10k Posts
Feb 9, 2002
On a park bench
Sturt
Anyone still got one of these doorstops around? You can't even give them away at the moment, I wonder if they'll end up like the Atari 2600 and become collectible..

As for the Amiga, supposedly a great machine but suffered due to Commodores crap marketing. There's a saying that if Commodore took over Kentucky Fried Chicken, they'd rename it "Warm Dead Bird".

I remember playing on my cousins C64 as a young tacker. I'm fairly sure the game was Summer Olympics. Does anyone know the full title (was it based on Los Angeles 1984 or Seoul 1988) and are there any screen shots?

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
Anyone still got one of these doorstops around? You can't even give them away at the moment, I wonder if they'll end up like the Atari 2600 and become collectible..
Still got mine - along with printer, the infernal 1541 floppy disk drive, a bucketful of games, a couple of books on C64 memory map & assembly programming, etc, etc.

The whole lot is packed away at the back of a cupboard. These days I play C64 games on an emulator on the PC at home. A lot of the old C64 games were far superior (in terms of gameplay) to anything around on today's machines. And of course there's the nostalgia value.

When Nintendo releases a playable version of Wizball or Microprose International Soccer, maybe then I'll upgrade to a more modern machine :D

C64

You youngsters don't know what it's like to spend 45 minutes loading a game that's on tape, only to have it fail inexplicably.

And that 1541 Disk Drive... Sounded like you were starting a chainsaw when you booted that baby up.

But gosh, it was bloody good fun...
Way of the Exploding Fist (which, part way through loading screamed at you) and Green Beret... especially Green Beret. That **** was impossible.

Sigh... those were the days...

Originally posted by GoEagles
I remember playing on my cousins C64 as a young tacker. I'm fairly sure the game was Summer Olympics. Does anyone know the full title (was it based on Los Angeles 1984 or Seoul 1988) and are there any screen shots?

I think your talking about 'Summer Games' by Epyx which was released in 1984.

A good game but i prefered Summer Games II better (released in 1985). That game was AWESOME! There was also Winter Games which was awesome as well and there was a World Games which had events like the caber toss.

Summer Games Screenshots

Summer Games II screenshots

Re: Re: The Commodore 64 etc..

Originally posted by Uncle Steve
When Nintendo releases a playable version of Wizball or Microprose International Soccer, maybe then I'll upgrade to a more modern machine :D

International Soccer....is that the one where the first screen is where you get to choose the colour of the team shirts. THAT was a good game! Lots of fun.

I had an Aussie Rules game for the C64. Cant remember what it was called tho. Was based on the VFL before Brissy and WC entered. It was pretty basic. Was great fun two player because the basis of the game was there was a football on an oval on the screen....a joystick directional arrow would show up and the first person to move the joystick in that direction would move the football forward towards their goals. Was pretty basic but lots of fun.

I still ahve an Amiga 500 here...me and a mate sometime soon are gonna get it out and set it up. I had a good 200+ games for it. If anyone wants a list of games i had for the Amiga ill gladly write one up.

Re: Re: Re: The Commodore 64 etc..

Other C64 games i played a lot:

Beach Head was another excellent game. The shooting at the planes and ships was the best part.

California Games was another that got good amount of play from me. BMX and Surfing was my favourite.

Ghostbusters I liked altho i couldnt play it too well.

Hardball was bloody good.

Jumpman Junior was always fun.

Law of the West got heaps of play.

Leaderboard Golf was, and still is, one of my favourite games.

Car games like Outrun, Turbo and Test Drive, Pitstop and Pitstop 2. Pitstop 1 would still be my favourite car game of all time. How the tyres changed colour if you hit other cars and what not and showing how you pit. Great game!

Road Runner was another. Kareteka.

Ahhh memories. If only i knew how to work the emulator.

- Mega Giana Sisters (I recall hiding this game so my sisters wouldn't play it : ) )

- Bubble Bobble

- Rambo

- Pool of Radiance, Curse of Azure Bonds (and other D&D games)

Multitasking on a C64 was going to get a coffee whilst the game loaded up.

Raid over moscow was one of my favourites,
Rock and Rumble, the wrassling game I think I had that on cartridge!

the 100m in Summer Games was a joystick buster... wiggle it left and right as fast as you could for 10 seconds!

Ooooohh boy C64's!!!!!

They were a mates place thing for me. I was one of those Amstrad freaks!! I can still remember playing Lotus Turbo Challenge on a friends Amiga. 2 cars, with me playing both joysticks.

May I add, 4th & Inches :). Footballer of the year was addictive, though very basic.

Microsoccer was my favourite.

My Machine plain stopped working a few years back, I still have a fair few games around, mainly on disk + a few cartridges.

I've since found an emulator & still get enjoyment out of these games.

I got good at Ghostbusters eventually & was near automatic on Exploding Fist, 10th Dan & then some! Pitstop II got plenty of play.

Originally posted by Macca19
I think your talking about 'Summer Games' by Epyx which was released in 1984.

A good game but i prefered Summer Games II better (released in 1985). That game was AWESOME! There was also Winter Games which was awesome as well and there was a World Games which had events like the caber toss.

Summer Games Screenshots

Summer Games II screenshots

Macca, your a legend mate! I think I actually must have played both versions. I remember 'representing' Australia but doing the rowing and javelin events. Highly addictive too.

Also remember playing Donkey Kong, Bubble Bobble and California Games

it may sound wierd but for the spoilt youngsters out there the amiga was way ahead of its time, everything in the one computer without sound cards or video cards required.

and that cartridge soccer game on the c64 was awesome.

but seriously, anyone remember the amigacd, basically the first console movie playing machine to become available. unfortunately with a price tag of about $899 it was just never gonna be accepted in its day,

last of all anyone ever buy the 512kb memory expansion for the amiga that would slot into the amiga base:p i had one.

ahh yes, the memories are all comming back!
Spy Hunter, Ghost Busters, River Raid, Moon Walker, Ghost and Goblims, Monty on the Run (the greatest :D ), Jack the Ripper 1 & 2, Cops and Robbers, California Games, I could go on for hours.

These memories can be relived by visiting www.c64.com

thanks for the memories of those screenshots, i could never win the diving in the summer games, but boy did you go through joysticks quickly with the intensive wiggling to swim,run, or paddle.

any one remember the adult olympic games you could get from swap meets for the amiga:eek: :p

is this a precursor of the sims?? :D

Here's my list of memories :

- 3D Tennis.
- Almazz.
- Big Trouble In Little China.
- Blagger Goes To Hollywood.
- Colossal Adventure.
- Defender Of The Crown - I think this was someone elses, dunno if I ever played it.
- Demon Stalkers.
- Diehard - This may not have been a C64, it might have come on the later IBM.
- Elite - John Daly had it.
- Entombed.
- The Evil Dead.
- Ghettoblaster.
- Ghostbusters.
- Glider Pilot.
- Green Beret - this wasn't mine, I played it somewhere, but not often.
- Harrier.
- Le Mans.
- The Hobbit.
- International Soccer - had a dub of it, it was fun, but I don't remember anything of it now.
- Juice.
- Jumpman Junior.
- Labyrinth.
- The Last Ninja.
- Mission Impossible.
- Pole Position.
- Quo Vadis.
- Rambo 3.
- Rocky Horror Picture Show.
- R-Type.
- Skramble.
- Slap Shot.
- Tau Ceti.
- Train Racing Game (real name unknown).
- Tusker.
- Twin Kingdom Valley.
- Waterski 3D.
- Galaxy Games (real name unknown).
- Xybots.
- Zork.

i got an atari 2600 with 2 joysticks and about 30 games lieing around sumwhere, prob under the house i think now. About 10 games have original boxes. How much wud it be worth?

Reading some of these C64 links it appears, although I might be misreading, that you can now download these games.

They have a file extension of .poo but how in the hell do you get them to work?

I don't seem to have any application to play them through.

Anyone with some simple step by step instructions?

I can't remember what the name of the program is offhand. There's simple simulator programs, software, that you download. One is called CCSS or something like that, another is called something like 'VICE' ... I don't have them handy here.

So you download this and instal it. Then you go looking for the actual game simulations. There's whole websites out there just chockers full of sims. Can't remember the extension, I thought it was 'mod' or something like that.

Anyway, you download them. Then you run the VICE or whatever, and it you use it to open the game sims.

Sorry, all those names might be wrong :(

The Commodore 64 etc..