Review The Controlled how do we fix it thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Cap

What is certainly true is that winning is fun. Everyone is happy, working together, laughing and joking, enjoying their footy. Losing isn't fun. Everyone is unhappy, trying to work out who is to blame, trying to protect their own job and getting down on each other. Again, that is true for every sporting team at any level in the entire world.

Amen to that, Carl.

BTW, I was pleased (and not surprised) to see VB out in front of the media today.

The Crows had their Vic junior members coaching day today, and it was interesting to see which players were out there upfront, engaging with the kids and other supporters, and keeping it fun for everyone, and which were trying to take a back row spot and keep out of it. Now sure, you can't read too much about leadership into a glorified Auskick session, but there's something to be said for the way VB handles himself in the current circumstances, and he's got a couple of young mates who've got something to offer to try to pull us out of this. I'd like to see a lot more of these boys out there setting the tone for the team.

I don't see that the crows, apart from on the field, are showing any signs of imploding, and any talk of such is purely opportunistic and speculative. In fact, what is plainly evident, is the players' support for craig, Craig's support for the players and the club's support for both.

Nobody here knows how to fix our current dilemma. One man's fix is another's laughing point.

I just remember us being 3-8 last season.

Then all hell broke loose and we were a serious threat. Who have we lost from that team? Nobody loses their talent.

'Trouble in the club' is the misused assumption dragged out when a team is losing when everybody knows it should be winning.

Not much has changed from last season, and personally I think if we are able to get our back six back, and have them play a few games together, then the movement forward will get sorted.

Go back to the games, Freo, carlton, Hawks, Geelong, Essendon (final...ha ha that Essendon final) Collingwood (final) late last year, they were only 6/7 real matches ago.

The Crows had their Vic junior members coaching day today, and it was interesting to see which players were out there upfront, engaging with the kids and other supporters, and keeping it fun for everyone, and which were trying to take a back row spot and keep out of it. Now sure, you can't read too much about leadership into a glorified Auskick session, but there's something to be said for the way VB handles himself in the current circumstances, and he's got a couple of young mates who've got something to offer to try to pull us out of this. I'd like to see a lot more of these boys out there setting the tone for the team.
Good to hear that about VB.

The best players and the best leaders are the ones who do everything professionally. Certainly the stuff on field but everything else from preparing themselves through the week, speaking to fans, getting to know interstate draftees, heck even cleaning up their rubbish rather than leave it for one of the underlings.

I don't think you can be selfish and lazy throughout the week then flick the switch and become a professional athlete with 100% attention to detail on the weekend.

How do we fix it, where do we start

- need more spring and run from defence
- need a small crumbing forward that can apply more forward pressure
- need to improve our kick to handball ratio
- need the ability to go one on one depending on the opposition and state of the game
- need to start playing and recruiting footballers that are suited to the modern game, that is cam run and carry and have excellent kicking skills

I think we should start playing with two ruckmen again. I seem to remember us playing with two rucks for a lot of our best footy last year. I was also very happy with how we we're playing when we had Maric and Moran as the ruck duo.

The only problem with this is that the only viable rucks we have that aren't in the team is Griffen who is certainly not AFL standard and McKernan, who probably isn't ready for ruck duties at this point in his career.

Another road block would be the fact that when Moran does regain fitness he will probably have to spend atleast a couple of weeks at SANFL level to regain match fitness.

So, I think that when Bock comes back into the team (hopefully very soon) Phil Davis should be moved to CHF and Burton should be moved to FF and Tippett should be played in the ruck predominately. I know everyone loves him as a FF but I reckon he could be best as a ruckmen because there his terrible kicking will be less of a problem and his extreme athleticism and great follow up efforts could be of more use to get more clearences out of the middle and feed our outside midfielders with more oppertunities to give some good deliveries into the forward line.

I think there's not much we can really do at this stage. I think we just have to take the hit and keep pesisting. If we can get better at the basics like goal kicking (at least 60% accuracy), tackling ( at least 70 per game) and hitting targets by foot ( at least 60%) then that would be a good start for a side embarking on a pretty thorough rebuild.

After the Port game I would be more than happy if we bid farewell to a couple of senior players, not just the veterans, and started to get some miles into the legs of some of our youngsters.

Ahh yeah and FFS get walker back in the side and don't let him move out of the forward 50. I think we also need to bring in a 2nd ruckman. I would also consider starting Petrenko in the backline ( where he looks more at home)and start Doughty on the bench.

The zone's an issue. We seem to me to be setting the zone further in to the midfield this year, so the proportion of Eagleton/McGlynn uncontested goals is massive once the zone breaks.

I don't know that our midfield was that much better last year - obviously BV was an integral part of it, instead of hovering down back. Our real dynamism, especially in our great run through the end of last year was the release from a far deeper zone, through midfield run and carry, and a dynamic and mobile half forward line (Knights and Burton) with legitimate deep forward threats (Tippett and Porps).

So this week, to use a soccer analogy, lets park the bus. Numbers back, but properly back. The release from the defensive 50 has to be a kick more often than not - none of the automatic 29 touches (8 kicks, 21 handballs) for anyone named as a HBF. Mackay (if fit) and Vince on the wings for run and carry, Walker back in to lead from the square, Sellar or McKernan in to shore up the second ruck spot.

Anyone who's running two metres from the ball carrier who calls for a handball when he should be shepherding gets a stint in the room of mirrors.

Ditto anyone who tries a lateral chip kick.

Ditto anyone who handballs to someone standing still.

Ditto anyone who takes a mark and looks laterally before looking downfield.

I'm all about Ryan Griffen, but Bock?

There's a smiley so it my be a joke......

Don't get him started. Crow-mo's strongly of the opinion that CHB is the most replacement position on the ground, especially (I guess) with our tall depth.

the most replaceable position on the ground is 3rd man off a HBF. that's the softest of soft rides.

the most replaceable KPP down the spine is CHB.

I would also consider starting Petrenko in the backline ( where he looks more at home)

....at the Eagles. But I agree... back line might suit him better... but his staple needs to be work rate work rate work rate... his footballing ability is serviceable at best.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/neil-craig-vows-contest/story-e6freck3-1225857803447

With their finals hopes gone and with too many players underperforming, Craig vowed to identify the areas his side needed to improve in and rise to the challenge of fixing them.
And he urged his misfiring players to do the same.
"What it does is provide a platform for challenges in a whole range of areas - for the players, for the coaches," he said.
"We need to take some small steps, be very clear about where we're going and start to move forward

While they started well against the Bulldogs and led by two goals midway through the first term, the coach admitted his players soon became hesitant.
"You could argue some guys didn't want to get the ball," he said.

For our coach to even utter those words is indeed a sad endictment on the AFC at present!!!! Surely this all points to something being really wrong at the AFC, perhaps the rumours of player discontent are on the money???

well I think anyone who says the players are 100% behind craig is an idiot.

right now, no one knows what is going on and who believes what. it is *all* up for speculation and conjecture.

something isn't right, and as it stands we're not sure what.

well I think anyone who says the players are 100% behind craig is an idiot.

right now, no one knows what is going on and who believes what. it is *all* up for speculation and conjecture.

something isn't right, and as it stands we're not sure what.

You could be right about the players, but listening to Bock on radio, he was adamant craig had the players support. It didn't sound like spin at all. He was very quick to defend and support craig...though I only heard a bit of him...Wildy, - i think it was wildy - pointed out how strong Bock was on that point.

I like your ideas, but who would have thought Sellar would have been considered a walk up start 12 months ago :eek:

I'd like to see a return to the get it and kick it long gameplan..... but I realise thats going to get us on the wrong side of 100 point losses

Is our kicking that bad? On second thoughts it is. But having said that we have to back our forwards by at least kicking it to them especially to someone as imposing as Tippett. Ideally this game plan would require a quick crumbing forward. Which we dont think wass necessary to recruit.

So in a nutshell, the way we are playing we are going to turn it over, is it best to do this in the forward line with a hope of kicking a goal, or in the middle of the ground and in our defence because of 5 too many handballs?

We have 5? Players at least under 20 games.
We have Vince,Porps.Knighs and Van Berlo all comming of poor pre seasons
We have a injury list that is mostly long term

Yep we are 0-5 and it don't look good but there are just a few reasons that would criple any other side

I don't see that the crows, apart from on the field, are showing any signs of imploding, and any talk of such is purely opportunistic and speculative. In fact, what is plainly evident, is the players' support for craig, Craig's support for the players and the club's support for both.

Nobody here knows how to fix our current dilemma. One man's fix is another's laughing point.

The concerns which are keeping me awake at night is that we are looking more and more Richmond like (soft and hopeless) - I just can't see where our next win is going to come from, Richmond aside. This is the worst football I have seen us play in a long, long time and then you add in the injury count. I just can't see us turning this slump around.

The other thing that really concerns me is that we really haven't bottomed out yet. Other clubs who have struggled - Port, Melbourne, Freo - are heading North whereas we look to be heading South in a big way and we haven't even really started the rebuild. I think it could get ugly for a couple of years. Trying to forget our incredbily poor timing.

I'm finding it tough to remain positive (:eek:) thank god for the continued improvement of McKay, the improvement of Douglas, the rise of Davis and Schmidt.

You could be right about the players, but listening to Bock on radio, he was adamant craig had the players support. It didn't sound like spin at all. He was very quick to defend and support craig...though I only heard a bit of him...Wildy, - i think it was wildy - pointed out how strong Bock was on that point.

I'll start having faith in the players comments that they are 100% behind craigy when it comes from fringe players and/or players who have been dropped.

i.e. Walker, Griffin, Douglas etc

instead of

Goody, Burton, Bock

Of course Burton is going to love Craigy - he hasn't been dropped yet :)

Now my tonuge is slightly in cheek on this one. My tendency is to believe them. However, as Crow-Mo pointed out, SOMETHING is wrong down at the club. We don't know what - but all signs indicate that it is SOMETHING. So EVERYTHING gets called into question - and rightly so.

the most replaceable position on the ground is 3rd man off a HBF. that's the softest of soft rides.

the most replaceable KPP down the spine is CHB.

I reckon replace the 3rd man of HBF with Danger this coming week.

Lets see him win the footy and crunch some Power maggots, hard, and have some line breaking runs.

I'll start having faith in the players comments that they are 100% behind craigy when it comes from fringe players and/or players who have been dropped.

i.e. Walker, Griffin, Douglas etc

instead of

Goody, Burton, Bock

Of course Burton is going to love Craigy - he hasn't been dropped yet :)

Now my tonuge is slightly in cheek on this one. My tendency is to believe them. However, as Crow-Mo pointed out, SOMETHING is wrong down at the club. We don't know what - but all signs indicate that it is SOMETHING. So EVERYTHING gets called into question - and rightly so.

I don't think there is a rift between coach and player but I can see how a rift might form between younger/fringe player and senior players.

I dont' 'think' there is either. It wouldn't suprise me if it was true however.

I also wouldn't be suprise if there is too much love for Neil and not enough resentment in guys to prove him wrong ;)

Haven't see a single sign of riff between player and coach. We are playing patchy football... some good, some bad.

We were playing a premiership favourite on Friday with players like:

Davis
Schmidt
Cook
Petrenko
Henderson

Porplyzia, Knights and Vince MIA - 3 of our best players!

Stevens, McKay, Otten, Moran, Symes, Bock, Sellar, Sloane, Hentschel, Martin all injured.

Does make it hard to win when each week you are carrying 6-7 players... I see the team still trying and each week are showing small signs of improvement so I still remain hopeful of seeing some good football this season.

Good thread. But so many possible answers :o

To me, "how do we fix it" is two related things:
1. How we fix our performance this season, and
2. How we build, starting now, for radically improved performance in 2011 and beyond.

I couldn't care less how we go this season, if we're seriously working on the medium to long term solution. Trouble is, we as supporters will never know if that is happening, I guess we can only look for signs in the entrails of the remaining 17 games.

I'll just pick one thing to start with.

There must be significant changes to the coaching panel (assistants) at the end of this season. Whatever you think of NC, it simply cannot be that the assistants are beyond criticism / questioning.

Now, I have no idea how good Bickley and Hart are in their roles, but it disturbs me that 2 of our assistants are recent past players with no experience at another club. That just can't be right.

Contrast this with what Port did with their coaching panel at the end of last season.

We could use a Geelong 2006 type review through the rest of this season, and the coaching structure and staffing needs to be at or near the top of the list.

Good thread. But so many possible answers :o

To me, "how do we fix it" is two related things:
1. How we fix our performance this season, and
2. How we build, starting now, for radically improved performance in 2011 and beyond.

I couldn't care less how we go this season, if we're seriously working on the medium to long term solution. Trouble is, we as supporters will never know if that is happening, I guess we can only look for signs in the entrails of the remaining 17 games.

I'll just pick one thing to start with.

There must be significant changes to the coaching panel (assistants) at the end of this season. Whatever you think of NC, it simply cannot be that the assistants are beyond criticism / questioning.

Now, I have no idea how good Bickley and Hart are in their roles, but it disturbs me that 2 of our assistants are recent past players with no experience at another club. That just can't be right.

]

I maybe wrong & i apologize if i am but i take it you know what you are saying ?

Have wondered in the past that Craigy was surrounding himself with assistants that are more likely to agree with him than disagree & in my opinion that makes it a very boring coaching boxl.

I maybe wrong & i apologize if i am but i take it you know what you are saying ?
Um, sorry but I don't understand what you're saying there, mate. But it seems you are trying to make a point that's worth responding to - could you be clearer? :confused:

No offence will be taken, or apology required, for any response :)