Tarrant is a tool thread!

• Thread starter Thread starter magpies42

at the end of the day we dont know what was said on the ground but i do think that you should shake your opponents hand, Fev and dids shook hands. Pendles did the right thing, tarrant didnt. hence the tool comment.

Spot on. :thumbsu:

Full credit to Pendlebury he has been fantastic this year but if Tarrant refused to shake his hand then I would love to know what he has said to him. Even his own team mates seemed a bit bemused by the way he carried on.

They were patting him on the back and ruffling his hair for flying the flag. Don't know what drugs you are on, but the boys were pleased that Pendlebury stood up for his teammate.

ive nothing against Tarrant, i thought he was a gun when he played for us, and thought he didnt do too badlfy last night, barring his kicking at goal.

i booed him when he was shooting, and luckily he missed, but then im with all the others that boos everyone that has a set shot trying to make them miss.

didnt see what happened with pendlebury, but i personally beleive we will be better off out of the trade (the article in this weeks footy record is a good one), the guy didnt want to play here anymore, we got a good deal so i am happy to move on.

I know i'm probably going against the current here, but he crossed the line tonight and has been banished from my good books forever!
Having scuffles during the game is all fine, but to refuse to shake pendlebury's hand at the end of the game is very juvenile. alot is said and done during the course of a game and he should be man enough not to insult our star onballer. Im gonna make a firm stand and back pendles here even if taz WAS one of our greats
what a tool!!!!

Juvenile is the Collingwood fans booing a guy u gave the flick to!!!

Here's what happened for those who didn't see it:

1. Tarrant gave O'bree a bump on the 3/4 time siren (pretty sure it was o'bree)
2. Pendles came running over (admittedly the only one) to 'fly the flag' and get stuck into taz about it.
3. Taz walked off, Pendles went back to the huddle & got pats on the back and hair-ruffles from damn-near everyone.

4. Pendles and taz kept giving it to each other for the last quarter, culminating in taz giving him a cheeky one to the chops, behind play, in the centre. McBurney saw it, a free was given (pretty sure?)

5. At the end of the game, Sir Pendlebury went towards tarrant and stuck his hand out to shake. either tarrant didn't see it, or ignored it. pendles went AGAIN (didn't get shown on TV) and got no shake for a second time.

This is what i saw from the benchside-wing. May be some discrepancies.
Cheers.

I watched both moments over and over in slow motion high definition splendor.
The worst part about this was Taz's former and current mates, Dids, Fraser and Swannie actually went and PROTECTED Tarrant and pat him on the back! I cant f-ing believe that! I love those guys but that was close to the softest thing I've seen from collingwood players, Mates or not, you stick up for team mate, particularly a young star.

Travis, Tarks and Dutchy all go to Pendles to support him. Dutchy actually nods and says "Yeah well done!" and ruffles his hair. Chris Johnson comes over and praises him. Thats what you like to see.

And with regards to the hand shake snub, Taz looked into Pendle's eyes with Pendles smiling and hand outstretched and he just turned away. Gave him nothing! That moment has made it easier for me to let Tarrant go, because I WAS a huge fan. Definitely not now.

I had absolutlely no hatred towards Chris Tarrant and was dissapointed to see him go. He served us well for 9 years and people forget he was on 1 leg from 04 to 06 and required shin surgery before commencing pre season with the dockers. He gave his all for us on one leg and was often unfairly criticised.

However, I felt the trade was neccessary as I just couldn't watch him miss crucial goals under pressure (especially in finals) for another year in the black & white. I never bagged him, but the elimination final vs the Dogs last year was the final straw for me (and perhaps him?).

He is still a sensational played with an obvious kicking flaw, that has now infiltrated not only his goalkicking, but he coukdn't hit a target last night either. However, despite all this I thought he would be a genuine star at Freo and he still could be. (He would have been better off at WCE, direct trade for Rosa would have been nice :D )

Last night though, I lost all respect for the man. Not because he bumped O'Bree which was fine, but because he efused to shake Pendles hand. I have watched the replay of that incident a few times this morning on my Foxtel IQ and he clearly brushes Pendles, not once but twice. Very poor form Taz, what happens on the field - stays there.

Here's what happened for those who didn't see it:

1. Tarrant gave O'bree a bump on the 3/4 time siren (pretty sure it was o'bree)
2. Pendles came running over (admittedly the only one) to 'fly the flag' and get stuck into taz about it.
3. Taz walked off, Pendles went back to the huddle & got pats on the back and hair-ruffles from damn-near everyone.

4. Pendles and taz kept giving it to each other for the last quarter, culminating in taz giving him a cheeky one to the chops, behind play, in the centre. McBurney saw it, a free was given (pretty sure?)

5. At the end of the game, Sir Pendlebury went towards tarrant and stuck his hand out to shake. either tarrant didn't see it, or ignored it. pendles went AGAIN (didn't get shown on TV) and got no shake for a second time.

This is what i saw from the benchside-wing. May be some discrepancies.
Cheers.
A good summation, I watched Taz after the game and saw him shake everyones hand but missed the apparent Pendlebury snub. I didn't boo Taz last night and neither did the guys I was with but plenty did. He played well leading up the ground but his problems kicking for goal remain. It's now done and I think we should all move on and stop the sniping of one of our FORMER players.

PS I've walked off the sporting field plenty of times without shaking certain players hands because they've carried on like a Rick with a silent "P", some of you need to stop being so precious.

Tarrant wanted to leave Melbourne, and had said he wanted to goto West Coast, leaving seemed to be the best for him because he needed a change (ala Paul Williams.) Booing could be because many of the fans out there defended Tarrant when a lot called him weak as piss and called him a dud.

But we are not the only ones to boo a former player, hell Port supporters boo Buckley, and he never played an AFL game with them...there's a lot of booing of other players as well..

I watched both moments over and over in slow motion high definition splendor.
The worst part about this was Taz's former and current mates, Dids, Fraser and Swannie actually went and PROTECTED Tarrant and pat him on the back! I cant f-ing believe that! I love those guys but that was close to the softest thing I've seen from collingwood players, Mates or not, you stick up for team mate, particularly a young star.

Travis, Tarks and Dutchy all go to Pendles to support him. Dutchy actually nods and says "Yeah well done!" and ruffles his hair. Chris Johnson comes over and praises him. Thats what you like to see.

And with regards to the hand shake snub, Taz looked into Pendle's eyes with Pendles smiling and hand outstretched and he just turned away. Gave him nothing! That moment has made it easier for me to let Tarrant go, because I WAS a huge fan. Definitely not now.

yeah i saw that and it is one of the reasons why i felt compelled to start this thread. I think we need to support his actions because quite frankly pendelbury is our future and im not sure that he got all the support he deserved from the playing group (namely those players listed). I had queries that he maybe a tad indifferent about how he goes about it. Those queries have been extinguished with him firing up against the monster that is taz and throwing himself back into a pack when teh game was on the line. All things being equal the kid will be a superstar, no doubt about it.

Exactly right, the only one to make a stand about Tarrant's stand over tactics ( the way Thomas copped it from him and no-one came in to fly the flag for him was astonishing ). Pendles shows something awesome just about every quarter of football he plays, and it was more about his actions at that moment that put a smile on my face. At the end of the game, he handled himself with style, put forward the hand shake and was knocked back by a fragile and soft between the ears sook. Again, Pendles took it all in his stride, and just moved on, clearly as the better man. Tarrant chose the way he went about playing against the club that put up with his constant let downs, mid week drinking and socialising, bad influence on younger players, all the while defending him in the public forum and still paying him the second highest salary package on the list. Good on Brodie as well, constantly letting Pendles know, both during and after the game, that what he did was the right thing and a spur for the team. Tarrant was walking around treating his ex-teammates with distain, and the rest of the team looked a little worried about what he would do to us.

Bloody beautiful Pendles, keep up the great work! :thumbsu:

Thanks mate, that is obviously the last word on juvenile, because you would know being a Blue.Your captain is a jelly donut car egger and Fevola is like a teenager on the piss. But yep, we are juvenile for barracking.:confused:

I gave it to Tarrant all match and after i saw that i knew it was all deserved there is no regret in him leaving Collingwood after that he acted like a spoiled child who couldnt get his way. real poor form and well done to Penders for flying the falg and then after the game remebering its just that a game

Chris Tarrant. Disgusting and Pathetic

this thread isn't about his performance, his parting of the club. It's about the end of the game last night. Scott Pendlebury made an effort to go over to him after the game, looked him in the eye and extended his hand, to which Tarrant looked at him and walked off.

You disgrace Chris Tarrant!

Then it is unanimous, i just hope that the tarrent faction at the pies(johnson, dids and the rest of the gays) dont take the wrong side.
id be prepared to trade all of those players just to keep pendles:p

Not shaking someone's hand after a game because you have some sort of beef with them is juvenile in itself.

It's a game... that's it.

Nick Davis>Tarrant

I can't believe I just typed that

I can't believe I just read that...though I would think that Davis can be more then useful when you needed a goal...I remember the little bastard popped up against us at the Dome in 2003 and won them the Swans the game..

i would agree with that, when fit nick davis was always better then taz!
taz is a tool;)

It just makes you glad he is no longer at the club, that sort of attitude can bring a cancer throughout your club, and we are much better off without him.

I find it down right disrespectful not to shake someones hand after the match, did Pendles go over to him, or neither of them made the effort?

the well sourced 'member' said that Taz told him he's a smartass and he'd deck him if he saw him on the street :p