Preview The Clock.

There's been some decent debate in Tiger threads on selection, players and our beloved Dimma. So the question i put out there in light of what has been said, where do Tigers supporters see the club on the premiership clock?

I believe we are at the 2.30am mark. We have substancially turned the list over, and have the second youngest (?) list in the AFL. We have limited rucks, our midfield is solid, one true forward, and three to four average defenders (Newman, Delidio, Houli and Rance). There is around another 5 to 7 to be delisted/traded/re-rookied.

We clearly need another two solid drafts and two years to be up and about skills wise and game plan wise.

So people, do you agree, do you disagree? What is your opinions, where do you see us on the clock:eek::eek::eek:.

Perhaps we were at 4:30am before last week but saturdays performance brought daylight savings in early so we are back to 3:30am :D

hmmm but i guess you cant expect anymore from country SA. Have a strange feeling dude, that when they bring in daylight savings the time goes from 4.30 am to 5.30 am. Its only a wild guess though, so keep turning your clock back when it comes in, to suit the backwardness. ;)

Our clock stresses me out.
I liken it more to a whacky watch bought from a smiling little fella in Bali.It shows me different times from day to day,is prone to stopping a lot of the time and you could swear at times it goes backwards.It's not even that good to look at.
But the centre one right in the middle of the display case is what caught your eye with its showy looks proudly displayed by its owner(lets call him say...Dimma).Dimma also guarrantees you 'promise boss wan hunned percent waterproof mate" and he wins you over easily with his big smile and friendly disposition.
You know damn well that the chances of this watch being "ortentic boss,the real deal" are next to none but just as every other time before with other blokes you've met along the way just like Dimma you just say"bugger it" and do exactly what you know you shouldn't,even going off to tell your mates about the great bloke Dimma down on the corner there who will do you a great Deal.
And those mates just shit can you again "sounds like that last bloke you bought that watch from Terry,remember that bloke he stitched you up a ripper Terry did".
"yeah and Spud "chimes in your other smartarse mate."Spud could've retired from all the shit you bought from him".
You know they're right because on your first trip you bought a grandfather clock from a bloke who reckons he'd been unleashed.
Yet every 5 or so years you will go back to Bali and buy another watch.You just love it and have no dea why.

hmmm but i guess you cant expect anymore from country SA. Have a strange feeling dude, that when they bring in daylight savings the time goes from 4.30 am to 5.30 am. Its only a wild guess though, so keep turning your clock back when it comes in, to suit the backwardness. ;)

You know what i mean

Our clock stresses me out.
I liken it more to a whacky watch bought from a smiling little fella in Bali.It shows me different times from day to day,is prone to stopping a lot of the time and you could swear at times it goes backwards.It's not even that good to look at.
But the centre one right in the middle of the display case is what caught your eye with its showy looks proudly displayed by its owner(lets call him say...Dimma).Dimma also guarrantees you 'promise boss wan hunned percent waterproof mate" and he wins you over easily with his big smile and friendly disposition.
You know damn well that the chances of this watch being "ortentic boss,the real deal" are next to none but just as every other time before with other blokes you've met along the way just like Dimma you just say"bugger it" and do exactly what you know you shouldn't,even going off to tell your mates about the great bloke Dimma down on the corner there who will do you a great Deal.
And those mates just shit can you again "sounds like that last bloke you bought that watch from Terry,remember that bloke he stitched you up a ripper Terry did".
"yeah and Spud "chimes in your other smartarse mate."Spud could've retired from all the shit you bought from him".
You know they're right because on your first trip you bought a grandfather clock from a bloke who reckons he'd been unleashed.
Yet every 5 or so years you will go back to Bali and buy another watch.You just love it and have no dea why.

Fantastic - and you mean my panafonic tv is a clone????

Lol :thumbsu:

The RFC premiership clock cycle...
CoolClips_wb026359.gif

Good topic and I like the concept. Have always believed that all teams in theory are at different points along a development curve. With the science and massive resource investment by each club into getting their development right, what other explanation can there be?

Since Malthouse came up with this concept several years back, I see another dimension having emerged and that is the level of depth of each team's arc. Hawthorn by cutting their list hard in 2004-6 came on with a big upswing to claim the 2008 flag, whilst Richmond's cut for same period was comparatively shallow and yielded little - 9th in 2006 and again in 2008.

If we say a team's premiership window is open from 10:30 - 1:30 then I think we are around 6:30, Melbourne around 8:00, Collingwood 12:00, Carlton 10:30, Hawthorn 11:00 and Geelong 1:30. St Kilda and Western Bulldogs are around 2:30. The Bulldogs upswing was always a lot more shallow than their peers and that's why they went no better than 3 straight Prelims with this group.

I think with more list pruning and development over next two years that our upswing should be strong and sustained. Window open 2014-18.

You know what i mean

Bwaahaahaaa....no..i mean how can anyone know what you mean? brought in daylight savings and the time went back...or daylight saving ended and the time went back, or they brought in daylight savings and the time went forward, maybe daylight savings sold some candy to the left, did a blind turn and time went haywire? IT could be that we have found that 6th dimension with the flux capacitor. ;)

Sheesh i'm glad i started this one. Everyone all of a sudden is a right Dan Paris!!! I'm really fishing for a Razor. Razor, if you're out there, come at me brah, come at me!!!!!

I look at it like this, 12-3 is coming off a flag but could still snare another if lucky, 3-6 is rebuilding the list, 6-9 is building towards playing in the finals and 9-12 is when you're in contention. As such I think we're somewhere between 3-6, more likely between 4-5 as we've still got a bit of rebuilding to do.

Sheesh i'm glad i started this one. Everyone all of a sudden is a right Dan Paris!!! I'm really fishing for a Razor. Razor, if you're out there, come at me brah, come at me!!!!!

LOL...wah?

I don't really believe in your clock analogy cap, only in putting your best foot forward every year and the rest will take care of itself. If Hawthorn seriously applied a clock analogy to their rebuild prior to and during '08, would they have still won a flag, or would the players have run around all year with it ringing in their heads that they 'weren't supposed to be ready yet?'

I have said in the past and still maintain, that until Deledio is the oldest player on our list and well into his 30's, we won't have the same close to ideal list balance that the better performed teams of the last decade have had.

If I were to be perfectly honest, I don't think Richmond will ever win another premiership, so there is no clock, window, whatever.

We have the wrong people at the helm ATM which will take another couple of years to flush through the system, then we'll meet GC and GWS approaching the beginning of their power plus all the currently good or building clubs, by which time we'll probably have burnt the last of our supporters' good will. Most importantly, I reckon by about 2025 or quite possibly earlier, the AFL will be seriously struggling to exist in its current format.

It takes a massive amount of energy resources and money (lots of it from people who can only just afford it and certainly won't be able to in the future) to run the league and there will be an abundance of other higher priorities for both those things by that time (even football people will be arguing against the wastage), so I see the AFL eventually devolving back into statewide comps at best, and ultimately, back to suburban football played and watched by local people.

Maybe a suburban Richmond will one day once again win a football league and I hope some of you are there to cheer them on, but the chances of it happening in the AFL are microscopic IMO.

LOL...wah?

I don't really believe in your clock analogy cap, only in putting your best foot forward every year and the rest will take care of itself. If Hawthorn seriously applied a clock analogy to their rebuild prior to and during '08, would they have still won a flag, or would the players have run around all year with it ringing in their heads that they 'weren't supposed to be ready yet?'

I have said in the past and still maintain, that until Deledio is the oldest player on our list and well into his 30's, we won't have the same close to ideal list balance that the better performed teams of the last decade have had.

If I were to be perfectly honest, I don't think Richmond will ever win another premiership, so there is no clock, window, whatever.

We have the wrong people at the helm ATM which will take another couple of years to flush through the system, then we'll meet GC and GWS approaching the beginning of their power plus all the currently good or building clubs, by which time we'll probably have burnt the last of our supporters' good will. Most importantly, I reckon by about 2025 or quite possibly earlier, the AFL will be seriously struggling to exist in its current format.

It takes a massive amount of energy resources and money (lots of it from people who can only just afford it and certainly won't be able to in the future) to run the league and there will be an abundance of other higher priorities for both those things by that time (even football people will be arguing against the wastage), so I see the AFL eventually devolving back into statewide comps at best, and ultimately, back to suburban football played and watched by local people.

Maybe a suburban Richmond will one day once again win a football league and I hope some of you are there to cheer them on, but the chances of it happening in the AFL are microscopic IMO.
Jesus Rayzor

Bad day today ?

You cant be serious