News Suns to ask for Pick 1 as a priority pick

lmao. I’ve stated in this thread, to you I don’t care about Rowell or Anderson. Young, Serong, Ash are the perfect players for Melbourne.

I’ve stated I don’t believe in the draft at all. The whole thing should be scrapped. The NRL don’t have a draft, The A league doesn’t have a draft. Why does the AFL need a draft.

Watts, Trengove, Grimes, Morton, Gysberts, Blease, Strauss, Cook, Tapscott all first round picks that didn’t choose to go to Melbourne. Those talented players got their careers ruined by going to a club they didn’t choose. No one’s career should be put in the hands of others. It’s why I don’t believe in the draft, it’s why the Suns shouldn’t get a priority pick, like Melbourne shouldn’t of.
[/QUOTE
lmao. I’ve stated in this thread, to you I don’t care about Rowell or Anderson. Young, Serong, Ash are the perfect players for Melbourne.

I’ve stated I don’t believe in the draft at all. The whole thing should be scrapped. The NRL don’t have a draft, The A league doesn’t have a draft. Why does the AFL need a draft.

Watts, Trengove, Grimes, Morton, Gysberts, Blease, Strauss, Cook, Tapscott all first round picks that didn’t choose to go to Melbourne. Those talented players got their careers ruined by going to a club they didn’t choose. No one’s career should be put in the hands of others. It’s why I don’t believe in the draft, it’s why the Suns shouldn’t get a priority pick, like Melbourne shouldn’t of.
I don't think AFL house will agree with your thoughts or the players that would have to take a drop in pay due to drop in TV rights.

Would you give it a rest ?

I would suggest you get yourself emotionally ready for Gold Coast getting picks 1 and 2, because it is almost certain now that they will get it.

Also it's a bit rich of a Melbourne fan to take pot shots at all the mistakes Gold Coast have made, I could write an entire encyclopedia on all the mistakes the Dees have made as a football club since sacking Norm Smith.
It is almost certain that they wont from the public comments and pushback from the other clubs regarding compromising live pick trading that I have seen

Sure they can..trade with Melbourne for pick 2 like any other club would have to do

Gonna be a lot of angry people when the Suns get awarded the priority pick..

It is almost certain that they wont from the public comments and pushback from the other clubs regarding compromising live pick trading that I have seen

The AFL is run by morons if they make decisons based on the nuffie comments by fans on Facebook and Twitter..

Aside from that big sook Simon Goodwin and the Demons, I don't think any other club has made any public comment about the Priority Pick and Suns situation

Being bumped down one spot in the draft isn't gonna compromise the rest of the draft in the manner you think it will.

Try and look at the big picture of the state of the game up North, instead of your own selfish club agenda.

Referring to whom specifically? Mates for how long?

And now I know it's useless discussing anything with you. You're a VFL navel gazer with no appreciation of the struggle it is to keep players at northern clubs. The draft is necessary to keep expanding the game into NSW and Queensland and prevent the big four clubs permanently being at the top. It's truly bewildering that you can't see that.
There is a salary cap and list sizes that prevent teams stockpiling all the talent. Clubs at the top competing for premierships should be paying for their stars already on the list. A club like the Gold Coast should offer contracts to young talent, they could offer contracts and get 5 of the top 10 young talented players this year, and those players would agree to Join the Suns. Currently they are picking random players that don’t want to go there.

I’m glad you think the draft has worked for them.

The draft slows the rebuild process down, takes years to obtain a talented list, it’s why Melbourne, Carlton, Brisbane and the Suns were stuck down the bottom for years.

I don't think AFL house will agree with your thoughts or the players that would have to take a drop in pay due to drop in TV rights.
Tv rights? What are you on about? Have you seen the ratings and which clubs bring the tv rights money in?

The AFL is run by morons if they make decisons based on the nuffie comments by fans on Facebook and Twitter..

Aside from that big sook Simon Goodwin and the Demons, I don't think any other club has made any public comment about the Priority Pick and Suns situation

Being bumped down one spot in the draft isn't gonna compromise the rest of the draft in the manner you think it will.

Try and look at the big picture of the state of the game up North, instead of your own selfish club agenda.
without wanting to go over old ground and the myriad of other ways the league can help GC without compromising the draft and live pick trading, please see below

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-08-15/crows-open-to-trading-earliestever-draft-pick (about 16 minutes in Ogilvie as one of the 18 list head talent managers has a real crack)

(Binuk Kodituwakku from the crows as a list manager makes his feelings known)

As for the bigger picture of the game - sure, give the suns more cap space, allow them to take on a veteran outside the cap, help them with greater soft cap allowance to make their football department state of the art - hardly being selfish and no need to compromise the draft as they already have pick 1 to get the best kid in the draft

also, look at this from GIL last year as to why PP's were not given and GC now have more young talent on their list than they did this time last year and will add to it again AND the AFL are looking at it through a 3 year prism, not just a 1 year fix

Do you think they would have the same dollars without

WOW
The difference would be minimal.

Again not sure you’ve brought up the tv rights for anyway.

The good news on the AFL.com.au asking whether Gold Coast should get a PP has seen a 52 vote to the Yes side. So saying the vast footy supporting are against them getting picks 1 and 2 is quite clearly wrong.

Best of luck and congratulations to the Suns fans, I do believe now the public is clued up and happy for you guys to get the draft assistance you sorely need, if not deserve.

It's happening folks !!!

The good news on the AFL.com.au asking whether Gold Coast should get a PP has seen a 52 vote to the Yes side. So saying the vast footy supporting are against them getting picks 1 and 2 is quite clearly wrong.

Best of luck and congratulations to the Suns fans, I do believe now the public is clued up and happy for you guys to get the draft assistance you sorely need, if not deserve.

It's happening folks !!!

Getting a PP & getting a start of first round pick at Pick 1 are 2 different things entirely....Equivocation is a logical fallacy.

Kind of helps if you actually viewed the poll before posting. It specifically asked about picks 1&2 to the Suns.

I'm all for giving them an end of first round PP, but not at the expense of every other club....which Pick 1 & 2 most definitely is.

What they desperately require are 2 or 3 older heads with mature bodies to set the example.....How you go about achieving that without compromising the draft requires a long-term strategy...Not a quickie one-year fix....That's just more of the same AFL short-sightedness.

It's happening folks !!!
The Poll is in favour of no.

I'm all for giving them an end of first round PP, but not at the expense of every other club....which Pick 1 & 2 most definitely is.
As has been said before, this is a very rich thing to say when more than half the competition have received priority picks at the beginning of the first round, including your club. All those picks were at the expense of every other club. If we were concerned with principle, then all those clubs should be made to pay back the draft points they received, if people want to suddenly block Gold Coast on that principle. But they won't. All the VFL ratbags will happily get a free ride right up until a northern club requires serious assistance.

What they desperately require are 2 or 3 older heads with mature bodies to set the example.....How you go about achieving that without compromising the draft requires a long-term strategy...Not a quickie one-year fix....That's just more of the same AFL short-sightedness.
This is a completely separate issue, and not one that requires significant assistance. I have no doubt that Gold Coast will acquire at least one veteran this offseason. They're not that hard to get unless their club is currently in a premiership window.

As has been said before, this is a very rich thing to say when more than half the competition have received priority picks at the beginning of the first round, including your club. All those picks were at the expense of every other club. If we were concerned with principle, then all those clubs should be made to pay back the draft points they received, if people want to suddenly block Gold Coast on that principle. But they won't. All the VFL ratbags will happily get a free ride right up until a northern club requires serious assistance.

This is a completely separate issue, and not one that requires significant assistance. I have no doubt that Gold Coast will acquire at least one veteran this offseason. They're not that hard to get unless their club is currently in a premiership window.

The VFL going National helped save most Melbourne based clubs like Hawthorn from going broke.

I think we are obliged as footy fans to want the Suns to grow and flourish as a club. Surely all in a will benefit from having a successful and sustainable Gold Coast team (and no, they won't be shunted off to Tassie)

There are bigger issues at stake here than selfish clubs moaning about put back one place in the draft.
Clubs have gotten more revenue from TV rights since GWS and Gold Coast came in.

Frankly i don't think given the Suns picks 1 and 2 is enough, but it's a start.

The VFL going National helped save most Melbourne based clubs like Hawthorn from going broke.

I think we are obliged as footy fans to want the Suns to grow and flourish as a club. Surely all in a will benefit from having a successful and sustainable Gold Coast team (and no, they won't be shunted off to Tassie)

There are bigger issues at stake here than selfish clubs moaning about put back one place in the draft.
Clubs have gotten more revenue from TV rights since GWS and Gold Coast came in.

Frankly i don't think given the Suns picks 1 and 2 is enough, but it's a start.
No idea what this has to do with VFL going national in the 80’s
No one is saying they don’t want the Suns to flourish.

A priority pick is not going to help their situation.

Not going to hurt either
Except for the players career, which is what happened at Melbourne 2007-2013

Priority picks didn’t help Melbourne, just ruined careers.