Media Swans Talk in the Media 2025

Our club in the Media

Jun 2, 2014
The Rebel Alliance
This content is brought to you by Chief and the Mods of Big Footy.
PLEASE READ:

A reminder to all on the rules of copywritten content.

You will be held responsible for the articles you post that infringe copyright.

Mods will issue warnings when posters reproduce full articles on Big Footy.

You will receive something like this and an initial 1-point infraction. Contued posting of articles will incur a Serious Infraction of 5 points.

So please remember, when using material that may be the copyright of another party, you must:
  • Use only that portion you are directly commenting on. A reasonable guide might be a paragraph or two.
  • Always link to the source.

Yes, it was clearly set up as a rort but there is an opportunity to rejig it to something much more meaningful while abolishing FS.
Just as a for instance (totally arguable of course) combine Swans and Giants Academies, GC and Lions into NSW and QLD Academies, funded by the AFL. Provide scholarships for indigenous and non-anglo kids. Similar for SA and WA. That's four academies outside Victoria. Establish two in Vic - one metro and one country. Same structure. National oversight body. Like our academies, make and female. The private schools stay as is. At the top level it can be like CHS and CAS in NSW.
The NSW/QLD academies need to be aligned with clubs. That's one of the main reasons they work.

Swans media , Ben Matthews , Rhyse Shaw and Nick Malceski added to HOF

Hopefully they remember to play this desperate season on the line footy from the first bounce, need a big win
My worry is our record against teams were supposed to 'thrash' seems unspectacular - at least that's how I feel. We very rarely have huge wins, its either we sink to their level, or they rise to occasion and kick goals from all over the park.

Yep we are the club who wins the unexpected game rather than flogs we should generally is my gut feel, but then we did have a couple of huge eagles wins thinking off the top of my head.

Feel like despite our dominance over North we have made it hard work at times, but last 2 have been pretty comfy.

Just play like Sundays last quarter

We did smash them at the Docklands 1st time and they had the 2 out of this

As mentioned by bedford in History thread

The late Henry 'Sonny' Elms has been elevated to Bloods Champion status while Premiership players Nick Malceski, Ben Mathews, Rhyce Shaw, and the late Harry Purdy have been inducted into the Swans Hall of Fame at the SCG on Thursday evening.

Swans-Hall-of-Fame-2025-Phil-Hillyard-pictures-004-1-.jpg

As mentioned by bedford in History thread

The late Henry 'Sonny' Elms has been elevated to Bloods Champion status while Premiership players Nick Malceski, Ben Mathews, Rhyce Shaw, and the late Harry Purdy have been inducted into the Swans Hall of Fame at the SCG on Thursday evening.

Swans-Hall-of-Fame-2025-Phil-Hillyard-pictures-004-1-.jpg

Oh Nick Mal ❤️ Third place on my personal podium for all time favourite 😍

Other than North! We smashed them earlier in the year when they were doing well and we were struggling.

Less than two months after their disaster against Adelaide, the Swans are one of the hottest teams in the competition right now

Thats good and all but this kind of attitude/mentality would of served us well 2 months ago perhaps then we wouldnt find ourselves in a impossible position.

"it's little surprise the 3-1 run has coincided with the return of Errol Gulden from a serious ankle injury the suffered during the pre-season."

New coach at last minute right before pre-season, new S&C coach as well right before pre-season

Injury/ suspension list at various times consisting of: Mills, McInerney, Amartey, McDonald, Fox, Papley, Gulden, Rampe, McCartin, Cunningham, Wicks and Melican (All of whom with the exception of Wicks (Who was easily best 22 when out) would have been locked best 23 at start of the season).

And as I have mentioned before it is very very hard to come back from a bad loss at the highest level (Have gone through this myself and suffered through bad mental health/ motivation after bad results representing Australia), it may not affect everyone in the side, but it would have affected some easily.

Lastly when you have a deep finals run, you have an interrupted/ late pre-season and this has a bigger affect than you could imagine.

All of the above gives more than enough reason to have a bit of a downturn in results and explains the story of our season, if anything I have been surprised/ proud at our turn around and think it bodes really well for next year.

I might be wrong but feels like kangas are our bogey team
We've lost 1 of the last 10 and 3 of the last 25 against them. I think that makes them the least bogey-est of our bogey teams.

Media Swans Talk in the Media 2025