The Beer Thread.

Had that Asahi yesterday, Esti. Wasn't too bad, subtle enough taste for me to enjoy it.. Though Jacks and Jaeger were heavily involved in my evening before this.

For those who like a Mid-Strength, Coopers Mid Ale is superb. Hasn’t been around long, but it has the full flavour that lacks in reduced strength beer.

Moose Drool got a good rating on the Kiwi Lost Planet site - any idea if it is available in Australia? Might have to try me some...

I haven't seen it for sale over here, but I'm keeping an eye out. If you see some for sale, definitely snap it up. Very tasty brown ale :thumbsu:

Hey, over in the Canberra bottlos they've just started promoting a beer with the old "Sail and Anchor" logo on it - including having samples at the cash register ("Ducks and Drakes" or some such name - didn't see much except it is in a bottle with a grey label, but with the old S&A logo on it). Is that a decent beer from the Freo pub/microbrewery of the same name? Or is it another one of the big brewers using the name to flog garbage? Or has no-one else heard of it??

I've not been too game to buy it 'cause my Kirin and Kilkenny with Jameson's is such an established habit. But if it is as good as IPA, Litlle Creatures or Fat Yak I might be willing to try a bottle or two. The totally over the top promotion leaves me a bit worried though - I mean, with anything alcoholic, if it is half decent surely word of mouth will keep sales booming??

I haven't seen it for sale over here, but I'm keeping an eye out. If you see some for sale, definitely snap it up. Very tasty brown ale :thumbsu:

The International Beer Shop in Leederville would be your best bet. They get new stock in regularly from all over the place - a couple of times a year they get various beers in from different US micro-breweries. If you become a member (free) they'll send you regular emails about what new stock they'll have in-store.

Hey, over in the Canberra bottlos they've just started promoting a beer with the old "Sail and Anchor" logo on it - including having samples at the cash register ("Ducks and Drakes" or some such name - didn't see much except it is in a bottle with a grey label, but with the old S&A logo on it). Is that a decent beer from the Freo pub/microbrewery of the same name? Or is it another one of the big brewers using the name to flog garbage? Or has no-one else heard of it??

The Sail & Anchor do have a beer called Dry Dock, was that it?

S&A are always doing different seasonal beers so there is every chance they have a beer called Ducks & Drakes; I've never seen it, heard of it, or tasted it though. Also, with most micro-breweries, seasonal beers aren't generally bottled.

The International Beer Shop in Leederville would be your best bet. They get new stock in regularly from all over the place - a couple of times a year they get various beers in from different US micro-breweries. If you become a member (free) they'll send you regular emails about what new stock they'll have in-store.

The Sail & Anchor do have a beer called Dry Dock, was that it?

Also, with most micro-breweries, seasonal beers aren't generally bottled

Yep Dry Dock it is - has anyone tried it?

Fantastic prattsta! Of course will have to wait for some reasonable special to come through now that I'm a club member - geez prices!

Been after this quality US drop for a while but not paying close to $140 a carton :) hmmm then again...

Been more into white wines recently but I don't mind good beer. Tassie beers are by far the best Australian beers, miles ahead any other. Cascade or James Boags, take your pick. I must say, that Kiwi beer is not bad either, Steinlager.
Not sure why some bag Corona. Like esti, I don't mind it at all, especially on a very hot weather. Couple of weeks ago, my mate and myself polished off a carton of Millers Chill, some shit similar to Corona. I've never drank it before, in fact never heard of it before, but geez it went down so easily, like water almost :D. Not the best beer around [far from it] but very drinkable.
The best beers I've ever had are Augustiner, Warsteiner and Pilsner Urquell [Plzen, Czech beer]. Budvar [which is basically THE original Budweiser] is very good too, much better than the American version.

Emu, XXXX, Swan and other crap, I just can't stand. Just terrible beers.

Worth a bump to say if you can find the Little Creatures Single Batch IPA anywhere, get on it. Fuller flavoured than their Pale with a fair bit more hoppiness, and it comes in man sized pint bottles.
Sensational!

Dry Dock is brewed by Gage Roads Brewery mainly for Woolworths owned bottleshops. The link is that Woolworths has heavily invested in Gage Roads so they have a brewery which is able to produce 'boutique' beers for them. Much like CUB with Cascade and Lion Nathan with Little Creatures, Hahn and James Squire.

Hi all, can anyone recommend the Little Creatures Dark Ale.
I love all the other LC beers and want to know if it's worth putting aside the Bright Ale once or twice for the new kid.
Cheers all.

I am really enjoying my dark ales of late. Enjoy the flavour and I am not getting nasty hangovers on them. Ones that I like thus far include Tooheys old, Kozel Dark, James Squire Porter, Cooper's Dark, Wells Bombardier. Speaking of Wells they have got an awesome honey beer called Waggle Dance.

For those who like a Mid-Strength, Coopers Mid Ale is superb. Hasn’t been around long, but it has the full flavour that lacks in reduced strength beer.

Coopers clear not bad either for a low carb.
Quite like the skinny red bull style can it comes in too! :D

The moment you've all been waiting for - the latest instalment of my beer travel diaries.

This one is from my trip to Tonga and NZ earlier this year:

NZBeer.gif

Molson Canadian & Sam Adams are the two winners at the moment :thumbsu:

Although getting Canadian over here is nigh on impossible :mad:

Here's my defintive list of the good, bad and ugly of common Aussie beers (not including midstrength cos that's not real beer):

Good

Beez Neez - Shit
Blue Tongue Premium - Average
Pure Blonde - Ultra shit
Cascade Premium - Average
Coopers Pale Ale - My stock beer
Gage Roads - Which one? The new premium lager is quite morish
Hahn Premium - Haven't had it in a long time
Hahn Super Dry - Not a fan
Boags Premium - Goes down very nicely
Coopers Stout - yum
James Squire Indian Pale Ale - Yes, like this
James Squire Pilsner - And this
James Squire Porter - Haven't tried
Little Creatures Pale Ale - One of Australia's best
Little Creatures Pilsner - Goes down well

Bad (overrated)

Carlton Cold - Total shit
Crownies - shit
Carlton Premium Dry - average
Coopers Sparkling Ale - Mother's milk, but not a shade on the Pale
Boags Draught - Underrated
Boags Strongarm - Do they still make it? Used to enjoy.
James Squire Golden Ale - Agree
Tooheys Extra Dry - Bland
Tooheys New - meh
Tooheys Old - Not bad

Ugly (horrible)

Carlton Draught - Razor blades
Carlton Dry Fusion - agree
Emu Bitter - Cat piss
Emu Export - Great stuff, the beer I drink when camping, embrace it
Boags St George - Total shite
Melbourne Bitter - Take or leave it
Redback - Complex taste, goes well with dinner.
Swan Draught - Go wash your mouth out.
VB - Bit sugary, but will have one on the odd occassion
I'm not sure if they've been mentioned, but Feral Hop Hog is very tasty. Think of a ballsier version of LC Pale.

Nail Ale Stout is friggen amazing stuff. One of the best stout going around, their Pale Ale is damn good also.

And the Marzen that LC brought out was very very drinkable.

Yep Dry Dock it is - has anyone tried it?
Yeah, it tastes like soapy water.

Has nothing to do with the sail and anchor either. Is brewed by gage roads for woolworths, along with some other shit beers and a cider they've recently released.

Crying shame that pub is owned by woolworths.

LL have a few deals on atm. Walked out with a carton of Heineken (largely due to seeing the Heineken factory on permanent re-run all week on the Discovery channel) and a 6 pack of Little Creatures for $50. If you blokes haven't stocked up on your piss for this weekend, you might want to head down there for a bit of value.

Haven't had any Little Creatures for years, and I'm regretting going the Pale Ale over the Pilsner :/. Oh well, guess I'll survive.

Anyone else reminded of Passiona when they drink it?

LL have a few deals on atm. Walked out with a carton of Heineken (largely due to seeing the Heineken factory on permanent re-run all week on the Discovery channel)

I watched that the other day too. The size and scale of that place is staggering.

I've gotten back into homebrewing lately and the quality I'm coming out with is a lot better than my first attempt back my uni days. Probably because now I have the patience to let them age for 6 weeks or so instead of scoffing them a fortnight after they were bottled.

Once I've got a nice stockpile ageing I'm gunna start getting creative inventing chilli beers and other exotic stuff.

Yeah, I'm looking to start home brewing around christmas time once I can work up the cash to buy the kit. Was inspired by the homebrew thread on the GD boards, and I think I'd really get into the whole craftsmanship thing (and of course, the drinking cheap beer).

I'm kind of getting the vibe that the type of yeast is where it's at, and if I'm going to do it, I'm going to do it right. How hard is it to get hold of the different varieties, and qualities? Would getting some yeast from some top notch breweries be possible if you know the right people, or is it top secret kind of shit?

Yeah, I'm looking to start home brewing around christmas time once I can work up the cash to buy the kit. Was inspired by the homebrew thread on the GD boards, and I think I'd really get into the whole craftsmanship thing (and of course, the drinking cheap beer).

I'm kind of getting the vibe that the type of yeast is where it's at, and if I'm going to do it, I'm going to do it right. How hard is it to get hold of the different varieties, and qualities? Would getting some yeast from some top notch breweries be possible if you know the right people, or is it top secret kind of shit?
Nah it isn't hard, check some of the places on the following link:

www.beerandbrewer.com/stockists/home_brew_wa

LL have a few deals on atm. Walked out with a carton of Heineken (largely due to seeing the Heineken factory on permanent re-run all week on the Discovery channel) and a 6 pack of Little Creatures for $50.

Is that the factory in Amsterdam? Or another one? The Ammy one is awesome, free beers at the end of the tour, they taste so much better over there too.