swans v pies

• Thread starter Thread starter jonesy86

Telstra holds 80 000 or so and it rarely fills up mate. look at the NRL state of Origin. 72 000 people at game one this year and that was a new record for SOO 1 games and even that didn't fill up the stadium.

on the contrary I know of at least one pies fan in sydney who is a workmate of mine and she plans on going to the game as do I. we might attempt to bring some mates and colleagues along too.

I don't know if a lot of pies fans will cross the border and go up north but I met a few when I went to the game last year.

Also remeber the first pies v swans clash at Telstra which happened a few years back now was almost a sellout but last years pies v swans game had about 43 000+. apparantly crowds were getting lower each season for the split rouund clash but I think the ladder position will definately change things :thumbsu:

lets hope for a sellout :D

music_2000 said:

I don't know if a lot of pies fans will cross the border and go up north but I met a few when I went to the game last year.

:D

you can be certain many pies fans will go north to see this game.

nicky said:
you can be certain many pies fans will go north to see this game.

Ah but Nicky, although many will head North about half of the Collingwood supporters would not be able to find Sydney, let alone where the ground is so they'll head home again!! ;)

mattyh said:
Ah but Nicky, although many will head North about half of the Collingwood supporters would not be able to find Sydney, let alone where the ground is so they'll head home again!! ;)

yeah i suppose they'd have to find "N" on the compass first.

I dont no if it will be a sell out but i think it will be a huge game and a huge crowd. Usually Swans and Collingwood put alot into this game to promote it etc and now they have a chance of making it even better. IF both teams with their next two games this could be match of the season.

music_2000 said:
Also remeber the first pies v swans clash at Telstra which happened a few years back now was almost a sellout but last years pies v swans game had about 43 000+. apparantly crowds were getting lower each season for the split rouund clash but I think the ladder position will definately change things :thumbsu:

lets hope for a sellout :D
The shrinking crowds were Pies fans jumping off the bandwagon.

It does promise to be a BIG game this year though. Can it hit the 80,000 mark? That depends on the corporates and StadeOz members turning up but 75,000 is reachable without them.

StadeOz had declared the game a "reserved" event for their members (meaning they have to book tickets, and suffer penalties if they then don't turn up). This should help as remaining seats then get offered to the public. StadeOz members get first dibs to most of the western side. Swans members are on the northern and eastern sides.

I would say all general ad will sell out and it will depend on the corporates etc on whether it is full on the night. It is smack bang in the middle of school holidays down here in melbourne so provided the ferals find a car to hot-wire they will no doubt take their bogan families up to Sydney for the game.

Looking like it will attract about 60,000 for the match.
There are 83,000 seats there, but prob about 5,000 or so have shocking views due to the moveable stand and I'd imagine the majority of Telstra Stadium members would be League followers and have little interest in the match. So 70,000 will be unlikely I reckon.

I got tickets yesterday to the bottom area, but ticketek were selling plenty of tickets for the very top tier. In the past few games the crowds have been around 37,000-44,000 and they haven't sold the top tier? Could be a bumper crowd.

Refried Noodle said:
Looking like it will attract about 60,000 for the match.
There are 83,000 seats there, but prob about 5,000 or so have shocking views due to the moveable stand and I'd imagine the majority of Telstra Stadium members would be League followers and have little interest in the match. So 70,000 will be unlikely I reckon.

I got tickets yesterday to the bottom area, but ticketek were selling plenty of tickets for the very top tier. In the past few games the crowds have been around 37,000-44,000 and they haven't sold the top tier? Could be a bumper crowd.

If the top tier is being sold, I would say looking at least 60k+ :cool:

sportsfan7 said:
The shrinking crowds were Pies fans jumping off the bandwagon.
Collingwood don't jump off bandwagons, should be a corker! :thumbsu:

Glenn_ said:
If the top tier is being sold, I would say looking at least 60k+ :cool:

It could come down to the weather. Clear skies worth 7K to the "give AFL a look" crowd out west. Several years back we got high 40's against a bottom 8 side after a near hurricane earlier in the day. Good result, but those unaware of how bad the weather really was down south found the turnout disappointing.

Prob with TS is that we've only had a few decent matches out there on paper. Lots of close contests, but virtually no top 8 clashes. Lots of Carlton, Rich, Melb and Essendon matches where one or both teams were scratching around trying to find form.

With both teams firing and Collingwood's army on the move I'd say 50k-65k, weather permitting. If neither teams drops form leading into it 70k a real chance. :thumbsu:

Realistically guys what do you think will happen in this game..

Collingwood was super disappointing last week with everyone (except Clement and Didak) having terrible games..

Buckley, Rocca, Tarrant having no impact

The midfield was crushed

and the backline crumbled under the continual bombardment.....

we were comprehensively demoralised.....

Holding bias' aside, what do you think the outcome will be?

Historically we have done well against the swans, losing by 1 point last year in a thriller, when we were clearly in bottom four teams.

My opinion is we could win by 40 or lose by 40. It really depends on which collingwood turns up. The team that played the first 10 games of the season, or the team that played absolute rubbish on the weekend.

Drizt said:

Collingwood was super disappointing last week with everyone (except Clement and Didak) having terrible games..

The midfield was crushed

Historically we have done well against the swans, losing by 1 point last year in a thriller, when we were clearly in bottom four teams.

My opinion is we could win by 40 or lose by 40. It really depends on which collingwood turns up. The team that played the first 10 games of the season, or the team that played absolute rubbish on the weekend.

I reckon it will be the team that played West Co. over there!! Try hard but it will be close!! I would say between a draw and 5 pts either way!!!! Canga:o

Drizt said:

The midfield was crushed

Both sides have been in excellent form, but then began to splutter and stall as the break approached.

Much has been made of how the top four have performed recently, but I put a lot of it down to an intake of breath before the second half of the season gets under way.

I reckon our two last round losses will ensure this game has plenty of fireworks.

If it's good weather I'll back the Swans in a moderately close one. If it's wet, Collingwood will be favourites.

Bought my tickets yesterday & there were only the nose-bleeds left so looking like a big crowd. The players will look like tiny tiny ants but at least I'll still be able to point my (Pies-loving) missus to the giant scoreboard if she gets mouthy.

Had a look and only one bay of single seats is left for the general admission on the lower level.
Two seats together chucks me up top in the clouds.