Telstra Dome

FreoDocker

I was watching today’s game between Freo and Essendon and I couldn't believe the state of the field, it was a disgrace. The number of times both Freo and Essendon players slipped over causing many turnovers and only just avoiding someone getting severely injured was crazy.

I think the AFL has to look at how they use the stadium and at what times of the year they use it for certain events. I mean the wrestling would have been great, but to have it in the middle of the footy season and expect it to come up "well" for subsequent matches.

It almost makes me wonder what the Dome is meant to be used for, is it a true purpose AFL stadium, or an entertainment complex? I mean I've heard all the criticism of the planning of the stadium and that they didn't even consider that the grass could be a problem due to the orientation of the stadium. But surely they could look to similar stadiums around the world and attempt to come up with a better method of managing the surface rather than replacing patches of grass every second week, or painting green some of the sandy spots.

Better yet, how do you think the AFL and the management at the dome will be able to ensure that the surface can be maintained at a decent standard as not to detract from the skill of the game?

The ground actually looks worse than it really is, the players slip over because the don't wear full stops on that ground due to the harder nature of that ground. Even when it was at it's best with full grass they still slip over

Does the closed roof also cause a condensation effect, so that as the game goes on the ground gets slipprier?

Surely there must be something that can be done about it all.

The surface is ****. It doesn't matter what sort of boots players wear, they fall over. How many more court cases can the AFL afford for providing an unsafe workplace? Parts of the ground are bare sand, which is painted green.

I heard an interesting, new scientific theory recently: Grass needs sunshine to grow. Has anyone ever heard of this theory? If you have, could you pass it on to Collo?

Originally posted by skilts
The surface is ****. It doesn't matter what sort of boots players wear, they fall over.

That is totally wrong, the players wear nylon stops there because they say the surface is too hard for screw ins, that is why they slip, they either have to risk getting sore legs/feet from screw ins or wear nylon & slip over like today.

Surface is completely shocking. I blame the wrestling for that; the ruts were all at angles clearly showing the outline of where the temporary stands were.

And what is the deal with the roof? It was an absolutely gorgeous day outside and they closed the bloody thing. Why is the rule the way it is? Worried about the effects of sunlight on dead grass?

It is 5 degrees cooler inside than it is out.

Level 1 sits half empty, Level 2 sits 90% empty, Level 4 is packed in like sardines.

My wife pays $6.50 for a chicken burger where the bun is 3 times the size of the actual chicken fillet inside.

Plow this abomination of a venue under and start again.

The surface seemed to be good this season until the cricket was played there. They replaced the grass at the time and it has been pathetic since. (Even worse after the wrestling)

I'm still not convinced that the surface has not contributed to our huge injury toll over the past few seasons as well.

I won't go on to talk about other problems with the stadium including the fact that the costs are so high that the financially struggling tenant clubs are losing money at the gate for most of their home games. ;)

there's no little smiley face depicting tongue in cheek so please imagine there is one at the end of this post!

Do you reckon if Channel Seven still had the AFL telecast rights there may be a better maintenance program in place for the "Dome". They after all own the venue!!

It's a shocker .. and some parts are actually painted green. I went out there for an AusKick game and it's like the carpet in a dodgy rental property.

Call Carpet Call.

Originally posted by Danni
Does the closed roof also cause a condensation effect, so that as the game goes on the ground gets slipprier?

Surely there must be something that can be done about it all.

maybe it should be called the biodome:D

Originally posted by OldLion
It's a shocker .. and some parts are actually painted green. I went out there for an AusKick game and it's like the carpet in a dodgy rental property.

Call Carpet Call.

Nah mate they're just getting the sand traps ready for Telstra's assault to host the 2003 Australian Open Golf Tournament.

Originally posted by redback

We won you lost, BOO f***ing HOO.

what is assult?

Fair enough

I wasn't using it as an excuse for us losing at all, Essendon played alot better than us and deserved the win. I was just saying that with the state of the ground being so bad, both sides seemed to slip over quite a bit which took away from the game. The state of the surface would not have changed the result but from having watched games from the Dome especially later in the year it seems like the problem of the surface condition is yet to be solved.

Cheers

Originally posted by Dan26
Would have loved for the roof to be open today. Was beautiful outside!

When the roof is open people whinge that it should be closed, when it is closed people whinge it should be open.

When the Eagles played St Kilda there earlier in the year and the roof was open it was a farce. The roof is there, the stadium is facing the wrong way, use the bloody roof, keep it closed.