Banhammer Big House Under 70s
<http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2003/12/27/1072308725518.html>

Premiership chances a matter of time
By Rohan Connolly
December 28, 2003

Tick, tick, tick. The clock keeps creeping forward. An AFL season comes and goes. Then another year. And with the approach of a new one, the window of premiership opportunity for 16 clubs opens or narrows.
So goes the "premiership clock" theory often espoused by Collingwood coach Mick Malthouse. In the dual premiership coach's football time zone system, the time for winning flags is between 11 and 1 o'clock. The chance may have slipped come 3 o'clock, and by 6, we're strictly in rebuilding territory.
It's a theory that has probably occupied the veteran coach's mind a little more frequently these past few months, Collingwood having fluffed its second successive opportunity at the grand prize after spending a full five years moving from 6 to 12. The precocious, underrated Pies probably got to the first of them by 10.30. By September this year, however, at least until grand final day, few would have argued that Collingwood was anything other than perfectly placed.
With a grand final hiding and another six months later, where will the hands on the Magpies' clock be come the start of 2004? That depends upon your criteria.
It will be tempting to many next year to envisage Collingwood at 2 o'clock, for a couple of obvious reasons. Who can say with any certainty what will be the psychological impact of two successive grand final losses, particularly in an era in which they are harder to come by.

Geelong was the last team to lose two in a row, in 1994-95. There are plenty of people at Kardinia Park who will tell you the Cats still wear the scars of those defeats.
Then there's the Nathan Buckley factor. The Magpie skipper's premiership dream is unfulfilled and, at 31, could remain so. His influence as a leader will continue, but for how much longer can he deliver that influence he has, purely as a football talent?
But those who still see Collingwood at 12 o'clock have weighty arguments also. While Buckley's output may decline, so has the Magpies' dependence upon him, paticularly over the past two seasons. Age? The Pies have officially the youngest list in the league next year. Experience? Surely the harsh grand final lessons learnt by the likes of young Jason Cloke, Rhyce Shaw and Richard Cole against the might of Brisbane must have benefited them greatly.
The biggest problem for the Pies might be more the number of top-order rivals also residing in the "premiership hours".
With a month of last season to go, who wouldn't have seen Brisbane was creeping slowly past one on the clockface, ageing and injured? But September revealed again the Lions' clear superiority over their rivals in one, not unimportant aspect - sheer talent. There's an argument a fourth flag on end for the Lions might be less a psychological hurdle than was a hat-trick. But there can be few arguments that if Brisbane is past 12 o'clock, it's by a few minutes only.
Port Adelaide will have more than its share of sceptics next season given its September capitulations of the past two years. But the Power has lost only nine of its past 44 home-and-away games, and while it has lost Nick Stevens, will regain injured prime movers Matthew Primus, Josh Francou and Roger James. A couple of "chokes" at the wrong moment shouldn't be enough to have Port headed towards 3 o'clock.

That's more of a problem for its SA stablemate. Adelaide stocked up heavily on experience for a genuine premiership tilt in 2003 but fell well short. The Crows' best players remain their oldest and, in some cases, most injury-prone. They'd appear for all the world somewhere between two and three, their best past, their worst to come. The lack of significant changes to the list, however, indicates the Crows still think they're close enough to midday.

Who is creeping up to the premiership zone? Before last season, Sydney would have been considered almost as close to six o'clock. Now, the Swans, having fallen a few goals short of a grand final berth, surely have to be around nine or 10.
Fremantle, too, has the look of a team that, with little more than fine tuning, can step out of the twilight hours into flag-winning territory.
And St Kilda's consistent plundering of the best young talent in the country has the Saints, though a little further behind the other two, at least about 8.30 or nine.
Essendon is, depending upon your view, overly reliant on a couple of stars and still on the downslope of its glorious 2000, headed for 2 o'clock, or, regenerating, reinvigorated, and after a fine finish to 2003, closer to 10.
Hawthorn has been stuck at eight or nine for too long now. If it doesn't get a wriggle on, it will find itself jumping a time zone and heading for the disastrous early hours.
And poor old Carlton, stuck on six o'clock for at least two seasons, might, thanks to its grab bag of established senior talent, finally be able to get the hands on the clockface moving again. For the Blues, the premiership clock can't move quickly enough. For their arch enemy Collingwood, in contrast, it's a case of hoping time can stand still a little longer.

I think we are about 3 o'clock but its not just a matter of where we are. Its where we are in relation to the opposition teams.

An Adelaide injury can move our clock towards 4 and an opposition injury can move it the other way.
Whaddayareckon:confused:

Originally posted by topjars
<http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2003/12/27/1072308725518.html>

Premiership chances a matter of time
By Rohan Connolly
December 28, 2003

Tick, tick, tick. The clock keeps creeping forward. An AFL season comes and goes. Then another year. And with the approach of a new one, the window of premiership opportunity for 16 clubs opens or narrows.
So goes the "premiership clock" theory often espoused by Collingwood coach Mick Malthouse.

I think we are about 3 o'clock but its not just a matter of where we are. Its where we are in relation to the opposition teams.

An Adelaide injury can move our clock towards 4 and an opposition injury can move it the other way.
Whaddayareckon:confused:

I reckon it is all just a cockamamy bull**** Mick Malthouse theory.

I'm able to celebrate a bit of a milestone, I've been into Aussie Rules and supporting the Crows for three years now - I remember at first thinking 'Ayresy is a good coach but I doubt we'll get a flag with him' and I'm seeing I was near the mark.

The season was very close all year and then of course the Lions put the pedal to the metal and showed their true skills - we've performed admirably I reckon and I'm optimistic about 2004. We just need Mark Stevens to string the whole year together.

Being away from Adelaide, I'm a bit in the clouds about our recruits - who could walk into the side/who'd be a good choice if a key player got injured out of the new blood?

Originally posted by Leigh
I'm able to celebrate a bit of a milestone, I've been into Aussie Rules and supporting the Crows for three years now - I remember at first thinking 'Ayresy is a good coach but I doubt we'll get a flag with him' and I'm seeing I was near the mark.

The season was very close all year and then of course the Lions put the pedal to the metal and showed their true skills - we've performed admirably I reckon and I'm optimistic about 2004. We just need Mark Stevens to string the whole year together.

Being away from Adelaide, I'm a bit in the clouds about our recruits - who could walk into the side/who'd be a good choice if a key player got injured out of the new blood?

IMO, Reilly & Schuback are the best chances to get a regular spot in the side next season.

Bickley has retired, & I feel that Burns' spot is under threat from Schuback.

Mark Stevens may (or may not) get considerably more games next season than this, and Welsh (IMO) is looking even a better chance than Stevens.

Stevens would displace Perrie, and Welsh would displace someone like Ladhams.

Goodwin missed a fair few games mid season last year. If Goodwin gets more games, that would probably mean less games for Torney or Massie (more probbably Torney).

Smart appears to be struggling a bit with this preseason, and if that is the case then Massie would find himself back in the side (IMO).

Originally posted by CrowsOK
As long as Ayresey is in charge, we are cherry ripe as far as I'm concerned. Go Gary!

Ah, the imposter returns !

So, what was the theme of Adelaide membership in 2002 then ?

Did you finally manage to find out from a real Crows fan somewhere ?

Hmmm, the fish are biting.

Can't really ban someone from a board for over-the-top praise - otherwise we would ban heaps of Crows supporters too! ;)

Best to chill out & fight back with humour.

Originally posted by ok.crows
Bickley has retired.

So who do you think will do the one percenters now that he is gone. The body committs, the tackles, the blocks, the sheperds, the chases, the smothers. We will miss Bicks for that stuff.

My tip is Robert Shirley;)

So who do you think will do the one percenters now that he is gone. The body committs, the tackles, the blocks, the sheperds, the chases, the smothers. We will miss Bicks for that stuff.

Would have said Matty Bode at the start of 03 but on last years form it has to be Rob Shirley.

It's all well & good to give plenty of game time to the Reilly's & Schuback's of the club but every club needs there hard at it, in & under "blue collar" work horse type & in my opinion both Shirley & Bode (providing he can regain his 02 form) fit that description to a T.

Originally posted by noddy
Would have said Matty Bode at the start of 03 but on last years form it has to be Rob Shirley.

It's all well & good to give plenty of game time to the Reilly's & Schuback's of the club but every club needs there hard at it, in & under "blue collar" work horse type & in my opinion both Shirley & Bode (providing he can regain his 02 form) fit that description to a T.

Very good analogy noddy. Bicks was a blue collar worker through and through on the footy field.

I think you've picked the right 2 in Shirley and Bode to take his place as both are prepared to get down and get dirty to get the ball. There's a spot there for the taking and you'd think that they would both bust a gut trying to get it.

Reilly is not a Bickley replacement as he is a genuine wingman with a bit of class and should be cultivated in that position.

Schuback is more of a forward pocket, HFF type at this stage, but I can see him having bursts on the ball as he develops.

Originally posted by macca23
Very good analogy noddy. Bicks was a blue collar worker through and through on the footy field.

I think you've picked the right 2 in Shirley and Bode to take his place as both are prepared to get down and get dirty to get the ball. There's a spot there for the taking and you'd think that they would both bust a gut trying to get it.

Reilly is not a Bickley replacement as he is a genuine wingman with a bit of class and should be cultivated in that position.

Schuback is more of a forward pocket, HFF type at this stage, but I can see him having bursts on the ball as he develops.
Whilst we will miss Bicks (unlike his better half) for his blue collar work, don't forget that Roo, Goody & Stinger are good in close too. We don't exactly have a team full of soft onballers. However, agree that we need the likes of Bode & Shirls to help provide some of the grunt & open it up for the receiver types (ie. Macca, Birdman, Ladhams, Reilly, etc). Reckon our mix of midfield types looks OK.

Everyone has been going on about Stiffy playing in the midfield, but Schuback is apparantly better placed to become part of the midfield mix as he has better aerobic capacity.

You left out the knees into the kidneys and elbows to the face :mad:

Whilst Shirley is likely to be an important contributor to the 1%'ers, the key is for an across the board contribution. We play our best football when we are doing the hard yacka, particularly the pressurising the opposition in our forward line to turn-over the ball. This is why our forward line looks more dangerous with Welshy.

Originally posted by noddy
Ain't it about time yuse papsies got over it ??
Would have thought they have more important concerns - like a plan B & having a decent finals series. :p

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Would have thought they have more important concerns - like a plan B & having a decent finals series. :p

Much much more easier for them to have a perpetual whinge about one incident from an opposition player than to acknowledge the real things troubling the Power which include:-

an inability to breathe in finals series - commonly known as CHOKING!!

a crap game plan which while it works in minor round games falls apart badly in finals!!

Three puerile finals series on the trot!!

The Power??? Pffftt!!

More like Power Failure!!

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Whilst Shirley is likely to be an important contributor to the 1%'ers, the key is for an across the board contribution.

The key to winning games is kicking more goals than the opposition too but it quite often happens without all players across the board contributing.

It goes without saying that "an across the board contribution" of 1%s will be good but some players dont have it in them.

You are born with it. Shirleys got it Bickley had it.

The key to winning games is kicking more goals than the opposition too but it quite often happens without all players across the board contributing.

It goes without saying that "an across the board contribution" of 1%s will be good but some players dont have it in them.

You are born with it. Shirleys got it Bickley had it.

On the topic of 1%ers, as topjars says, some players have it in them, others don't.

The ones who do the 1%ers - if they can couple that with a reasonable or average possession rate, they are worthwhile players. Bickley fit this bill, so does Shirley IMO.

Players who don't do 1%ers are worthwhile if they get a much higher rate of possession. Ball magnets, "in & under get contested possession players" or even ball carriers or receivers who read the play & get free at the right moments.

If a player gets only average possession & doesn't have any other redeeming qualities or attributes to his game, then such a player is fringe at best.

IMO, Shirley is better than that.