Roast Subiaco Rant

• Thread starter Thread starter WCE_Phill

I don't know where you sit son, but where I sit, the atmosphere is great. We have a mix of age groups, none of who feel the need to get "blind" to enjoy a game of footy. I yell at the umpire, scream for my boys, love the slow EAGLES chant and usually have lost my voice when the game is over. (One thing I cannot stand is the Mexican Wave but that is another story.) I have been going to football since I was a young kid and have really great memories of Perth Oval and the Mighty Royals. My Dad and all his family were East Perth members and I spent many evenings in the bar at Perth Oval.
I have been to Melbourne for football weekends and think that having two groups of opposition supporters - as opposed to having a crowd as one sided as ours - adds to the noise at games.
I, and my friends, are tolerant of younger supporters as long as their enjoyment of the game does not impinge on the rights of others to also enjoy the game without being subjected to drunken, abusive loutish behaviour.
When we finally get a new stadium, I will welcome the addition of a new group of supporters - as long as priority choice of seats is given to those existing members who have supported the club in good times and bad.

Its not just the younger supporters and their drunken, abusive loutish behaviour. Some of the worst offenders are in the late 20s to late 30s bracket. Be a good idea to have booze free areas in the new stadium if it ever eventuates, but there's not much chance of that happening.

I actually get more frustrated with the 16-25 year olds that go to the Eagles games and it is not because they are drunk or disorderly. It is because they know **** all about aussie rules football and they are there only because its the place to be seen.

They know one thing and that is the word BAAAALLLLLLL!!!!!! and the rest of the time they sit there saying he should be doing this or he should be doing that. I spend my arvo at an Eagles game laughing at just how many people have no idea about our game, what the rules are or what the hell is going on.

Laughing, :confused: you mad? :D They caused psychotic episodes for me where I just don't go as much anymore (I send my son) and it's the people around me that are around the 40s that drive me the most nuts. :thumbsd: They are a different breed, that's for sure.

And some of them are undoubtedly the same ones who post of BF!

Ha Ha Ha, brilliant! :thumbsu:

I don't know where you sit son, but where I sit, the atmosphere is great. We have a mix of age groups, none of who feel the need to get "blind" to enjoy a game of footy. I yell at the umpire, scream for my boys, love the slow EAGLES chant and usually have lost my voice when the game is over. (One thing I cannot stand is the Mexican Wave but that is another story.) I have been going to football since I was a young kid and have really great memories of Perth Oval and the Mighty Royals. My Dad and all his family were East Perth members and I spent many evenings in the bar at Perth Oval.
I have been to Melbourne for football weekends and think that having two groups of opposition supporters - as opposed to having a crowd as one sided as ours - adds to the noise at games.
I, and my friends, are tolerant of younger supporters as long as their enjoyment of the game does not impinge on the rights of others to also enjoy the game without being subjected to drunken, abusive loutish behaviour.
When we finally get a new stadium, I will welcome the addition of a new group of supporters - as long as priority choice of seats is given to those existing members who have supported the club in good times and bad.

Fair enough mate :thumbsu: I agree drunken loutish behaviour is unacceptable.

I hate this perception that people at Subi are dead quiet. Don't know where you are sitting, but I don't have that experience at all. I've been to Eagles games at the 'G, Docklands, Kardinia Park, SCG and it is all very similar in crowd noise. We've been accused of influencing the umpires this year, some media personalities labeling it "cheating"... how do we do this if we are all over 60 and knitting instead of supporting???

I've been a supporter of the club longer than you have been in the wait list so how about you shut up and keep waiting. I'm not surrendering my ticket simply because you want it now now now.

And before the preconceptions arise, I'm not over 60. I'm 23.

I hate this perception that people at Subi are dead quiet. Don't know where you are sitting, but I don't have that experience at all. I've been to Eagles games at the 'G, Docklands, Kardinia Park, SCG and it is all very similar in crowd noise. We've been accused of influencing the umpires this year, some media personalities labeling it "cheating"... how do we do this if we are all over 60 and knitting instead of supporting???

I've been a supporter of the club longer than you have been in the wait list so how about you shut up and keep waiting. I'm not surrendering my ticket simply because you want it now now now.

Well said Evelyn :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Last time I checked I was allowed to have a drink at the footy. I'm sorry but I'm not going to apologise for having a drink and supporting my team, whether that be yelling at the ump or having a crack (nothing racial, just recognising their spudness) at an opposition player. The moment I stop being able to do that is the moment I stop going to the footy. I swear to God if I get dodgy looks on Saturday I'm going to be super pissed.

oh i agree yet i would still go if the bleeding hearts banned drinking at the game
would mean more people would get more tanked pregame
what i hate is at docklands or the g there is full strength drinks for same prices and per capita less incidents of trouble ie we are being ripped off not as drunkards but paying fans. call me a tight arse but it is wrong.
danger for game on sat is late start
people will get to game with skin full (hopefully our midfield does not play in such a manner)

oh i agree yet i would still go if the bleeding hearts banned drinking at the game
would mean more people would get more tanked pregame
what i hate is at docklands or the g there is full strength drinks for same prices and per capita less incidents of trouble ie we are being ripped off not as drunkards but paying fans. call me a tight arse but it is wrong.
danger for game on sat is late start
people will get to game with skin full (hopefully our midfield does not play in such a manner)

Subi's always been like that. You can't have a multitude of bars within walking distance of the ground and expect people not to come blind to the game. It's a shame but it's unfortunately unavoidable.

It's not saying things that are necessarily the problem. It's what you say.

I have no problem with someone cheering their team on and having a drink, but some of the downright inane bullshit I have to put up with the people who sit around me, who know nothing about the game, who constantly shout at the umpires every decision completely unwarrantably, who pot their own players, who act as if they co do any better, who who start to drink one too many beers and then shout louder and more ridiculous non-nonsensical (and sometimes aggressive) things every second of the game does my head in.

I mean, there's only so many 'Don't kick it to Masten' or 'Kick it' (and then complain when they just bomb it away) comments one can take before one shoots a 'dodgy look'. I'm not accusing you of these things, but I hear those sort of people pull the 'Im not going to apologise for supporting my team' line.

It's not saying things that are necessarily the problem. It's what you say.

I have no problem with someone cheering their team on and having a drink, but some of the downright inane bullshit I have to put up with the people who sit around me, who know nothing about the game, who constantly shout at the umpires every decision completely unwarrantably, who pot their own players, who act as if they co do any better, who who start to drink one too many beers and then shout louder and more ridiculous non-nonsensical (and sometimes aggressive) things every second of the game does my head in.

I mean, there's only so many 'Don't kick it to Masten' or 'Kick it' (and then complain when they just bomb it away) comments one can take before one shoots a 'dodgy look'. I'm not accusing you of these things, but I hear those sort of people pull the 'Im not going to apologise for supporting my team' line.

I know where your coming from, it shits me to. I've umpired junior footy for a few years so I'm not stupid enough to think every tackle is "BALLLLLLLL", infact I've got into arguments with Victorian supporters about this. I like to think I'm a good supporter, sure I'm vocal but I recognise good play from both sides and I'm aware of my surroundings (if there's kids around you keep it PG). Sure I pot Swift every now and then but if it's good enough for Luke Shuey, it's good enough for me.

Good onya.

I base all my perceptions of the atmosphere at Subi on what I hear on the telly or the radio or what I read here.

Speaking of atmosphere (this is slightly off-topic), it was fantastic at the match last week. When we started the Eagles chant late in the last quarter, that really fired up the Collingwood fans. They weren't going to let us get away with that on their home turf.

I know where your coming from, it shits me to. I've umpired junior footy for a few years so I'm not stupid enough to think every tackle is "BALLLLLLLL", infact I've got into arguments with Victorian supporters about this. I like to think I'm a good supporter, sure I'm vocal but I recognise good play from both sides and I'm aware of my surroundings (if there's kids around you keep it PG). Sure I pot Swift every now and then but if it's good enough for Luke Shuey, it's good enough for me.

Fair enough mate. :thumbsu:

How can you hate Subi!!!

What profit do you make form a 45k crowd? What profit do the blues get from a 55k crowd at Jihad?

I would love to be back at visy park and have the blues play in front of 40k blues fans and massive gate takings. Be thankful!!

We make a large profit at Subi, however pay more than $3m a year in rent on top of additional game day costs. Somewhere around $5m a year goes to the ground. If every club that used Docklands did the same I am sure you guys wouldn't have such an issue either with profitability. Main problem is, some of the Docklands clubs don't actually contribute much to the ground.

For example, North supporters think they get a raw deal. However, my understanding is that almost all their tickets are through memberships, the ticket sales are low. Therefore, the ground largely only makes money off drinks, food, etc. However, not many people attend their games, so this barely covers costs. Reducing how much money they get per game.

Also, we make such large profits as our ticket prices are astronomical. 80%+ of our seats are premium reserve at more than $500 a year for 11 games, with no GF guarantee. Our stadium basically gets pre-sold for revenue of around $20m per year in membership and ticket sales. Compare that to North at a price of around $150-200 a year for 28,000 members and you get around $5m per year in revenue. Pretty big difference. Our revenue excludes the 8,000 "In the Wings" members who pay $60 a year to sit on a waiting list, giving the club an almost free additional $500k.

Wasn't having a go at you...my original post was having a go at people you sit there you seem to have no interest in the game.

And the arrogant people you don't use the re-sale program.

Every week the game is a SELL OUT yet the final crowd is 37K that's 6K not turning up!!!!!

Seems from 2002-2006 (when the going started to get good, Judd, Kerr, Cousins era blooming) 10,000 additional members jumped on board and in 2010 average attendance was 34k with a 44k member base.

Just an observation, but seems like there are a lot of fairweather supporters in our "membership" group who signed up when a glimmer of premiership success reared its head, and who didn't bother to turn up to games last year because we, well.. sucked. I'm sure some of the "in the wings" members would have loved to have gone and supported the side.

The only reason members paid up and held on to their 'ships is because they knew when the resurgance inevitebly happened that they wouldn't be able to get a membership again that easily.

Not saying you are in that 10k who didn't go to games, but some members may not deserve the pre-selection (if that was to happen) and certainly didn't see the club through "bad times" as you say.

Seems from 2002-2006 (when the going started to get good, Judd, Kerr, Cousins era blooming) 10,000 additional members jumped on board and in 2010 average attendance was 34k with a 44k member base.

Just an observation, but seems like there are a lot of fairweather supporters in our "membership" group who signed up when a glimmer of premiership success reared its head, and who didn't bother to turn up to games last year because we, well.. sucked. I'm sure some of the "in the wings" members would have loved to have gone and supported the side.

The only reason members paid up and held on to their 'ships is because they knew when the resurgance inevitebly happened that they wouldn't be able to get a membership again that easily.

Not saying you are in that 10k who didn't go to games, but some members may not deserve the pre-selection (if that was to happen) and certainly didn't see the club through "bad times" as you say.
Yep, obviously some people jumped off the team last year and have jumped back on this year, I don't get how you can claim to be a supporter yet when the team starts going badly after all the success you don't show up at the games.

I went to 13 Eagles games last year, sure I was frustrated with how we were going but I would never abandon the team. It was extremely disappointing last year when we played Adelaide in the "Dig Deep" game and only 26,000 or so supporters showed up.

At the end of the day, if they've got the cash they will keep buying it regardless whether we are winning or losing. They've bought their seat, they can do what they like with it. I'm a WACA member and don't plan on flying over to Perth just for the cricket. But I've got the cash so I'll renew so I don't lose it.

On a side note, I flew into Perth today and the first thing I noticed was the amount of people walking around with Eagles stuff on in the city. Don't think we would have seen that last year. Fairweathers really annoy me.

They've bought their seat, they can do what they like with it. I'm a WACA member and don't plan on flying over to Perth just for the cricket. But I've got the cash so I'll renew so I don't lose it.

Yeah, totally understand that, but WACA doesn't sell out very often, Eagles games do. I'm not one jonesing to go to games there because I'm interstate where a certain side plays here 4 times a year, but I can understand the frustration amongst hardcore through and through supporters still based in WA who would go, win or lose.

Just because you have paid for a membership and have held on to it by virtue of coin, does not maketh for seeing the club through dark days. The 34,000 people per game last year bums in seats and stayed until the final siren each game, did.

I guess tho the fairweathers, whilst being a nuisance to us folk who have stuck by them every year since 87, or whenever you came to follow them, do have their value in providing additional voice and visibility.

In all honesty I wish fairweathers would **** off. Sure they wear the colours and say the right things but they do nothing for our club. All they do is act like supporters, take from the club and give nothing back.

On a side note, I flew into Perth today and the first thing I noticed was the amount of people walking around with Eagles stuff on in the city. Don't think we would have seen that last year. Fairweathers really annoy me.

Last time I was in Perth during finals time was 1991. The amount of blue and yellow everywhere freaked me out. Almost felt comfortable to get back to the conservative sanity of Melbourne. Almost.

There's something nice about being the only guy walking around town in a Eagles guernsey.