BigFooty Official The 2013 BigFooty Phantom Draft

I'd say late to rookie also, anywhere from 40 on, but Quigley is known for reaching for the Tasmanians :D The good thing about Grey is he has most likely got lots of improvement left in him, having only this year decided to really focus on his footy. Plus I think he'd be a hard match up in the forward line, with his overhead marking good for his size, but also quite evasive. Agree he needs to improve on his skills more than most his size that would go top 40 - I mean, Webster is one from Tassie that is more skillful, and a little more dynamic, but probably won't go before 45. But Grey has an x-factor, could be a decent pick up, but no doubt there are quite a few safer picks left out there with Quigley's next two picks. I'd reach for Jake K first out of the Tassie boys, even ahead of Nankervis for me, unless you really need a ruck to develop over the next year or two.

Look in this draft who knows. Am surprised a few have gone where they have v others still around but it seems the story of this draft.

Personally I would have Grey as a rookie. He has some nice attributes but he ain't in the top 60 an he is about 5th in line of the Tassies for me. Jake K, Kk, Webster and templeton are all better and I think all could expect to be in the 30-50 frame. Nankervis is probably next so Grey is around. 6th. I can see 10% draft pool being Tas kids even if a few don't rate the main breeding ground this year.

Pick 33 Brisbane

I had intended to go a little left field with my last two picks but there were two guys available in Jones and Wilson who I prefer over one of the guys I was going to take. I have Wilson at 20 in my mock and so I have decided to go with him here. We have not taken and indigenous player in 6 or 7 years, would we take two in one draft? Pretty unlikely I would think but both Sheed and Wilson are big talents and would be valuable additions to our team. Wilson is not really a HFF but he would play that role in a similar way to Zorko and we are short of depth in that forward of centre small player. In the end talent too high to pass on him here.

FWIW the player who I was going to take here was George Hewett. He is basically a bottom ager and I like his development potential. As a guy who we could stash away for a year and just put some development time into he has a fair bit of appeal.

Dwayne Wilson
DOB 17/1/95 Ht 178 Wt 73

Wilson I think is a guy that will go a bit under the radar of a lot of casual draft observers but Wilson has the potential to be a very good player at the next level. One SA based, former industry person I know really rates Wilson and thinks that once he gets into an AFL environment he will really blossom. Looking at what he has to offer I can see why he would think that. He is a current AIS scholarship holder but has not been as dedicated as he could be and he probably needs to be in a full time environment where he is going to be pushed hard in order for him to get the most out of his talent.

Wilson certainly has a heap of talent. He will probably start his AFL career as a HFF but maybe not in a traditional sense. I think he is best suited to play just ahead of the contest and to collect and deliver into the forwards. He is not really a goal scoring threat and his work inside 50 is not a strength of his game. As he develops I can see him moving into the midfield as an outside in midfielder although there is also the chance that he could go into the backline and play a Danyle Pearce sort of role.

The two big weapons that Wilson has are his kicking and his pace. Wilson provides excellent service on his preferred right but is also very strong on his non-preferred left to the extent that I would think he is probably the best dual sided kick in this draft. He can deliver lovely low kicks off either foot and the touch on his kicking is as good as anyones. I have not noticed him being a hugely long kick but his penetration seems fine. It is the low worm burners that he delivers into his forwards though which attract the eye create scoring opportunities for his team. He is a first class, plate setter and teams are going to want him with the ball going into 50.

Wilson like many indigenous players with pace did not test exceptionally well at the Combine but you should take it as a given that he would be one of the quickest in this draft. He has good explosiveness and is a player who uses that pace to run away from chasers and to run down opponents with the ball. His ability to sustain the run is quite good in game situations but he does tend to fade out of games a bit after a sustained effort. As his endurance improves I expect him to be able to consistently use his pace more.

One of the things I really like about Wilson is that he will run to pressure a ball carrier even if he has little chance of actually getting there to make the tackle. He cuts down options and gives the opponent less time to get the ball away and this pressure often has good results for his team. This type of thing is required at AFL level but not many do that as a junior. His tackling is good and as his endurance improves he will become a very influential defensive presence.

Wilson was not able to get a heap of the ball at the Champs nor in the SANFL reserves where he averaged 16.4 and 15.2 disposals per game respectively. He did show a good ability to find the ball at Colts level though where he averaged 27 disposals per game. I expect him to be quite a low possession winner early in his career but as he develops he should be able to find the ball enough.

At the Combine he tested very ordinarily particularly in the endurance test. He was in the bottom 15% in both the beep and the 3km which was very poor for the type of player he projects to be. Surprisingly to me he was also very poor in the agility test and I had expected him to do significantly better than he did. As a group many indigenous players tend to not be as prepared for the Combine testing as others and Wilson seems to have fallen into that category. His agility looks good to me and he seems elusive and difficult to tackle especially when he has a bit of room. He has a nice burst of pace from clearance situations and he can slide through traffic nicely. In the open field he is a balanced runner and quick decision maker.

He is not a big clearance player but he is not terrible either and he will win a clearance or two. He is more effective as a receiver but if the ball comes to him he is quick with his hands and at making decisions. With the ball on the ground he is quite good but not elite.

Wilson fits the mould of many small indigenous players and you could easily compare him to any number of them. I am going to depart from the norm though and go with Daisy Thomas as my comparison. Like Thomas I think he will be most effective when he ups his endurance to a high level but his pace and skills will allow him to have an impact when he is able to involve himself in play. When he gets his endurance up to an acceptable level I think he will be a high possession player with really good hurt factor.

Pick 34 Brisbane

Sorry Thurlow, no Taswegians for me this year. My Div 2 selection this year is a Territorian. Of the kids who left we had Yeo, Docherty, Karnezis and Polec all of whom I project as tall flankers at AFL level. That has left some depth issues in our squad and if we didn't take a couple of players to fill those holes I would be surprised. Wasley-Black is one guy who I think would be an excellent get for us.

Errin Wasley-Black
DOB 20/1/95 Ht 189 Wt 80

After about pick 30 this year there is a significant drop off in talent I think. There are guys who will make it through hard work and those who slip through the net but, as far as obvious talent goes there are not many. Wasley-Black did not have a great season all things considered but all things are relative and I think expectations were very high because he has so much talent. He only averaged 15 disposals a game at the Champs and 14 in the NEAFL. Those numbers are not terrible especially in senior company in the NEAFL and if you watch him play you can see there is potential there for much more. Hell Tom Cutler has looked half the player Wasley-Black has this year and Inside Football has him going in the first round.

Wasley-Black moved from his home in Alice Springs at the end of last year to further his football career with the NT Thunder and has been working all year. He lives with some other Thunder players and is not a kid teams are going to need to introduce to independent living. He has gone through those growing pains already and has more of an idea of what to expect. Having had to actually work for a living he is probably going to appreciate the freedom that getting paid well to play football will give him. He has stated numerous times that he doesn’t care where he has to go to play football.

An AIS member, Wasley-Black was touted as a top 20 player by Twomey early in the year and looked on track for that after a great start to the year. He was going great guns in the NEAFL and picked up a Rising Star nomination in round 6 and was named as the best player for NT in at least one other game I can recall. Through the middle of the year though he started to bulk up his somewhat light frame and quickly got up to 85kgs. The rapid weight gain, which was not muscle, adversely affected his game through the Champs and at NEAFL level and also was said to be the cause of the shin splints he suffered at this time. After getting some advice from his AIS mentors that he was looking slow and his running was being affected he then tried to strip the weight off and he was down to 80kgs by Combine.

At Combine he tested pretty well. His endurance was back up to good levels and he ran a mid 14s beep and his speed had also returned with him running in the mid 2.9s for the 20m. His repeat sprint was not as good as I head expected given he is a good combination of speed and endurance but he was still just outside the top third of those tested. His mediocre agility and jumping also surprised me given he seems to play with both good evasiveness and spring. This is a kid who rucked at stages for NT at the Champs and is a regular third up guy in the NEAFL. Whatever though I love the combination of speed and endurance that he has and that opens up a wide range of options for him as far as position and should allow him to play early in his career.

Wasley-Black has played most of his football up until this year as a half forward or midfielder but was moved to a back flank this year and I think that is where we will see him play at AFL level at least at the beginning of his career. He has the game to move up onto a wing down the track but early on I am expecting him to play as a HBF. Wasley-Black seems to have good defensive instincts and is a player who knows when to drop off and when to stick on his man and similarly when he should punch and when he should mark. He controls his punches well and keeps them in the area nicely where he can recover quickly and follow up or his teammate can do similarly. His judgment of the ball in the air is a strength of his.

He has nice height for a flanker and is capable of playing on taller or shorter players. I note his Thunder coach really rates his use of the body both in the air and on the ground and I tend to agree. When you combine all that with very good pace and endurance he is not easy to beat one on one.

Offensively I would have liked to see him get more of the ball but that is about the only thing wrong with his offensive game. He is an excellent user of the ball most particularly by foot. His is a left footer who has a classic, casual style that lets him hit is targets across all ranges. He has good feel on his kicks and the ball gets there quickly with a fairly low trajectory. Watching at the Champs I thought he didn’t always take the most attacking options but I guess that might have been a function of his confidence in his teammates. He did have some DE% issues on occasions in the NEAFL but they could easily be attributed to the slippery Darwin conditions. Personally I rate his kicking skills very highly and think he is the kind of user of the ball that teams want to get into their backline.

When he takes off and runs he looks at his best. He has a loping style and combined with his excellent kicking skills he will be able to break zones apart at the next level if he can get the ball in space. This is where he looks like a class apart from other options likely to go around him in the draft. He has excellent balance and does not run himself into trouble.

As far as comparisons go I think he could be a Robert Murphy type player. I expect him to play his best when he is not carrying much weight but like Murphy that should nor really prevent him from impacting on games. I am not sure he will be able to impract up forward like Murphy can but he has the combination of skill, speed, marking ability and run and carry that Murphy has.

Personally I would have Grey as a rookie. He has some nice attributes but he ain't in the top 60 an he is about 5th in line of the Tassies for me. Jake K, Kk, Webster and templeton are all better and I think all could expect to be in the 30-50 frame. Nankervis is probably next so Grey is around. 6th. I can see 10% draft pool being Tas kids even if a few don't rate the main breeding ground this year.
You see it the same way I do. I'd have KK, Tempeton, JK, Webster, Nankervis, Grey, then Pearce in that order. Grey is a risk, but he does have x-factor and something that not everyone has. Could be an interesting late pick or rookie.

Pick # 35. Sydney. Darcy Cameron. 203 cm. 98 kg. Ruckman. Claremont .

I deliberated long and hard here as to who to take ..... Lobb or Cameron.

Sydney need to take a ruckman and the depth in this years draft is thin. However these two West Australians are the better options. Both have merit as to their selection at this point but I have decided to go with Cameron.

Will elaborate more latter when I do the write ups.

But at this stage in the draft Sydney have picked up a KPD, a small speedy crumbing forward and a ruckman so at this point in time I am pleased with players taken with the picks that have been available.

LemmingMaster your up

I rate JKH in my top 25 (more towards the end) and I would not be against selecting him if the Saints had a top 25 pick. He attacks the ball well and doesn't need too much extra weight to be effective, a bit more than 70kgs would be an ideal size for a player like Jay. Yes, players are becoming taller, but if you're good enough that shouldn't matter much. Jay Kennedy-Harris should be good enough.

I agree. Since when is positional scope a negative. Starting to think people are wanting to focus on negatives. He some very draftable attributes which recruiters rate. Size will probably push him to where he was taken but he has ticked enough boxes to be taken in Rd 2. Guys with clean hands are very highly regarded and if they have speed, spacial awareness and skill then all the better. In fact his ball use is exceptional at times. He has that ability to weight his kicks perfectly. His defensive aspects are good but he will need time. In saying that Dahlaus has embarrassed a lot of people as he has shown size and weight aren't be all with these types in fact if they have speed and lateral movement they can be v dynamic. For these players to succeed though they just have to be able to put their head in places that bely there frame and he has shown he can and will do it. On top of it all the kid is aspirational and clubs will want him on a list.

In saying all that I agree height will pull him back but not much else.

Quigley taking all my favourites. I really like Wasley-Black. Think he had a better year than he is getting credit for.

Still have three players on the board that I considered with my first pick, got my heart set on one of them though.

Why do I have a bad feeling lol

Quigley taking all my favourites. I really like Wasley-Black. Think he had a better year than he is getting credit for.

Still have three players on the board that I considered with my first pick, got my heart set on one of them though.

Yeah I am same but suspect a couple are differt.

Re EWB c'mon he had a poor year and I think you'd fine that was his view as well. He was a real fav of mine at start of year but he probably was the one of the ones I think disappointed the most. I know he had issues but so do a lot of kids and I'm just not sure a club would spend a rd 2 on him after his Champs which are super important for Div 2 players notwithstanding how well he went in his interviews and testing. At his best he is a late Rd 1 and so I can understand a punt in a shallow draft but he doesn't get Rd2 on this years performance.

GWS could have pre listed him and as yet don't think they have albeit I do hope they do.

I'm not sure I get the knocks on JKH in here..........

On one hand a lot of you are saying he doesn't play as a permanent small forward and will be limited in that role as if it's a bad thing?

I'm not sure of the last full time forward pocket to be drafted in the top 30 tbh.

He's been a pretty dominant player for Oakleigh and Trinity since his very bottom year, and for a kid of his frame, that's impressive.

His skills are pretty decent, would certainly be above average at AFL level, and his decision making is absolutely top class, as well as other intangibles like his step in traffic and his agility around the contest.

I see absolutely no reason why he can't transition into a Ballantyne, Dalhaus, McGlynn style high half forward at AFL level, he has all the tools.

Just want to chime in to congratulate all involved thus far. Great work guys! Very interesting and entertaining stuff!

Pick 36 - Geelong - Zak Jones

Position:Medium defender/ Midfielder
Height: 181cm
Weight:76kg
Born: 15/3/95
Home club: Dandenong Stingrays
General Comments: This is a player if you watched two years ago, you may have questioned his ability at AFL level and with hard work and a little confidence has really made it hard to break away from the shadow of his older brother.
His testing results also don't do his game ability justice. He has very good closing speed and tight in a pack he seems to have great agility and just a sense of his surroundings. I would personally be placing him with Guthrie and saying, watch this kid play and everything will be fine.

Strengths: Like Guthrie he has the ability to shut down a player and at the same time create some rebound from defence. His efficiency numbers were very good, so he often makes the right decision. Is a one touch player below his knees which at AFL level can be very valuable. Has a great work ethic from all reports and is rarely beaten. My favourite part of his game, that I personally think is very hard to teach is game sense and reading the play. He often judges the drop of the ball, where to run, when to attack and many other split second decisions that require a "football brain"

What he needs to work on: At the moment he tends to kick it LONG and use his big boot. He could lower his eyes sometimes. He could work on his first 10m speed and utilise his top end speed, but often players are on the move so having a slower 5m speed is not terrible.

How he fits: This was mainly a player drifting down the rankings for whatever reason and was purely best available. I would not mind Guthrie moving into the midfield and allowing Jones to learn his craft in the back half, being a replacement for the Hunt position. I was strongly considering the requests from a few Geelong board members, but I hope to obtain either my preferred player at my next selection or a player of similar ability.

How the hell did he get to 36

Oversight...or peeps just getting some other names out there...or he was 2nd selection for the last 10 selectors.

Sliders always occur in actual drafts.

I reckon he will be seriously considered by every Club from Geelong at #16 to Hawthorn at #24 and definately won't last past Brisbane's #25. I really think Brisbane should take him as i think he suits them perfectly on and off field at this time. Loyal.

But that's what makes drafts interesting. The differing opinions, slight and vast.

he should never have. for him to be behind a few others is a real surprise. He is every chance in to the 15-20 range. Be super surprised if he is around post 25.

I'm shattered. I have him at 15. And my 16 is still there but I think there is an enormous gap and it's speculative from here. Jones was the last of the really good prospects.

Well, this has worked nicely. I have a first round grade on three players remaining - two of whom are Isaiah Miller and Tom Cutler. I would love either at Fremantle, and think they'd both fit in nicely. But...

Pick 37 Fremantle - George Hewett

I rate this kid very highly, genuine first round chance for me. I considered him for my first pick, but thought I'd have a decent shot of snagging him here. So much development to come, it wouldn't surprise if he ended up as one of the better midfielders from the whole draft. Full write up when I get home, but I rate him higher than Crouch and Cripps.

Well, this has worked nicely. I have a first round grade on three players remaining - two of whom are Isaiah Miller and Tom Cutler. I would love either at Fremantle, and think they'd both fit in nicely. But...

Pick 37 Fremantle - George Hewett

I rate this kid very highly, genuine first round chance for me. I considered him for my first pick, but thought I'd have a decent shot of snagging him here. So much development to come, it wouldn't surprise if he ended up as one of the better midfielders from the whole draft. Full write up when I get home, but I rate him higher than Crouch and Cripps.

I'd be waiting to see where Hewett would land. There is a rumour that Port Adelaide are dead keen on him with our first pick, #21, which came as a surprise to most of our board as a lot of mock drafts have him going 35-50. He does sound a likely type though and his highlights are super impressive.