Stuart Dew retires .....

Re: Dewwwwwwwww Retires

Does anyone see this remark by JK as strange:

“He leaves the game with his reputation very much intact and respected. He leaves the game as a dual premiership player with two clubs and he leaves us as a player but not as a friend and not as a member of the family.”

An unusual thing to say?? or is it just me? Don't answer that!!!:D

yes saw that and had to read it 3 times i still don't get it ???

A likely typo I'd suggest.

As most people know I was completely against drafting Dew, but after his first few outings with Hawthorn I completely ate my words, and went from never wanting Dew, to never wanting him to leave. From his sweet disposal, to running over players with his massive body.

There is no doubt on my mind Dew won us our premiership. His five minutes were momentum shifting, and awe inspiring. I never thought I would say this from when we drafted him, but I love ya Dewwy!

Wow. God i love the bloke!
From RD.1 last season where he kicked his first goal in Hawthorn colours. Ran around and almost smashed down his team mates, and it was only the first quarter..(first goal for the game perhaps?)
Then the 3rd quarter burst in the GF.
Man on a mission! :D

*goes to watch the GF dvd one more time*

Plenty of praise here for the big fella and rightly so, an absolute inspiration for so many involved with the club.
Hats off to
1. The coaching staff in pushing to recruit him (if they honestly could see what would happen in the 08 GF, with Stewy - they are more than just visionary!)
2. Stewy for being prepared to undertake what must have been an awesome amount of work, just to be ready to play for the 08 season.
3. Everyone hanging in there, when he was injured mid-season and questions from external forces (media, opposition etc) came in and of course as mentioned
4. Stewy again for providing inspiration before the game to players, as well as one of the most inspiring efforts in that 3rd quarter - where he will go down in Hawthorn and AFL folklore...People use that Willo/Dew goal effort to give them a lift for the day...its fist-pumping, roaring stuff that anyone who loves the Hawks, will never get sick of watching...

Stewy, great stuff big fella, good luck in retirement and thanks for helping the Hawks at a critical time.

Eternally a part of Hawthorn folklore.

I propose the "Stewart Dew Medal" for any player that rips the heart out of the opposition and puts them to bed in the "Premiership Quarter" of a Grand Final.

It would be the most exclusive club in town.

A seriously good idea!

I loved him when he was at Port (except when they played us and he consistently tore out our heart) and that love is now unconditional. What a legend, an inspiration and one truly gorgeous individual that will have my undying gratitude for ever. We can only hope he stays on at the club in a coaching capacity.

Stewie, what a fantastic career - will miss you heaps.

xoxo

Today is a very very sad day, he is the last player you want to see leave your club. The man is not only a Champion footballer but the best bloke to go along with it.

Even at Port I loved his football, and said to a mate, how good would it be if he came to Hawthorn, the club he supported as a kid. Could not wipe the smile off my face when we picked him up, just like those 5 mins of glory in the GF.

Thanks for coming to our club and thanks for pretty much winning us the cup.

Love you Stuey. You will be missed heaps, even for the short time you were with us. :( :)

I am absolutely gutted. I've been checking the injury list week after week waiting for his return. I think he's been a very important player for us when we needed it and I think we've missed his presence throughout this season.

Devastated that I probably won't get to watch him again. Fantastically talented guy and an honour to watch him.

Will be sorely missed. Unique player with once-in-a-lifetime kicking ability. Also typified guts and determination when on the ground. Shows that it doesn't matter what you look like, it's how you play that counts.

brilliant move to get the dewmyster

more brilliant in that he fitted in at hawthorn like a glove...loved by all and sundry in such a short time!

sensational time with us dewie...and thanks for delivering the flag in 08...i know ive ticked that box in life where i went and saw MY team win a flag at the Gee...i'll never forget that five minutes when i was continually high fiving my younger bro in the third quarter when dewie run amok!

hope he stays on as our new forward coach!

My Stewie Dew torment runs a decade long. When living in Adelaide I supported Woodville-West Torrens, in 2000 they played Centrals in the GF, Dew was given the green light to play and booted three goals - all from about 50 metres, on a wet day at Footy Park when Centrals themselves only kicked 8 goals for the game. Centrals won their first flag ever thanks largely to Dew. (Guerra played for Centrals in this game also)

And then there was 2008, I can say from an opposition's point of view, Dew turned that GF. The contested mark against Kelly and long bomb up forward resullting the Rioli goal, the handball over the shoulder when Williams goals. And of course his two goals were both gems. The last one tore my heart out. But noone can deny how brilliant it was and how exhilirating it must have been for Hawthorn fans.

No doubt about it, the guy was an absolute match-winner, should be very proud of what he's achieved. :thumbsu:

Dewy will live on in all Hawk supporters hearts for that amazing 3rd quarter.

As Dennis Commetti said " The resistance may be broken ".

Good luck in retirement Stewy.

Dewy will live on in all Hawk supporters hearts for that amazing 3rd quarter.

As Dennis Commetti said " The resistance may be broken ".

Good luck in retirement Stewy.

Was after the Williams goal, but yeah, Dew assisted.

Haven't had a chance to read all the posts here.

A shame I thought he would have been useful to try and get right for next year even with his leg problems. He certainly smashed the Dons on a few occassions.

Was beautiful seeing what he did to the Cats in the GF. As illogical as this sounds, the more I have thought about last yrs GF over time, the more I reckon he was the most important player on the ground. That sure touch and cleaness by hand and foot destroyed the match. He didnt look like missing with those couple of big shots in the 3rd, the goal ump didnt move.

I remember footage of Mark Thompson almost convulsing at one point in the coaches box, it might have been after a Dew goal. The way Dew spoke during the week leading into the GF you could see he was extremely important in calming the young players nerves and getting their mind focused on the job.

Looks a good bloke, good luck Stuey.

You'll be missed Dew. Instantly a fave of mine when you joined us, always liked ya at Port, and LOVED you at Hawthorn.

Thanks for the memories big fella :)

images

DEEEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWW!

Tanks!
http://tbn1.google.com/images?q=tbn....files.wordpress.com/2008/05/mountain-dew.jpg

Stuart Dew retires .....