Injury Steve Johnson hip update

Do we know for sure that the surgery was earlier this week?
Sure, people saw SJ coming out of the doctors in Hobart, then filmed coming off the plane etc... but is there a chance that the surgery was actually done the week before, and he was just going down for follow up check & physio?
Could the club be foxing and he is further along in the rehab than expected?

the whole 'if it was finals he/they could have played' is the problem. If a player ain't right, they ain't right, doesn't matter what game it is, either they can play and contribute or they can't. What day of the year it is should have ZERO bearing.

But any player in the league would enter a final with a niggling injury, whereas niggling injuries are often rested during the season. No player is 100% fit at this stage of the year, so whether they line up or not depends on whether they are fit enough to make a meaningful contribution.

the whole 'if it was finals he/they could have played' is the problem. If a player ain't right, they ain't right, doesn't matter what game it is, either they can play and contribute or they can't. What day of the year it is should have ZERO bearing.

I disagree. There will be some injuries where you once you are warmed up you can get through the game ok. But the likelihood is that you will make the injury worse or even need an op. If it was the GF you would do it knowing you can recover before next year but it makes no sense in the first week of finals.

Yeah definitely! There would have been big question marks. Particularly since he may not play again

But we had to carry Chapman, Varcoe, Kelly and Stokes injured. Plus Harley got knocked out late in the first half. So Hawks only had to carry Croad who they got 1 good half out of. We had to carry 5 players

I think the rule is you can take 1 or 2 players in who are a bit proppy but they have to be really good players. Taking any more than 2 injured players into a GF is asking for trouble - especially if there are fit guys on the emergency list

Mate. Young (according to the radio station I was listening to and the TV commentary after) was the best man on the ground at half time. Gone with an ankle in the 3rd qtr(didnt return). Croad actually went at the 17m of the second qtr so definitely didnt get a half out of him. Luke Hodge played with broken ribs. Stewie Dew popped a hammy early 3rd qtr and had to be shifted. Chance Bateman spent most of the 2nd qtr injured on the bench and for the last par tof the 2nd qtr our bench was down to 2. So it seriously wasn't "only one" player we had to carry. At that time of the year every side is carrying plenty of injuries and on the day we had our fair share as well.

It is such a fine line isn't it. We would have been pulverized had Croad gone down and not been seen for all of 2009 should we have not won. If the "Fat man" had spent the second half on the bench and not floating in the forward pocket with a massive hammy tear and not just a nick... we'd have looked stupid for taking him in the first place let alone playing him on a quick and fast track GF day. In the end everyone lauds the success which could have easily been disaster.

I firmly believe all the suns and moons aligned for us that day and despite all the setbacks we got over the line. Win some... lose some... sometimes I reckon a greater being has more control over it than anyone.

Agree with your post Joelie, although I'm am pretty sure Hodge didn't actually have broken ribs.

My apologies then. The HFC club magazine did an interview with Luke and he admitted to having some. I have no idea really on that except for what the papers and mag said. What I was just pointing out is that Hodge was injured (and I know that you may not accept that) Stokes was carrying a niggle along with Varcoe and Kelly. They rolled the dice. Some come off. Some dont.

I work in sporting rehab and I can assure you it is a gamble everytime a fitness test takes place. There is no doubt that if you take a jab and try and play through something you are unaware of the damage you are doing.. thus do further damage. If it is GF day and there isnt a tomorrow... its easier to take the risk. If it is early on in finals the risks and stakes are much greater.

My apologies then. The HFC club magazine did an interview with Luke and he admitted to having some. I have no idea really on that except for what the papers and mag said.

who knows what is right but wasnt he on "one week at a time" earlier in the season and he was asked about playing with broken ribs and he replied that he never broke any ribs and it was another injury.

Do we know for sure that the surgery was earlier this week?
Sure, people saw SJ coming out of the doctors in Hobart, then filmed coming off the plane etc... but is there a chance that the surgery was actually done the week before, and he was just going down for follow up check & physio?
Could the club be foxing and he is further along in the rehab than expected?

So much scuttlebutt about re SJ. Only last night on the Footy Show Brayshaw said one of his players, who had the same surgery, reckoned it would be at least 6 weeks before SJ had any hope of playing. However, Jimmeh said SJ felt as good as he's felt in weeks at training during the week. I look on him being a bonus if he gets up.

... last night on the Footy Show Brayshaw said one of his players, who had the same surgery, reckoned it would be at least 6 weeks before SJ had any hope of playing.

Same surgery huh? How would he know that, has he seen both surgical reports? Ottens had some knee surgery this year and so did Josh Hunt ... yet their recovery is far different because they were completely different knee surgeries. Why is it assumed because its a hip surgery its the same as someone elses hip surgery?

So much scuttlebutt about re SJ. Only last night on the Footy Show Brayshaw said one of his players, who had the same surgery, reckoned it would be at least 6 weeks before SJ had any hope of playing. However, Jimmeh said SJ felt as good as he's felt in weeks at training during the week. I look on him being a bonus if he gets up.

Remember though, that this is the same player that was rejected by two clubs at the end of 06 because their medical staff couldn't believe he was still able to play footy because of his ankles.

He's certainly come a long way since then, and on that basis, i'm willing to suggest he will find a way to get up :D

Some excellent news - barring any unforseen accident, Stevey J will play in the Prelim.

Should have more info tomorrow after a final checkup.

Some excellent news - barring any unforseen accident, Stevey J will play in the Prelim.

Should have more info tomorrow after a final checkup.

Very early call V15. Hope you're right but my info is that, whilst he's making good progress, he's done nothing that remotely resembles match condition preparation. Look forward to your update tomorrow.

I agree it is very early, he could jump another fence between now and then! But just passing on what I've got.

very few players are at 100% at this time of year, i would take Stevie J at 90-95% or slightly less rather than Hogan (no offense to him because he has been great as a number 23/24 player) at 95-100%..

Stevie is one of those rare freaks that only needs to get his hands on the ball for 5 minutes to turn a game on its head, added to that, he might not be 100% but whatever condition he comes in (declared fit to play) the opposition will have to sit a good player on him for the fear of god that he will get off the leash and destroy them.

very few players are at 100% at this time of year, i would take Stevie J at 90-95% or slightly less rather than Hogan (no offense to him because he has been great as a number 23/24 player) at 95-100%..

Stevie is one of those rare freaks that only needs to get his hands on the ball for 5 minutes to turn a game on its head, added to that, he might not be 100% but whatever condition he comes in (declared fit to play) the opposition will have to sit a good player on him for the fear of god that he will get off the leash and destroy them.

I would rather have no Stevie J than to rush him back and for him to end up with a very serious injury. But i do agree on the fact that even if Stevie comes back and plays badly at the very worst he is still distracting a top notch defender.

we need stevie J in for the prelim so thank god we have a week's rest. Also Rooke will be a great addition.

I would rather have no Stevie J than to rush him back and for him to end up with a very serious injury. But i do agree on the fact that even if Stevie comes back and plays badly at the very worst he is still distracting a top notch defender.

if he comes in underdone we'll stick raph on him!;)

seriously, he's a champ, but would you want to risk him, or any player, in a prelim if not 100%?

Yes but he must be in better shape than the Carlton game when he was absolutely a liability - anyone with two legs would have been more useful.

S.Hogan last week MUCH better than S.Johnson v Carlton.

Yes but he must be in better shape than the Carlton game when he was absolutely a liability - anyone with two legs would have been more useful.

Yes, that is the extreme....If SJ is back training, unhibited than he plays, as simple as that.

Maybe rusty initially d/t only really having a half hearted hitout in the last two months, but if he can display a full range of movement he will be invaluable and a major asset to our side, much more than Hogan.

if he comes in underdone we'll stick raph on him!;)

seriously, he's a champ, but would you want to risk him, or any player, in a prelim if not 100%?

But it would be a risk on your part. How would you know if he is not 100%? You stick an average defender on him and he has the ability the rip them apart and if you put a good defender on him it frees up someone else. So if you start with a good defender on him and he has no impact so you think he isn't right then you put an average defender on him then 5 minutes later he has kicked 3 goals.

Well he would have been in a lot of pain during the Carlton game and was obviously playing with an injury. That is what led to his poor performance not the fact that he was rusty. When he comes back he will be pain free have no injury so the only thing he could be is rusty but even if rusty he will still be a lot better than he was during the Carlton game.

There's no way Riewoldt or Hayes are 100% at the moment (neither were Hodge and Franklin going into last year's GF), but you've got to roll the dice with your best players. We did it with Chapman last week and it paid off.