Game Day Swans (well, some of them) vs Suns (Preseason)

Crap. He laid 8 tackles. He also did a lot of inside stuff that most people, people like you who are out riders, don't notice. He was in the guts like Rowie and between him, Rowie and Jordan we got a win.

On Infinix X6525 using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think the answer is somewhere in the middle.

His clearance work was very good & helped address what has been a real team weakness. He stood up physically to Rowell and laid strong tackles. Complimented JJ and Rowy very well in the clinches.
His disposal was a bit scrappy and his opponent got a bit too much space on the odd occasion.

But overall, a pass mark in my books.

I liked Indi a lot. He has enough talent to be in the mix. What's more, he seems to have a cohesion with Joel.

On Infinix X6525 using BigFooty.com mobile app
And we've been disappointed in big games with the effort...players like Kirk and Hanily are the types we need to allow to develop and have opportunities going forward to get that balance right in our game. I hope players get dropped this year when they deserve to be dropped. For example I like Micinerney but dislike the way he gets so easily bumped off in tackles

Wouldn't say a debut but guys who werent best 22 that are pushing would be
Corey Warner
Sheldrick
Campbell

Long shot debut
Hanily

Swans debut
Paton?
No way Corey is at the top after that display. Hanily is already a better player.

His decision making is very poor to the point it actually ruins our ball movement. He either takes the very easy option, or dump kicks. Almost like he feels his job is done once he's received the pill. He's not silky or competent enough to play in this side effectively. And still not strong enough in the clinches.

I think the answer is somewhere in the middle.

His clearance work was very good & helped address what has been a real team weakness. He stood up physically to Rowell and laid strong tackles. Complimented JJ and Rowy very well in the clinches.
His disposal was a bit scrappy and his opponent got a bit too much space on the odd occasion.

But overall, a pass mark in my books.
Good analysis, but the point about his opponent getting too much space is super concerning. That makes it not a pass in my books. He's at the point where he's either got it or he doesn't.

Stuck out like a sore thumb a few too many times

No way Corey is at the top after that display. Hanily is already a better player.

His decision making is very poor to the point it actually ruins our ball movement. He either takes the very easy option, or dump kicks. Almost like he feels his job is done once he's received the pill. He's not silky or competent enough to play in this side effectively. And still not strong enough in the clinches.
Beyond laughable.

Corey played so much better than Hanily in both games and across the whole of the PS and last year. You are basing that hole opinion on one quarter of footy.

Good analysis, but the point about his opponent getting too much space is super concerning. That makes it not a pass in my books. He's at the point where he's either got it or he doesn't.

I reckon everyone’s opponent got too much space at times - it was played at 70% intensity by both sides.

The question is: does Gus compliment our other mids & hence make us a better unit?
I think the answer might be yes - as his strengths are in areas we’ve been lacking since JPK retired.

Hanily & Wicks the two big plusses from tonight for me.

Wicks looks much more confident coming out of defence than he ever did up fwd and the move allows him to utilise his speed.

However it does highlight an issue for me; where's Blakey's rebound?
I really don't want him in a quasi lockdown role.
Even with Rampe returning I'd still like to see two talls back there, along with Dane and the Lizard.

On the stats sheet Blakey (in less than 50 TOG) & McIneney led the way in R50s, but I never felt we saw the 'dangerous' Blakey with his run and carry.

Wicks & Blakey coming out of defence taking on the opposition would be most welcome

Beyond laughable.

Corey played so much better than Hanily in both games and across the whole of the PS and last year. You are basing that hole opinion on one quarter of footy.
My concern about his ball use has been for the past two years. He doesn't look competent at the top level.

Just not silky enough. Doesn't try to pull off those game breaking passes to advantage that our team is built on. Consistently rushes kicks unecessarily to the top of a contest that has no advantage our way what so ever when he can take time to pick a smart option that suits our style, doesn't hit up leads, doesn't hit up space our players are running into. His decision making just does not fit. I have no confidence that we will have an effective play every time the ball is in his hands.

I reckon everyone’s opponent got too much space at times - it was played at 70% intensity by both sides.

Yep, it's a trial game.

Lots to like tonight. Corey looks like the one to replace Gulden in the 22. McCartin looks better than McDonald in the front half frankly, but hey it's a trial game.

Mitchell, Green, Hanily showed a bit. Green still developing but the other two not far off.

Ladhams competed well, looks like the logical replacement for Brodie if he doesn't get up.

Cox not a McLean fan apparently.

The question is: does Gus compliment our other mids & hence make us a better unit?
I think the answer might be yes - as his strengths are in areas we’ve been lacking since JPK retired.
It's a yes once he finds a way to effectively dispose out of those tight contests. Jpk was the master of releasing his hands to advantage. There were alot of handballs and hack kicks to no one from Gus tonight.

Then, yes, it would be a compliment absolutely and exactly what we need. But as it stands we would get cut up. Our midfields biggest issue is the oppos ability to peel off us like a banana, and there were quite a few times they peeled off Gus way to easily. His breakaway speed is clearly not his strength, but if he disposes to no one he's essentially lost to the contest at that point. I'd suggest that is exactly why he hasn't been picked yet.

Yep, it's a trial game.

Lots to like tonight. Corey looks like the one to replace Gulden in the 22. McCartin looks better than McDonald in the front half frankly, but hey it's a trial game.

Mitchell, Green, Hanily showed a bit. Green still developing but the other two not far off.

Ladhams competed well, looks like the logical replacement for Brodie if he doesn't get up.

Beware of drawing too many conclusions about Cox's views. For instance, he knows exactly what he'll get from McLean but not from a lot of the guys he played tonight. For sure he'll be pleased with Buller but would need more to pick him. Wicks has history at the level so may need less demonstration than Paton probably does. Hamling is interesting. Francis played a lot of minutes.
He will have learnt a lot.

McLean's not had much of a pre-season. Hence he played VFL last week (and I presume earlier today too). Doesn't mean he won't be in the mix when he has enough work in his legs.

I thought it was a pleasing, workmanlike effort by a team missing much of the cream. I think it showed that the squad is well drilled that so many inexperienced players could come and play a role. I also like the fact that, after cruising for much of the second half, they were able to lift the intensity enough to pull away at the end.

Wicks was a huge positive. He looks really good in the back half.

McCartin too. Shows the daftness of shrieks of "never again" after last week.

Rowbottom and Florent set the scene in the first quarter, not with flash stuff but just being in the right place over and over again. Not sure if Florent was moved, or if the Suns sat on him, because he was less prominent later in the game to the point I thought maybe he'd been subbed out at half-time. Until I saw him again late in the game.

If Papley isn't ready for R0 I'd have no worries if Hanily were named for his debut. He may struggle to become best 23 this season, but looks ready to be a competent understudy. And who knows, maybe he'll prove to be more than that.

Andrew and Green probably won't see much (or any) senior footy this year but they showed plenty of promise. Bice is more likely to come in if we suffer injuries to our smaller or medium defenders and he looked solid enough.

Hanily & Wicks the two big plusses from tonight for me.

Wicks looks much more confident coming out of defence than he ever did up fwd and the move allows him to utilise his speed.

However it does highlight an issue for me; where's Blakey's rebound?
I really don't want him in a quasi lockdown role.
Even with Rampe returning I'd still like to see two talls back there, along with Dane and the Lizard.

On the stats sheet Blakey (in less than 50 TOG) & McIneney led the way in R50s, but I never felt we saw the 'dangerous' Blakey with his run and carry.

Wicks & Blakey coming out of defence taking on the opposition would be most welcome
It's funny you cite the Wicks & Blakey pairing HB. A few times over the two practice games I watched Wicks blazing out of defence and thought, "This reminds me so much of Blakey." It's this helter skelter sprint, like they haven't quite thought through what the heck they're doing but they're just gonna back their speed and make it up on the spot. Different to the little dance step evasive style of Florent, or the smoother running of Lloyd & McInerney. To have not just one, but two players capable of it, could be electric.

I would not write off Corey Warner due to his performance in one game.

Early in the game he seemed to bring athleticism and pace to the forward line. Good at physically contesting for ground balls, was able to link up effectively and his dump kicks led to shots at goal. And he kicked another goal himself.

Then at other times, he had some tired defensive running and ineffective dump kicks when we did not have momentum. So I think he is still working on his game by getting experience at AFL level.

Also I don't think the coaches will come to negative conclusions on players based on one game. Last week people were saying McCartin looked terrible in the forward line. And Cox should never play him there again.Yet this week, he looked like he could be useful there.

I would not write off Corey Warner due to his performance in one game.

Early in the game he seemed to bring athleticism and pace to the forward line. Good at physically contesting for ground balls, was able to link up effectively and his dump kicks led to shots at goal. And he kicked another goal himself.

Then at other times, he had some tired defensive running and ineffective dump kicks when we did not have momentum. So I think he is still working on his game by getting experience at AFL level.

Also I don't think the coaches will come to negative conclusions on players based on one game. Last week people were saying McCartin looked terrible in the forward line. And Cox should never play him there again.Yet this week, he looked like he could be useful there.
I felt Corey's performance was fine. He didn't make the most of all his chances but got in a lot of the action.

Good enough to play round 1? Probably gets in as an emergency but he's not far off

McCartin forward works for me. Still did a few spuddy things but prefer that in the forward 50 rather than D 50. The best news the defence is fine without him. Hamling will work out OK next to Melican and Rampe. Francis isn't as bad as some make out, I'm comfortable enough with him playing also. Paton adds a bit, Bice looks nice and Wicks is a lock.
Nobody blew me away but all the of the unknowns were very solid. I feel quite content. List is in good shape.

Game Day Swans (well, some of them) vs Suns (Preseason)