Club Focus Tasmania 2028 - The List Build

AFL Club Focus

Wasn't done as FA though.

They were a limited number of picks GC was given that they were required trade for players (or lose them).

You're proposing an unlimited* number of FA picks.

* - OK... limited by the number of Tas players...
Palmer joined Greater Western Sydney in September 2011, becoming the third uncontracted player, after Phil Davis and Callan Ward, to join the club in preparation for its entry into the AFL for the 2012 season.

GoldCoast and GWS didn't trade for uncontracted players, this was a form of Free Agency limited to players signing with expansion clubs before actual Free Agency became a normal thing in the AFL. Hence the article mentioning Freo receiving and trading their "compensation" pick.

And I am not proposing or supporting anything - others might be - just saying that opening up picks across multiple years has happened previously.

I can really see a team wanting a star from another team and trading a solid player for a high pick.

Beggars can’t be choosers

Who is going to want to live and play there?

North have shown that throwing buckets of money doesn’t work if the club is a cellar dweller, which this team will be

I still think an expansion draft is the way to go for 40 -60% of the initial list.
One 27-31 year old from each club.

I still think an expansion draft is the way to go for 40 -60% of the initial list.

Just a passing idea, but...

1 player per club, but set the salary range.

top 6 clubs, Tas can get any player (who is willing to go to them).
7-12 on the ladder, Only those in the bottom 2/3 of the salary range (going by the offer Tas makes to them).
13-18, only players in the bottom 1/3 of the salary range. (so probably just depth type players)

Stops bottom clubs being gutted during a time when the usual equalisation measures wont help them (much).

I reckon Toby Nankervis is a fair chance to go home for a year or two. He'd be 33 so doubt he'd play much but would be a culture setter.

Well it depends on how you see it.

I mean I look on how West coast eagles and Brisbane with the experienced players they got in 1986-7

West coast had 35 players in their main squad. 7 of those 35 blokes had played for VFL clubs before 1987. John Annear and Ross Glendenning were 30 years old or over.

Guys like Phil Narkle were either injury prone fringe or rotation players aged between 21-26 years old.

The 28 other blokes came from the VFL aged 19-23 years old that never played VFL prior to 1987.

I look at Brisbane. They got lots of blokes at the near end of their careers or rotation or fringe players from other clubs.

Yes Brisbane had access to local Queensland players. But the Queensland state league didn't produce AFL or VFL standard players compared to the WAFL.

I am gonna be realistic and honest here.

I think Tassie will build up their list just like GWS did.

Tassie will get 40-45 players.

Most AFL teams have 38 players in the main squad and 6 rookie spots.

Tassie will get 36 players in the main squad and 8 or 9 players in the rookie list.

Tassie will get 16 draft picks. They will get picks 1 , 2 , 3 and 4. Then the 1st 2 picks of every round of 2nd, 3rd , 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th rounds.

Tassie will get 8-12 players from other AFL clubs. But we will say 10.

I say 4 or 5 blokes aged 30 or over on 1 or 2 or 3 year deals.

Then get 5 or 6 blokes that are hacks or rotational players. So basically guys aged 22 to 25 year old that have played 20-30 games over 4 or 5 or 6 years.

Then top up the list with 8-12 players aged 21 to 25 years old.

I reckon Toby Nankervis is a fair chance to go home for a year or two. He'd be 33 so doubt he'd play much but would be a culture setter.
If that happens, how long would Toby Nankervis be on the Tassie list? I say 2 or 3 years.

I mean I won't be shocked if Alex Pearce is on Tassies list as a 32 year old. Tassie would offer him 3 years while rotating the younger tall defenders.

If that happens, how long would Toby Nankervis be on the Tassie list? I say 2 or 3 years.

I mean I won't be shocked if Alex Pearce is on Tassies list as a 32 year old. Tassie would offer him 3 years while rotating the younger tall defenders.
Yeah probably only a couple of years, enough to have an impact. Pearce and Nank would be great additions as elder statesman and mentors IMO.

That's fair enough.

I don't want Tassie to get similar concessions like what GWS and Gold coast did.

Sure hand them 48 to 50 players...

So 6 or 7 or 8 blokes from other AFL clubs and 40 teenagers? Nah stuff that.

Force them to moderate the squad. 10 mature aged blokes aged 21 to 25 is fine.

But yeah some old blokes aged 30 or 31 or 32 years old on 2 or 3 year deals help.

After that, you are gonna have a list of 21-25 year Olds with 40-60 games under the belt after 3 full seasons.

Yep. I said this earlier in the thread. Age counts against him but he's not someone who has ever relied on pace so as long as he can still cover the ground he'll be a great get.

He's a leader and could easily be a heart and soul player for them in their formative years, and their inaugural captain. Even if it's only for a year or two he'd have a profound impact, and may see it as an easy stepping stone to a coaching or development role after that.

Dunno if he'll do it, but I'm certain Brendon Gale will have spoken to him and/or his management.

I think they should be allowed to have a few rookie players a year or 2 before they get into the comp like gold coast or GWS
So I went and found the answer myself, it's from the 2026 draft onwards. I do wonder if they should be allowed to pre-list Jack Miller from this year's draft, because first-round picks get three years, so he won't be out of contract before Tasmania enter if he goes in round 1. But I guess they can still trade for players who are in contract.

Dunno if he'll do it, but I'm certain Brendon Gale will have spoken to him and/or his management.

I'd guess that they've probably had a quiet word to everyone with any significant Tas connection.

I'd also imagine that as the time gets closer, that 'connection' will be more and more loosely defined...."X visited his auntie in Devonport for a week during school holidays when he was 12...Let's have a chat with him"

I think they should be allowed to have a few rookie players a year or 2 before they get into the comp like gold coast or GWS

VFL team starts next year. (assuming all the politics works out).

So from this draft, give Tas kids the option of bypassing the draft and being 'rookied' into that team.

I'd also allow players who miss out on the draft to play for Tas, with Tas getting to 'pre-select' them when they get a proper list. (similar to mid season draft qualification, but with Tas getting as many picks as they need).

They probably wouldn't get any superstars from these concessions, but it'd give them some depth and help build a decent VFL team, which will help establish a foundation for them along the path.

Can't really have them in the proper draft (or rookie draft) this year given they'd be forced to only play VFL for 2 years, but having prospects choose to take such voluntary steps (with a little incentive) is a different matter.

Starting to look that Tassie about to lose the Liscence as Premier getting Kicked Out

Yep...

No confidence motion -> fresh elections -> minimum 6(?) week delay on Stadium agreement -> AFL deadline passed.

It might be possible to kick the can down the road and work on a team for 2029 rather than 2028, but that would require some serious negotiating.

Starting to look that Tassie about to lose the Liscence as Premier getting Kicked Out

They aren't backing out now, they'll just play games between the 2 towns for a while longer and probably settle for a less fancy stadium getting built. Something will get built.

The AFL will have a massive hard-on for the prospect of adding a 10th game every week within the next 5-10 years, they live for the TV deal money above all else, they won"t walk away from adding another club now, it would damage the 'brand' too much at this stage.

The AFL won’t decide this, not unless they completely reverse their position and allow the tas side to use existing stadiums which won’t happen.

RIP Devils, we hardly knew ye.

Mate, be realistic.

Something will be built.

It might not be exactly what the AFL want but it will happen.

The league will settle on something that keeps everyone happy.

Mate, be realistic.

Something will be built.

It might not be exactly what the AFL want but it will happen.

The league will settle on something that keeps everyone happy

Are you following the political and economic environment down there at all? There’s a reason the GM of Tassie Devils was on TV crying today. It’s a disaster.