TFS - Sam just got MM to admit what no other journalist could!

sirene

Collingwood - Ben Kennedy Player Sponsor 2014 Western Bulldogs - Christian Howard/Mark Austin Player Sponsor 2013 Collingwood - Quinten Lynch Player Sponsor 2013 Collingwood Magpies - Alex Fasolo 2012 Player Sponsor
Jun 17, 2011
Sam Newman just got MM to admit he will not be with Collingwood next year. I am disheartened that this happened 2 days out from GF. Super pissed it was Sammy, but so glad it was not Caro!

It's fine. Us Geelong fans know how it feels to lose the best coach in the comp. If we can get here under Chris Scott, you should get just as far under Bucks. Good luck :thumbsu:

Cheers Churros! Good luck (well not too much) to you guys too.

I am just so grumpy with MM doing this now, he could not wait 3 days? I knew it would happen, it just should not have happened now.

There's definite pros and definite cons to MM staying next year.

Whatever he chooses.

Let him just concentrate on the job at hand.

It's about the team and the match result on Saturday.

Nothing else at this point.

Me confused:confused:

I watched it but didn't hear him say that:confused:

Same here, all I heard Mick say was this was definitely his last game as a coach, which to me intimates that that next years role hasn't been determined yet.

Mick said weeks ago that he would make a decision after the season, nothing has changed.

Not on in Brisbane at the moment, but I have been told he just re-confirmed he would never coach again. Nobody else seems to have heard anything about him not being at Collingwood.

That what he said on AFL Gameday that he will Never Coach again. Nothing about Helping Bucls

All I can take from that interview was Sam saying something along the lines of "So this is the last time you'll be at the club, it's bitter sweet isn't it. You will be leaving a club you love, yet you will be going out on the back of a grand final"

Then Malthouse just saying he has enjoyed the time and it is time to move on from coaching and he is happy with the move, there are other things in life.

There was no categorical confirmation that he will leave.

Anway can't everyone keep it in their pants until Saturday night, its 48 hours away and then we will know.

I don't remember exactly what was said, but I think the inference was fairly clear (unless it was just the wrong choice of words).

But no, was not said explicitly.

Fair dinkum mate...he didnt say anything he hasn't said before...obviously you have not heard MM in recent interviews...Sam got him to admit nothing.

He was referring to coaching after 38 years.

As for you being disheartened two days out from a GF...how about being pumped about Dayne Beams walking into his office on Wednesday and putting the team first. How about the symbolism of Fasolo wearing 35 as his replacement.

Time to focus on the positives of this great footy club BF posters.

Does anyone here ever read the extensive blog Mick write on his website?

My future

25.07.2011 | Posted in Commentary by Michael Malthouse | 22 comments
I will not be at any other club, in any role, next year.
I need to be clear on this, because by saying that I will not coach anywhere else, it seems I have inadvertently implied I may hold another position elsewhere. This is not the case, and I’ll tell you why.
I have a very strong bond with my Collingwood boys.

The final reason I won’t be switching clubs is that I have a contract with Collingwood for a further three years after this one, in a different role to my current position. I signed it in good faith that I could continue to help in developing the team and the club beyond my reign as senior coach.

http://www.michaelmalthouse.com.au/news-and-blog/2011/07/17-my-future

Since posting this he has repeatedly said "Nothing has changed"

I am very aware of what MM has said, I am in no way implying he was saying he was going to another club. What I said (as someone else also thought), is that he will not be the DOC next year. I did not spell it out because nor did he. I will (unfortunately) rewatch TFS tomorrow and find the exact quote if neccesary, but basically Sam said wont he miss his boys and he agreed.....you do the math/inference, etc....

In regards to other things like Beams, see my posts elsewhere....of course he is to be admired, this was a separate post.

I am a true Collingwood supporter, does not mean I can not have a WTF post....

SIDE BY SIDE, BACK TO BACK!!!!!!

So...

another garbage thread...

Go Pies...

B2B

Oh I forgot all threads need to be 'WE ARE GOING TO WIN', ' THE CATS ARE HOPELESS'.

:rolleyes:

So...

another garbage thread...

Go Pies...

B2B

Pot. Kettle. Black.

PS. Nothing to do with the FS comments but I'd be flabbergasted if Mick stayed at the Club next year.

TFS - Sam just got MM to admit what no other journalist could!