St Kilda complain about priority draft access in Oct 2024; now set to gain priority access to a first / second round pick via their NGA access

Also, Papa Hodge is on record stating that Cooper would not be playing AFL without the Lions academy. Based on that, if he wasn't in the academy, he wouldn't be playing footy.

Can we please be serious?

Can you explain how Akermanis, Marcus Ashcroft, David Hale, Tippett, Brennan, Bolton , Mickey O and many, many others were drafted without academies?

Or was that just luck?

No because ive already said it helps retention having a greater percentage of Queenslanders on the list, its not hard to comprehend, the academies do 2 things, help develop talent in non afl states and secondly provides clubs with a greater percentage of local talent

I would be asking questions of your club as to why you have not been able to trade back our players originally from melbourne, that is your competitive advantage that your club has failed to do along with all the other melbourne teams

Why do clubs need a greater percentage of local talent?

If that’s the case, why aren’t SA and WA teams complaining?

Well if it produces so few why are you defending your academy so hard. You just want your golden goose because you know it’s an advantage. If it wasn’t you would defend it would you? If it purely grew the game but didn’t benefit you you wouldn’t care. Correct?

Ah, you’ve reached the final boss. Where defenders of the academy always seem to go missing.

Didn't we hear the other big whinger in Hardwick sooking about something last week? had a sook about if it was Daicos despite 2 Saints players being in the same situation as his player.

so as long as the Saints win a flag soon, the whinging is justified, oh no wait thats just a shit trolling attempt, so lacking in originality
Reading comprehension isn't a strength of yours is it? My point was that if your officials are more interested in whinging about the advantages other clubs are getting than performing their role you aren't going to be successful as a club. I then used examples to back that up. St Kilda have had a history of playing the victim over the past 50 years and haven't won a flag in that time. Pridham has a history of playing the victim and Sydney haven't won a flag since his appointment as CEO.

What success has Gold Coast had since Hardwick was appointed? The answer is the same as the other 2, none. That's not trolling, that's providing evidence to back up my position, something you have failed to do.

And as per usual when we get to this point, the truth comes out.

It’s not about the benefit of the kids and the growth of the game - it’s purely what benefits the northern teams competitively.

Why can’t it be both?

I would imagine it’s predominantly the latter - why wouldn’t clubs like Brisbane seek to improve a systemic disadvantage they face?

That said, I have no doubt the Hawks pursuit of Greeves was entirely altruistic.

Why can’t it be both?

I would imagine it’s predominantly the latter - why wouldn’t clubs like Brisbane seek to improve a systemic disadvantage they face?

That said, I have no doubt the Hawks pursuit of Greeves was entirely altruistic.
Systematic disadvantage?

For retention are your eyes painted on? The wa and sa clubs have a far greater talent pool we've been through this already, they have players that go back to WA and SA regularly, we do not have the luxury of having people "go home sick to Queensland" there was no one to come back because no one was getting drafted out of Queensland how do you not understand this

1 player on average drafted from Queensland is unacceptable and causes retention issues as the player pool is coming from Victoria as the majority, victorian clubs have the benefit of being able to attract these players back home, that is your competitive advantage

Why can’t it be both?

And I have zero problems with simply admitting it. It’s a spectacular rort and I wish my club had the same advantage.

Just stop pretending it’s altruistic and for the betterment of the game (not you, the majority of the other defenders).

Systematic disadvantage?

Possibly, but you’d be splitting hairs. I’d argue the fact that historically 1% of draftees are from QLD would constitute systemic disadvantage, as it’s disadvantages you in drafting, recruiting, poaching, and as a flow on effect, on field results, thus off field results, etc… the fact that some clubs had next to no players from their state in the pool, and others had a disproportionate excess, is undeniably a major disadvantage.

So semantics aside, I believe the point stands.

For retention are your eyes painted on? The wa and sa clubs have a far greater talent pool we've been through this already, they have players that go back to WA and SA regularly, we do not have the luxury of having people "go home sick to Queensland" there was no one to come back because no one was getting drafted out of Queensland how do you not understand this

1 player on average drafted from Queensland is unacceptable and causes retention issues as the player pool is coming from Victoria as the majority, victorian clubs have the benefit of being able to attract these players back home, that is your competitive advantage

Are you pretending to be obtuse, or simply making up statistics to benefit your argument?

John Noble, Charlie Cameron requested trades for literally that reason, with plenty other trade requests for lifestyle reasons occurring including Rioli, Daniher, Neale etc etc.

What kind of fantasy land are we living in?

And I have zero problems with simply admitting it. It’s a spectacular rort and I wish my club had the same advantage.

Just stop pretending it’s altruistic and for the betterment of the game (not you, the majority of the other defenders).

I too would disagree with anyone who is trying to pretend it’s pure altruism.

Like, I’m sure there would be an element of pride, for those in QLD/NSW organisations seeing “home grown” talent making it to the big time. But it sure as hell isn’t the main driver.

They don't. For all the whining about local talent, it didn't stop the Northern teams from competing disproportionately well in the years prior to academies being introduced. If bleeding talent doesn't prevent success then the AFL have no need to amend it. Right now we have 6 uncompetitive unwatchable games a week. They've completely ruined the competition. They've lost far more growth by the degradation of competitive quality in the game, than they've gained through expansion and they are about to compound it with another team.

A time those northern clubs could access the retention allowance, which helped them overcome the disadvantage of having minuscule amounts of local talent available.

Are you pretending to be obtuse, or simply making up statistics to benefit your argument?

John Noble, Charlie Cameron requested trades for literally that reason, with plenty other trade requests for lifestyle reasons occurring including Rioli, Daniher, Neale etc etc.

What kind of fantasy land are we living in?
ok its at this point you are not worth my time, the players you mentioned did not ask for trades to go home, Neale and Daniher are not from here so what the **** are u going on about not to mention Joe lived in NSW

Its you who is in the fantasy land

A time those northern clubs could access the retention allowance, which helped them overcome the disadvantage of having minuscule amounts of local talent available.
Yeah awesome. Bring that back. Way preferable to the shit show we have now. Even though the likes of Brisbane have no problem attracting mature talent without it now.

spoken by a salty Essendon supporter who just got rolled by Gold Coast

Systematic disadvantage?
for all the systematic disadvantages, they've won 4 premierships in the last 25 years, won't someone think of poor Brisbane

it's hilarious that GCS are used as a means for an academy because they've been a poorly run club and lost players and it's the "go-home" factor
Brisbane were a poorly run club, lost players, and it's the go-home factor
but
St Kilda were/are poorly run and it's just, St Kilda are poorly run

Bullshit. Let’s try to keep this logical

Literally mentions something his father (the most direct source outside of the kid himself) said

"Bullshit"

Please don't talk about logic.

Can we please be serious?

Can you explain how Akermanis, Marcus Ashcroft, David Hale, Tippett, Brennan, Bolton , Mickey O and many, many others were drafted without academies?

Or was that just luck?

I never made any claim of other players, just what Luke Hodge said about his son. You are putting words in my mouth.

Read what I wrote and come back to me. Only pointed out what was said.

for all the systematic disadvantages, they've won 4 premierships in the last 25 years, won't someone think of poor Brisbane

it's hilarious that GCS are used as a means for an academy because they've been a poorly run club and lost players and it's the "go-home" factor
Brisbane were a poorly run club, lost players, and it's the go-home factor
but
St Kilda were/are poorly run and it's just, St Kilda are poorly run
st Kilda does not have any disadvantages thus having no excues, been around for 150 years with all the talent coming out of Victoria

St Kilda complain about priority draft access in Oct 2024; now set to gain priority access to a first / second round pick via their NGA access