STILL no recognition

• Thread starter Thread starter jonbe54

think of who some of the most influential afl media people around town are and it's not hard to see why the pies flag is being undersold

the age - caroline wilson, richmond supporter and pies hater
herald sun - robbo, ess supporter and pies hater. at least sheehan has a begrudging admiration of what the pies have achieved this year
abc - gerard whateley, geel supporter and pies hater
ch 10 -quartermain, hawks fan and pies hater and robert walls, carl fan and pies hater
the australian - patrick smith, dunno who he barracks for but general w***er and pies hater
SEN radio - congregation of pies haters led by the likes of mark fine, andrew maher, tim watson, kb, dermie, etc

bottom line - people who work in the footy media are on the whole passionate footy people. as we well know, if you are a passionate footy person you either love coll or hate them. there is no in between. it is the same for the likes of those mentioned above. they hate the fact that the pies have built a list the quality of what mick and his coaches have achieved and that they stand on the verge of a golden era having already claimed a flag with such a young squad. like most pies haters, they are shitting themselves about the next 3-4 years and what this group might be capable of. and most of them can't bear to give any credit to a team they hate

Can we win a flag first before we start talking about back to back to backs ect. please!

Ow wait :P hahahah

think of who some of the most influential afl media people around town are and it's not hard to see why the pies flag is being undersold

herald sun - robbo, ess supporter and pies hater. at least sheehan has a begrudging admiration of what the pies have achieved this year
ch 10 -quartermain, hawks fan and pies hater and robert walls, carl fan and pies hater
the australian - patrick smith, dunno who he barracks for but general w***er and pies hater
SEN radio - congregation of pies haters led by the likes of mark fine, andrew maher, tim watson, kb, dermie, etc

bottom line - people who work in the footy media are on the whole passionate footy people. as we well know, if you are a passionate footy person you either love coll or hate them. there is no in between. it is the same for the likes of those mentioned above. they hate the fact that the pies have built a list the quality of what mick and his coaches have achieved and that they stand on the verge of a golden era having already claimed a flag with such a young squad. like most pies haters, they are shitting themselves about the next 3-4 years and what this group might be capable of. and most of them can't bear to give any credit to a team they hate
Spot on post, it always made me laugh when Eddie got rubbished for being biased during commentary. At least with Eddie you knew straight up his bias. These clowns project being "non-biased" they are absolute hypocrites.

Hmm I wouldn't say we're not getting recognition.

Everyone was writing about a Collingwood dynasty before we even won the flag.

Now they're writing about GWS poaching our players, and they've more or less conceded next year's flag to us as they can't see any competition.

TBH, I fear all this hype about us doing it easy next year might convince our players to not give as much respect to the opposition, and drop off a bit.

Mark Robbinson doesn't seem like a Pies hater to me. Seems to be in love with Nick Maxwell probably from being on channel 7 together, but I read a lot of what he wrote this year and to me he was fairly neutral overall.

Agreed

What I noticed all year is that people that hate Collingwood actually saying good things, because it was so obvious we were the best and they were all in awe of Collingwood.

You cannot hide the truth and fact

We are the best, hardest draw, finshed on top, destroyed everyone

Some others you might have missed...
The Age - Laurence Money, Will Brodie
Herald Sun - Mark Stevens, Bruce Matthews
ABC - OMG Mark Maclure "oh dear"
Channel 10 - Tim Lane, how did you miss this pretentious Carlton windbag. Add Sam Lane, Dave Hughes, pretty much all on BTG.
MMM - Garry Lyon, JB, Danny Frawley
3AW - Tony Shaw :eek:, Tony Leonard, Walls again
The Australian - Greg Denham, Stephen Reilly

People who are generally neutral or OK to us:
The Cheer Squad - Glenn McFarlane, Michael Gleeson
BT
Mark Robinson
Anthony Koutoufides
Jon Ralph / Luke Darcy / David Schwarz (in the main)

I certainly see what you're getting at.

Examples:

James Frawley is rated at the 2nd coming of Glen Jakovich, when I would argue Ben Reid had just as good a year.

Dale Thomas supposedly arrived in 2 excellent GF's, when in reality he had played elite football all year and has been outstanding since the 2006 finals.

Heath Shaw is so underrated its not funny. IMO, he is a superior player to both Maxwell and O'Brien yet oppositions fans and the media don't even mention him in the same breath.

Scott Pendlebury is one of the best 22 year old midfielders in a decade, yet people are still wondering if he;s better than Marc Murphy? Give me a break!

Luke Ball dominated our tackling and inside clearance work, yet is still considered an underachieving talent?

In 2007, Geelong went 18-4 and had 9 AA's. If we go back to back next year and finish as good as 18-4 or better, I guarantee we won't get anymore than 5 AA's.

I can see why everyone hates us. Its because even when we are number 1 we still carry around massive chip on our shoulder. why can't we just enjoy the fact that we won the flag ffs.

Frawley has a better season than reid. Reid had a great breakout season and I think h is a future multiple AA CHB but anyone who thinks he had a better season than frawley does not know much about the game.

Daisy got listed in Shehans top 10 FFS and I reckon I heard and read loads of articles during the year about how he has stepped up. He has been no where near elite since 2006. In fact I would argue he needs another season like this one to be considerered elite. Im one of his biggest fans but one swallow does not make a summer...

Pendlebury gets rave reviews and comments from just about everyone I know. He won the NSM. Surely he has had the recognition he deserves.

I love heater but he did not have the season Harry o had IMO. He is tough and a gun finals player but was somewhat inconsisant in the home and away.

I reckon Ive heard atleast 100 times by the media what a great addition to our club luke ball has been(and Jolly) in particular praising his leadership and inside work.

I really don't know what our supporters expect. A full page spread and anaylsis every day on each member of the side blowing smoke up their bum. Personally this would be the last thing they need.

We won the flag, we have the best side at the moment and just about everyone I speak to acknowledges that. Just lap it up and enjoy it people. Its a great time to be a collingwood supporter. Trust if you keep the glass half full you will enjoy it alot more. GO PIES!!

I can see why everyone hates us. Its because even when we are number 1 we still carry around massive chip on our shoulder. why can't we just enjoy the fact that we won the flag ffs.

Frawley has a better season than reid. Reid had a great breakout season and I think h is a future multiple AA CHB but anyone who thinks he had a better season than frawley does not know much about the game.

Daisy got listed in Shehans top 10 FFS and I reckon I heard and read loads of articles during the year about how he has stepped up. He has been no where near elite since 2006. In fact I would argue he needs another season like this one to be considerered elite. Im one of his biggest fans but one swallow does not make a summer...

Pendlebury gets rave reviews and comments from just about everyone I know. He won the NSM. Surely he has had the recognition he deserves.

I love heater but he did not have the season Harry o had IMO. He is tough and a gun finals player but was somewhat inconsisant in the home and away.

I reckon Ive heard atleast 100 times by the media what a great addition to our club luke ball has been(and Jolly) in particular praising his leadership and inside work.

I really don't know what our supporters expect. A full page spread and anaylsis every day on each member of the side blowing smoke up their bum. Personally this would be the last thing they need.

We won the flag, we have the best side at the moment and just about everyone I speak to acknowledges that. Just lap it up and enjoy it people. Its a great time to be a collingwood supporter. Trust if you keep the glass half full you will enjoy it alot more. GO PIES!!

Well said MATE!

Also King (ex North Player) was raving weeks before finals how good collingwood were and said they will be Premiers on FOX week after week

Pendlebury always gets rave reviews, also Thomas and company

Just enjoy, we got a whole year to bask in glory and aint we lookin forward to Xmas and summer as premiers.

Im still on a high

Hawthorns post 08 fizzers has made the media wary on talking up the young pies squad and fair enough.

Having watched the GF's again, you can't give Thomas enough wraps. Just typifies a player who refuses to die wondering, a great influence to the young players

Hawthorns post 08 fizzers has made the media wary on talking up the young pies squad and fair enough.

Having watched the GF's again, you can't give Thomas enough wraps. Just typifies a player who refuses to die wondering, a great influence to the young players
Totally agree Thomas is a hard at it footballer now, a number of times in the latter part of the year I saw him hit packs accelerating and for a reasonably slightly built guy that is outstanding commitment to the contest.

I loved his flashy early years but how proud can you be of a young guy who shows that amount of commitment and work rate?

A word or two about Luke and his affect on the young mids as well, has been a sensational acquisition to the team, both in work rate and the attitude he has engendered to those around him - well played Luke!

I will be shocked if we don't go back to back, can't see any legitimate challengers at all

Great post and spot on. Im not a fan of all the back to back talk just yet, there's another 12 months hardwork in front of us before then, im just loving the fact we are the reigning premiers now. Hopefully in a years time we're all saying the same thing again.

bit harsh on robbo i think. he seems to be pretty level headed when it comes to discussing the pies. plus i saw him up on the side of the stage at aami park as the players were being presented on GF2 night and i reckon he was genuinely admiring the scene and what they'd achieved and was soaking it all up

all of the others you name can go forth and multiply. they hate anything black and white with a passion. they would all have been burning inside post GF2. which makes me happy

SEN must be the worst of the lot - they open up the lines for talkback with such topics as 'why you hate collingwood' and 'how will you cope if collingwood win a flag'

(on a side note, look forward to catching up for a beer soon yeee_haaaa. the captain is back from his working visit to the big apple and week of entertainment in vegas. it was great wearing my pies jumper around in the uS, i even heard a couple of chicks at one joint i went to for a coffee in vegas saying something like 'f*cking collingwood supporters we can't get away from them anyway'. gold)

Our top 10 is not as good as St.Kilda or Hawthorns. We've probably overtaken Geelong now as Ablett is gone and others have aged.

However, we have 1 or 2 extra midfielders than any side, and we are the only team in the comp with no holes. We've also got the best 23rd-30th player in the comp.

Pendles, Swan, Thomas and Didak are clearly stars. Ball, Sidebottom and Wellingham are terribly underrated.

Having said that, our top 10 is still probably the 3rd best in the comp, and the 2 teams that have more 'star players' have terrible depth. Hawthorn and Saints fall away so terribly. Hawthorn in particular has gaping holes all over the field. The Saints rely too heavily on their stars and have too many defensively minded players.

We have the setup and balance perfect.

What a pointless thread. Even Collingwood supporters have spoken about how we are a team of workmanlike players sprinkled with a few top liners, it's hardly just the rest of the football community. Now because we won a flag, we should be heralded as being as talented as Geelong?

We are treated as being a team of workmanlike players sprinkled with a few genuine stars because that's what we are. It isn't always the most talented team that wins the flag, and we are most certainly not the most talented team in the competition. Anyone that thinks so is deluded and one eyed.

We won the flag because we had the best combination of talent, discipline, teamwork and gameplan. Not because we had a team full of really gifted players. Stop whinging about nothing.

What a pointless thread. Even Collingwood supporters have spoken about how we are a team of workmanlike players sprinkled with a few top liners, it's hardly just the rest of the football community. Now because we won a flag, we should be heralded as being as talented as Geelong?

We are treated as being a team of workmanlike players sprinkled with a few genuine stars because that's what we are. It isn't always the most talented team that wins the flag, and we are most certainly not the most talented team in the competition. Anyone that thinks so is deluded and one eyed.

We won the flag because we had the best combination of talent, discipline, teamwork and gameplan. Not because we had a team full of really gifted players. Stop whinging about nothing.
Who's whinging? Collingwood will never get credit from die hard haters and that's the way it will always be. Whether you choose to acknowledge it or not for a significant proportion of other supporters our club will always be a target for envy, spite and bile. I merely acknowledged that as some won't, I can tell you straight from 4 decades of sorrowful experience no amount of humility and humbleness will change their minds. That sort of hate is ingested with mothers milk and requires no thought. So we get no recognition - fine we don't need it, but don't buy into the untalented bullshit that has been pushed for years, that's a cop out.

Our top 10 is not as good as St.Kilda or Hawthorns. We've probably overtaken Geelong now as Ablett is gone and others have aged.
This I strongly dispute, especially with Hawthorn and Stkilda both losing players from their top 10 due to age and injury over the past few seasons.

I think, especially when you get to the 9th, 10th and so on positions after that, we simply smash any other team in the competition.

StKilda got where they are based more on gameplan and a contribution from 22 players, not unsimilar to us.

And well Hawthorn, THE MOST OVER RATED TEAM IN THE HISTORY OF THE COMPETITION, who won a Grand Final the "Bradbury way", please, their top 10 couldn't shit with ours, let alone play football with them.

I don't want to argue too much, but I'd back our top 10 players coached by Mick ahead of any other 10 players at any single club coached by anyone else.

Who's whinging? Collingwood will never get credit from die hard haters and that's the way it will always be. Whether you choose to acknowledge it or not for a significant proportion of other supporters our club will always be a target for envy, spite and bile. I merely acknowledged that as some won't, I can tell you straight from 4 decades of sorrowful experience no amount of humility and humbleness will change their minds. That sort of hate is ingested with mothers milk and requires no thought. So we get no recognition - fine we don't need it, but don't buy into the untalented bullshit that has been pushed for years, that's a cop out.
I don't agree at all. If we had Geelong's list and won 2 flags, our talent would be talked up just as much, possibly even more so than it has been for Geelong. It's more that everything about Collingwood is magnified, whether it's good or bad. In this case, we have a well balanced team, not glittered with superstar talent like Geelong, but with a few real stars and some good depth through the list, and I think that's mostly been reflected fairly well through the media. Our strength as a side is our team play and gameplan, and both have rightly been praised at length. Our top players in Pendles and Swan have both received a lot of attention in the media.

There are certainly people that genuinely hate Collingwood, but IMO the majority of people get sick of the saturation, because we ARE talked about more than any other club. I think Pies supporters also get overly defensive when people don't heap praise on us, because we have this insulated mentality, but also because a lot of Pies supporters do have a bit of a superiority complex (even I have fallen into that on occasion) due to our history, off field success (on field this year) and supporter base, which also just increases the dislike from other club's supporters. I'm sorry, but when you walk around with a how good are we type mentality and expect others to give you confirmation, it just doesn't wash well.

As for us getting no recognition, I've got no idea what you are on about. You didn't read any of the papers after our win?

I cant see any advantage in recognition by the wider football community..

It will only put the players salaries up..
It will only mean that they are coming to terms with a Collingwood premiership....and that hasn't happened yet!!!!...haha

I laugh at all the whiners and whingers and other flee-bitten pieces of crap who follow other teams..... who gives a crap what they think about the players...well i do like it when they show they fear us...thats fun..

Lets hope they keep underrating the players until we win 4 in a row..

I cant see any advantage in recognition by the wider football community..

It will only put the players salaries up..
It will only mean that they are coming to terms with a Collingwood premiership....and that hasn't happened yet!!!!...haha

I laugh at all the whiners and whingers and other flee-bitten pieces of crap who follow other teams..... who gives a crap what they think about the players...well i do like it when they show they fear us...thats fun..

Lets hope they keep underrating the players until we win 4 in a row..
Agreed the OP isn't a wish for recognition, simply an acknowledgment that it will not happen.