Taylor Duryea

Hard as nails, basically a Goo lite at the moment but with more development and gametime I think he will be able to take over his spot when it is finally time to say goodbye to Brent. Massive legs though and a lovely kick. That first kick in that tight space was a beauty.

Bit fumbly but expected with nerves and the wet surface/ball. His attack on the contest was great. Hope Clarko sticks him in next week to keep an eye on one of the cheeky Freo smalls.

Very good call.

The side has a much better balance with no young and suckling.

And Stratts return to elite form has been epic.

Im not saying for a moment there isn't a spot for Suckling btw. I would love to see him playing a wing/hf. Can you imagine Suckling in Mitchell's center back spot?

Yep, solid debut and as has been stated, he contests very well which is something you can never have enough of. It has been a bit of a gap with Puopolo playing forward for his pressure. I am looking forward to watching him develop. Doesn't seem to panic and reckon his confidence will grow with a few games under his belt.

Did anyone notice the footage of Clarko mouthing his name (with an expletive...) when that ball went through his legs & they scored?

Still a pretty solid debut, hope he gets more of a run.

Well done young man. I'm sure that will be the first of many games for the brown n gold. Channel 7 news showed the team singing the song and Taylor in the middle being doused in drink. Another ex Caulifield Grammer football team captain along with Chris Judd & Brett Deledio where he was compared very favourably to them. Good pedigree.

Honestly wasn't that impressed. It's his first game I know and I am not having a go at him and saying he won't make it but he was very fumbly and kicked a couple out on the full. It was wet I know and everyone was fumbling but still. Would be surprised if he was picked next week. I do like how hard he went at it though :thumbsu:

Liked his game, fumbled a bit but can put that down to the conditions and nerves. What really stood out was that he never looked like he was out of place or lost, knew what he was there for and played his role. Not an easy task to step into a side who are going up against a team with a really strong midfield as a backman but he did really well. Has a good kick on him and I reckon he did more than enough to hold his spot going into next week.

Well done Doc

Agree. At one time he fumbled in the centre and lost it. He didn't hang his head, but ran to position and got a pass from Hodge. Two things I got out of this - 1) he's not intimidated, and 2) Hodge could have ignored his lead fearing he'd fumble again, but kicked to his team mate in the right position. That's the sign of a good, confident team.

Very impressive debut. His pace was my concern but he seemed to keep up.

His development has been steady without ever being remarkable. Every year he has come on Dunno if he will hold his spot with Brian and maybe Sewell to come back. Regardless he looks like a 100 gamer.

Another ex Caulifield Grammer football team captain along with Chris Judd & Brett Deledio where he was compared very favourably to them. Good pedigree.

And we still have another Caulfield Grammarian in Lowden to debut sometime this year.

Honestly wasn't that impressed. It's his first game I know and I am not having a go at him and saying he won't make it but he was very fumbly and kicked a couple out on the full. It was wet I know and everyone was fumbling but still. Would be surprised if he was picked next week. I do like how hard he went at it though :thumbsu:

Hodgey kicked one out on the full as well :p

Doc needed to kick that goal though.

Very impressive debut. His pace was my concern but he seemed to keep up.

His development has been steady without ever being remarkable. Every year he has come on Dunno if he will hold his spot with Brian and maybe Sewell to come back. Regardless he looks like a 100 gamer.
Yeah he looked zippy enough. Need to see him on a fast track. Wet deck prob helped him.

I liked his confidence and willingness to get his hands dirty and put his body on the line. He will fix the fumbles.

Great that he backed his kicking and showed some real class withr the ball by foot. He is a good addition. Has a good leap too. A good prospect.

was a little fumbly, as has been pointed out...but wet day, big crowd and high pressure from pies early on are fair excuses for that...i thought our whole team was a bit fumbly in the first half...

but gee, he made up for it in the 2nd...that spoil he made in the last, not sure who it was against but saved a certain goal...super effort and i hope he stays in the team for a few weeks

good on you young fella?

One thing bugs me about this guy...

I don't know how to pronounce his name.

Is it three syllables, as in Du-ray-ah
or two, like Hooray, or Hurray???

I thought it was pronounced like Du-ray and he said in an interview once that they call him doc because he's name sounds similar to Dr. Dre.

Two syllables mate. Dew-ray

Dew- as in wet grass
Ray - as in X ray

Great first up effort for Taylor.

For heck sake.. get it right.
Dew - As in Stewie
Ray - As in Jenke
You are on the Hawks board after all.

:):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

Good to hear Hodgey talk about Doc and basically say you know what you will get. He will go when it is his turn. I am paraphrasing but that was the general message.

Never doubted the kid has had a tough time with injury. They played him forward where he looked lost. Switching him back to the backline was best thing for him. Has blossomed and improved most weeks since then with sprinkle of injuries in between. Finally gets good run at and here he is taking on the pies in round 3 2013 well done kid great perserverance :thumbsu:

I was impressed. He made some good spoils and also some strong tackles. Has the athleticism to defend and the foot skills to rebound. Hopefully he can keep up the good work.

Bit of a contradiction:confused:

Actually I gave him 1 vote - that vote could have gone to 3 or 4 other players but for a 1st gamer against pies in a tight 3/4's - top stuff Doc. Would have loved his last kick to go through the middle:footy:

I just saw the limited footage in the interview with him after the game and he looked good. I know he fumbled a bit but his committment to the contest and leap look very good. Also looks like he has really good closing speed on him. Never underestimate closing speed and vertical leap. Very handy attributes for a small defender. Good work and congrats Doc

Re watched the game last night. He fumbled a bit in the third and made a few mistakes, but givent he intensity of the game and conditions, I am pretty happy with his first game. Expect he'll spend a lot of time at BH, but looks like with a little extra weight he'll slot in nicely for Goo.

Bit of a contradiction:confused:

Actually I gave him 1 vote - that vote could have gone to 3 or 4 other players but for a 1st gamer against pies in a tight 3/4's - top stuff Doc. Would have loved his last kick to go through the middle:footy:
Not a contradiction at all. I like his hardness but his skills left a lot to be desired