Opinion #standdowneddie?

• Thread starter Thread starter wicksy

I don't know Ed, but I reckon he is a very capable operator and have a lot of respect for what he's achieved.

He does strike me as the kind of person who, if he were reading this thread, his head would go Beetroot red and launch some rant about "internet carpers". He seems to be the type to take things personally.

I reckon there are four different types of Collingwood supporter involved ...

(1) There are those types who simply dislike Ed and don't need much of a sniff to give him a whack. For them it **is** personal.

(2) There are those who assess a situation on merit, and whack him when he deserves it, but do the 'side-by-side thing' when he doesn't. But even when Ed does a good job, those folks would still prefer that Ed had some competition for his spot.

(3) There are those who don't have an opinion.

(4) There are those who are Ed disciples and would happily go to war for him.

I don't think there'd be too many in the (3) camp - Ed is such a polarising figure.

Camp (4) are scarey .. I've encountered a few in my time. I reckon camps (4) and (1) roughly balance each other out there'd be around the same number of people in each.

I think most folks are in the second camp. I am

Woody, I admire Ed for everything he has done for this club. His intentions have always been about whats best for the club and you cannot knock him for that. We have to remember its probably as hard a role as he has had in his career and the one role he does not get paid for. But their comes a time when everyone has their day.

I did met Ed once at a presidents lunch in around 09 or 10 . It was at a time when Daisy Thomas was coping heaps from opposition supporters but was also starting to win over pies fans as he was showing constant improvement. It was half time and Daisy was playing a really good game. I was a bit pissy and in the dunnys lining up and Ed was in there (NOTE-Olympic room mcg 2 urinals catering for 500 blokes-bloody joke!) we had a short convo about daisy and his response was "They hate daisy for the same reason they hate me....their jealous" I cant believe he made the conversation about himself.

I didnt lose any admiration or respect for the job he has done at the club but it did confirm my suspicions that he was a bit of a w***er with an ego issue. Eds ego is his Achilles heal IMO.

Hero or villain?

Reports on the clen brothers taking contaminated coke, yeah thumbs up caro (despite AFL,club or players never confirming)

Pots Eddie over appointing gubby under investigation, boo she's a grub.

Pots hird, yeah go Caro.

Bottom line she's a gossip columnist, her gig is to seek and report scandal.

But our reaction to it reflects our own confirmation bias.

Strong points but Caroline Wilson fabricates a "Womens Weekly" tabloid style AFL universe tainted with her own bias.

I'm clearly not a fan of Caro and I place zero value on her contribution.

Having said that Eddie and Pert are like nappies that have been worn all day; due for a change.

I don't have any issue with Caro putting her opinion out there, even though you can't help but feel she's always pushing an anti Collingwood (and Ed in particular) agenda. That's her prerogative and she's entitled to hold her own opinion of Collingwood or Ed.

But the thing I can't stand about Caro's articles is the constant inference that the Treloar deal was dodgy, but never having the guts to openly say why this is the case. She constantly relies on the cowardly journo tactic of using phrases like "Questions continue to be asked..." etc that have little or no basis in reality.

Personally I really can't imagine how the trade deal that was done for Treloar, for which Collingwood regularly gets criticised for paying too much, was somehow an 'inside job' by Gubby knowing that he would go to the Pies some months later. If she's got info that says it was, then come out and print it.

It smacks of sour grapes after Richmond spectacularly failed to get their target.

Must admit I haven't felt this flat about our club as a whole for a very long time...We can only hope 2017 surprises us all in an exciting way.
Sometimes issues off-field don't translate into what happens on the field.

The Bulldogs in the off-season of 2014-2015 are a prime example of this. I reckon we might surprise a few next year and this is coming from someone who's downplayed our prospects in the last few seasons when others have been confident.

I don't know Ed, but I reckon he is a very capable operator and have a lot of respect for what he's achieved.

He does strike me as the kind of person who, if he were reading this thread, his head would go Beetroot red and launch some rant about "internet carpers". He seems to be the type to take things personally.

(1) There are those types who simply dislike Ed and don't need much of a sniff to give him a whack. For them it **is** personal.

(2) There are those who assess a situation on merit, and whack him when he deserves it, but do the 'side-by-side thing' when he doesn't. But even when Ed does a good job, those folks would still prefer that Ed had some competition for his spot.

I don't think there'd be too many in the (3) camp - Ed is such a polarising figure.

Camp (4) are scarey .. I've encountered a few in my time. I reckon camps (4) and (1) roughly balance each other out there'd be around the same number of people in each.

Another good post by 76. I'll presumptuously try and add to it by saying that I'm not sure that Ed is being judged on merit at the minute. Things seem a bit gloomy in BF land these days, something which seems inevitable after another year without finals football and after a trade period which doesn't seem to heal some of the weaker aspects of our list. And so this amplifies the smaller problems, which suddenly become 'debacles'.

We all need to take a deep breath and look toward 2017, which Buckley has rightly stated will be a year of judgment. If it all goes pear-shaped next year then I look forward to pulling out a pitchfork for some Simpson's-style mob action.

Ed doesn't necessarily have to stand down and certainly not because Caro wants him too.

He does need to start planning for the day that does happen though, 20 years is a long time in the job.

Saintly I admire your optimism. But I reckon I have read from you IF we win it all changes about 100 times now. You don't just magically turn up and fortunes change. Actions need to change first.

What happens if we don't win? and What is in place to turn things around?

Surely with all the smoke around you can atleast conceed things might not be as rosey at the club as you seemed to think towards the end of the season. Are you telling me you are still not the least bit concerned.
100 times?
Nah, 500 times.

All I keep saying is it's amazing when you win everyone becomes a genius.
All 18 clubs trying same thing,
17 will lose each year.
I just don't complicate it too much.
Yes we have to get the right people so that's important.
As long as that's the goal then e should improve incrementally.

Ultimately our next success of it arrives in sometime soon will feature via Moore, De Goey,Treloar, Grundy and Pendlebury etc.
It won't matter if the guy behind it is named Walsh, Allan, Balme, meh, as long as that person is capable.
They still don't kick the ball.
In the mean time I'm going to take it calmly and allow the preseason to hopefully get the players fit and well.

I'm not sure why anybody would be so disappointed that we lost Balme. I've never been a fan, and I remember being delighted when we last lost him.

And all this calling for Eddie to stand down, does anybody actually have an alternative they can suggest? Because of you want Eddie to stand down and you don't have a fantastic replacement to suggest, then you are an idiot.

Yes Ed has been in the job for a long time, but he knows the job. He does it well and has done so for a long time. He has his critics, heck people wanted his head when Malthouse was coach prior to the succession plan, and we ended up winning the flag a couple of years later, and make no mistake, his manoeuvring was a big part of that.

Have him stand down and replaced with some idiot that is no good at the job, and we could become the next Carlton or Richmond.

I prefer the reign of Eddie continues rather the replacement of an unknown entity.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Ed is a media personality first and Collingwood president second. This will always be the case and is the main reason he will never move on from his current persona. IMO, the club is fast approaching a point at which his tenure as president must end.

I think you can't separate Ed the media personality and Ed the President. It's not so much his commercial acumen but really his capacity to sell a narrative and vision which keeps fans engaged and people reading our media - which in itself brings in big sponsors.

A dry, financial wiz with no personality would not create the pull and excitement around the club that translates into dollars and a well-resourced footy department.

That being said, the Allen appointment seems like a terrible mis-step. The news about the Whitfield drug situation was around publicly before the Balme demotion was complete and he was out the door. If we end up with the cupboard bare in that regard when the season is underway that's a massive palaver.

The other questionable moments have involved public spats with GWS and Andrew Pridham. The commentary on the Academies (which I believe was warranted, but Ed might have headed a united front rather than going it alone) clearly pissed off the northern teams which we want to deal with in terms of trades. I don't know if this resulted in GWS putting the squeeze on us regarding Hoskin-Elliot when North got Ahern for a pick in the 60s. It can't make Hine's job easier.

I think Ed is good for the club and it's hard to replicate what he brings as a showman, but he certainly needs to take stock and discuss his ideas with the board before he starts talking. More strategy, less theatrics when it comes to talking about other teams in the public arena.

I think you can't separate Ed the media personality and Ed the President. It's not so much his commercial acumen but really his capacity to sell a narrative and vision which keeps fans engaged and people reading our media - which in itself brings in big sponsors.

A dry, financial wiz with no personality would not create the pull and excitement around the club that translates into dollars and a well-resourced footy department.

That being said, the Allen appointment seems like a terrible mis-step. The news about the Whitfield drug situation was around publicly before the Balme demotion was complete and he was out the door. If we end up with the cupboard bare in that regard when the season is underway that's a massive palaver.

The other questionable moments have involved public spats with GWS and Andrew Pridham. The commentary on the Academies (which I believe was warranted, but Ed might have headed a united front rather than going it alone) clearly pissed off the northern teams which we want to deal with in terms of trades. I don't know if this resulted on GWS putting the squeeze on us regarding Hoskin-Elliot when North got Ahern for a pick in the 60s. It can't make Hine's job easier.

I think Ed is good for the club and it's hard to replicate what he brings as a showman, but he certainly needs to take stock and discuss his ideas with the board before he starts talking. More strategy, less theatrics when it comes to talking about other teams in the public arena.

Everything you say is spot on and I agree Ed needs to change, just don't think he is capable of doing it. Almost 20 years as president and it hasn't happened yet. I think it is time for a presidential succession plan.

I don't have any issue with Caro putting her opinion out there, even though you can't help but feel she's always pushing an anti Collingwood (and Ed in particular) agenda. That's her prerogative and she's entitled to hold her own opinion of Collingwood or Ed.

But the thing I can't stand about Caro's articles is the constant inference that the Treloar deal was dodgy, but never having the guts to openly say why this is the case. She constantly relies on the cowardly journo tactic of using phrases like "Questions continue to be asked..." etc that have little or no basis in reality.

Personally I really can't imagine how the trade deal that was done for Treloar, for which Collingwood regularly gets criticised for paying too much, was somehow an 'inside job' by Gubby knowing that he would go to the Pies some months later. If she's got info that says it was, then come out and print it.

It smacks of sour grapes after Richmond spectacularly failed to get their target.
I'm starting to think that we got Treloar for a steal.
If Gubby was doing GWSs bidding he'd undersell if it's the same Gubby that did ourvtrades this year.
No conspircay just Gubby.

Eddie, Pert, Bucks & Gubby, can do what they want when they want, just because some two bit jurno has a personal agenda doesn't mean we need to listen or bend over...time to make this person go away!

Sent from my warped mind

Woody, I admire Ed for everything he has done for this club. His intentions have always been about whats best for the club and you cannot knock him for that. We have to remember its probably as hard a role as he has had in his career and the one role he does not get paid for. But their comes a time when everyone has their day.

I did met Ed once at a presidents lunch in around 09 or 10 . It was at a time when Daisy Thomas was coping heaps from opposition supporters but was also starting to win over pies fans as he was showing constant improvement. It was half time and Daisy was playing a really good game. I was a bit pissy and in the dunnys lining up and Ed was in there (NOTE-Olympic room mcg 2 urinals catering for 500 blokes-bloody joke!) we had a short convo about daisy and his response was "They hate daisy for the same reason they hate me....their jealous" I cant believe he made the conversation about himself.

I didnt lose any admiration or respect for the job he has done at the club but it did confirm my suspicions that he was a bit of a ****** with an ego issue. Eds ego is his Achilles heal IMO.

That sounds like something a narcissist would say.

Eddie, Pert, Bucks & Gubby, can do what they want when they want, just because some two bit jurno has a personal agenda doesn't mean we need to listen or bend over...time to make this person go away!
Sent from my warped mind
What means do you suggest? Water slide? ;)
Or maybe we don't read her ramblings or listen to her radio stuff.

You would mostly likely put me in 1 right? You'd be wrong. I've always been an admirer of Ed. Always stuck up for the man. But lately, the wheels seem to be getting rusty... Our club has turned to sh#& and like it or not, he has to wear it!

Sometimes issues off-field don't translate into what happens on the field.

The Bulldogs in the off-season of 2014-2015 are a prime example of this. I reckon we might surprise a few next year and this is coming from someone who's downplayed our prospects in the last few seasons when others have been confident.
So hope you are right.

EFA

They're guilty as hell... you know it, I know it.. Eddie knew it.

I'm going to call BS on that - they are guilty, but the mistake Eddie made is believing an old mate who told him a porky.

BUT - it's a horrible look for Eddie after the whole Gubby to run the netball team debacle.

I'm going to call BS on that - they are guilty, but the mistake Eddie made is believing an old mate who told him a porky.

BUT - it's a horrible look for Eddie after the whole Gubby to run the netball team debacle.
That's probably fair call

Why is it a fair call? Ed wasn't told a porkie! He was told the truth by Allan - that he was being investigated by the AFL.
I was not privy to the conversation(s).
For all my Ed it's time to think move on thoughts, it need not be determined by potential GWS poor behaviour.
If we are "caught up" in this, and the great Gubby of Gubbiness has to holiday for a time, he'll be replaced. Not such a biggie, he's not Pendlebury. So I'm non plussed about it all.
GWS can answer their methods in this case.

It was half time and Daisy was playing a really good game. I was a bit pissy and in the dunnys lining up and Ed was in there (NOTE-Olympic room mcg 2 urinals catering for 500 blokes-bloody joke!) we had a short convo about daisy and his response was "They hate daisy for the same reason they hate me....their jealous" I cant believe he made the conversation about himself.

I didnt lose any admiration or respect for the job he has done at the club but it did confirm my suspicions that he was a bit of a ****** with an ego issue. Eds ego is his Achilles heal IMO.
Probly the truth though.

Even if you disagree with some of the stuff he says, his media platform and his willingness to use it is underrated and brings us a lot of credibility. For example, the AFL know they have to tread carefully when dealing with us because Ed is prepared to go to war for us in the media. I also reckon it gives us a bit of an "us against them" mentality which is good for firing up the base. No other president (probably in the games history) has had both the platform and the willingness to abuse it in pursuit of their club's interests.

:thumbsu:

It has also cause significant detriment to the club with his comments about Goodes and Wilson.

The Goodes debacle has tarnished the club for life imo.