Tarrant's Problem

Sep 18, 2006
tarrant's problem and collingwoods problem is rocca. if he had any stamina and forward line pressure to run out a game in the forward 50 chris won't need to be used in this capacity. he's used to compensate for rocca's lack of fitness.

tarrants always covering for rocca in the forward line. if we had a key forward who can chase and not have defenders run of him every minute we can use chris as the saints use reiwoldt, long leads, opening up space.

problem is rocca losses energy 5 minutes into the game and opposition defenders run like crazy of him leaving tarrant to have to push back to the square and we lose our link player coming from the half forward line.

trading tarrant will only worsen things at collingwood.

I think Tarrants problems are
* Injured knee for most of 2005
* Shin splints for most of 2006.
But hey, we should just ignore that, because if he can't produce a 100% effort each week with those injuries, he should be traded right? :rolleyes:

The whole thing is fairly obvious. Seems everybody forgets that for the first half of the year everybody was screaming "Oh Rocca and Oh Tarrant" they are back etc etc.

Simple fact is they both effectively missed last year, Rocca literally and Tarrant may as well have due to the knee.
Coming back from a year off effectively don't necessarily expect stellar performance for a full season.

THey've had a full season now with the ups and down's, will have another pre-season under the belts, next year should in theory show rocca back to form and tarrant having in my opinion faced his little f*ck ups and taken them on board should actually blaze a trail next year.

Having said that if next year is a repeat of the 2nd half of this year, there's no excuses this time around.

Chris Tarrant- Season 2006.

7th in marks at the club- not bad considering we play running possession footy and we have serial guys like joshy (around the ground ruckman), jimmy clement and heath shaw racking up marks at half back, as well as guys like dane swan who not only wins clearances, but get's free space. 151 marks in total.

The biggest worry for taz is his efficiency.

36 goals, 31 behinds. Thats just over 50% (53.73134....). That really is crap. Then you compare it to guys like fev- who's kicking at 70-80% efficiency, then guys like matty lloyd who when he won his coleman kicked at 80%+ efficiency in front of goal.

His kicking is the worry. If taz say, kicked 47 goals 20 i reckon he would've won our goal kicking, been much more efficient yet still had a 70% efficency in front of goal, leaving room for greater improvement.

Many games this year he kicked 1 goal 4 or something like that. Anyone remember round 2/3 against the roos in 2005 on a friday night at the G? we lost by 3 or so points, and chris kicked 1.5 or something, including two posters, most from shots in front of goal.

Therefore, his kicking is his biggest concern- rarely have i regularly seen him kick through the ball with a straight leg- it's always bent!!!! Hence the lack of distant and the usual floating helicopters that result.

It's not a hard problem to fix, but seriously the club needs to get their wits togethor because like i said- it can be easily resolved with a goal kicking coach. Someone like Peter McKenna, etc, to help tarrant with an obvious problem.

Take into account, that chris likes to play up the ground, more as a roaming CHF/ HFF and gets alot of his possessions 45+ metres out. Therefroe, 50 goals (or 47 in my example) would be a great result and all of a sudden he looks a far more damaging prospect.

Macedonian Magpie said:
tarrant's problem and collingwoods problem is rocca. if he had any stamina and forward line pressure to run out a game in the forward 50 chris won't need to be used in this capacity. he's used to compensate for rocca's lack of fitness.

tarrants always covering for rocca in the forward line. if we had a key forward who can chase and not have defenders run of him every minute we can use chris as the saints use reiwoldt, long leads, opening up space.

problem is rocca losses energy 5 minutes into the game and opposition defenders run like crazy of him leaving tarrant to have to push back to the square and we lose our link player coming from the half forward line.

trading tarrant will only worsen things at collingwood.

So what should you do about Rocca then?

Angelus512 said:
The whole thing is fairly obvious. Seems everybody forgets that for the first half of the year everybody was screaming "Oh Rocca and Oh Tarrant" they are back etc etc.

Simple fact is they both effectively missed last year, Rocca literally and Tarrant may as well have due to the knee.
Coming back from a year off effectively don't necessarily expect stellar performance for a full season.

THey've had a full season now with the ups and down's, will have another pre-season under the belts, next year should in theory show rocca back to form and tarrant having in my opinion faced his little f*ck ups and taken them on board should actually blaze a trail next year.

Having said that if next year is a repeat of the 2nd half of this year, there's no excuses this time around.

I think with you it now makes 6 of us, discussing it rationally.

Having said that if Wet Toast offered up Judd (not that it would ever occur) or we were offered some other 'non-refusable' trade, I'd help Taz pack his bags

I would have to say what Macedonian Magpie said actually makes sense. I had never really thought about it like that.
I really hope that Taz stays and has a brilliant pre-season and comes out and shoves it up all his critics arses!!!
Taz, I believe is a confidence player so he needs to have a great start and hopefully he doesn't get injured in the process!!

GO TAZZA

Murray said:
I think with you it now makes 6 of us, discussing it rationally.

Having said that if Wet Toast offered up Judd (not that it would ever occur) or we were offered some other 'non-refusable' trade, I'd help Taz pack his bags

Make that 7. Only trade if a great deal for us. Minimum Freos' pick 13 + player or Geelong pick 7.

Hopefully we pick up a skillful mid with pick 10 and with the experience and skills of Thomas and Pendlebury, throw in Johnno and Swanny and our delivery to tarrant will improve and so will his confidence along with his output. Don't forget R Shaw will be better too, after gaining confidence from his knee reco.

Love to see Peter Mckenna assist with tarrant with his goal kicking too.

Bay Pie said:
Make that 7. Only trade if a great deal for us. Minimum Freos' pick 13 + player or Geelong pick 7.

Hopefully we pick up a skillful mid with pick 10 and with the experience and skills of Thomas and Pendlebury, throw in Johnno and Swanny and our delivery to tarrant will improve and so will his confidence along with his output. Don't forget R Shaw will be better too, after gaining confidence from his knee reco.

Love to see Peter Mckenna assist with tarrant with his goal kicking too.
Agreed and the McKenna idea is good too

johnson_26 said:
Anyone remember round 2/3 against the roos in 2005 on a friday night at the G? we lost by 3 or so points, and chris kicked 1.5 or something, including two posters, most from shots in front of goal.
Pendlebury...;) ... but I know what you mean, his inaccuracy is deleterious...

If Tarrant gets traded, I personally will be extremely pi$$ed off... fairly confident I wouldn't be alone. Additionally, we would advertise stupidity if we got rid of him...

A conversation I had with a certain person alluded to him staying at Collingwood, how true it was remains to be seen...

I don't believe he is going anywhere...:cool: The only place he should be moving to is occassionally into the midfield...

Chris doesn't deserve to be traded this year... and if he does half the midfield and the rest of our forward line should be looking for new homes too. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that he stays!

Murray who are the 6 disccussing it rationally?

Personally we should only trade Tarrant if it improves our team. I don't want mediocre deals like Crowley/Schammer and 13, or Rosa (Yawn) and pick 16. We should be getting in Geelongs ear and trying to pry pick 7 and evne Kelly off them in some sort of deal if we are shopping around Tarrant.

I don't think we should look at it as "There are others I'd trade before Tarrant" the fact is Tarrant has currency and we can afford to take a risk with players like T.Cloke, Rusling and Fraser who can all go forward.

If I hear "If he's so good then why are you trading him" from an opposition supporter again who has NO IDEA of the value players command in trades despite COUNTLESS examples, then I am going to explode. Let me answer it once and for all, we are looking to trade him because we can afford to lose him, and we want to improve other areas of our team. Trading is not a one-way process. We are not looking to sell off Tarrant at ebay for the best bid we get, we are looking for a deal that will improve our side. Tall forwards are an area we are well stocked in. People forget we were the highest scoring side of 2006 despite Rocca and Tarrant having shockers according to some people. That is not bad for a disfunctioning forward line and a team who finished 7th. So who kicked our goals? Tarrant was a huge part of that. He was 5th in the AFL for goal assists.

I think Tarrant's biggest problem is that the delivery he gets is shocking.

How many times have we seen him lead away from his man, only to have the ball kicked to his toes or over his head?

jabso said:
Murray who are the 6 disccussing it rationally?

Personally we should only trade Tarrant if it improves our team. I don't want mediocre deals like Crowley/Schammer and 13, or Rosa (Yawn) and pick 16. We should be getting in Geelongs ear and trying to pry pick 7 and evne Kelly off them in some sort of deal if we are shopping around Tarrant.

I don't think we should look at it as "There are others I'd trade before Tarrant" the fact is Tarrant has currency and we can afford to take a risk with players like T.Cloke, Rusling and Fraser who can all go forward.

If I hear "If he's so good then why are you trading him" from an opposition supporter again who has NO IDEA of the value players command in trades despite COUNTLESS examples, then I am going to explode. Let me answer it once and for all, we are looking to trade him because we can afford to lose him, and we want to improve other areas of our team. Trading is not a one-way process. We are not looking to sell off Tarrant at ebay for the best bid we get, we are looking for a deal that will improve our side. Tall forwards are an area we are well stocked in. People forget we were the highest scoring side of 2006 despite Rocca and Tarrant having shockers according to some people. That is not bad for a disfunctioning forward line and a team who finished 7th. So who kicked our goals? Tarrant was a huge part of that. He was 5th in the AFL for goal assists.

You
morax
bobby-diggy
me
Mark
j26
and now
Bay Pie

I probably left a couple out too

i dont think the club will trade tarrant unless the deal was heavily weighted in our favour. I think our midfield stocks will improve by themselves- thomas, shaw, pendlebury, swan, iles, johnson, egan, davies, rhyce shaw etc. along with this years crop of draftees and with some of our experienced heads. I think Taz is a very important component of what looks to be one of the most potent forward lines in the comp (highest scoring team in the league) and i would love to see tarrant, rocca, rusling, t.cloke, didak, davis and occasionally buckley all rotating and spending time in there- itll just send shivers down opposition backlines. I think tarrant is simply a forward but who can get up the ground and perhaps occasionally line up on a wing to cause mis-matches. He'll be at the club in 2007 and over the summer hopefully gets his goal-kicking straightened out.

If he is traded, preferably for Geelong's pick 7 and Kelly or Tenace. Draft one of the big boys from the top 10. Train and develop as our future star CHF/FF.
Generalisation, people dislike change. Tarrant, on song, can be a powerhouse forward in the AFL, but he is 26. How many years left in the tank? A player, who has known to be questioned in regards to hunger and desire to play AFL.
Lets way up the options. We can get a top 10-15 pick in the 'superdraft' and a young midfielder for him. If we are dealing with Geelong, and it is Kane Tenace or Kelly, it may be worth the risk, I don't know enough about Kelly.
Everyone is thinking that the player is important in this trade. In my eyes, the top 10 pick KPP is more important. A 33-34 YO Tarrant will be useless when the likes of Pendles, Thomas ect hit their prime in the middle. So adding a KPP and a promising young midfielder with speed is of a more valuable asset to Collingwood for our future. People think trading Tarrant is a negative step for Collingwood. I believe, not trading him will set us back one young possible-star player, possibly two.

An 18yo + 21-22-23yo >>>>>>>>>> 26yo

Taz is a gem, but if he cant get his head right then he will never be a player. fact is that all star players have to deal with injuries and media scrutiny at some stage, he has repetedly shown that he cant deal with that. I reckon they should force him to do a few interviews just to get him used to the whole thing. his ability is outstanding and the reason why he is underperforming is mental (goal kicking, bad body language at times)! sure he has had injury problems but surely that wont continue forever.
i would only trade taz if we got something of worth (ie couple of first rounders or a first rounder and good youngin).
Taz is great

magpies42 said:
Taz is a gem, but if he cant get his head right then he will never be a player. fact is that all star players have to deal with injuries and media scrutiny at some stage
Exactly!
Why is it different for Chris Tarrant? Didak carried a knee injury and to a lesser extent, a slight tear to his ACL and won our B&F.

McLeod, with this foot injury and he killed it.

Kerr & Barry played in the GF with a foot injury and a strained hammy.

ect.
Its all about heart.
Heaps of players play injuried and do a decent job. Injuries aren't an excuse for two years. He hasnt been completely ****house, but he should've been doing better.

EG. Against Adelaide, he could've kicked the winning goal. It WAS an impossible shot. But thats what makes a star player a STAR PLAYER, to do the impossible. If he was ANY OTHER PLAYER, with a little more heart, Bucks, Rocca ect. He would've passed it off to someone who would've had a shot from somewhere easier, or done the impossible and won the game for Collingwood, I cant see Buckley missing that shot had we needed a goal to win.

PieLebo87 said:
If he is traded, preferably for Geelong's pick 7 and Kelly or Tenace. Draft one of the big boys from the top 10. Train and develop as our future star CHF/FF.
Generalisation, people dislike change. Tarrant, on song, can be a powerhouse forward in the AFL, but he is 26. How many years left in the tank? A player, who has known to be questioned in regards to hunger and desire to play AFL.
Lets way up the options. We can get a top 10-15 pick in the 'superdraft' and a young midfielder for him. If we are dealing with Geelong, and it is Kane Tenace or Kelly, it may be worth the risk, I don't know enough about Kelly.
Everyone is thinking that the player is important in this trade. In my eyes, the top 10 pick KPP is more important. A 33-34 YO Tarrant will be useless when the likes of Pendles, Thomas ect hit their prime in the middle. So adding a KPP and a promising young midfielder with speed is of a more valuable asset to Collingwood for our future. People think trading Tarrant is a negative step for Collingwood. I believe, not trading him will set us back one young possible-star player, possibly two.

An 18yo + 21-22-23yo >>>>>>>>>> 26yo

exactly right,

Why should we trade Tarrant?

We have stuck by him before and we have put a lot of time and effort in Chris, all to appear dead over foolish trade talks ... I don't think so. Tarrant is worth far more than Pick 16 and Beau Waters, Or any mid-ranged midfielder!

Talented key forwards are a rare commodity whom bob up once every 10 - 20 years.

Coin_Toss said:
Why should we trade Tarrant?

We have stuck by him before and we have put a lot of time and effort in Chris, all to appear dead over foolish trade talks ... I don't think so. Tarrant is worth far more than Pick 16 and Beau Waters, Or any mid-ranged midfielder!

Talented key forwards are a rare commodity whom bob up once every 10 - 20 years.
You shouldnt let your past rule your future.
So why dont we also keep Cam Cloke and Jason? We've put plenty of time and effort into them! Its not about what has happened in the past, it doesnt matter if we've been training Taz since he was an infant, the point is, here and now, he isn't living upto the standards we are wishing for as a football club and from the fans from a star player at this club.

As for KPP being a commodity that bob up every 10-20 years, you are SPOT ON!
THATS why, we should do everything in our power to get picks from this draft, referred to as a superdraft, which also happens to be one of the tallest drafts in history. The top 10 has about 5 or so 190cm+ future man-mountains.

Tarrant's Problem