Phantom Draft Tarquin's 2008 Draft with explanations.

Mar 13, 2008
Perth, Australia
Tarquin’s Mock Draft
DISCLAIMER: Just thought I would talk about myself quickly. I would not consider myself an expert, but I have a good understanding of local talent, this may cause me to have a slight bias towards W.A players. Draft selections 40+, I will be relying heavily on the opinions of certain Bigfooty posters and the internet.
Before the Mock draft begins, I thought it would be best to sit down and really think about what each team needed. Obviously this is my opinion, but in the end this is my mock draft. I will talk about each teams Drafting strategy coming up;
Melbourne – They will be aiming to get two key position forwards, within their first two picks. They will also be looking to add depth to their midfield and ruck.
West Coast – They will be looking to add more depth in their small forwards and midfield. They will also look to cover their ruck stocks, just in case Seaby moves clubs next year.
Fremantle – Harvey stated they needed to boost their midfield and that is what they will do, also adding a Ruckman to the list of players. They will also be on the lookout for a small forward to replace Farmer.
Port Adelaide – They will want some Ruckman cover and defenders, with maybe a key position backman.
Essendon – In my eyes, the first selection will be classy midfielder. The later rounds will be aimed at a key backman and lastly another ruckman to develop alongside Bellchambers.
Carlton – They will aim to improve their forward line and a key backman to free up Waite. They will also look to inject some more speed into their midfield.
Brisbane – Voss has stated a need for midfielders, that is just what they will do. They will also pay attention to adding another small forward to make the most of having Brown and Bradshaw.
Richmond – Key forward and Ruckman are in order for these guys. Midfield depth never hurt any teams also.
North Melbourne – Key backman and midfielders are in order. They are actually one of the tougher teams for me to select for.
Adelaide – People keep talking about key forwards, I actually think they need a small rebounding defender and Midfielders. With maybe a key forward thrown into the mix.
Collingwood – Can someone say midfielders that can extract the ball. They will be looking at good in and under midfielders.
Sydney – Key forwards and midfielders that can break the lines.
St Kilda – Midfielders with some speed and a small forward. Also looking at a key position defender.
Western Bulldogs – They potentially have one key forward/ruckman sorted in Cordy and may aim for another key forward or two.
Geelong – I actually rate the need for a key backman and a forward the highest priority. In saying that, they will still select the best available if warranted

Hawthorn – Key backman to help Croad and more midfielders. Premiership teams often don’t have a heap of weaknesses. Just looking at covering depth in certain areas.

Re: Tarquin's 2008 Draft with explainations.

EDIT: Matthew Broadbent was missed from this draft(mistake), he would have slotted in around pick 25 for Brisbane.
Pick 1 Melbourne- Jack Watts
He has all the tools to be a premium forward in the future. He has height, speed and agility. Very good mark and kick on goal.

Pick 2 West Coast- Nicholas Natanui

This is a 50/50 decision, but in the end Natanui and now being around 201cm tall was just too good an option to pass on. He has all the athletic tools to be one of the best modern aged ruckman, he just needs to learn where to run and how to play around the ground, Cox is the perfect tutor.
Pick 3 Fremantle- Daniel Rich
Fremantle stated they wanted midfielders and here is a class act. Rich has a booming left foot and has been playing against men for two years. He should join Palmer, Mayne and Ibbotson in creating a great midfield combination for years to come.

Pick 4 Port Adelaide- Tyrone Vickery

This guy is more than just a ruckman, he will spend his first 4 years playing forward and later in his career move into the ruck. He will play the same way as an Ottens or Lade, he is a smart football and very athletic.
Pick 5 Essendon- Hamish Hartlett
Essendon will be looking for a highly skilled midfielder and Hartlett is one of the best going around. He can kick on both sides of his body and just finds the ball. They will risk picking up a defender in the second/third round, could have gone for Hurley here.

Pick 6 Carlton- Jack Ziebell

To be honest, I had Yarran here for months. The fact that Carlton’s next pick was not until pick 40 made me select the “safer” option. Personally, if Carlton went for Yarran I would not complain. Instead I actually think they will pick Ziebell, he can play as a forward and has one of the best kicks in the draft. Taller midfielder/Half Forward, could play as a third tall to Fevola and Kruezer. (Still kicking myself, that I did not have the guts to pick Yarran here)

Pick 7 Brisbane- Chris Yarran

Voss did want midfielders, but I have this feeling he will not mind taking this gun forward/midfielder/half back. Once Yarran builds on his motor, he could play forward, midfield or halfback. It is important to remember he is not just a forward.

Pick 8 Richmond- Shaun McKernan
The Tigers need a ruckman and tall forwards. This guy will be able to pinch hit in the ruck and play a number of roles, either up forward or down back. He is almost as athletic as Natanui and has a great all round game. He had a very impressive draft camp and did outplay Natanui at the Telstra dome.

Pick 9 North Melbourne- Michael Hurley
North will be wondering how Hurley has slipped to their pick, but will not be complaining in the slightest. He fits their needs perfectly, a big bodied backman. He just has that so called Shinboner spirit for the contest. You know with Hurley that you will always get 100% effort. His speed has let him slip a little further down the draft order than first expected.

Pick 10 Adelaide- Steele Sidebottom

This selection may cause some arguments; I pencilled in Johnston here, and then changed my mind to Rusty. With Goodwin, Edwards and McLoed all ageing, some talented midfielders are needed. Rusty is the perfect inside player and can drift forward and help kick some goals. He will run all day and Craig will love this about this player.
Pick 11 Collingwood- Tom Swift
Personally, I think they would have hoped to have called out Sidebottom. Now that he is gone, they may take a risk. Tom Swift in the under 16’s was just a ball magnet and ranked number 1 in virtually every major stat. Mick would have used his contacts in Perth and maybe even a private investigator and done some due diligence on this selection. He could be the Selwood of the draft.
Pick 12 Sydney- Lewis Johnston
Barry Hall is about to become a boxer, Micky O is getting older. It is time to replace the forward line. Lewis Johnston is the perfect fit here. Good set of hands and plays as a hard leading forward, small version of Hall, good kick on goal as well.

Pick 13 St Kilda- Jackson Trengove

Another case of someone sliding down further than expected, just shows the depth in the first couple of rounds. Top quality defender that will free up Fisher to move into the midfield. He is tough at the contest and before his injury was looking likely to be drafted in the top 6. Still could go as high as that.

Pick 14 Western Bulldogs- Ayce Cordy
F/S selection, expect to wait a couple of years before you see this guy playing in the first 22. He is a raw talent and skinny!!! If he does not lose much of his speed and agility when putting on the weight, he will be a great pick up for the Doggies.
Pick 15 Geelong- Stephen Hill
I know I stated the need for a key backman, but sometimes you can’t let needs get in the way of the best available. Hill has great endurance and similarly impressive pace. He will add some depth to their midfield and may even be able to play as a Half back along the lines of Mackie. He will add some run and carry with the ball and deliver it accurately. Time in the gym is needed, looked lost at times against the men in the WAFL.

Pick 16 Hawthorn- Jordan Lisle
He can play at both ends of the ground, but will be used down back to help out Croad. This is mainly a draft selection based on needs. Still, in saying that, Lisle is not out of place being selected in the first round. Strong mark, good kick only question marks are with his agility and maybe pace.

Pick 17 Melbourne- Sam Blease
Trying to make up reasons why he slipped out of the first round. Maybe it was a case of not being a heavy ball winner. That aside, this guy has pace to burn, good skills and the x factor. Melbourne will be very pleased with this selection. I was looking at getting a forward here, but believe that West Coast would have picked up Blease and not their forward option.

Pick 18 West Coast- Michael Walters
This guy will learn the ropes from Wirra and gladly take over as a small forward with classy skills. He has a great left foot and will love playing on the big subi ground. Given a few preseasons, I could see him moving into the midfield and firing lovely lace out passes into the forward line.

Pick 19 Melbourne- Ryan Schoenmakers

This is one of my bolters in the draft (maybe not from the last couple of mock drafts). He is a good mark and some his kicking showed that vision which makes him a class act in my eyes. He is one of my favourite picks in this year’s draft. The Watts and Schoenmakers combination is something for the Melbourne fans to enjoy for years to come. With the addition of Blease, the Demons should be happy with their selections. This was an important draft for the Demons.

Pick 20 West Coast- James Strauss
Two names sprung to mind here, Robinson and Strauss. Was very hard to split the two players, I just preferred the skills of Strauss slightly more. Both would have been worthy pickups here.

Pick 21 Fremantle- Mitch Robinson

A big bodied midfielder that will love Subi, has the ability to be a line breaker. He will add massive depth to their midfield for years to come. Good pace and skill to top it off. Harvey is slowly getting a vision of his midfield for the next 5-10 years.

Pick 22 Port Adelaide- Rhys Okeefe

Rhys is a line breaking half back flanker that will fit into the Port team perfectly. He has all the tools to be a damaging player either from the backline or the midfield. I know Port are still looking for a backman, but they might have to wait another round.

Pick 23 Essendon- Aaron Cornelius
Seeing as the Bombers picked a midfielder with their first selection it was important to take a key position player. Cornelius is a very strong mark and just needs to work a little harder on his athleticism. He will be able to slot into the vacancies left when Lucas and Lloyd retire.
Pick 24 Fremantle- Jarred Blight
This may seem like a shock decision, but I just really rate this kid. It was a hard decision between Jetta and Blight here. It is the height, athleticism and running ability that got him over the line here. The Dockers still need a small forward, they will hope that Jetta slips to their next selection(doubt it). Blight may start off on the half back line and move into the midfield.
Pick 25 Brisbane- Nicholas Heyne
If the Lions had not selected Yarran here, Jetta would have been taken in an instant. They’ve gone for an athletic midfielder/forward. He is built for AFL and some say a first round candidate, so the Lions will be happy with this selection. Heyne should play across the half forward line and hopefully kick 20+ goals in the season, also moving through the flanks and wing.

Pick 26 Richmond- Jared Redden

The Tigers have gone for a pure ruckman here, it was a line ball between Roughead and Redden. Seeing as McKernan was already selected, I felt it was important to get a pure ruckman at this selection.

Pick 27 North Melbourne- Nick Suban

I think North need a hard in and under midfielder. Suban has dropped off the radar a little, he has clean disposal and will get you the ball. He can feed the likes of Hansen and Wells. He is a nice solid selection here.

Pick 28 Adelaide- Clancee Pearce

They got their midfielder and now they’re looking for a replacement for McLoed. This guy captained the WA team and has leadership qualities. He did not look out of place at WAFL level and is a great reader of the play. He has decent speed and is good in traffic, just has a very awkward looking kicking action, but still has a fairly accurate kick.

Pick 29 Collingwood- Ashley Smith

Was a not known by many people for a while there, the draft camp results have really boosted his stocks. He has a long kick and SPEED. I really considered DeBoer here, maybe even Shuey, just thought Smith has some dangerous weapons in his speed and kicking.
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]

Pick 30 Sydney- Jordan Roughead
Sydney take a ruckman here who could end up playing as a forward, has really started to improve his game and has a terrific leap. Will be able to learn of Goodes, hopefully playing that forward/Ruckman.

Pick 31 Western Bulldogs- Paul Cahill
The doggies are looking to increase their height and forward line. They have a solid midfield and just need some taller targets to kick to. Cahill looks like the best available at this pick, hard working forward with a good set of hands.

Pick 32 Western Bulldogs- Tom Lynch

Will end up playing as a key back, but it is not like the doggies could not do with some big bodies down back to help their defence. The doggies have now recruited 3 tall players that should fill the holes in their side. Hopefully the Doggies weakness over the last ten or so years, will become one of their strengths.

Pick 33 Geelong- Jayden Post

The Rocket has moved up the mock draft list, having almost been forgotten about for a couple of years. I really think the success of Taylor last year has paved the way for teams to take mature aged players a little higher than previously. Post looks likely to take over the role of Harley or Milburn in years to come. Maybe as a recruiter, I am putting too much faith in Hawkins holding down the key forward position, they will still be looking for a forward with the next pick. The Cats scored a potential top 25 midfielder on their rookie list in Ranga.

Pick 34 Hawthorn- Daniel Hanneberry

This guy will just run all day long, we all know the love affair with lefties that the Hawks have. Add another one to the mix here, very talented bottom aged player.

Pick 35 Melbourne- Luke Shuey

Was considering Zaharakis here, but Shuey seems to get more of his own ball. The Demons already recruited a speedy midfielder in Blease, so Shuey was a good selection here.
Pick 36 West Coast- Matthew Deboer
Strong midfielder, he has some great attributes with his running and athleticism. As most people know by now he has question marks over his kicking. I think it is a slight BF beat up, and selection 36 is not paying over the odds for this ball winner.
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
Pick 37 Fremantle- Neville Jetta
Well he did slide down to this pick, personally I may have been a little kind with Jetta falling this far. Eagles already had Walters so that stopped me taking him there. I just did not feel another team needed a small forward, when compared to the player they selected. That being said, the Dockers are just about the happiest team in the land. They took a risk in selecting Blight and also got their small forward. Jetta will relish sitting at the feet of Pav, Taz and Sandilands, the perfect replacement for Farmer.

Pick 38 Port Adelaide- Riley Milne

Basically a no frills defender who gets the job done, could do with a little more work with his disposal. Nice solid defender to help sure up the Ports defences.

Pick 39 Geelong- Kade Klemke

He looks like to be a Milburn replacement, has that strong and workman like defence about him. Like all halfbacks, may have potential to drift into the midfield, he is a strong tackler and I think the Cats will like his toughness.

Pick 40 Carlton- Michael Still
I did not have the guts to select Yarran, so I am taking more cover with regards to forwards here. Still has a good mark and leads well. Seems to have good timing with his leads, with his age he may take a while to make it into the AFL.

Pick 41 Brisbane- Dayne Beams

He will play with toughness and fearless attack on the ball. He will add some grunt to the midfield, he just looks born to play AFL, has that mongrel about him. Voss should be used to seeing players of his nature from the old days.

Pick 42 Port Adelaide- Steven Gaertner

I did state that Port were looking to recruit a backman. This guy is super athletic and just takes the game on at full pace. He will provide some run, but has some kicking issues at times. He may have to force himself into more contests and gain some hardness. He has the height and ability to play a key defensive position.

Pick 43 North Melbourne- Phil Davis
Well I have to admit, I’ve seen very little of this guy. After reading some reviews on him, he could be a bolter come draft day. He will work in combination with Hurley to form a solid backline for years to come. He will act as a mobile, athletic CHB and could fly under some team’s radar due to injury.

Pick 44 Adelaide- Mitch Brown
Kicking bags of goals in school football, hopefully he can keep working hard to do the same thing for Adelaide.

Pick 45 Collingwood Todd Banfield

Seemed to enjoy playing in the midfield for the Swans at WAFL level. He has plenty of pace and is a very good kick. Also good below the knees, is almost like a Blease styled player, I actually rate this kid rather highly and will be a welcome addition to the midfield of Collingwood.

Pick 46 Collingwood Johnny Rayner

Worth a punt, this guy is an elite runner. Represented his state in the 1500m and 800m and has a big tank from all reports. The pies have recruited some solid midfielders and added some pace into their rotations.

Pick 47 St Kilda Mitchell Banner
This guy is an in and under, hard working midfielder. Just really needs to work on his disposal, there are too many times when he grabs the ball and boots it down field. This could be a problem in the AFL, teams hate players that don’t kick to a target. Still worthy of being selected at pick 47.

Pick 48 St Kilda Zachery Clarke

Tall project ruckman, the saints need some more depth in this position and they will hope he develops as he adds some bulk.

Pick 49 Geelong Luke Rounds
They will talk a Geelong Falcons boy, he is quick and has a big motor. He will take a while to break into the cats lineup, but he is worth a punt.

Pick 50 Hawthorn David Zaharakis
Just adding depth to the midfield, he is fast and has a good set of hands. Just needs to work on his disposal, He will work hard to get into open space, maybe like a Clinton Young style winger?
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT] ****Ok from now on, I will just thrown some names out there with little to no description.***
Pick 51 Melbourne – Sam Wright
Winger /Half Forward
Pick 52 West Coast- Liam Anthony
Midfielder, this was a decision between Anthony and Cockie, maybe being an East Fremantle supporter stopped me from selecting Cockie here.
Pick 53 Fremantle Lance Daley
Forward
Pick 54 Port Adelaide - Christopher Hall
Midfielders
Pick 55 Essendon - Jordan Jones
Defender
Pick 56 Fremantle - Hayden Ballantyn
Small Forward
Pick 57 Brisbane –Tom Salter
Midfielder
Pick 58 Richmond – Tom Allwright
Midfielder
Pick 59 North Melbourne – Jamie Sheahan
Midfielder
Pick 60 Adelaide – Brad Mangan
Forward/Midfielder
Pick 61 Sydney – Ben Bucovaz
Forward
Pick 62 Sydney Will Young
Utility player.
Pick 63 St Kilda Tom Rockcliff
Small Forward
Pick 64 Western Bulldogs Zach Sengstock
Key back
Pick 65 Geelong - Pass
Pick 66 Hawthorn – Rory Sloane
Midfielder
Melbourne Pick 67 Pass
West Coast Pick 68 Pass
Pick 69 Carlton – Liam Shiels
Midfielder
Pick 70 Port Adelaide - Pass
Essendon Pick 71 Pass
[FONT=&quot]Pick 72 Fremantle Tom Hill
Ruckman

very good :thumbsu:

Freo's picks are just about spot on(in terms of needs), particularly the first 3

Would be EXTREMELY happy with Hurley/Suban/Sheahan. Dont know much about Phil Davis so im not gonna comment on that.

Great effort all-round

great job mate
good to see someone's thoughts on each pick, not just chucking a name in there
also good to see a draft that actually finishes for once

would be very happy with Sidebottom at 10 and Brown at 44 (even moreso if Davis fell another pick)

Never heard of Mangan so can't comment on him but if he's still there i'd like to see us to take Rockliff at 60

Haven't seen Pearce go to the Crows in 1 of these before so haven't really read much on him. Sounds like a bit of a Petrenko to me (not really a bad thing, just we already have one), good to see he has leadership qualities as well

Great attempt.
I reckon Melbourne might draft a ruckman at 51, because Jamar and Johnson arnt exactly special.

Also i think that Liam Jones from tassie will be taken as a bottom age project player late in the draft.

I knew this would happen, making these drafts you change your mind so many times. I just knew I would forget a player, I will attempt to change the draft a little to add in Broadbent.

The only problem is, I think the addition of broadbent may change the selections following him. It is such a shame because I really rate Broadbent.

I will attempt to think about a solution tonight.

great job mate
good to see someone's thoughts on each pick, not just chucking a name in there
also good to see a draft that actually finishes for once

would be very happy with Sidebottom at 10 and Brown at 44 (even moreso if Davis fell another pick)

Never heard of Mangan so can't comment on him but if he's still there i'd like to see us to take Rockliff at 60

Haven't seen Pearce go to the Crows in 1 of these before so haven't really read much on him. Sounds like a bit of a Petrenko to me (not really a bad thing, just we already have one), good to see he has leadership qualities as well

If you get Mangan you will be very happy. Can play either end of the ground. Good player with a lot of upside:thumbsu:

Pick 1 Melbourne- Jack Watts
Pick 2 West Coast- Nicholas Natanui

Pick 3 Fremantle- Daniel Rich
Pick 4 Port Adelaide- Tyrone Vickery

Pick 5 Essendon- Hamish Hartlett

Pick 7 Brisbane- Chris Yarran

Pick 8 Richmond- Shaun McKernan
Pick 10 Adelaide- Steele Sidebottom

Pick 11 Collingwood- Tom Swift
Pick 12 Sydney- Lewis Johnston
Pick 13 St Kilda- Jackson Trengove

Pick 14 Western Bulldogs- Ayce Cordy
Pick 15 Geelong- Stephen Hill

I reckon you have put the top 13 players in the top 13 picks if that makes sense. The order may change just change. I am hoping from a cats perspective that one of McKernan/Trengove/Johnston will slip as they have in every one of the previous mock drafts that have been posted. Failing that perhaps Swift.

If this scenario played out I still don't think we would take Hill. He just doesn't look like a Bomber Thompson footballer to me. I know others rate him highly, I just can't get enthused on what I have seen from him (which is limited I must admit).

I reckon we would be more likely to perhaps look at a Strauss or Ash Smith to replace Milburn/Harley down the track or even consider Shoenmaker if a tall was deemed the way to go.

Otherwise well done.

Good explanations and at least you have the Eagles addressing their need for a small forward fairly early. Only surprise is Strauss, he is not someone that most other phantom drafts seem to have mentioned. I'd still like a small defender in their somewhere however.:)

I know I'm nitpicking, and I would be happy with all those picks, but if Melbourne came out of the draft with those players I would not be over the moon.
Watts and Blease are fantastic.
I like Schoenmakers as a player, I know in this day and age positions don't matter too much, but I see both Watts and Schoenmakers as CHF's, and disregarding his height, I'm not sold on Schoenmakers being able to play KP, I don't know what it is but from when I've seen him play I think 3rd tall...
I don't mind the selection of Shuey, but he is not really the type of midfielder Melbourne need, Mclean, Jones, Grimes, Moloney and others all play similar roles to Shuey, another solid no frills inside midfielder with fairly average disposal will not be at the top of our list.
As for Sam Wright he doesn't fill a need and would be behind players such as Davey, Sylvia, Wona, Maric + others for a game. At our last pick(35) I'd be pondering taking a ruck/ back pocket, but would pass if there was a standout player available, at 51 we really need to take one of these.
I was also wondering as to why we would pass at 67? With no 'standout' players available for PSD I'd think we would probably just take a kid in the ND. The only upside to using the PSD would be so that they could train with us for a few weeks, however if this happened there would be less of a field to choose from, as picks will be utilised after our last.

Carlton – They will aim to improve their forward line and a key backman to free up Waite.
To be honest, I had Yarran here for months. The fact that Carlton’s next pick was not until pick 40 made me select the “safer” option. Personally, if Carlton went for Yarran I would not complain. Instead I actually think they will pick Ziebell, he can play as a forward and has one of the best kicks in the draft. Taller midfielder/Half Forward, could play as a third tall to Fevola and Kruezer. (Still kicking myself, that I did not have the guts to pick Yarran here)
North will be wondering how Hurley has slipped to their pick, but will not be complaining in the slightest. He fits their needs perfectly, a big bodied backman. He just has that so called Shinboner spirit for the contest. You know with Hurley that you will always get 100% effort. His speed has let him slip a little further down the draft order than first expected.
You stated that Carlton needs a KPP, but you then have us picking Ziebell ahead of Hurley? :confused: