Sydney Swans Draft Thread

Yeah I saw a bit of Witts, he's a definite prospect and he's an absolute monster. I think he was the biggest bloke at the club at age 16(ish). Still, very, very raw though and I think the Collingwood army are pumping him up just a wee bit too much at the moment.

That said, I think he'll make it easily.

I reckon Jetta deserves to be given some slack. Apart from the 19 points in a row, his 2009 season was excellent. Then he had a baby. There's not many players dealing with that at his age. He would have had sleepless nights all season, and that's got to affect his game. Apparently the little ones settle down in the 2nd year, so hopefully he can get his mind back on the footy a bit more.
I can't really remember, but there may be a second junior on the way for him and his partner. But if not, then that and any 2nd year blues may be less of a factor.

At first I was like..

funny-gifs-disappointed-maru.gif
:thumbsu:

Yeah I saw a bit of Witts, he's a definite prospect and he's an absolute monster. I think he was the biggest bloke at the club at age 16(ish). Still, very, very raw though and I think the Collingwood army are pumping him up just a wee bit too much at the moment.

That said, I think he'll make it easily.

Collingwood identified him early and would have thrown some cash at him and chucked him in their scholarship program and now no one else could touch him..
Thats what I was talking about a bit earlier in the thread about the young 16yr old cuz of the Talias, Im hoping we can use the academy the same way..

Maybe it's just because I don't know jack about any of the players but I always find it hard to get excited about draft week.

Could also have something to do with our terrible 1st round drafting. Let's hope we've turned that around in the last couple of years.

Hopefully Ben Duscher, then we can have two Sunraysia locals with the name of Ben! :)
I may be ridiculously biased in my opinion but Sunraysia makes some fantastic footballers and people too :p In fact, I recall hearing Goodsey even played in Merbein for a while as a young-un. So here's hoping we manage to pick up another one from them-there-parts. :thumbsu:

From the Swans site, heres a list of some players pick 40+..

Successful Swans Draft Picks after #40 in National Draft

Andrew Dunkley #56 in 1991 (217 club games)
Michael O’Loughlin #40 in 1994 (303 club games)
Troy Luff #74 in 1994 (155 club games)
Adam Goodes #43 in 1997 (300 club games*)
Ryan O’Keefe #56 in 1999 (233 club games*)
Adam Schneider #60 in 2001 (98 club games)
Nick Malceski #64 in 2002 (104 club games*)
Amon Buchanan #45 in 2003 (116 club games)
Jesse White #79 in 2006 (53 club games*)
Craig Bird #59 in 2007 (62 club games*)
Trent Dennis-Lane #55 in 2009 (11 club games*)
Luke Parker #40 in 2010 (13 club games*)
Alex Johnson #57 in 2010 (20 club games*)
Matt Spangher #73 in 2010 (6 club games*)

* Current Swans players

here are someones best picks 40-80 from all clubs (for that number) that I found.

No. 40 Michael O'Loughlin (1994)
No. 41 Andrew Krakouer (2000)
No. 42 Martin Pike (1996) - the hard-drinking, hard-running half-back is the only player to feature twice on this list. Won four flags in his last nine seasons in the AFL.
No. 43 Adam Goodes (1997)
No. 44 Heath Scotland (1988) - can the AFL website seriously think Josh Hunt has been a better player than Scotland?
No. 45 Stuart Dew (2007)
No. 46 David King (1993)
No. 47 Brent Harvey (1995) - the AFL website favours Corey Enright. For me, it's Harvey by as far as you can kick your hat.
No. 48 Darren Milburn (1995)
No. 49 Shane Wakelin (2000)
No. 50 Alastair Lynch (1986) - the fact he went at No. 50 proves the recruiters had no real idea what they were doing at the 1986 draft!
No. 51 Dion Woods (2000)
No. 52 Paul Bullus (1992)
No. 53 Michael Braun (1996)
No. 54 Michael Sexton (1988)
No. 55 Sam Fisher (2003)
No. 56 Ryan O'Keefe (1999)
No. 57 Andrew Embley (1998)
No. 58 Dane Swan (2001)
No. 59 John Barnes (1999)
No. 60 Adam Schneider (2001)
No. 61 Michael Rischitelli (2003)
No. 62 Ben Johnson (1999)
No. 63 James Gwilt (2004)
No. 64 Cameron Bruce (1999)
No. 65 Mark Graham (2004)
No. 66 Ryan Hargrave (1999)
No. 67 Byron Pickett (1996)
No. 68 Russell Robertson (1996) - slight bit of rule-bending here. Robertson was drafted by Melbourne, then delisted, rookie-listed and went on to play 228 games. The only player on this list recruited off an Almost Footy Legends video clip.
No. 69 Chad Rintoul (1996)
No. 70 Paul Williams (1989)
No. 71 Brian Lake (2001)
No. 72 Brad Fisher (2002)
No. 73 Leigh Brown (2001)
No. 74 Troy Luff (1994)
No. 75 Clint Bizzell (1995)
No. 76 Rupert Betheras (1998)
No. 77 Ben Dixon (1994)
No. 78 Richie Vandenberg (1997)
No. 79 James Hird (1990)
No. 80 Who cares! There has never been a good one.

Not sure what that proves baja. A better analysis, hint hint, might be to calculate the average number of AFL games played by the player drafted at each pick to give you an idea of the chances of finding a 'good' player at each draft pick.

it landed in my inbox, his top 40 was there too.. I just thought it interesting the fact some great players can still be got with our available picks.

Hell yeah, we going to be drafting Adam Goodes and Michael Rischitelli. ;)

Supposably we are getting Curran and Richards in the draft?

Who knows who we will get with our live picks its and absolute chook raffle at that end of the draft

So the day is finally here.

Here are a couple of talls who I hope we pick if they get to our picks.
McInnes
Schade
Richards
Downie
Gordon
Bosely
Manson
Bussey

A couple of smalls
Hill
Nelson
Yeo

Really think we need a combination of either two KPP or one KPP and one fast outside mid.

Ok, say Mitch Grigg/Waldhunter drops, you want us to recruit another inside midfielder?

You can't fill your team with inside mids, as much as we want to.