Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread Part 2

Seriously - we finished 11th last year and people expected us to rise to 8th with realistic expectations - and you and mark are blowing up because we did not beat the Home and Away Premiers and the Grand Final winner - seriously ?
Where have I blown up? Don't create something that isn't there to suit your tirade.
Those are your expectations - Carlton has failed because we failed to beat the two best teams in the competition (by a MASSIVE MARGIN) - it really is so far beyond ridiculous its funny.
It's not about wins and losses. As I said in my last point. It's the patterns of play, structures, selection integrity, effort and playing injured players. Nothing to do with whether we win or lose. I was disappointed we weren't ruthless in the 2nd vs freo and the gc game was a horrid scrap.
There is absolutely NO QUESTION who has zero footy knowledge.
Capitalising your point doesn't make it stronger. Re read the article it says nothing except we lost to some finals teams but St Kilda should be under the pump more than us. Seriously it reads like an entitled whinge of someone who can't hack some media attention/ cares far too much what the media thinks.

Has anyone else bought anything online from the Carlton shop recently?

I placed a order on the 31st of March and have still not received anything. Have sent messages and emails to the club with no response and if you ring the number on the website for the shop it rings out or goes to a voicemail saying messages can't be left.

I usually have no trouble with them but this experience has been very poor.

Mongrel - the only thing that matters at the end of the day - pick another word if you like.
Heart an interesting word for this I think.
I may be off the mark, but I believe this needs to be bottom up and ctivated in culture. Of course top down non-negotiables are a start, but without cultural buy in I think it will burn players out.

Has anyone else bought anything online from the Carlton shop recently?

I placed a order on the 31st of March and have still not received anything. Have sent messages and emails to the club with no response and if you ring the number on the website for the shop it rings out or goes to a voicemail saying messages can't be left.

I usually have no trouble with them but this experience has been very poor.

Not sure if its the reason why but the club has recently moved the shop to a different location

McClure does the same thing every single year no matter what our position is - its literally how I view him - just having a constant bash and a whinge.

As far your comments on the article are concerned - rubbish. You're just dismissing absolute facts.

Seriously - we finished 11th last year and people expected us to rise to 8th with realistic expectations - and you and mark are blowing up because we did not beat the Home and Away Premiers and the Grand Final winner - seriously ?

Those are your expectations - Carlton has failed because we failed to beat the two best teams in the competition (by a MASSIVE MARGIN) - it really is so far beyond ridiculous its funny.

There is absolutely NO QUESTION who has zero footy knowledge.

There are serious problems right now at Carlton and they are Murphy, Betts getting games when they should not be, and players out of position - SPS is so ridiculous its not funny. Dow's game structure is a travesty as is LOB.

Something is going on in this regard and that is what is destroying the players confidence - I 100% think it is politics at Carlton - like it ALWAYS IS.

You're seeing what you want to see for the sake of an argument.

SkyHorse, and plenty of others, have made it abundantly clear that the frustration is in the manner in which we're playing, not the score at the end.

You're seeing what you want to see for the sake of an argument.

SkyHorse, and plenty of others, have made it abundantly clear that the frustration is in the manner in which we're playing, not the score at the end.

Who cares what SKyHorse thinks - they are defending SPS as a back man belligerently.

Rocket talks about pressure and intent and they cite Richmond as being the no 1 pressure team able to turn defence into attack...I'm no coaching expert but if you watch Richmond (on TV)....they seem systematic in their intent and attack on the ball carrier with numbers who don't get in each others way and in most cases exit smoothly highly skilled and set up a scoring opportunity.....we don't seem to do that...do we know how to do it....is it being coached....do our coaches know how to do it....are we not skilled enough to do it........Teague says he wants us to play our style/brand of football....but obviously its not working consistently.....

Where have I blown up? Don't create something that isn't there to suit your tirade.

What tirade ?

It's not about wins and losses. As I said in my last point. It's the patterns of play, structures, selection integrity, effort and playing injured players. Nothing to do with whether we win or lose. I was disappointed we weren't ruthless in the 2nd vs freo and the gc game was a horrid scrap.

Thats just ridiculous.

Capitalising your point doesn't make it stronger. Re read the article it says nothing except we lost to some finals teams but St Kilda should be under the pump more than us. Seriously it reads like an entitled whinge of someone who can't hack some media attention/ cares far too much what the media thinks.

Its a faster way of emphasizing something - and clearly it worked.

Seriously it reads like an entitled whinge of someone who can't hack some media attention/ cares far too much what the media thinks.

No - it points out that we have played the two top teams and lost and people are blowing their stacks like McClure - which he does every single year - its well thought out against tsunami of nuff nuffs who don't understand where we are at and the reality of those two games.

I care more for what SkyHorse thinks than for what you do with such a sh*t attitude :)

Thats great mate. I'm not here for a popularity contest, I want to talk about footy with honesty and integrity.

There are others who just want to support their team, pump their favourite players and think this is a urinating competition on footy knowledge or popularity.

I want to know information, good insight, good analysis, good logic, data, facts and reason and absolutely none of that comes from attitudes like yours and SkyHorse.

What tirade ?

Thats just ridiculous.

Its a faster way of emphasizing something - and clearly it worked.

No - it points out that we have played the two top teams and lost and people are blowing their stacks like McClure - which he does every single year - its well thought out against tsunami of nuff nuffs who don't understand where we are at and the reality of those two games.
Just a heads up from those who have seen it time and time again. It's not your fault that you think you're the first person here who knows what the clubs problems are. They come and go like late draft picks. Pull it back a bit or this won't end well for you. Message ends.

yep - in nice words mostly he pretty much said "Carlton lacks mongrel..."

"players who dont have the intent - must be moved on"

"it is now a turnover game and turnover is about pressure"

you need pressure and an ability to kick teh ball when you get the turnover - sees a big difference between teams who have both and teams that hve neither or just one of...

Eadie is pretty blunt - doesn't like players who don't defend first by tackling and beiung hard at it.

100% effort, 100% of the time..

I care. Plenty of people do.

How do you remember players like Rhys-Jones, Leigh Mathews, Wayne Carey?Would you have liked the last two at the Blues when they were in their prime? Would you have liked Leigh Mathews as a coach or coaching mentor?

I have my own line, I didn’t want Degoey for that reason, but Cameron Smith doesn’t cross it and players who cross the line in physicality dont either.

Where is your line?

Thats great mate. I'm not here for a popularity contest, I want to talk about footy with honesty and integrity.

There are others who just want to support their team, pump their favourite players and think this is a urinating competition on footy knowledge or popularity.

I want to know information, good insight, good analysis, good logic, data, facts and reason and absolutely none of that comes from attitudes like yours and SkyHorse.

Sounds like what you want is for everyone to tell you how amazing your insights are, and when someone disagrees with your criticism of SPS you spit the dummy.

You've taken a disparate collection of opinions from people frustrated with our performance, and somehow decided that all those people are just unreasonably salty that we lost to a premiership contender. I've highlighted that for you, and your response was " Who cares what SKyHorse thinks - they are defending SPS as a back man belligerently. "

So don't tell me you're here for good insights and analysis - all you've done is ignore the details of other peoples' opinions, misrepresented said opinions, and then decided that someone isn't worth listening to because they have a differing view on SPS as a defender.

Quality contributions from someone who has been here all of three days.

Yep, Mark Maclure is spot on. We don't have an identity and are constantly embroiled in off-field politics which ruin this club. Our player development is atrocious. The next month will be make or break. 2 wins out of 4 will not cut it.
Really? think thats a bit extreme for where we are which isnt playing well and the draw we have in the next month with a rising brisi and in form doggies and melb i think 2 wins of the next 4 is fine .
Makes us 4-5 and considering our form and availabilities at the end of that month we have a platform to launch from with a better lineup .
Its a long season plenty to play out yet .
Of course all depends how fair dinkum our players are in winning football games .
Personally im not confident but that view is from what ive seen to date this year not what we know they are capable of if invested week to week .
We shall see interesting times ahead .

I think most supporters can cop a few losses so long as they can see the players bust their arses and try their guts out.

Personally I think our strategy is fine, maybe our players have got it a little too good and don't remember what it takes when you've gotta fight for what you get?

no selection integrity - if there were, Murphy Casboult even SPS would have been dropped at some point over the past year

Setterfield also seemed untouchable for a while until his form became too bad to ignore
Can't drop Levi yet if we don't want to kill Pitto.
I don't agree with it but the glaring list error is what it is. Can't be helped for now.

agree re Levi and his ability to play many roles is a great plus at this moment, but plenty of other players shouldn't be automatic selections, they're very much replaceable.