SaveFeriss

Suspended
Ya gonna go far
Read this book over the weekend, and although it's a bit popcorny, I was enthralled and only put it down once (to sleep).

Anyone else enjoyed it.. thoughts?

I have heard that it is a very good book, but that's just about the extent of which I have heard about it. In brief, what is it basically about and what does it reveal about religion, western history, etc?

Poorly written mass market crap designed to entertain the slow. No offense. I've read worse books, but only ones written by ******s.

I'll try.

Basically it's a thriller in the traditional sense, very fast paced and does have a bit of an 'Indiana Jones' feel to it.

Basically it's about the Church's history of covering up the true history and legacy of Jesus Christ & Mary Magdalene, and the Holy Grail

Robert Langdon and the Grandaughter of the Curator, Sophie, are the two main characters, constantly running from the French Judicial Police Chief, who seems determined that Langdon is the killer.. (we know straight away that he's an innocent academic)

Now the Curator had left a trail of ingenious codes and puzzles for Langdon and Sophie (who just happens to be a Cryptographer with the French Judicial Police) to solve, which shall lead them to The Greatest secret of all time... The location of the Holy Grail.

Now this gets harder... The crux of the story involves The Priory of Sion, a secret society of great influence almost 1,000 years old, and had such leaders as.. Leonardo Da Vinci, Sir Isaac Newton, Victor Hugo and Sandro Botticelli.

The Priory are basically the guardians of The Real Truth about Jesus, Mary and The Holy Grail.

the curator killed at the beggining is a member of the Priory and he has a secret he cant let die, otherwise the Truth is lost forever.

On his 'deathbed' the Curator begins a sequence of codes and puzzles which hopefully Sophie and Langdon are able to decipher first, therefore saving the Truth... even if we cant hanle the truth.

Hmm, its sort of hard to explain.. But thats a lil bit.

Basically it's about the manipulation of the History of the story of Jesus Christ.

A conspiracy book, some might say... Others may just say it's just a damn good read.

Thanks, SaveFeriss...my mum bought this book and loved it, she kept telling me to read it but I was in the middle of another book at the time. Sounds like I'll have to borrow it from her when I go home next!

Originally posted by Mog
Poorly written mass market crap designed to entertain the slow.

Big Footy?

Seriously though, of course it's written for a mass market. Doesn't make it wrong, nor does it make it any less. Its a good read.

Personally I think it was written with 'Blockbuster Film' in the back of the Author's (Dan Brown..a pen name if there ever was one, considering alot of the book involves symbology) mind.

Reminded me alot of Michael Chricton books.. Welll researched, cracking pace, but basically repeating the same formula as his previous novels.

Spoke to a girl at work today about the Author as she is reading another of his works.. And from what I could gather, he uses the same formula and tricks.

Coming soon to a theatre near you.

Originally posted by SaveFeriss
I'll try.

The Priory of Sion, a secret society of great influence almost 1,000 years old, and had such leaders as.. Leonardo Da Vinci, Sir Isaac Newton, Victor Hugo and Sandro Botticelli.

NOTE: The Priory of Sion is not a creation of the Authors mind. It is a real secret society that has existed for almost a millenia, and has had such dignitries as those mentioned above.

Believed to be the protectors and of the truth about Jesus, Mary and The Holy Grail and waiting for the moment for the moment of truth.. OR End of Days.

Do a Google, interesting.

NOTE: The Priory of Sion is not a creation of the Authors mind. It is a real secret society that has existed for almost a millenia, and has had such dignitries as those mentioned above.

Believed to be the protectors and of the truth about Jesus, Mary and The Holy Grail and waiting for the moment for the moment of truth.. OR End of Days.

Do a Google, interesting.

Club of Rome

Read Stan Deyo's book The Cosmic Conspiracy

Big Footy?

Seriously though, of course it's written for a mass market. Doesn't make it wrong, nor does it make it any less. Its a good read.

Perhaps I should have said lowest common denominator. I found his characters to be stereotypes, his hero to be even more poorly conceived, and while some of the meat of the story is interesting stuff I'm happy to reads about, it's written with such an obvious touch that it's clear he isn't a fantastic writer. There are parts where he obviously can't come up with an explanation for something so he just ignores it and his hero just "knows" the answer.

Originally posted by Mog
Perhaps I should have said lowest common denominator. I found his characters to be stereotypes, his hero to be even more poorly conceived, and while some of the meat of the story is interesting stuff I'm happy to reads about, it's written with such an obvious touch that it's clear he isn't a fantastic writer. There are parts where he obviously can't come up with an explanation for something so he just ignores it and his hero just "knows" the answer.

Lowest common denominator?? C'mon that's a lil harsh.

But I know what you're saying, his hero was a lil lifeless, much like Harrison Ford in Indiana Jones.

It's also not a hard book to read, so I'd say to the most common denominator, not the lowest common, as I doubt they could even read.. Literally;)

I guess it's the research put into the story that impresses me and kept me reading, I've always been interetsed in religion, but religion makes me sick:confused: A conundrum..

But I liked it, especially for the splicing of fact and fiction. In that way it reminded me of The Dice Man ( a book Im still considering whether it's fiction, or part fiction/part truth)

A severely over rated book. I thought it was quite good early, but then after puzzle after puzzle it started to get on my ****. Had some interesting theories though (most of which are unlikely to be true).

Lowest common denominator?? C'mon that's a lil harsh.

But I know what you're saying, his hero was a lil lifeless, much like Harrison Ford in Indiana Jones.

It's also not a hard book to read, so I'd say to the most common denominator, not the lowest common, as I doubt they could even read.. Literally;)

I guess it's the research put into the story that impresses me and kept me reading, I've always been interetsed in religion, but religion makes me sick:confused: A conundrum..

But I liked it, especially for the splicing of fact and fiction. In that way it reminded me of The Dice Man ( a book Im still considering whether it's fiction, or part fiction/part truth)

I guess the common denomiator thing starts at a based level of people who can read and devour the Mills and Boon style bodice ripper.

I'm not sure the research is as thorough as it might seem. I can remember parts being wrong or incomplete or lazily done, but I don't remember which actual parts. I suppose some of the problem is that with some of the book there isn't any one definitive version of events.

Originally posted by Mog
obvious touch that it's clear he isn't a fantastic writer.
Depends what you want in a book. I prefer a good story written by an average to good writer than a boring pretentious load of bollocks written by a literary genius. In saying that, I've read 100 better stories than The Da Vinci Code.

Originally posted by Mog

I suppose some of the problem is that with some of the book there isn't any one definitive version of events.

Much like life, wouldn't you say?

Or The Bible..

Or History in general.

Originally posted by Mog
I'm not sure the research is as thorough as it might seem.
From what I can gather he has used a number of theories from other researchers, put it together, and filled in some blanks. If you're reading the book for it's purpose (ie the story rather than the accuracy of facts) then it matches up ok. If you're some kind of religious buff, then of course you are going to notice some mistruths and some inconsistencies. But if this bothers you (not referring to you specifically mog) then you should stick to documentary style books rather than fiction.

Originally posted by Mog
obvious touch that it's clear he isn't a fantastic writer.

Hmm, Ive read some of your posts too:p

I'd say to sell the amount of books he has, then he most be some kind of writer.

Cant all be PR now.

Hmm, Ive read some of your posts too:p

I'd say to sell the amount of books he has, then he most be some kind of writer.

Cant all be PR now.

Stephen King's been getting away with it for years as well. Find a niche and cleave hard to that line.

Would it surprise you to know I have had something published?? In a Battlestar Galactica fanzine when I was about 17. Ha..!

Originally posted by Mog
Poorly written mass market crap designed to entertain the slow. No offense. I've read worse books, but only ones written by ******s.

Well, while I didn't think it was that bad, I tend to agree with your sentiment.

Umberto Eco's historical fiction is far, far, superior. But then, he was the best writer of the late 20th century.

Neal Stephenson's latest series of historical fiction is also better, but it's still an overblown load of bollocks.

Actually just read a book called "The Sword and the Scimitar" which I would recommend to those who enjoy historical fiction.

Originally posted by Mog
Stephen King's been getting away with it for years as well. Find a niche and cleave hard to that line.

Would it surprise you to know I have had something published?? In a Battlestar Galactica fanzine when I was about 17. Ha..!

HA! Ive got a mate who probably has that Fanzine too..

He went on to become a member of the Cockroaches.. Then began wearing really bright polo jumpers and doing really stupid and annoying things with his hands and fell in love with a purple dinosaur...

You've been warned MOG.

Originally posted by Bartholin Juice

Actually just read a book called "The Sword and the Sphincter" which I would recommend to those who enjoy historical fiction.
Isn't that gay pornography?

HA! Ive got a mate who probably has that Fanzine too..

He went on to become a member of the Cockroaches.. Then began wearing really bright polo jumpers and doing really stupid and annoying things with his hands and fell in love with a purple dinosaur...

You've been warned MOG.

Shee-it, is it too late to turn back?

great read.

Dan Brown believes in conspiracy theories a little to much to be healthy, but it doesn't stop it being a very entertaining book well worth a look.

Angels and Demons ain't bad either.

I just read The Da Vinci Code a week ago. I thought it started off pretty strong but died halfway. The main characters, Sophie and Langdon were more than a little boring. The story did have some interesting theories, though. The Sunday program did a feature story on the book months ago and they spoke to more than a few religious historians and even a Priest who believed that there was a possibility Jesus and Mary Magdalene were in a marital relationship. They showed alot of Da Vinci's art and some experts discussed the symbolism in it.It was quite interesting.
As somebody already mentioned, it would be surprising if the book wasn't made into a movie.