Geoff

Premium Platinum
East Fremantle
This guy has just about got every thing to be a top class footballer. He has size, speed, endurance, can kick the ball with precision but he lacks the one fundamental, a football brain. How can such a specimen be so !@#$%^& Dumb? He is one in the group I would love to see turn around his come but I can only wonder. Doddie is one I will have to nominate to go into IP's "Dumb Arse" group.

After yesterday's effort where he fell over himself and allowed Robbo to mark uncontested in the goal square, I reckon he's found himself in the unenviable position of "King of the Dumb-Arses".

gimp_3.jpg

He is a GIMP! :thumbsd:

Definitely won the WOG award. Added tool of the year to it when he felt that it was appropriate to get into other players faces about their game.

Cons - He is a terrible kick, terrible handballer & has no footy brain.

Pros - He has a crack most weeks, can do a job & is usually disciplined.

We just have to deal with having him in the 22 until the kids get better.

Cons - He is a terrible kick, terrible handballer & has no footy brain.

Stop here.

Pros - He has a crack most weeks, can do a job & is usually disciplined.

He might have a crack, but that's what you'd expect. Rarely does he get the better of an opponent and he is as undisciplined as they come.

We just have to deal with having him in the 22 until the kids get better.

That's where you're wrong. We dont have to.

My thoughts on Dodd:
Dodd has to be the most dishonest footballers on the list, if not of all time. Shane Parker was an honest footballer. Dodd is quite the opposite.

The guy has serious delusions about his abilities, and seems to think for whatever reason, he can mouth off towards players more talented than him. I am not against sledging at all but if you're going to do it, at least make sure you have some abilities to back it up. Dodd either believes he has some ability or is too stupid not to realise that opposition players don't bite because they think he's a joke.

Look at Jurrah yesterday. The guy is from Yuendumu, knew only scant English before he came to Melbourne, and even then would be a man of few words anyway, but he was still taking the piss out of Dodd's abilities and telling him how to play.

A couple of weeks before that, while he was trying to rile up Aker, all Akermanis could do was look at him with derision.

If I played for Freo I would hate playing with Dodd. He's an embarrassment. A country league footballer at best.

Those are the cons.

Here are his career pros:

Very consistent negating defender for 2006-07. Showed heaps of potential as a stopper who had the endurance to run with mids. Struggled to take it to the next level by not being able to hurt the other way, but did his job when needed and got the most out of himself for the benefit of the team.

Back to the cons:

As the game evolved these past two seasons, where each and every player is crucial to breaking down the zone, has been found out majorly as the player you don't want with the ball in his hands as you rebound from defence. I doubted it at first, but as I've grown to notice at the suggestion of others, teams let him win the ball on his own as the next disposal will most likely be a poor decision that puts his teammates under the pump. His turnovers and lack of smarts to go the other way when the opposition wins the ball quickly, often leads to goals scored against us. A player for whom the game has gone past rapidly, and is unlikely to have the talent to reinvent himself.

Delist.

This guy has just about got every thing to be a top class footballer. He has size, speed, endurance, can kick the ball with precision but he lacks the one fundamental, a football brain. How can such a specimen be so !@#$%^& Dumb? He is one in the group I would love to see turn around his come but I can only wonder. Doddie is one I will have to nominate to go into IP's "Dumb Arse" group.

You lost me here

unfortunately, he is just not an AFL grade footballer, like head, gilmore, browne, thornton, murphy, drum, bradley and obrien, i just dont think they will ever make the grade....... funnily enough i think the only two on that list that could make it at afl level are bradley and drum, both first round picks, both SHOULD have been stars, both will be lucky to be on a list come the end of 2010

dodd frustrates me because he tries to be tough, when he is really just shizen, which i suppose is better than someone like gilmore or head who are shizen and soft as butter on a car radiator, but it irks me to see dodd embarrassing himself on the field giving good players a verbal seeing too and then 2 minutes later tripping over his own feet to let his opponent kick an easy goal... i think dodd will end up being east freo's captain next year... just a hunch

You lost me here

Maybe the precision comment was off, but he can kick the footy. If Doodie is our turn over king, Schammer must be our turn over queen. Both are disasters under pressure. And,I refuse to even rate Brett Peake except he joins Doddie in the Dumb Arse catagory.

Mate I can kick the footy...where it goes is another thing.

He's shit, and to be frank, I've had enough of accepting shit.

He can go play at Moss St

It's a big week for Harvey and Co at the selection table this week, after a performance like yesterdays surely he can't keep playing the duds who are the wrong side of 22?

Out - Peake Dodd Solomon (inj)
In - Ballantyne Hayden Walters

Had one good game, several years ago, where he towelled up Reiwoldt.

The man is just not smart enough to play footy at AFL level.

Having said that, other than the possible exeptions of Roger and Broughts, there ain't no other Mensa members in our backline.

I've been saying it for years, never understood why him along with Mundy are automatic selections. Never in danger of being dropped.

Dodd is alright on the burst, but as soon as someone kicks the ball up in the air forget it. The guy is hopeless, he'll either fall over, fail to make the contest or infringe.

It's a big week for Harvey and Co at the selection table this week, after a performance like yesterdays surely he can't keep playing the duds who are the wrong side of 22?

Out - Peake Dodd Solomon (inj)
In - Ballantyne Hayden Walters

Have to agree with those.

I never want to see Peake again, trade him to Essendon where they covet speed and seem to know how to use it.

Yep, Dodd is bad, but Peake is in a whole other world of bad. F*ck him off immediately. Dodd is bad, but there are about 10 players who are worse on our list. What does that say about us? :o

Had one good game, several years ago, where he towelled up Reiwoldt.

The man is just not smart enough to play footy at AFL level.

Having said that, other than the possible exeptions of Roger and Broughts, there ain't no other Mensa members in our backline.

He's had plenty of good games, cut Betts out of a game earlier this season when the small fwd was in form and working hard up the ground too. That's one example that springs to mind and there are others.

The problem with Dodd is every now and then he shows enough that you think he can be a lowly but viable member of the squad and then every other week he stuffs up big time and the position he plays just doesn't allow him to have a bad day or even quarter because 1) the position he plays means that a stuffup often leads directly and quickly to an opp goal. 2) all he's really good at is negating. He's not a prolific creator off the back line so when he chokes it costs us big time and he's got little else to contribute.

I suspect with a more complete squad he would be a part-timer and perhaps a 'horses for courses' type player - either that or the quality of the team around him would cover for his stuffups.

Dodd plays reasonably well on small/medium forwards.

He fails when forced to play on guys in the big size bracket.

The coaches persist on playing him large forwards.He should be used as a tagger or as a backman on most dangerous smaller forward.Then he would be ok

I agree he isn't having the best season...However...He deserves his place ahead of the likes of Peake, Thornton. Bradley and I am ready to give up on Headland.

Obviously no need to mention the obvious hacks: Campbell, Murphy, Browne, Gilmore, Head etc