Bombs Away

Oct 16, 2006
South
Arsenal, Packers
With all the outs we have, I have put together what may be our side for this week, I have included all players who are available, theres not many left over. Thoughts?

B Slattery Michael McVeigh

HB Ryder Fletcher McPhee

C Winderlich Peverill Stanton

HF Welsh Lucas Hird

F Lovett Johns Davey

R Laycock JJohnson Lonergan

I/C Heffernan Monfries Cole Houli

EM Watson Dyson MJohnson

LEFT OVERS
Bradley (like to see keep up form for few weeks)
Camporeale (needs more time from what i've been told)
Reimers (not ready yet)
Bolton - never again

That is assuming the players in red pass fitness tests and play

Injury list at present is huge with only 29 to pick from, we need Hille, Nash, NLM, Dempsey, Lloyd, Jetta and Hislop all in our side asap (most are only couple weeks away)

With all the outs we have, I have put together what may be our side for this week, I have included all players who are available, theres not many left over. Thoughts?

B Slattery Michael McVeigh

HB Ryder Fletcher McPhee

HF Welsh Lucas Hird

F Lovett Johns Davey

R Laycock JJohnson Lonergan

I/C Heffernan Monfries Cole Houli

EM Watson Dyson MJohnson

LEFT OVERS
Bradley (like to see keep up form for few weeks)
Camporeale (needs more time from what i've been told)
Reimers (not ready yet)
Bolton - never again

That is assuming the players in red pass fitness tests and play

Injury list at present is huge with only 29 to pick from, we need Hille, Nash, NLM, Dempsey, Lloyd, Jetta and Hislop all in our side asap (most are only couple weeks away)

Well they are hopefull that Nash and NLM will play for Bendigo this week. Dempsey should be the week after. Hille is likely to be ready this week and LLoyd maybe for the Brisbane game.
Campo didnt play for Bendigo on the weekend so he is no chance of being ready.
Dont think there will be any dramas with Laycock, Lucas and Fletcher.

Well they are hopefull that Nash and NLM will play for Bendigo this week. Dempsey should be the week after. Hille is likely to be ready this week and LLoyd maybe for the Brisbane game.
Campo didnt play for Bendigo on the weekend so he is no chance of being ready.
Dont think there will be any dramas with Laycock, Lucas and Fletcher.

Laycock now passed fit though I would love Hille to be there instead of him to get some fitness and form at bendigo level.

Campo I included cause not officially an injury, just showing everyone the options we have or as the case is at the moment, dont have

Lucas and Fletcher both been carrying niggles last 2 weeks and you never know.

Nash, NLM and Dempsey with Hislop next week is great news for us.

Will get to see the bendigo boys when they come down to my area next week and want to get a good look at the youngsters, spewing Neagle and Gumby not playing.

B Cole Michael McVeigh

HB Ryder Fletcher McPhee

HF Welsh Lucas Hocking

F Lovett Johns Davey

R Laycock JJohnson Hird

I/C Heffernan Monfries Welsh Houli

EM Watson Dyson MJohnson

IN: HOCKING: Defensive HF and presenting mid forward
HOULI: Obviously need some fresh legs/run through the midfield
COLE: Need some run from the backline and NLM will play for Bendigo (Kangas small forwards)

Other poss in: HILLE if fit for Laycock or Heffernan (keep Paddy at HB)

B Cole Michael McVeigh

HB Ryder Fletcher McPhee

HF Welsh Lucas Hocking

F Lovett Johns Davey

R Laycock JJohnson Hird

I/C Heffernan Monfries Welsh Houli

EM Watson Dyson MJohnson

IN: HOCKING: Defensive HF and presenting mid forward
HOULI: Obviously need some fresh legs/run through the midfield
COLE: Need some run from the backline and NLM will play for Bendigo (Kangas small forwards)

Other poss in: HILLE if fit for Laycock or Heffernan (keep Paddy at HB)

Hocking?

Hocking is one out of left field....in the pre season games last year he played at FF would you believe and looked terrific. This year (and last) he has played on ball and HF and against Sandy and others did well when moving forward. He is disciplined, strong and has a good motor and I believe that we lack that MID size forward option. When our lumbering talls (LLoyd, Lucas and Johns) get shut down or are not on song, then we have no other forward options others than smalls (Froogy and Monfires). We have no Paul Chapman style strong bodied mid size forward. Weve also been smashed with offensive run from opposition backmen (The Shaw's etc) and Hocking would add another dimension to Davey but with a strong bodied option stopping also the offensive run from out opposition out of the backline.......

Here's what our team will roughly look like. Wouldn't be surprised to see a 'no change', but either Brown (should) or Adams (could) go down to the magoos. I'd expect Hale to come in to take a bit of the load off McIntosh.

FB: Pratt - Gibson - Archer
HB: Sinclair - Firrito - Smith
C: Wells - Harris - Rawlings
HF: Jones - Edwards - Grant
FF: Campbell - Petrie - Harvey

R: McIntosh - Simpson - Swallow

Int:Grima - Adams - Watt - Hale

Emerg: Adams, Thomas, Brown, Warren

Out: Brown
In Hale

I went to Tafe with a good mate of Heath's last year, good bloke.

Anyway, Hocking is a rookie so he won't be getting a senior game until a serious injury occurs. I know how good he is though, he's tough as nails and has good skills.

Here's what our team will roughly look like. Wouldn't be surprised to see a 'no change', but either Brown (should) or Adams (could) go down to the magoos. I'd expect Hale to come in to take a bit of the load off McIntosh.

FB: Pratt - Gibson - Archer
HB: Sinclair - Firrito - Smith
C: Wells - Harris - Rawlings
HF: Jones - Edwards - Grant
FF: Campbell - Petrie - Harvey

R: McIntosh - Simpson - Swallow

Int:Grima - Adams - Watt - Hale

Emerg: Adams, Thomas, Brown, Warren

Out: Brown
In Hale
Is Adams in or out?

FF: Welsh Johns Davey
HF: Lovett Lucas Lonergan
C:McVeigh Stanton Monfries
HB:McPhee Fletcher Winderlich
FB: Ryder Michael Johnson

R: Laycock, Peverill, Johnson

INT: Bolton, Watson, Hird, Dyson

EM: Lee, Reimers, Houli

Slattery wont be ready and Hille wont come up either..Dyson should get another game or two because i get the feeling that this is his chance to shine or its goodbye..its what happened to Bullen. There are clouds over Fletcher, Lucas and Laycock, however im of the belief Laycock will play along with fletch..Its Scotty im worried about.:confused: If he goes out i reckon use Jobe as marking option up forward as he has been in the past and bring Houli in and use our leg speed to try and out run North..

FF: Welsh Johns Davey
HF: Lovett Lucas Lonergan
C:McVeigh Stanton Monfries
HB:McPhee Fletcher Winderlich
FB: Ryder Michael Johnson

R: Laycock, Peverill, Johnson

INT: Bolton, Watson, Hird, Dyson

EM: Lee, Reimers, Houli

Slattery wont be ready and Hille wont come up either..Dyson should get another game or two because i get the feeling that this is his chance to shine or its goodbye..its what happened to Bullen. There are clouds over Fletcher, Lucas and Laycock, however im of the belief Laycock will play along with fletch..Its Scotty im worried about.:confused: If he goes out i reckon use Jobe as marking option up forward as he has been in the past and bring Houli in and use our leg speed to try and out run North..
Jobe should not go foward, not until he gets his kicking right.

Hocking is one out of left field....in the pre season games last year he played at FF would you believe and looked terrific. This year (and last) he has played on ball and HF and against Sandy and others did well when moving forward. He is disciplined, strong and has a good motor and I believe that we lack that MID size forward option. When our lumbering talls (LLoyd, Lucas and Johns) get shut down or are not on song, then we have no other forward options others than smalls (Froogy and Monfires). We have no Paul Chapman style strong bodied mid size forward. Weve also been smashed with offensive run from opposition backmen (The Shaw's etc) and Hocking would add another dimension to Davey but with a strong bodied option stopping also the offensive run from out opposition out of the backline.......
id be fine with Hocking coming into the side, he hasn't been too bad for the BB, and I think we need to experiment with our side so we can see what works, and what doesn't.
But we can't play him atm can we?, because on the rookie list.

Jobe should not go foward, not until he gets his kicking right.

His set shots do not mirror his general kicking..he would provide a good mobile target..The point of the move is to straighten everyone up, not specifically kick a bag..

I reckon the Team Should look like this:

B: Ryder Michael M.Johnson
HB:Mcphee Fletcher McVeigh
C: Stanton Watson Winderlich
HF: Davey Gumbleton Monfries
F: Hird Lucas Johns
RUCKS: Laycock J.Johnson Lovett
INT: Houli Dyson Peverill Welsh

This team has a good mix of experience and youth, with alot of pace too, the only problem is a lack of good tall options i reckon.

So ur going to play Gumbleton while his got a hammy loooooooooooooooooooooooooool

Gumbo's out until round 10.

This is the line up I'd like to see, not what i think will play.

FB: Welsh, MM, Ryder
HB: McPhee, Fletcher, NLM
C: Dyson, Watson, Winders
HF: Hird, Lucas, McVeigh
FF: Davey, Johns, Lovett

Rucks: Hille, Pev, Stanton

Interchange: JJ, Bolton, Houli, Reimers.

His set shots do not mirror his general kicking..he would provide a good mobile target..The point of the move is to straighten everyone up, not specifically kick a bag..

It is not as crazy as you would think. Jobe has played a fair bit of football in the forward line as a junior, is a decent overhead mark and would put many small defenders to shame in a contest as he is 191cm tall. I think he should play 80% of the time in the middle winning clearances and then spend 20% of the time up forward after swapping with Hird.

i have heard that Watson is quite a good set shot at goal, wouldnt be a bad move on the HFF. that way he can still get the hardball gets etc.

I was told he had a ripper game for BB on the weekend, another option up forward would in fact be Bradley as much as it pains me to say it, he played all his Junior footy here in WA as a CHF im pretty sure, might be a good option if we NEED him.

i have heard that Watson is quite a good set shot at goal, wouldnt be a bad move on the HFF. that way he can still get the hardball gets etc.

Watson with confidence in his ability to kick the footy, is a good kick.

He's not as bad as he is making himself look.

He needs self belief, that isn't going to automatically transfer into his goal kicking.

It's a mental thing with Jobe.

well thats it hey, he has the ability to be a star and i agree it is a confidence thing, i hope for his and ours (supporters) sakes he manages to sort it out, becasue i was a huge fan of his dad's.

I definately think that now JJ is back and firing with Pev that if Scotty needs a break then Jobes the one to take CHF..

Gumby, Neagle, Lee (apparently) all injured it only leaves Bradley really as the only other option..You put Lonergan at HF too and you have a HF line that can win the ball at the contest either on the ground or in the air..If i really think about it, with Lonergan and Hislop showing very good signs i would be inclined to say HF is the likely position for Jobe next to Lucas now and Gumby/Neagle in the future..Id say even Nash who has exceptional foot skills in tight would be able to take a mid possie.

Team vs Kangaroos this friday