pcazzy

Can anyone actually see us winning any of our final 10 matches? To me, its certainly not looking good with:

Swans (Manuka)
Lions (MCG)
Doggies (TD)
Freo (Subi)
Roos (MCG)
Dons (MCG)
Cats (MCG)
Eagles (MCG)
Port (AAMI)
Tigers (MCG)

Maybe the only one of those with a shot could be West Coast at the 'G, with the Naitanui Cup up for grabs. Before tonight, I would have also said Richmond, but now I'm not so sure.

We could beat the Dons, WC and Tigers all based on their (and our) tanking status at the time. I'd say Port if they have given up for the year, because Bailey should know a thing or two about beating them, but seeing as though we lose by 10 goals whenever we go to AAMI I can't see that being a successful outing.

Can anyone actually see us winning any of our final 10 matches? To me, its certainly not looking good with:

Swans (Manuka)
Lions (MCG)
Doggies (TD)
Freo (Subi)
Roos (MCG)
Dons (MCG)
Cats (MCG)
Eagles (MCG)
Port (AAMI)
Tigers (MCG)

Maybe the only one of those with a shot could be West Coast at the 'G, with the Naitanui Cup up for grabs. Before tonight, I would have also said Richmond, but now I'm not so sure.

Say Richmond are sitting on 4 wins at round 22 could be interesting!

The question is, should we win any of the next ten. I've seen enough this season, we've got some decent players coming through, but lets face it, we're rebuilding and it will be alot harder not having pick 1.
Get rid of the top age players and put the future on the park. Juice needs to play, certain key forward, keep Morton in the side, can only help him, Valenti, get him in and Maric, why not? Miller, i like for some reason as well, needs a kick up the arse coz he can be very good.
For some reason i think Sylvia will come good, just keep him on a flank.
I've got Natanui fever, it is almost imperitive that we dont win any/many of the next ten. It kills me to say it, but the next few years will be more painful than this if we dont. The AFL has the lower clubs by the balls at the moment. And if west coast bottom out and get natanui ill be pissed. the last time they bottomed out they got judd and the premierships and brownlows that come with him. This could be a good time to bottom out. We need a freak.

The question is, should we win any of the next ten. I've seen enough this season, we've got some decent players coming through, but lets face it, we're rebuilding and it will be alot harder not having pick 1....

I understand entirely where you're coming from. I'm wondering what people made of the segment on Footy Classified last night where Hutchy asked both Lyon and Archer whether they'd be barracking against their team if they were facing the prospect of bottoming out and playing for draft picks - both came out with a resounding 'yes'. For me, it was quite remarkable hearing that, especially given the fact that it came from two stalwarts whose passion for their respective footy clubs is unquestionable. However you can understand why they responded in that manner and really, it's a sad indictment on the way football's turning - I hope Demetriou and his cronies were watching that.

Swans (Manuka) L
Lions (MCG) L
Doggies (TD) L
Freo (Subi) L
Roos (MCG) L
Dons (MCG) W
Cats (MCG) L
Eagles (MCG) W
Port (AAMI) L
Tigers (MCG) 50/50

Will be a very interesting game against WCE.

Hopefully no more than one more... We need this draft before the GC17 campaign begins...

As long as we have a pick in the bottom two think we will be happy, we will still have a priority pick at 18 as well.
Rich and Hurley sound pretty good as well.
Wherever we finish - so long as its less than 5 wins will be a good platform to recruit players. I dont think we need to worry about tanking if we approach it like that - there is not much chance of us having four more wins i reckon.

As long as we have a pick in the bottom two think we will be happy, we will still have a priority pick at 18 as well.
Rich and Hurley sound pretty good as well.
Wherever we finish - so long as its less than 5 wins will be a good platform to recruit players. I dont think we need to worry about tanking if we approach it like that - there is not much chance of us having four more wins i reckon.

True True, But i see allot of difference between Rich and Hurley to Nicholas Naitanui. He's a great player and has heaps of potential but he also brings something the others don't. Thats Marketability, he will guarantee more members and supporters and will most certainly be a face of the MFC in the future. I mean our team is in trouble but i think our financial situation is probably worse, so lets fix'em both.

Can't wait for us to pick him to find out that he's actually not as good as everyone expected. Sickening to see people pulling themselves over draft picks halfway through the season - we finish where we finish, we get whoever we get and we get on with our lives. As it is I doubt we can jump off the bottom anyway given that we're a game and a shitload of percentage away, but people who are punting it home should jump in front of a train.

Can't wait for us to pick him to find out that he's actually not as good as everyone expected. Sickening to see people pulling themselves over draft picks halfway through the season
Happens every year and people never learn. How many #1 picks have become the best of the draft. Headland? Fraser:p Goddard? Gibbs was supposed to be almost superhuman and look at him. Geelong got J.Selwood with pick 7.

We could even give the Lions a bit of a shake if Bradshaw doesn't play and Brown is well held.

Yeah and Clarke is held, and Black doesn't get a touch, and Power goes missing, and Brennan has a day off, and Charman gets injured, and Adcock has a family function, and your forward line manages to get a kick in front of Merret, Patfull, Roe, Drummond. Yes, then you can certainly win.

No one wants to lose, but if you put an incentive on losing, in the priority pick, you are better off. Agreed that good players come from anywhere in the draft,but you increase your chances by adding the priority pick. Poor system needs revision. You can 'list manage' by giving youngsters a crack but in game tactics set so that you lose ala Carltank.. im with supermac go jump.

Yeah and Clarke is held (check), and Black doesn't get a touch (practically), and Power goes missing (solid contributor), and Brennan has a day off (check), and Charman gets injured (got towelled up by Jamar), and Adcock has a family function (may as well have was nowhere to be seen), and your forward line manages to get a kick in front of Merret(check), Patfull(check), Roe(check), Drummond(check). Yes, then you can certainly win (It would appear that way).

Found this post, thought I might add some observations to it....

Yeah and Clarke is held, and Black doesn't get a touch, and Power goes missing, and Brennan has a day off, and Charman gets injured, and Adcock has a family function, and your forward line manages to get a kick in front of Merret, Patfull, Roe, Drummond. Yes, then you can certainly win.

Good post, right on the money I would have thought. :D