The "Annual" Good Friday football discussion thread

Are you happy for football to be played on Good Friday?

I meant football wise, but i have a drink or 10 on good friday just for good measure. Also go for a fish too.:thumbsu:
Fishing sounds good but too much effort.
I usually just end up drinking, eating hot cross buns and drafting angry letters that will never get published to the papers about the Christian religion interfering with my religion (footy, if you hadn't figured it out :p)

Ch 7 dont want it at night as it would cut out the RCH appeal

So the only time is during the day at the G or twilight starting 4 pm and finishing before the appeal.

Its not that hard a win win situation for all and all the religious people DONT have to go or watch the game but I bet thousands will.

Give it to Foxtel as an exclusive game then.

Almost 2k views on this thread, only 6 votes for not having football on Good Friday...hmmm

Im quite happy for no football on friday, i wouldn't complain if we got it either, but prefer to have no football on Good Friday.

Not a religious person myself, I can see how appealing it is from a spectator point of view. However, since good friday is good friday, pretty much no pubs, restaurants, TABs, bottleshops, casinos, etc being open, its one of those things where no footy being on is part of good friday, for myself its a good time to just reflect on things. Plus it makes a massive Saturday.

But if Good Friday footy was a goer, I wouldnt protest against it.;)

Plenty of places are open!

Melbourne attractions

There’s no shortage of options to keep the family entertained over Easter, with these places open every day:

Sealife Melbourne Aquarium: 9.30am to 6pm
Crown Entertainment Complex: From noon on Good Friday
Eureka Skydeck 88: 10am to 10pm
Medibank Icehouse: 9am to midnight
Melbourne Zoo: 9am to 5pm
Royal Botanic Gardens: 7.30am to sunset (visitor centre open 9.30am – 5pm every day)
Wonderland Fun Park: 11am to 5pm
IMAX Melbourne Museum: 9.45am to late
Cooks’ Cottage: 9am to 5pm

Cinemas in the cityIf movies are more your thing, all major city cinemas will open as normal over the Easter weekend.

Village Cinemas: Crown Casino (limited hours on Good Friday)
Kino Cinema: 45 Collins Street Melbourne
Cinema Nova: 380 Lygon Street, Carlton
Hoyts: Melbourne Central

Plus Chemists

Petrol Stations

Cafes /Take aways

Plus many many more So its just pathetic that the AFL dosent take advantage of this day.

Ch 7 dont want it at night as it would cut out the RCH appeal

So the only time is during the day at the G or twilight starting 4 pm and finishing before the appeal.

Its not that hard a win win situation for all and all the religious people DONT have to go or watch the game but I bet thousands will.
That's fine. Hold the game outside Victoria, where nobody knows or cares what this appeal you all go on about even is.

Yes, no, can't believe it's not on, don't need sport every day, damned religious nutcases, too many football-obsessed meatheads, time for family, can't take family to a game, TV rights, 18th-century superstitions, important social tradition.............................

That'll do.....................

Bookmarked until next year.

Plenty of places are open!

Melbourne attractions

There’s no shortage of options to keep the family entertained over Easter, with these places open every day:

Sealife Melbourne Aquarium: 9.30am to 6pm
Crown Entertainment Complex: From noon on Good Friday
Eureka Skydeck 88: 10am to 10pm
Medibank Icehouse: 9am to midnight
Melbourne Zoo: 9am to 5pm
Royal Botanic Gardens: 7.30am to sunset (visitor centre open 9.30am – 5pm every day)
Wonderland Fun Park: 11am to 5pm
IMAX Melbourne Museum: 9.45am to late
Cooks’ Cottage: 9am to 5pm
Cinemas in the cityIf movies are more your thing, all major city cinemas will open as normal over the Easter weekend.

Village Cinemas: Crown Casino (limited hours on Good Friday)
Kino Cinema: 45 Collins Street Melbourne
Cinema Nova: 380 Lygon Street, Carlton
Hoyts: Melbourne Central

Plus Chemists

Petrol Stations

Cafes /Take aways

Plus many many more So its just pathetic that the AFL dosent take advantage of this day.
"Gee mate the pubs are closed, where should we go before the footy?"
"How about we start at the servo, then kick on to the chemist?"
"Brilliant!"

"Gee mate the pubs are closed, where should we go before the footy?"
"How about we start at the servo, then kick on to the chemist?"
"Brilliant!"
Don't forget the hours of fun you can have at Captain Cook's Cottage!

So crown casino is allowed to operate on Good Friday and take everyone's money (gambling is a sin religious groups?)

Wow.

Footy will be positive it will be a helpful addition to the RCH appeal

WAFL have two matches on GF this year. There have been matches on GF for a few years now and there was no fuss when they first started.

If an AFL GF match starts over east, this might affect the crowds here. That would be a shame.

I support NM v WB playing on GF; seeing two smaller clubs get a stand alone match would be great. With the right promotion, I think it can become a blockbuster. I'm sick of seeing the big clubs getting everything. Time for the AFL to put their money where their mouth is and truly equalise, not just throw money at the smaller clubs.

There's nothing wrong with having faith. There is a problem when that faith is so shaky the followers of it feel the need to drown out others who view things differently.

Religious folk can observe Good Friday with solemnity. But don't deprive others who see things differently from observing it as we see fit.

Why would the AFL put North v Dogs on Good Friday next year? Would they even open the top deck at Etihad?
To be fair, we drew 28,512 the other week in round 2, and when you consider both teams were coming off shocking losses (I know our membership number growth rate slowed right down after the Bombers loss) and the fact it was a 4:40 Sunday twilight game, I don't see why a Friday night match where there is **** all to do all night wouldn't draw a decent crowd.

There's nothing wrong with having faith. There is a problem when that faith is so shaky the followers of it feel the need to drown out others who view things differently.

Religious folk can observe Good Friday with solemnity. But don't deprive others who see things differently from observing it as we see fit.
I think most Christians in Australia don't have a problem with footy being played on good friday.

Voted no, but don't care too much if they go ahead with footy on good friday.

I'm Catholic but not religious, just feel that the whole reason the day is a public holiday in the first place is to allow people to go to church and do their religious stuff so we should at least respect that. If that stuff no longer represents the majority off our society then just get rid of the public holiday altogether and get our economy back to being productive.

But Footy on Easter Sunday/Easter Monday is fine, right?

If there was no longer a public holiday on Good Friday wouldn't there just become another public holiday at another point in the year?

Yep, it's not like The Lord pays us for the day off, employers take public holidays into account when working out salaries and wages, that's why casuals don't get paid for it but get 25% more.

So it's a ridiculous argument to say if you don't believe, don't have the day off as people have earned the day off, it's just a mass RDO that's given a name.

How does thAt work exactly ?

The hospital appeal is only relevant in Victoria. No reason you couldn't have a game outside Victoria, involving non-Victorian clubs. Ch 7 could still show the appeal in Victoria while Fox shows the footy; with Ch 7 showing the game in the competing clubs' home state.

It'd be a good day for a WA derby or a Q-Clash.

Spot on.Lets face it Good Friday has religious connotations, and its chance that the Children's Hospital appeal is on the same day. I would go for 2 games - One in Victoria and one interstate.

To be fair, we drew 28,512 the other week in round 2, and when you consider both teams were coming off shocking losses (I know our membership number growth rate slowed right down after the Bombers loss) and the fact it was a 4:40 Sunday twilight game, I don't see why a Friday night match where there is **** all to do all night wouldn't draw a decent crowd.

A decent crowd can not fit in Etihad. Either good friday football is going to become a blockbuster and en event on the calendar like ANZAC day and Easter Monday or it will be treated like any other friday. Playing North v the Dogs is not going to establish a blockbuster. It will be a game that only a few care about and even fewer attend