St Kilda - Clubbus Nullius

Drinking Light Ice, being a keyboard warrior and throwing marshmallows. You are hardcore my brother.

Tennent's at the moment mate.

I like the way you cut up nasty when someone trolls your side, even though you're happy to dish it out to someone else.

A faintly familiar feeling ...

Ah yes, a tasty meal left unguarded will soon attract some blowflies.

Now, if there are anyn non-bummunchers here lets get back to the matter at hand - St Kilda.

One thing I'll give them is that when they won their only flag, their captain was wearing the opposition jumper when he collected the cup.

But I suppose other sides have had that happen and cause St Kilda have only won one flag, the jumper-wearing just cancels it out, leaving them with nothing.

So your only criticism of Darrell Baldock, our Team of the Century Captain, is that he wore an opposition jumper when he collected the premiership cup? That kind of pales into insignificance when we look at North's Team of the Century Captain doesn't it.

As far as I'm aware Baldock never shagged his best mate's missus and got booted out of the club, after nearly tearing it apart. Never left his wife and young child for some slapper that he later got charged with assaulting. Never got arrested by the cops in both Australia and the US off his head on drugs and initially trying to resist arrest etc etc.

I think I know which Team of the Century Captain I'd prefer to have.

I like the way you cut up nasty when someone trolls your side, even though you're happy to dish it out to someone else.

Hmmmmmm cutting up nasty? I think you're the one that's upset.

You big keyboard warrior, next time Norf loses and you're in Melbourne to see it, how about you bitch to Laidley, he might invite you down to the rooms to see how cut up the players are. :thumbsu:

So good you lost to Carlton also rans in the PF the next year?

And then only won a single flag from your best side ever in the history of best sides ever?

Still, in one year you did manage to equal St Kildas lifetime total.

The loss to carlton was a learning curve because obviously the boys got to far ahead of themselves.

In order to better explain what i meant before, it helped the club perform better in the 99 season and the PF result as well as the marshmallow incident helped shape the 2000 season.

As for best side, i did say arguably and the 84 and 85 teams may have something to say about that anyway.

Don't be so upset that this thread has derailed into another Norf bashing, its just natural.

Big Gav Says Hi

draft06-Gavin-Urquhart.jpg

So your only criticism of Darrell Baldock, our Team of the Century Captain, is that he wore an opposition jumper when he collected the premiership cup? That kind of pales into insignificance when we look at North's Team of the Century Captain doesn't it.

As far as I'm aware Baldock never shagged his best mate's missus and got booted out of the club, after nearly tearing it apart. Never left his wife and young child for some slapper that he later got charged with assaulting. Never got arrested by the cops in both Australia and the US off his head on drugs and initially trying to resist arrest etc etc.

I think I know which Team of the Century Captain I'd prefer to have.

So Baldock has NOTHING noteworthy? A good player yes, but hardly alone there.

As regards Wayne Carey, I draw your attention to his jumper:

1996_premiers.jpg

1011442.jpg

They've been through enough 'rebuilding' phases to qualify as tanking for mine. Every premiership window that opens must have seen a season close.

On cheatng - wern't they involved in the siren fiaso at Tassie?

Ah yes, because we actually sabotaged the siren in Tassie! You have caught us out, well done SLF.

Pot. Kettle. Black

Does it burn you, that for all our lack of success, we are still alive and well. And for all your success, you are, well, nowhere and dying

All that success in the 90's, and still NOBODY wants to follow your loser club. Hurts, doesn't it?

I'm ok with our dodgy history, but you are in denial that your club will be around in 5-10 years.

So you attempt to rip on a club and fail quite spectacularly and then have a sook when you cop some shit in return. Toughen up.

Those are almost - shudder - St Kilda colours.

Well done in keeping the thread on topic for once.

SLF, if your club dies in the next four years (as I predict it to), and St Kilda continue their path in the AFL.... who will be considered more successful?

It poses an interesting point I think.

I've done a lot of trolling on this board and its just struck me now, a few beers to the good, that while I've trolled every club in the comp, I've always ended up exchanging kind words with opposing fans and having a laugh, or sharing an observation, about their club and having a good time.

All except one.

St Kilda.

St Kilda aren't just a shit club - although plainly they are. They are a nothing club. Every accusation that can be thrown against any other club can be happily stuck on them too. They have nothing.

So what do we make of them? They aren't even strictly speaking the worst (Freo have no flags), they've had all the financial problems of others, they've flogged games, they've had dodgy players, the whole shebang. They have nothing to hang their hat on. They are simply nothing.

That said, I'm hoping people here will be able to extract a single thing about St Kilda worth noting. Something, anything.

So fire away. Give us your thoughts about St Kilda and we'll see if we can't get something that makes us go - Oh Yeah, The Sainters, They're Alright.

Yep, they are the footballing equivalent of a Black Hole.

The longest premiership drought in history speaks volumes for this serial non entity (1873 - 1966).

I secondus that.

But as a positive, after North go extinct, as a positive, all the Norf memorabilia will actually fetch some value on eBay.

Closely followed by the Hawthorn Hotel/Riversdale/Booroondara/Hawthorn Rovers mustard coated shitmen. (1873 - 1961):D:D:D:D:D:D

SLF, if your club dies in the next four years (as I predict it to), and St Kilda continue their path in the AFL.... who will be considered more successful?

It poses an interesting point I think.

I dunno. If you ever manage to get a root, will you still be such a spanner?

North will still be around in 4 years and you'll still be a virgin.

And in 104 years, we'll still be around, and you'll be pushing up daisies for the first time in your life.

I dunno. If you ever manage to get a root, will you still be such a spanner?

North will still be around in 4 years and you'll still be a virgin.

And in 104 years, we'll still be around, and you'll be pushing up daisies for the first time in your life.

And you accuse me of avoiding the OP... :D :D :D

Do you and Mario take turns on one another or do you prefer the deployment of a hamster, Brent Harvey style?

Hey whatever floats your boat, tickles your nuts and gets you excited. More power to you guys :thumbsu: :o

It still doesn't explain why you drafted Leigh Brown, nor does it explain Dane Swan's ridiculous tattoo. Nor does it explain why Nick Maxwell looks like a tiny teddy. So I'm afraid your post is factually inaccurate.

That is a very good point. For all of the Saints problems and all of their history of taking other club's hacks, even they wouldn't have drafted Leigh Brown. Collingwood supporters will pretty much have to avoid Bay 13 altogether until they delist him at the end of this year.

Miss! He admitted it!

(The rest is just the kind of re-tread bullsht we snicker at on the North board.)
And bringing up the 1 flag thing isn't re-tread?

Lol, once again, Pot. Kettle. Black

It's ok son, fear not, Sir Jimmy B will lead you to the promised land.

Ya gotta laugh at a club that claims record membership numbers based on sympathy memberships bought by supporters of other clubs. With the credit crunch, i don't see many of them renewing this year. But hey, you keep swinging and maybe you'll land on on my mob. The same mob who got ourselves out of financial trouble, unlike yours who is only alive due to the AFL's funding

Tell me, SLF, would you rather be alive with minimal success, but with plenty of time to win more

or

Dead, and forced to look back over and over at past success? With no hope of anything in th future, because you don't exist

And brining up the 1 flag thing isn't re-tread?

Lol, once again, Pot. Kettle. Black

It's ok son, fear not, Sir Jimmy B will lead you to the promised land.

Ya gotta laugh at a club that claims record membership numbers based on sympathy memberships bought by supporters of other clubs. With the credit crunch, i don't see many of them renewing this year. But hey, you keep swinging and maybe you'll land on on my mob. The same mob who got ourselves out of financial trouble, unlike yours who is only alive due to the AFL's funding

Tell me, SLF, would you rather be alive with minimal success, but with plenty of time to win more

or

Dead, and forced to look back over and over at past success? With no hope of anything in th future, becayse you don't exist

Brings up a very good question...

If a tree falls in the forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?

If a battling, shitty AFL club with no supporters falls over ... does anyone give a ****? :o

Let's relive the Aints only moment of glory.

Barry Breens "shank of the century".

[YOUTUBE]INPrcg3-SS8[/YOUTUBE]

That is a very good point. For all of the Saints problems and all of their history of taking other club's hacks, even they wouldn't have drafted Leigh Brown. Collingwood supporters will pretty much have to avoid Bay 13 altogether until they delist him at the end of this year.
Lol, personally, i wouldn't bag other clubs recycle choices, we have had our fair share...

But i agree, even we wouldn't take Brown

Lol, what club was he just at? Oh thats right... They really know how to produce em

Wells, the superstar

Brent "i cant get a gig in the AA midfield, so i get a HFF role" Harvey

EJ's screams of "HIT THE BOUNDARY" aptly highlight the complete lack of confidence the football going public had in StKilda managing to win a flag off its own boots.

So fire away. Give us your thoughts about St Kilda and we'll see if we can't get something that makes us go - Oh Yeah, The Sainters, They're Alright.

Nup, Can't think of one thing nowadays..........they had Harves and he has since retired a broken man that never won a flag and played for 20yrs.

Prior to Harves their was Marlene Dietrich (don't tell him I said that ;)) , Mad Dog Muir, Gary 'Can in the head' Sidebottom, Cowboy Neil, Trevor Barker and a few cult heroes of that era.

Since then they have had jack shit, a club that epitomises failure, a club that stinks from board level down to the boot studder, a supporter base that year after year sob their hearts out knowing they will go to the grave with no silverware other than there casket handles....

The one thing the supporters have in there favour is that Freo came into the comp and are just as pitifull as them...

SLF, I might have an interesting point of note re: St Kilda.

St Kilda are perhaps clever enough to note the recent success of Geelong & Hawthorn could be due to one similarity - Victorian clubs who gravitate away from the Melbourne CBD.

Geelong have obviously held a home ground advantage for some time, are one of the oldest established clubs in Australia and are miles away from the CBD, and a nightlife that is more exciting than Canberra's. In fact, Geelong supporters are so proud of their recent efforts, I expect to see the construction of a giant Israeli/Plestinian style wall near Lara as I make my annual trip to Meredith.

Hawthorn (pre-empting the Geelong success) moved away from the CBD to South Mulgrave or something, and sold some games to Tassie as a sort of ad hoc mid-season Arizona trip that large clubs like Collingwood and the Bulldogs indulge on.
Result? 2008 Premiership and a fairytale finish to Shane Crawford's career.

St Kilda, seizing the initiative, are relocating even further away from St Kilda & Moorabbin, down to Frankston. It has all the advantages of Mulgrave & Geelong, is far away from the CBD, and they no longer need to draft criminals to the club, being located amongst them in South Boganville.

On this basis, I'm tipping the Saints to make the top four and perhaps challenge the big 3 (Geelong, Hawks & Bulldogs).