The Brisbane Thread

Since there is a thread on Perth on this board I thought we should have one on Brisbane, affectionately known by locals Brisvegas. The Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast, which I much prefer tbh, can also be discussed here. These three, as well as Toowoomba, make up a megalopolis of almost 4 million people.
People who visit here or locals who have never been need to go to the Eat Street Markets.

http://www.eatstreetmarkets.com

The western suburbs, like those of Sydney and Melbourne, should be avoided.

Brisbane in beautiful in parts, but atrocious in others. The Gold Coast is being ruined by unnecessary expenditure, it's ever-growing drug scene and its Miami-like culture.

The Sunshine Coast is where it's at. Mooloolaba/Noosa are both prime locations that keep getting better and better.

Been a couple of times but prefer locations such as Sunshine Coast, Coolum, Port Douglas and Cairns.

Just bought the retirement block, acreage and house, a bit inland from Buderim.

Good move/bad move?

Can't wait to get out of f***ing Perth.

Why would you buy it then ask a question like that lol, didn't you scout the area ?

Of course I did, and contracts are settled. But some local perspective would be nice and something that you can't really get from a few weeks looking around with estate agents.

Gold Coast, lolol what a shithole. Lived in Brisbane all my life, no major complaints. Lots of bogans if you get any more than 15 mins south of the river, mind you. Oh, and no one likes footy, it's all league. Would love the chance to move to Melbourne or Adelaide in the near future.

Public transport is atrocious if you don't live in the city, making nights out a pain in the arse and ****ing expensive. Not to mention the Valley being a ****ing disgrace of a nightlife district. Full of shit venues full of shit people.

Pros: The 'Gabba is great and easy to get to (German club across the road rocks). The Sunny Coast is only a two-hour drive away. Gold Coast airport is a gem when it comes to cheap flights in and out of the country. No daylight saving. Not Sydney.

Good move/bad move?

Good move.

Brisbane in beautiful in parts, but atrocious in others. The Gold Coast is being ruined by unnecessary expenditure, it's ever-growing drug scene and its Miami-like culture.

The Sunshine Coast is where it's at. Mooloolaba/Noosa are both prime locations that keep getting better and better.

Yep, the Sunshine Coast is my favourite. Sadly, it's going the way of the Gold Coast.

Good move/bad move?

By inlandfromBuderim you mean...

My parents own a house in Alexandra Headland (5km from Buderim) near the beach. Best place in Australia, I believe.

By inlandfromBuderim you mean...

My parents own a house in Alexandra Headland (5km from Buderim) near the beach. Best place in Australia, I believe.

Montville.

AH is awesome, but way outta my price range for what I wanted

Ye, Montville is a scenic area in the Sunshine Coast hinterland. Half an hours' drive from most Sunshine Coast hotspots. Some magnificent views can be had up that way. When you making the move?

Early December.:thumbsu: