HF: Murphy, Fevola, Deluca
F: Betts, Waite, Kennedy
FOLL: McLaren, Stevens, Simpson
I/C (from): Bannister, Bentick, Blackwell, Lappin, Longmuir, McGrath, Sporn
IN: Bannister, Blackwell, Longmuir, Sporn
OUT: Fisher
NEW: Luke Blackwell (Swan Districts

Hoping the I/C is: Bentick, Lappin, Blackwell, McGrath

Would be a pretty good midfield rotation: Stevens, Kouta, Murphy, Simpson, Bentick, Blackwell, Carazzo, Betts. Our defense should be able to contain the Saints this time, with Lance in sensational form, plus Saddington as the extra tall. Walker and Thornton are improving every week. But why is Deluca still in the team?? :)

Is Lappin a chance of being axed? Personally hope not.

Can't drop Bentick after his game last weekend either.

One change: Longmuir in for Fisher.

Good to see Blackwell considered, just not his time for a game just yet.

Longmuir has to come in for Fisher. i reckon we can realy stretch st.kildas defence with an extra forwrad who can take a grab.

it would be great if blackers came in for mcgrath. but then again mcgrath can be usedas a stopper on a delsanto or hayes.

I would rather see luke blakewell play instead of matty lappin. just don't think he has his mind on the job atm and i think a run in the bullants might help. our future is more important than if lappin wears blue or red.

elgranto said:
I would rather see luke blakewell play instead of matty lappin. just don't think he has his mind on the job atm and i think a run in the bullants might help. our future is more important than if lappin wears blue or red.
Have to agree with that. No improvement from Lappin last week. Scotland and Walker have taken over his role running off half back and there is currently no role for him in the forward line. Blackers has earned a shot at AFL and would be invaluable against the St Kilda midfield.

Longmuir in for Fisher to capitalise on St Kilda's lack of height in the back half. McGrath will get a stopping role on one of the St Kilda runners, or even on Milne, if he plays.

blackwell has toget a game he will have to sooner or later, you don;t play the kids and they won;t get the feel of AFL footy i'd say he will make the cut and get a game might as well Play him won;t be many changes afer last weekend win why change ex for fisher of cause

after benticks game last week, why would he be named on the pine to be selected from?

elgranto said:

FFS his shoulder is stuffed,and bad he can bearly move his arm,he can not lift it take a mark or lay a tackle.He should be rested to get fit.

It really :D:D:D:Ds me when people who sit on there couch watch t.v complain about player but never think to look at why.elgranto you get out there son,smash you shoulder then go play against men.

at least get some facts before you rubbish a champ of the club.

RoK said:
FFS his shoulder is stuffed,and bad he can bearly move his arm,he can not lift it take a mark or lay a tackle.He should be rested to get fit.

It really :D:D:D:Ds me when people who sit on there couch watch t.v complain about player but never think to look at why.elgranto you get out there son,smash you shoulder then go play against men.

at least get some facts before you rubbish a champ of the club.
If the guy has a crook shoulder, that is impacting on his ability to perform, he should not be playing. It has been pretty obvious that his form has nose-dived since he hurt his shoulder, but his shoulder is not going to get better playing at AFL level (if at all) and his confidence is way down. We are not in a position to carry players who are unable to perform. We just don't have that luxury. If the shoulder is that bad he should be rested until it is better. If his confidence is down following the shoulder injury, he should be relegated to the VFL to regain that confidence.

Lappin might be in a situation (and staying tight-lipped) where he has to either play out the season in pain, or have season-ending surgery. If that's the case I can understand why he would want to keep playing. He's 30 now. If he misses a whole year it would be a long comeback trail to climb. - Especially with so many players gunning for his position.

Kooley said:
Longmuir has to come in for Fisher. i reckon we can realy stretch st.kildas defence with an extra forwrad who can take a grab.

it would be great if blackers came in for mcgrath. but then again mcgrath can be usedas a stopper on a delsanto or hayes.

Agree, I know Longmuir gets criticised alot, however I thought that our forward line looked dangerous last year, when he was jumping into packs.
He will be an adequate replacement for Fisher. I'd like to see Blackwell play, but not sure about dropping McGrath, he hasnt done much wrong.

Actually think Longmuir has more ability than some of us give him credit for. He seems to have an instict for finding the ball in the Bullants. Instict is instict no matter what grade of footy. Would like to see him tried further up the filed in the AFL to see what he can do. Another guy with instict to get the ball is Eddie Betts.Wouldn't hurt to try rotating these guys at the centre ball ups.

Don't mind Blackwell either and would like to see him get a chance soon. Also Bower. Can't understand why he has not been picked this week. Would have thought he would at least be mentioned before Bannister and Sporn.

pumped said:
Actually think Longmuir has more ability than some of us give him credit for. He seems to have an instict for finding the ball in the Bullants. Instict is instict no matter what grade of footy. Would like to see him tried further up the filed in the AFL to see what he can do. Another guy with instict to get the ball is Eddie Betts.Wouldn't hurt to try rotating these guys at the centre ball ups.

Don't mind Blackwell either and would like to see him get a chance soon. Also Bower. Can't understand why he has not been picked this week. Would have thought he would at least be mentioned before Bannister and Sporn.
excellent point. longmuir has played some outstanding games for the bullants through the midfield and his disposal is usually spot on. i hope he gets a chance at some time to show this in the senior team.

mediumsizered said:
If the guy has a crook shoulder, that is impacting on his ability to perform, he should not be playing. It has been pretty obvious that his form has nose-dived since he hurt his shoulder, but his shoulder is not going to get better playing at AFL level (if at all) and his confidence is way down. We are not in a position to carry players who are unable to perform. We just don't have that luxury. If the shoulder is that bad he should be rested until it is better. If his confidence is down following the shoulder injury, he should be relegated to the VFL to regain that confidence.

Bottom line is we do not know wht the story is,if i had to guess i would say he need surgery.

In: Blackwell, Longmuir
Out: Lappin, Fish

Longmuir has to come in for Fish and needs to be rotated through the middle and the forward line and given a whole game not 10 minutes, his ability is as yet untapped by Carlton and is being wasted in my opinion. Lappin needs a break and Blackwell needs a run in the seniors it is as simple as that. Disappointed Bower wasn't named as he deserves a run in the seniors as well all though probably couldn't have used him this week against the Saints. I was actually impressed with Mcgrath playing on a forward flank last week hope he plays that role again this week.:thumbsu:

Wouldn't mind Bannister getting another try...very stiff to be dropped after playing so well and consistently in the VFL. Maybe play Bannister in the backline, move Carazzo or Saddington further up field . This would allow Lappin, Scotland or Houlihan to play further forward. I think we have enough marking forwards without having to replace Fisher with another one.

parrot said:
Hoping the I/C is: Bentick, Lappin, Blackwell, McGrath

Would be a pretty good midfield rotation: Stevens, Kouta, Murphy, Simpson, Bentick, Blackwell, Carazzo, Betts. Our defense should be able to contain the Saints this time, with Lance in sensational form, plus Saddington as the extra tall. Walker and Thornton are improving every week. But why is Deluca still in the team?? :)

That is the worst midfield in the league and is the reason why Carlton are a laughing stock!

Stevens is servicable

Kouta walks out on crutches

Thomas > Murphy

I've never heard of Simpson before must be a gun :rolleyes:

Bentick is a dud

Carazzo is the biggest dud I have seen on a footy field.

Betts is also a dud!

St.Kilda will probably pump you like they usually do.

My prediction. Saints by 80 points. Just like last time!

Paddywackers said:
That is the worst midfield in the league and is the reason why Carlton are a laughing stock!

Stevens is servicable

Kouta walks out on crutches

Thomas > Murphy

I've never heard of Simpson before must be a gun :rolleyes:

Bentick is a dud

Carazzo is the biggest dud I have seen on a footy field.

Betts is also a dud!

St.Kilda will probably pump you like they usually do.

My prediction. Saints by 80 points. Just like last time!

Thanks very much for joining in.