Teammates that didn't like each other

Decent mobile phones were available by 1997, and many people had them, stop making bulldust excuses up. Footy players these days are defended to the hilt, when many of them are overpaid bogans.

So you make something up ("probably on his mobile") then get offended when somebody points out that is overwhelmingly unlikely, and accuse them of "making excuses."

I'd never heard of that incident before, seems like a young bloke who got a bit sleepy at the wheel. It doesn't sit well with me that you wouldn't be charged for something like that.

So you make something up ("probably on his mobile") then get offended when somebody points out that is overwhelmingly unlikely, and accuse them of "making excuses."

I'd never heard of that incident before, seems like a young bloke who got a bit sleepy at the wheel. It doesn't sit well with me that you wouldn't be charged for something like that.

Sleeping is a possibility too. I was trying to make the point that the media article was not fully disclosing how Milburn ended up on the opposite side of a divided highway and killed someone. Geelong Road/Princes Highway b/w Melbourne and Geelong was a 4-lane 2-way highway back in the 90s and probably earlier.

Attachments

• IMG_0464.JPG
    IMG_0464.JPG
    14.8 KB · Views: 22

I think his theory is if Milburn had been charged and was breaking rocks or had been sacked by the club then he wouldn't have taken out SOS that time. His club is no longer one of the big four. Please be easy on him.

It's borderline - the first time i saw a friend with a mobile was 1999 and we were year 10 (so 15/16 yrs old)

It's plausible he had one, but unlikely that enough other people had one for him to be using it while driving though -

Mobiles were commonly used in at least 1994.

I did Year 12 in 1994 and a few blokes walked around High School with pagers, the older blokes were starting to get mobiles around 1994.

Geez we gave the Pager Blokes heaps.

I remember one kid with a pager...

I also remember another kid talking on his phone reasonably loudly as he walked past the library. Very vibrant conversation

next minute, his phone rings in the middle of him talking...

he copped shit for ages

---

anyway, i would have thought it would be mentioned if he was using his phone during the accident - and it's funny how insignificant details can end up chewing through a few bigfooty posts

I think his theory is if Milburn had been charged and was breaking rocks or had been sacked by the club then he wouldn't have taken out SOS that time. His club is no longer one of the big four. Please be easy on him.

Pretty telling that you've had to resort to bagging Carlton. No defence of the scumbag murderous Milburn.

How do you feel about Justin Murphy?

same as Wayne Carey, and a few others.... a few bad eggs do float in the now AFL system.

How is your wind assisted help from AFL Head Office going, David Evans still convicing his mates at the Australia Club that he has done no investing in Calzada?

"Team mates that didn't like each other"
thatsthejoke.jpg

In the 90s you could only call other mobiles from a mobile. They were pretty much just walky-talkys

I'm not sure whose side I am on here but by the mid 90's almost all tradeys had mobile phones, this was back in the day when mobile numbers were all 017/018/019 prefix. It was common back then for guys to have their mobile linked to their car horn and when someone rang them on the job site the horn would start barping.

It's back in the 'Wall St' era when mobile phones were like radios, that's when Jeff Kennett got overheard calling John Howard a campaigner for knifing Andrew Peacock (there was no encryption then and some journo recorded it). But that would be late 80s era.

Teammates that didn't like each other