snake anywhere other than the zoo, either.

I've lived in old houses, and I've lived in outer suburban (almost country) areas, and I can honestly say I've never seen anything other than a daddy long legs or those tiny "money spiders" in person my entire life. People always talking about dangerous spiders (particularly in primary school) like they're so common has always had me puzzled.

Have never seen a snake anywhere other than the zoo, either.

I see at least 20+ during the summer and I live on a little bushy area outside Brisbane.

Cleaned the backyard today after neglecting for a long while. 3 big black ones down, the daddy long legs were ignored.

Then came inside and encountered another black one on my fiancee's bag.

Lucky you didn't miss it and fall behind your chair

I'm usually pretty accurate but I did have one last year that I missed and it ran behind the air co, had to wait patiently until it reappeared! I'm not really scared of them though, just rather not have them about, I don't like it when they get too close! If they are out of reach I just leave them be usually.

This thread is why the inventor of 3 month surface spray deserves a statue erected in their honour. I don't care that the fumes have shortened my life expectancy - it can't be worse than the adrenalin shock to the heart of the fight/flight response when I see one of these mo fo's.

Stories from Melbourne's fringe.

One day I have the good fortune to catch both the biggest mother examples of a huntsman and redback that I'd ever seen within the same hour. Been the keen student of Biology I am (sarc.) I decided to enter them into a cage match to the death within the same glass. Needless to say I was greatly disappointed when on halfway through my first stubbie (skulling it) the redback had obliterated the huntsman.

Second time my then 6 year old said daddy there's a red and black spider that just crawled to the edge of the floor. Having the Bunnings DIY ethic well and truly under control I though I'd pull back the carpet and have a look see. Let's say I was more than a tad surprised when there was not one rather 8-10 of said red and black spiders under the carpet. Luckily I'd remembered my wise ex chippy fathers advice of having the right tool for the right job, in this case a wide headed mallet.

Lastly around twenty years ago I went back to my ex's after the punk club her house mate ran finished. I was woken around seven in the morning by a banging sound followed by more lighter taps on the adjoining wall. Needless to say I was intrigued so went outside to investigate and was meet by a sight that sticks with me to to this day. Some of her other housemates had dragged the couch outside and had cracked open a case (either starting early or finishing late) and were sitting down whilst one of their number hit the back of the house with a hammer at which point the remainder would unleash a volley of darts at the scurrying fully grown huntsmen that came pouring out. Would often suggest to my ex after that time that my place in Prahran was a better option than Glen Iris :D