The 1995 Premiership

I was a broke arse Uni student back in 1995. But for some reason at the start of the season I had a feeling it would be our year, and upgraded by membership to the Social Club. Come Monday before the Granny, it came home in spades ;)

From the actual game, the biggest memory that I still have is knowing Diesel was one of the best ever. I have the DVD (watch it once a year), and it still amazes me the pure footy talent that man had. No speed what so ever but would slaugher a midfield with handpasses and pin-point kicks.

If you think that Diesel was not one of the best midfields of all time, watch the 95 granny.

I was 10, watched it on the TV, still have the recording. Ironically found a Geelong footy that morning before the game. Turned me on to football for life that day. All I need to do is replace the framed official 95 premiership team photo with a new one.

I watched Ballistic Blues with my Carlton supporting mate the other day, and found it thouroiughly enjoyable.

You guys had stars across every line, and as somebody mentioned, Diesel Williams is one of the true greats.

Carlton played great team footy, and every week there were a handful of different contributers.

And how good a 1995 did Matty Clape have? Freak!

Subiaco mate.
Carlton have played at the WACA since the late '80's, or very early '90's.

Ahhh thanks for the correction, all i remember it was on their home turf and it was a belter of a game.

I was 11...Ground level southern stand in the pocket. '93 I had a great spot next to the race and then had the camera zoom in on me for about 5 seconds during the match. We got calls from as far away as America asking if that was me on TV! It took a lot from a 9 year old not to cry that day (especially when your sister partially blames you for the loss for singing the bombers theme song (softly) when they ran out...that was a lesson learned))...i remember holding it in...but enough on that...

Unbelievable in 95. We had the house and car covered in blue and white balloons, streamers, posters etc in the lead-up... Drove down Lygon St after the game and there were celebrations everywhere, then headed to PP and that was a fantastic event. Turned up to school (grade 6) wearing all my gear after the holidays and somehow I managed to get the whole class to sing the theme song when the teacher left us for a few minutes...we ended up getting in trouble but it was pretty fun at the time.

I've watched the '87 GF more than any though, as that was the most recent during my primary school days. My brother and I used to literally watch it several times a week after school and on weekends...My folks claim that my younger brother could sing the national anthem before he could say any other words!...he also likes to remind me taht he was there that day with mum and dad (he was born a month later)....haha.... I bumped into Rhys-Jones when I was out a few years ago and he couldn't believe everything that I knew about the '87 GF (given that I would have been 3 when we won)....he was loving it though so that was pretty funny.

Sorry to go off topic....God, you go through that '95 team and it is just an amazing line-up. Under-achieved really but at least we got one....I love that defence. SOS, Dean, Ang, McKay, Rice, Sexton - Unbelievable!

I watched Ballistic Blues with my Carlton supporting mate the other day, and found it thouroiughly enjoyable.

You guys had stars across every line, and as somebody mentioned, Diesel Williams is one of the true greats.

Carlton played great team footy, and every week there were a handful of different contributers.

And how good a 1995 did Matty Clape have? Freak!

Two things i loved about Clape - (1) He played well in finals and (2) He tore Collingwood a new one on numerous occassions.

Attributes that are always welcomed at Princes Park!

I remember watching the Ch 7 news the day he was drafted in the Pre-Season Draft and Parkin was on the phone to him in Perth saying "Don't worry son, you'll be well looked after at Carlton."

Apart from Hoggy getting absolutrely smashed at the opening bounce, my favourite memories include:

1) Malcolm Blight calling "How's the WANT!!!" after Peter Dean smashed another attack to the boundary
2) Diesel kicking his 5th and doing his little fist pump
3) Ablett kicking 2 points only, and Silvagni having a finals series with no goals kicked on him (Lynch, Carey, Ablett). There is a reason why he is FB of the century
4) Brad Pierce.....where is he now??

Brad Pearce was my fave player in those days!! Man how I loved him, had his posters plastered all over my bedroom walls.

I was about 12 at the time...
I've got the game on video but haven't watched it in years (don't have a vcr).
I've also got the 1995 GF Footy Show taped too.
Good times :thumbsup:

I've seen him a few times... Loves his live music... Seen him several times at Corner/HiFi. I think at You Am I gigs predominantly...hangs with Richo and Ben Harrison...I'm not sure but I vaguely remember them buying a pub together.... Leigh Colbert also a You Am I fan. Good to see as Tim Rogers is a passionate North Melbourne fan.

Subiaco mate.
Carlton have played at the WACA since the late '80's, or very early '90's.

Might be wrong but i have a clear memory of Carlton playing (and winning) a ripper night match against the Weagles in '96 or '97.

The highlight being SOS kicking a bag from FF and nearly knocking himself out diving for one of those desperate marks. The victory in '95 was defintely at Subi though. ;):thumbsu:

That was the day that the duke of earl put guy mckenna to sleep with one of the best hip and shoulders I have ever seen. I reckon poor old bluey still gets headaches from that hit.

Poor old Guy probably has nightmares about Carlton - got smashed physically a few times personally and usually ended up losing those games by less than a goal too. :D

A few years ago, I bought some tickets for a gig at the Hifi bar. I had to buy the tickets a few days in advance and didn't buy them from the bar itself, but their office which was just behind the bar, the bloke running the office (actually the only one working there) was Brad Pierce.

I walked in and without thinking said "Sh!t you're Brad Pierce!!". He just laughed at me. He told me that most people used to say "Hey didn't you used to be Brad Pierce?", which shat him no end....
Anway I dunno if he still works there or not.

A few years ago, I bought some tickets for a gig at the Hifi bar. I had to buy the tickets a few days in advance and didn't buy them from the bar itself, but their office which was just behind the bar, the bloke running the office (actually the only one working there) was Brad Pierce.

I walked in and without thinking said "Sh!t you're Brad Pierce!!". He just laughed at me. He told me that most people used to say "Hey didn't you used to be Brad Pierce?", which shat him no end....
Anway I dunno if he still works there or not.

There's a vague bell ringing telling me that he actually bought a share in HiFi Bar - many years ago now. Maybe he still does??