Hawks 08

Suspended
Channel 10 news reported he was travelling 80km over the speed limit and got his car empounded.
128 in a 50 zone!

Re: Steve Johnson - car impounded

80 KM over the speed limit :confused:
What was he doing 140 in a 60 zone. 160 in an 80 zone?

Maybe had his car impounded but highly doubt he was going that fast :eek:

Reported on Channel 10 news.

I'm not doubting u at all mate, just find it hard to believe.

Haven't heard, but half an hour ago my wife came out to the back yard to tell me that Steve Johnson had been suspended until Round 6. Turns out she was reading a one year old copy of the addy, that the addy had mysteriously sent her.

Just on the news now. Caught doing 128 in a 50 zone in east geelong at 8pm last night.

Lost his License , and has to go to court.

Heading to East Geelong Golf club...looks like he might have been going through the Eastern Gardens where they put cops all the time to catch the hoons that drive around there. There was a fatal through there last year some time, the guy killed was speeding....silly move Steve...

Haven't heard, but half an hour ago my wife came out to the back yard to tell me that Steve Johnson had been suspended until Round 6. Turns out she was reading a one year old copy of the addy, that the addy had mysteriously sent her.
I knew you were slow down there, but that is just ridiculous!

Hey, if 6 rounds made him that good, suspend him for 16.:thumbsu:

Lucky he can play footy, because the guy's a moron.

Thought you Geelong fans might want to see the article form the Herald Sun website.

Cats bad boy caught speeding
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23067294-661,00.html
Karen Collier and AAP
January 17, 2008 05:29pm

BREAKING NEWS: GEELONG premiership star Steve Johnson has been booked for speeding and has had his car impounded.

Police clocked the forward - who was almost sacked early last season after being arrested for public drunkenness - at 128km/h in a 50km/h zone last night.

He now faces losing his driving licence for 12 months and further disciplinary action from the club.

Teammate Shannon Byrnes was also in the car.

Johnson was banished for the first five games of last season because of an alcohol-related incident.

He then made a fairytale comeback, winning the Norm Smith medal in Geelong's historic grand final victory and earning all-Australian selection.

A club statement issued this afternoon said Johnson was on his way to Eastern Gardens golf course about 8.15pm last night when he was booked.

“We are extremely disappointed that Steve was found to have exceeded the speed limit in this manner and we are thankful that Steve, his passenger Shannon Byrnes or any other people were not injured," the statement said.

"We know the risks associated with speeding and speed is a major cause of road crashes in Victoria. Steve’s actions were dangerous and unacceptable and could have resulted in tragic circumstances,” Geelong ceo Brian Cook said.

“Ultimately every individual is responsible for their actions and the consequences of those actions. Our players understand that society holds them to a high standard. As a club we will continue to educate everyone associated with the club of the need to meet these standards.

“Steve has worked hard over the past year to regain respect but this is a major setback in this regard. In the past many of Steve’s issues have been alcohol-related however that is not the case on this occasion.”

The club will consult the player leadership group and consider sanctions over the coming week.

What a tool.

He had Shannon in the car with him?

maybe he was trying to take him out?

I dunno

I had a feeling this would happen.

What an idiot. I'd say the same thing about anyone else driving at that speed. It's not even funny.

Weagles gave Ben Cousins a billion and one chances. I wonder if Geelong will do the same or learn from their mistakes.

Damn it.

Unbelievable! Show the guy some faith to be able to keep himself in-check and what does he do? Rub dirt in your face.

sack byrnes, poor influence

Unbelievable! Show the guy some faith to be able to keep himself in-check and what does he do? Rub dirt in your face.

Id watch out, the whinge police will come and have a go at you for being negative to our players :p;)

Just on the news now. Caught doing 128 in a 50 zone in east geelong at 8pm last night.

Lost his License , and has to go to court.

and his defence will be shazza made me do it

Poor time to do it,

With the TAC dropping the pies and also moving to Geelong I think we might of had a shot at getting some sponsership $$$ from them, I think this will test the waters :(

Also this happens all the time, so i'll say it again, Why is it breaking news that a young bloke was caught speeding, News yes - Breaking news NO.

I'm so tempted to ask Shannon if he enjoyed the car ride.

Id watch out, the whinge police will come and have a go at you for being negative to our players :p;)

Darn :o

It's unlucky for the anti-Byrnes brigade. If Byrnes was driving alone, or if another fringe player was driving, he could've been kicked out the door. Under these conditions, GFC can only fire both Johnson and he, or fire neither. They're equally culpable.